Highland Park, IL 
Danny Cunniff Park Share
Uploaded By: Dave242 Hole #1 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: 230'



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Potential??

1    8/12/2016   8/13/2016
Review By: mrbro855
Played: 126  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 2.9 Years
Pros: Set on one side of the roadway at the far end of the park.

Ok length with adequate amount of obstacles. Definitely needed to bend throws at the right distance- that did make for a challenging course.
Cons: Wood chip tee pads- not raked out- very uneven throwing surface.
BUGS- gnats and mosquitos aplenty!!
Couldn't find basket #1- started at #3 and once I got to #9 was able to find #1
Other Thoughts: Been in Chicago for a couple weeks of work. Have played over 10 courses and this one is definitely at the bottom of the list- by far!!
Not the worst course I've ever seen, but certainly needs a lot of work. Concrete pads, a bit of manicure, replace the missing sign on #1, add a course map to this site just name a few.

Glad I got two other courses in that day, or it would have been a wasted disc golf day!!

Lackluster Chicago 9'er!

1    7/3/2016   7/3/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 998  Reviewed: 948  Exp: 38.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located in far back corner of the park. As you drive up to the course, you'll see a large professional sign that says, "Danny Cunniff Disc Golf Course."

The course has older tee signs under a fiberglass cover. The tee pads are large planter box types which are raised about 6" and are filled with a coarse type of wood chips. I really didn't care for them and chose instead to tee off of the grass next to them. However, they might prove better on a wet day.

The course plays short, like all Chicago 9'ers, with no hole longer than 285'. Cunniff does have an element of risk/reward because quite a few holes are bordered on one or both sides with tall prairie grass/other bushy plants. A bad throw will result in time searching.

Cons: Course had no wow factor for me.

Not a beginner course with all the tall grass and bushes along fairways.

Holes 4 & 5 were essentially the same hole. They were both 268', wide open and straight, with the park road providing the right border.

Other Thoughts: One thing that bothered me here was, as all 9 of these holes were crammed together on this side of the park road, on the other side along the 4 & 5 fairway, was an inviting sledding hill that could have provided the interesting basket placement and downhill throw that this course so sorely lacks.

Danny Cunniff is one of least favorite Chicago 9'ers. I don't know who'll be interested in playing here. Too much tall grass OB's for beginners and too flat and uninteresting for all others.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good for Beginners and For Practicing

5+    5/4/2014   5/28/2014
Review By: Parsaver
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 5/29/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -9-holer located in a well maintained suburban park, trees, brush, road, and a small pond provide sufficient obstacles
-Good beginner course, all the holes are under 300ft, trees force accurate lines but nothing too tight, no real chance of losing a disc except in the pond on 5.
-Some fun holes, but nothing really memorable, I enjoy 1, 3, and 5.
-Hole 1 is a dead straight 230ft shot slightly uphill, you need to hit a 20ft gap to take a two.
-Hole 3 is fun, spike hyzer out around trees to the left and over the road to the right.
-5 plays 270ft and requires some real control as there are large trees to the left and right, the road is to the right the whole way and is only 20 feet away at the basket, also there is a pond that is 35-40ft left at the basket. You can either play a big hyzer over the road or a flick or anhyzer up the middle that finishes left, with either route if you finish too far left or right you can go OB.
-6 can be interesting, its 280ft with a wide open field left and thick brush the whole way to the right, with the basket tucked away to the right. Its a challenge to go at the basket because the brush is so thick it can turn drives that finish too far right into a difficult par save, also there is a path that runs in front of the basket which if played OB adds more challenge.
-2, 7, and 8 are not particularly technical but require controlled hyzers around trees.
-9 is a super short but requires a dead straight shot with the basket tucked into brush on the right, good hole for practicing straight putter/midrange shots you might need on a technical course.
-This is a good course for an intermediate player to practice hitting lines in the 230-280ft range
-Baskets are in good shape, especially 4 and 5 which were recently replaced with new chainstars
-Never crowded
Cons: -No elevation change, or technical wooded holes (except for maybe 9 but that's too short to count)
-Will not challenge an advanced player, every hole should be a deuce
-All holes under 300ft, you need to come up with alternates if you want any distance shots
-4 is a throw-away hole, wide open 270ft
-Road comes into play on 3, 4 and 5, be sure to wait until cars pass before throwing. Be especially careful on 4 as a turned-over drive could hit cars parked by the soccer field to the right.
-Fair amount of pedestrians on paths that run through the course to watch out for
-In the fall prairie grass in the "rough" can grow high, which can make stray discs tough to find. Keep a good eye on where they go in and you shouldn't have too much trouble
-No course map and the sign is missing from hole 1, but other holes have signs and all the baskets have numbers on them. The course does not have a great flow but the park is so small you shouldn't have a problem navigating it.
-Don't play after a rain, half the course will be under water
-Almost forgot... the tee pads are HORRIBLE. They are woodchips, which are uneven and easy to slip on. I usually just play from the grass next to them. On holes 6, 7, and 8 you can play off the concrete path that runs right next to the pads, and 3 you can play from the road.
Other Thoughts: -When you drive into the park you want to drive all the way to the parking lots in the back, you will pass holes 3, 4, 5 and 6 on your right. Turn right into the parking lot tucked away in the trees, rather than going straight into the parking lot for the ice rink. The first tee is on the right at the end of the parking lot.
-There is a creek on the right of holes 6-9 but the thick brush prevents it from really coming into play.
-Don't go out of your way, but this is a good spot to introduce beginners to the game and hone your skills for "real" courses.
-This is a "nice that it's even here" course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wood Chips Anyone?

