Highland Park, IL 
Danny Cunniff Park Share
Uploaded By: Dave242 Hole #3 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee: 276'. 215' to clear the park road as shown



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 

5+    6/8/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in the back corner of a park, in a small wooded area. The fairways are nicely mowed grass, and are well defined with unmowed rough alongside, and nice mature trees. One hole plays up to the edge of a pond, and a couple holes play along a creek. The water hazards add a little bit of intrigue, especially on 5 where a shot that goes long or fades out too much will end up in the pond.

The rough adds a nice risk/reward element to some otherwise not very interesting holes, as a bad shot will result in some time spent searching. The trees are used well to define specific lines on some of the holes, and make it so that not every hole is playable with a simple straight ahead shot.

The tee signs are all in good shape, and have hole maps and distances. The tee boxes are very large, and filled with wood chips. I was skeptical of this surface at first, but it offers fine footing, even when wet, and it stays more level and less rutted than many other natural tees I have played.
Cons: The course is crammed into a tiny little area, so the holes are all right on top of one another. Every single hole plays on top of at least one other hole, and is usually shooting directly at another tee. It has never been crowded when I've played, but even if there is a single other player on the course, watch out for each other's shots.

Because the course is in such a small area, none of the holes have any real length. More experienced players won't need a driver at all here. Because there is no length, and no elevation, the course is very easy. All holes are birdie-able, and none offer any real challenge.
Other Thoughts: This course is another very easy 9 hole course, similar to many of the others in the area. Though the holes are all easy, beginners might be frustrated by searching for discs in the rough that lines nearly all the holes, and might struggle to keep discs out of the street. That said, it is a good course to work on your short game, and more patient beginners will find it fun. Don't go out of your way to play this one, there are other courses around that are more interesting and challenging.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Not So Fun

5+    5/27/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: Nigel
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good practice for controlling accuracy, but what's a course w/o the opportunity for sick drives?
Cons: Short course, easy to lose a disc if you overshoot hole #5 (pond) or shank hole #6 (river)
Other Thoughts: If you're in the area, go to Fink instead

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 C = As average as the come for 9 holers

5+    4/14/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 380  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 22.2 Years
3 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- C
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- C+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C+
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor...more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

3 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Not impressed

1    6/1/2008   6/2/2008
Review By: heywillard90
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2014
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Most shots require sharp accuracy. Located in a comfortable and secluded area. Some holes have nice mowed fairways. Plays around pretty quickly.
Cons: Very short, leave your distance drivers at home. Two hazards include a pond and the river. Runs alongside a road.
Other Thoughts: Some holes are really squeezed together. Yet it is good practice for tight shots.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.