Highland Park, IL 
Danny Cunniff Park Share
Uploaded By: Dave242 Hole #1 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / --   3 / 230ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: 230'



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Wood Chips Anyone?

5+    8/14/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is located in a very nice North Shore community. The course is very flat. It has large trees scattered throughout. Several baskets are placed near thick areas of rough.Beware there is a creek down the hill beyond the rough! Some fairways are lined by very high grass and flowers. Water comes into play on one hole.

The tee signs are pretty good.

The baskets are in good shape and have the number plate welded to the basket.

Hole #5 has water coming into play on the left side.

You have to hit a line to get to the basket of hole #1.

This is a very beginner friendly course and is easy to navigate.
Cons: The tee pads absolutely stink! They are framed by railroad ties and filled with wood chips. They are terrible!

The distances are very similar on this course. It's realtively short and boring.

Several baskets are place right near heavy rough. I hate those kind of greens.

Surprisingly this is a fairly large park for the north burbs. There is room for some great holes especially the wooded area and with water. This course does not utilize the potential.
Other Thoughts: There is another course in Highland Park. It's not very far away.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very short course. Good variety though

5+    7/21/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 34  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 2 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tall prairie grass on side of some holes forces you to tHrow straight. Water comes into play on 5-9. More so on 5. Water is on right behind trees on hole 6-9(almost out of play but my brother actually put on in there). On hole 5 is a large pond to the left. Blind baskets on holes 6-9
Cons: Tee pads are elevated and on wood chips. Shhooorrt!
I see no point in hole 4. It is 200ft but dead straight and nowhere to mess up. Road on right on holes 3-5 in winter when crowded at ice rink. You're disc could get run over if you throw it in the street. Almost all pretty easy twos
Other Thoughts: Short course that is great for beginners to learn different throws. Don't drive 15 mins or more for this course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

5+    8/26/2010   8/27/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course has a good variety of woods on a hole by hole basis. A few are pretty wide open, a few have some trees to avoid, and a few have narrow fairways in dense woods. Great mix of different hole types throughout. The heavily wooded holes require good accuracy.
- Okay mix of different shots needed. There are a few that are very welcoming to a RHBH hyzer shot, almost all others require something that starts and finishes straight.
- A good number of protected and/or blind baskets also helps to keep it interesting.
- Water is in play on a few holes, especially on #5. Not really a big factor on any others, but it is there.
- Decent teepads, signs, and baskets. A few signs are a little misleading, especially on #9.
Cons: - The first thing that jumps out is the lack of length. Longest at 285', shortest at 135'. While there are trees to add some length side-to-side, the course does play very short.
- Little-to-no elevation change to be found.
- Two holes play right next to (and over) the entrance road to the park. This means some longer wait times, scraped discs, and plenty of extra distractions.
- Hole #4 is a true throwaway hole. 268', completely wide open, with a street on the side.
Other Thoughts: - Not much to this little course. There are some quality holes with tight fairways and protected baskets, but the difficulty level is lacking. The short holes will allow an experienced player to throw almost any disc, as the length can be easily covered by almost any disc.
- Definitely a good course for beginners to learn about shot selection, line shaping, and dealing with nasty rough. A more advanced or intermediate player will appreciate the design, but not the overall experience.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

1    11/18/2009   11/26/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 706  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two of us played a number of courses on a wet day; which followed a previous couple of wet days. I thought the large chunk, wood chipped, tees did very well under the conditions. They are big: 6' X12'
#2 a nice hole; requiring choosing a line to either side of trees; @125 feet out, with another tree to either side, @40 foot apart. Hole length; 260 ft., plays more like 280.
#3 brings road into play for a skip, or an o.b.?
Road kind of in play on #4 and #5.
We didn't play walking path o.b. on #6 or 7. You can add another layer of nice o.b. if you choose to do so.
Water behind #6 tough to get in to; unless a fairly bad shot is made.
Tight fairway on #9.
Good signage.
Cons: Short and flat.
Large tees raised above the ground by 6 inches or more. I personally, find this a bit dangerous, and prefer ground level tees....my playing partner liked the raised tees....
More water actually in play would have added a danger feature. One, well constructed, water feature, hole would be nice to leave one with a strong remembrance.
Other Thoughts: My playing partner and I are 900 to 950 rated players; and for some reason, we didn't score well here. I'm giving the course the benefit of the doubt. That, combined with the o.b., and the possibility of more o.b. (with walkways played); convinced me to give D.C. a 2; slightly higher than most.
We liked this one better than Twin Creeks and Leo Leathers, but less than Diamond Lake Slough.
Visually, the course looks good for a nine year old track. I would bet those tees are a fairly recent addition, or at least, are lovingly maintained by a crew that puts a lot of sweat into it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Jeckly and Hyde

5+    9/5/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plays like 2 different courses. 1, 2, 3, 7, 8, 9 are more wooded and technical. 4, 5, 6 are basically wide open. Wood chip tee boxes are well maintained and nice. Footing is good. Size is good. Park near 1 and you end right near your car, the way it should be. I very much like the tree and angle issues on 1, 2, 3, 7 and 8. Singage is excellent. Course flow is easy to follow. On the first few holes I was seeing extra baskets and wondering how many holes is this course? When can I play the alternates?... later come to find that these are for the last few holes... be careful as on the back end a few holes criss cross each other and if there was to be heavy course use one would need to watch for others flying discs.
Cons: 4 and 5 are nothing special. The hidden basket on 9 is more a nusance than a challenge. Length is short to medium. No real opportunities for the big distance drives (not a con for me as I can not throu big distances anyway).
Other Thoughts: Overall a very nice multi use park. The rough on 3 and the woods along 6 and 9 are just waiting to swallow up one of your discs. Ace hardware at 22 and 41 has a big rack of Innova discs if you lose few. I have played here a bunch of times since my 1st review. I have come to like the variety here... there are hyzer and anhyzer holes... all mid length... Ply the road as OB on 3 and it is a tougher hole as you will drop the disc in the rough. 1 is a nice tree tunnel. 2, 3, 7, 8 are great natural RHBH hyzer shots. 6 and 9 challenge you ability to toss an annie and NOT over-toss into creek.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not So Fun

5+    5/27/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: Nigel
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good practice for controlling accuracy, but what's a course w/o the opportunity for sick drives?
Cons: Short course, easy to lose a disc if you overshoot hole #5 (pond) or shank hole #6 (river)
Other Thoughts: If you're in the area, go to Fink instead

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.