Davidson, NC 
Davidson College Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #1 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
#1 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
This course needs work

2-4    6/20/2013   6/25/2013
Review By: jared18
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty fun the first few holes but they are short. It is a nice relaxing course you dont have to go crazy about it unless your looking for the tee box...
Cons: The basket's have graffiti all over them! It is very hard to find the concrete brick. They do not have tee box's they have roots over where it should be. It took my friend and I about 15 minutes to find the 18th hole brick we had to look at the picture many times. The pars are way to longa 250ft hole is a par 4 in there book I was driving my putter then distance of the par 4's
Other Thoughts: It was a good course it just needs to be worked on you can tell nobody goes picks up the trash and fixes the course. It was a fun course I plan on going and cleaning up the course though so it makes playing more enjoyable.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/5/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: JD Heel
Played: 80  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Davidson is certainly what you would call a technical course. It's short, but there are trees aplenty to keep it (mostly) interesting. This is NOT a course where you want to end up in the woods. It has the potential to be an easy course, but it can punish you in a heartbeat if you get off the fairways.

- If you play in the summer or when school is out, you should have no problem with getting kicked off the course. It's actually kind of nice then because the course is deserted and you have it all to yourself anyway.

- I played this course after playing Brackett's Bluff, which isn't too far away. While it paled in comparison to Brackett's - and what course wouldn't? - it was nice to have a couple of courses nearby to play in that area. I would actually recommend playing this course first and then playing Brackett's. If you do that, it should be a good warmup course.
Cons: - My biggest beef with the course was the lack of defined tee boxes. It wasn't that there were no concrete pads - there weren't even adequate dirt areas to throw from. On many holes, you couldn't tell where the tee actually was. You could see on numerous holes multiple worn-in areas where players teed off. I suspect that folks probably just tee off wherever is most convenient within a 5-10 foot radius of the tee marker, and that obviously allows for a lot of variables.

- Along those same lines, the tee markers were confusing because they often didn't even point in the direction of the basket. That's understandable on some holes because of doglegs and such, but others didn't even make any sense because they were straight-line holes from tee to basket and the marker was still pointed at an odd angle.

- Holes 1 and 18 are what they are - they are basically baskets in the middle of the fraternity lawn. Those holes are probably great for the frats or for students that just want to throw the disc around between classes, but it's not good for anyone actually trying to play the entire course when school is in (student or otherwise). Plus, the walk from #1 to #2 is long enough that I'm not sure playing #1 is worthwhile anyway. It almost makes more sense to just play 2-17 and call it a day.

- The course was not in great shape when I played it. There were downed trees throughout and the brush got a little out of hand on some holes. I get the feeling it isn't maintained as well as most public courses, but that is to be expected.
Other Thoughts: - The main thing you have to realize with this course is that it is a college course, obviously designed and intended for the casual player. A casual disc golfer probably doesn't care about the accuracy of the tee box or course design or some of the other qualms that serious players would have. So, keep that in mind when playing this course.

- Again, I have to imagine that this is a great course for the casual Davidson College student. It must be nice to be able to roll out of bed and throw a few discs and/or practice some putting in the front lawn. For their sake, I can appreciate this course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/11/2009   6/13/2009
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 176  Reviewed: 172  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/2/2010
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging, mostly wooded course. It's all about accuracy here. Throwing a driver could do more harm than good.
- Plenty of birdie chances, as long as you keep it in the fairway.
- Higher amount of LHBH holes than most courses. Good change of pace for an often ignored/disliked throw for most players.
- Great scene having it on a college campus. Nice wooded scenery, yet walking distance from campus. It's a great small town, complete with all of the college atmosphere.
- Other than #1 & 18, the rest of the course is isolated from the rest of the campus. It's great being so close to the campus, yet not being disturbed by students.
- Course starts and stops at the same spot. It takes you on a long loop, but it does finish up right where it started. #10 is on the far back of that loop, so no way of just getting in a quick 9 without a long walk.
Cons: - Course needs a lot of the underbrush trimmed back or cleared away. The underbrush was growing over on some paths. On some holes, it's extremely thick, narrowing the fairways. It will grab discs, leaving margin for error.
- Poor signage/direction between some holes. As mentioned #1 & 18 are in the grassy area between the frat houses, across the street from the rest of the course. There's not a true path from #9 to #10. After finishing #9, you're walking along the road, until you finally see an opening in the woods again for #10. Several other holes like this as well.
- Tee areas are only marked by small tee signs in ground. On several holes, these markers were mostly covered by dirt, making them hard to find. Also, without true tee pads, or tee areas, you can take liberties with interpreting where the tee pad actually is. See the photo for #6 to get a sense of how teeing off 10 feet to the left of the tee sign gives you a straighter/easier shot than if you teed off right on top of the marker.
- Too many straight, unimaginative holes. #9 was the quintessential example of this.
- Hole #8 runs alongside town's main road. Any shot that sails too far left may find itself in the road. Throw with extreme caution on the hole.
Other Thoughts: I had marked down this course back in '09 because overall maintance was severely lacking. Playing there again in the summer of '10, most of those problem have been fixed, leading me to improve my rating by a 1/2 point.
- Course didn't have anything really good, or memorable, that stood out about it. Even though there was a decent variety of holes, they all felt the same - throw a mid-range disc in the fairway, maybe have a birdie chance, if not, an easy up and down for par. I just felt the course was missing a true, signature hole; something that would stand out and leave DGers coming back for more.
- My favorite hole was #16. 240 foot shot with 2 paths- a shorter, direct line or longer path that allows your disc to curve back close to the hole. Very good risk/reward hole. Depending on how bad you need a birdie, or how confident you're feeling, probably will determine which path you choose.
It's a college course, obviously not meant for the serious players. I enjoyed the course. It teases you in that if it weren't a private, college course, some of the holes could be lengthened making them truly special.
- I've only played when school wasn't in (summer or spring break), so I've never had a problem with parking and/or anyone questioning me about playing. The best place to park is out of the way of students where you're less likely to be questioned. Before getting to the frat houses (they'll be on your right), there's a small parking lot on the left (it's almost straight ahead because the road curves) that has a bunch of 18-wheeler trailers parked in it. If you park there, you're next to #2, so you can avoid students altogether if you don't play #1 or #18.
- When school is in, there are probably times when you'll have to avoid #1 & 18 because of students being in the grass. You're actually not missing a whole lot on those holes, so you can be fairly confident in giving yourself 3s on them.
- The course is worth checking out to give your mid-range game a good workout. It reminded me of a shorter version of the wooded holes at Sugaw or a flatter version of Reedy.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Students Only :(

1    9/19/2008   1/2/2009
Review By: willstradamus
Played: 32  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/20/2009
5 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: 18 hole course. Some open holes but mostly wooded. Verity of lines. technical course where big distance isn't needed. Good for beginners
Cons: Course is for Students Only (however, I wasnt questioned when I played). Dirt tee pads make it difficult to find your way. Sorority girls are often in the way of holes 1, 2, and 18.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed the course but I am not in a hurry to drive 45 minutes to play again.

5 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.