Highland Park, IL 
Danny Cunniff Park Share
Uploaded By: Dave242 Hole #3 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee: 276'. 215' to clear the park road as shown



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Slightly Below Average 9 holer

1    8/16/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 900  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 7.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Tees are defined and secure (see complaint about the mulch used). Railroad ties support the mulch . . . I just wished they used a finer mulch that wouldn't be so loose and large, Much better than dirt or grass . . but still aren't quite perfect.

2) Large mature trees are the main challenge factor in this course. They clealy define the lines you are expected to take. They are a little bit too scattered for my liking and I think they could have been used better in certain spots . . but the large trees certainly add to the quality of this course.

3) Underbrush is well contained in that is it basically wildflowers and woodland plants. There is a little bit of thistle and all sorts of wildflowers. it looks nice and there is abosulutely no buckthorn in the islands of trees and prairie.

4) Nicely mowed turfgrass especially the fairways giving you a clear route to the basket if you choose that direction.

5) Ground around baskets is in good shape . . . no mulch needed right now . . . because the turf is healthy. If the turf gets trampled and compacted then stone or mulch should be put in place.

6) A few right to left holes on the first 5 holes and 3 of the last 4 go right to left. Be ready to have a variety of shots to play well here.

7) Mostly beginner friendly . . . course is open enough on hald of the holes even an errant shot on every hole is manageable.
Cons: 1) Tees leave a litle to be desired because of the course material they used. Basically they used single ground tree chippings which have all sorts of 6-12" twigs in it. If you step one one it might shoot up and cut your leg or make you slip.

2) Buckthorn along the right side of #6, #7, #8, #9 is very dense. DO NOT THROW IN THERE PLAY IT SAFE . . . PLAY IT TO THE LEFT. Native woodland would have been ok, but the Buckthorn has to go.

3) Hole #3 makes this course somewhat beginner unfriendly. The road is OB but there is little to no fairway available to the average player. You will have to throw left into the prairie areas with wildflowers and such.

4) Open areas are simply too open. The road is OB on #5 but you have so much room to the left. #6 has a ton of room also.

5 ) This course is very obviously set into a corner of the park. I saw one other disc golfer and 1 couple walking through the course. I wish I could make money by just walking around a course!!!!

6) Course is completely flat. Again I know this is not the fault of the designer, but it would be nice to see a basket up on a little mound or something to alter how flat this course is.
Other Thoughts: My last of a 9 course day. I hit 9 more new courses and I thoroughly enjoyed. This course was a perfect finish to my day because it wasn;t too long I had thrown a lot of disc in the day I didn't want to have to overdo my arm.

It has a couple holes through mowed fairways with large mature trees and some thin underbrush. It had a couple open holes with a OB on your right. It has a pond behind the #5 green that can come into play with a rollaway from the baskets or from an errant drive that didn;t get started far enough right. The creek along #6, #7, #8, #9 is almost untouchable and completely invisible from the course . . . so don;t even think about it and you will be fine. The course seems to be well groomed as does the reast of the park. The disc course is almost entirely on its own which is always a positive. There is one walk path that will hold you up on a few holes if people are in the area. As is normally the case they probably don;t even understand what we are doing.


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/8/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in the back corner of a park, in a small wooded area. The fairways are nicely mowed grass, and are well defined with unmowed rough alongside, and nice mature trees. One hole plays up to the edge of a pond, and a couple holes play along a creek. The water hazards add a little bit of intrigue, especially on 5 where a shot that goes long or fades out too much will end up in the pond.

The rough adds a nice risk/reward element to some otherwise not very interesting holes, as a bad shot will result in some time spent searching. The trees are used well to define specific lines on some of the holes, and make it so that not every hole is playable with a simple straight ahead shot.

The tee signs are all in good shape, and have hole maps and distances. The tee boxes are very large, and filled with wood chips. I was skeptical of this surface at first, but it offers fine footing, even when wet, and it stays more level and less rutted than many other natural tees I have played.
Cons: The course is crammed into a tiny little area, so the holes are all right on top of one another. Every single hole plays on top of at least one other hole, and is usually shooting directly at another tee. It has never been crowded when I've played, but even if there is a single other player on the course, watch out for each other's shots.

Because the course is in such a small area, none of the holes have any real length. More experienced players won't need a driver at all here. Because there is no length, and no elevation, the course is very easy. All holes are birdie-able, and none offer any real challenge.
Other Thoughts: This course is another very easy 9 hole course, similar to many of the others in the area. Though the holes are all easy, beginners might be frustrated by searching for discs in the rough that lines nearly all the holes, and might struggle to keep discs out of the street. That said, it is a good course to work on your short game, and more patient beginners will find it fun. Don't go out of your way to play this one, there are other courses around that are more interesting and challenging.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Not So Fun

5+    5/27/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: Nigel
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good practice for controlling accuracy, but what's a course w/o the opportunity for sick drives?
Cons: Short course, easy to lose a disc if you overshoot hole #5 (pond) or shank hole #6 (river)
Other Thoughts: If you're in the area, go to Fink instead

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 C = As average as the come for 9 holers

5+    4/14/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 381  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 22.3 Years
3 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- C
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- C+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C+
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor...more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

3 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Not impressed

1    6/1/2008   6/2/2008
Review By: heywillard90
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2014
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Most shots require sharp accuracy. Located in a comfortable and secluded area. Some holes have nice mowed fairways. Plays around pretty quickly.
Cons: Very short, leave your distance drivers at home. Two hazards include a pond and the river. Runs alongside a road.
Other Thoughts: Some holes are really squeezed together. Yet it is good practice for tight shots.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.