5+    8/14/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 342  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 15.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is located in a very nice North Shore community. The course is very flat. It has large trees scattered throughout. Several baskets are placed near thick areas of rough.Beware there is a creek down the hill beyond the rough! Some fairways are lined by very high grass and flowers. Water comes into play on one hole.

The tee signs are pretty good.

The baskets are in good shape and have the number plate welded to the basket.

Hole #5 has water coming into play on the left side.

You have to hit a line to get to the basket of hole #1.

This is a very beginner friendly course and is easy to navigate.
Cons: The tee pads absolutely stink! They are framed by railroad ties and filled with wood chips. They are terrible!

The distances are very similar on this course. It's realtively short and boring.

Several baskets are place right near heavy rough. I hate those kind of greens.

Surprisingly this is a fairly large park for the north burbs. There is room for some great holes especially the wooded area and with water. This course does not utilize the potential.
Other Thoughts: There is another course in Highland Park. It's not very far away.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very short course. Good variety though

5+    7/21/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 73  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tall prairie grass on side of some holes forces you to tHrow straight. Water comes into play on 5-9. More so on 5. Water is on right behind trees on hole 6-9(almost out of play but my brother actually put on in there). On hole 5 is a large pond to the left. Blind baskets on holes 6-9
Cons: Tee pads are elevated and on wood chips. Shhooorrt!
I see no point in hole 4. It is 200ft but dead straight and nowhere to mess up. Road on right on holes 3-5 in winter when crowded at ice rink. You're disc could get run over if you throw it in the street. Almost all pretty easy twos
Other Thoughts: Short course that is great for beginners to learn different throws. Don't drive 15 mins or more for this course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

5+    8/26/2010   8/27/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 461  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 13.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course has a good variety of woods on a hole by hole basis. A few are pretty wide open, a few have some trees to avoid, and a few have narrow fairways in dense woods. Great mix of different hole types throughout. The heavily wooded holes require good accuracy.
- Okay mix of different shots needed. There are a few that are very welcoming to a RHBH hyzer shot, almost all others require something that starts and finishes straight.
- A good number of protected and/or blind baskets also helps to keep it interesting.
- Water is in play on a few holes, especially on #5. Not really a big factor on any others, but it is there.
- Decent teepads, signs, and baskets. A few signs are a little misleading, especially on #9.
Cons: - The first thing that jumps out is the lack of length. Longest at 285', shortest at 135'. While there are trees to add some length side-to-side, the course does play very short.
- Little-to-no elevation change to be found.
- Two holes play right next to (and over) the entrance road to the park. This means some longer wait times, scraped discs, and plenty of extra distractions.
- Hole #4 is a true throwaway hole. 268', completely wide open, with a street on the side.
Other Thoughts: - Not much to this little course. There are some quality holes with tight fairways and protected baskets, but the difficulty level is lacking. The short holes will allow an experienced player to throw almost any disc, as the length can be easily covered by almost any disc.
- Definitely a good course for beginners to learn about shot selection, line shaping, and dealing with nasty rough. A more advanced or intermediate player will appreciate the design, but not the overall experience.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/11/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: lordofchance
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Parking close course
- Course tries to use trees and water as obstacles
- Well maintained park
- Tries to utilize right and left side shots
Cons: - Course plays too close to roads and thick bushes
- The bugs were horrible
- Holes are way to short
- Wood chip boxes are horrible. They do not provide good footing, and because they are raised if you over step you can twist your ankle.
- Course flat with no elevation changes
Other Thoughts: This course felt like it was just thrown together as an after thought. The course is way to short for a seasoned vet, but the over grown "rough" can provide a headache for amateurs. In all I would skip this course if in the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Boring....

5+    11/5/2009   12/22/2009
Review By: steven2361
Played: 220  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ummmmm. Trees? They help a little bit.

Nicely kept park. Huge woodchip teepads for such a short course. Water (hole 5-9) and roads (Holes 3-5) make this coarse a bit more interesting. Hole 5 is a good risk/reward shot. About 270' with water immediately right of the basket. Other water lurks to the right about 40 feet right of the baskets 6 and 9 but you will only go there if you completely shank your shot. There is also a sled hill nearby that some cool alts can be played from. Its a huge hill to launch drives off of. There are straight, right and left shots, even though they are all short. Take some ace runs. This will be a good coarse for beginners and the young (and very old I guess ;) )
Cons: Short. Short. Short. I hate that all the holes are reachable with a mid or even a putter for me. I throw mostly aviars on this coarse. There is not much chalenge to it at all. Every hole is aceable and birdyable. The design of this coarse is poor. There are thorns here in the summer. Although I said roads as a pro, they are also a con. When it is busy in the park you will probably have to wait a while for cars to pass, especially holes 3-5. A path also winds through the park but is not as busy and usually does not cause a problem. There is not much variety at all here. Again, it is shorttttt.
Other Thoughts: Dave242 is trying to make this place a great 18 holer. I sure hope he succeeds. Don't stop here currently unless you really want to try cunniff's awsomeness. Go to Fink about 5 miles south. It is still not a great course but it is much better than cuniff. If you need discs near here go to Ace hardware at 41 and half day road. They are right (west) out of the park and carry a good selection of innova. The discs are tucked in a corner though so you'll probably need to ask where they are like I did.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

1    11/18/2009   11/26/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 822  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 28.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two of us played a number of courses on a wet day; which followed a previous couple of wet days. I thought the large chunk, wood chipped, tees did very well under the conditions. They are big: 6' X12'
#2 a nice hole; requiring choosing a line to either side of trees; @125 feet out, with another tree to either side, @40 foot apart. Hole length; 260 ft., plays more like 280.
#3 brings road into play for a skip, or an o.b.?
Road kind of in play on #4 and #5.
We didn't play walking path o.b. on #6 or 7. You can add another layer of nice o.b. if you choose to do so.
Water behind #6 tough to get in to; unless a fairly bad shot is made.
Tight fairway on #9.
Good signage.
Cons: Short and flat.
Large tees raised above the ground by 6 inches or more. I personally, find this a bit dangerous, and prefer ground level tees....my playing partner liked the raised tees....
More water actually in play would have added a danger feature. One, well constructed, water feature, hole would be nice to leave one with a strong remembrance.
Other Thoughts: My playing partner and I are 900 to 950 rated players; and for some reason, we didn't score well here. I'm giving the course the benefit of the doubt. That, combined with the o.b., and the possibility of more o.b. (with walkways played); convinced me to give D.C. a 2; slightly higher than most.
We liked this one better than Twin Creeks and Leo Leathers, but less than Diamond Lake Slough.
Visually, the course looks good for a nine year old track. I would bet those tees are a fairly recent addition, or at least, are lovingly maintained by a crew that puts a lot of sweat into it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Jeckly and Hyde

5+    9/5/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plays like 2 different courses. 1, 2, 3, 7, 8, 9 are more wooded and technical. 4, 5, 6 are basically wide open. Wood chip tee boxes are well maintained and nice. Footing is good. Size is good. Park near 1 and you end right near your car, the way it should be. I very much like the tree and angle issues on 1, 2, 3, 7 and 8. Singage is excellent. Course flow is easy to follow. On the first few holes I was seeing extra baskets and wondering how many holes is this course? When can I play the alternates?... later come to find that these are for the last few holes... be careful as on the back end a few holes criss cross each other and if there was to be heavy course use one would need to watch for others flying discs.
Cons: 4 and 5 are nothing special. The hidden basket on 9 is more a nusance than a challenge. Length is short to medium. No real opportunities for the big distance drives (not a con for me as I can not throu big distances anyway).
Other Thoughts: Overall a very nice multi use park. The rough on 3 and the woods along 6 and 9 are just waiting to swallow up one of your discs. Ace hardware at 22 and 41 has a big rack of Innova discs if you lose few. I have played here a bunch of times since my 1st review. I have come to like the variety here... there are hyzer and anhyzer holes... all mid length... Ply the road as OB on 3 and it is a tougher hole as you will drop the disc in the rough. 1 is a nice tree tunnel. 2, 3, 7, 8 are great natural RHBH hyzer shots. 6 and 9 challenge you ability to toss an annie and NOT over-toss into creek.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.