Derby, KS 
Stone Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: marteh Hole #4 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 323ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Good course

2-4    7/2/2015   7/2/2015
Review By: ChuckConner
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course will challenge every shot you have in your bag.
Cons: This course is not for the beginner or weak at heart. There are some holes that are not birdie-able at all.
Other Thoughts: Be sure to not try to power through this course. Use your technical skills.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    3/17/2015   3/18/2015
Review By: pinkshark5
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/12/2015
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A challenging course that really tests your game. There are many trees which can be a pro and a con sometimes. The course is pretty well marked and easy to follow
Cons: There are a few holes that are extremely challenging because of densely wooded areas.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing this course very much. It challenged me but it was still very fun. I would definitely go back. In fact, it's probably up there as one of my favorite courses I've played in the Wichita, Kansas area.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mixed Fellings

1    3/15/2015   3/18/2015
Review By: TheFisherman
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Holes 1-8 were very fun, there were many trees with great launch pad.
Holes 10-14 were also very enjoyable.
Many tress in this park made it just hard enough to keep it interesting.
Cons: Hole 9 was nearly impossible, way to many trees and way to far. Hole 9 still haunts me to this day.
Holes 15-18 were to close to the water for my likings. Also they were straight boring shots. Nothing like the rest of the course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

1    3/10/2015   3/11/2015
Review By: Tan-Vic-Own-Sim-Moon
Played: 56  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Awesome course, would be very difficult after a rain with the creek filed running through it. The course is made for a Simon Power Roller. Very wooded making some crazy tight drives. Would be very tough on a bad day on the front 9.
Cons: Great course, only really missing some elevation changes. Baskets are really old and long putts can bounce out of baskets.
Other Thoughts: Great course!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 All around good course

1    7/6/2014   7/6/2014
Review By: JFibeZZZ
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Forces you to work on keeping the disc low, and definitely made me use every disc in my bag.
2. Beautiful scenery along most of the course, very little outside noise as it is a secluded park.
3. Pretty good combo of short and long holes.
4. If it hasn't recently rained, chances to lose a disc are low.
5. Flows very well, never confused on where to go next.
Cons: 1. To go along with my last pro, there are a few blind holes and a few where I wasn't sure which pin I was throwing at. I'm sure they are working on getting signs. There were also little metal plated embedded in the ground for short pads, they were hard to see though and need concrete pads soon.
2. If it has recently rained, there is a chance to lose a disc on the first 9 or 10 holes due to the creek running through it. Not necessarily a con, but just a warning.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed it. This course will improve my game because it really does make you throw every shot in your bag.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A good test of your overall game

5+    3/29/2014   3/30/2014
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 344  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The tee pads are nice and long and there are bag hangers at every hole. Most holes have benches or log stumps to sit on. Also there are foot scrapers at every hole as well. Wood chips have been added recently around the baskets to help with the soil compaction and to reduce roll away putts.
The flow is very logical and there are several well placed foot bridges to assist you in crossing the creek.
There is a good mix of short, long, and moderate length holes as well as technical holes and water threat. There is just about every shot accounted for here.
Hole observations:
1-straight shot with one tree upon approach
2-you have to hit a gap right off the box
3-technical hole with a narrow window
4-must cross the stream and the basket is out in the open
5-low ceiling shot that plays L to R
6-uphill shot with thick trees on the right side
7-is an anny shot RHBH or a FH shot with the basket sitting right on top of a hill, slopes downhill behind the basket
8-open until about the 2/3 mark then has trees upon approach
9-Long shot that crosses the creek at least twice. Low ceiling and tree lined
10-Similar to 9 but about half the length
11-the creek is on the left
12-is an open shot that works L to R until about the 3/4 mark and then you must cross the creek again and the approach is tree lined
13-crosses the creek playing downhill. Heavily wooded with your best play being a possible spike hyzer RHBH
14-Longer hole that is mostly open and the pond is on the left. The basket sits on the hill by the pond.
15-short shot across the pond with the hyzer route open RHBH
16-straight, shorter shot with the pond on the right
17-similar to 16 but about 2.5 times the length
18-EPIC tunnel shot, long and tree lined the whole way. Accuracy test for sure.
Cons: Being as the baskets are homemade they aren't real deep like a Name brand basket, however they do their job.
Seems to need a few trash cans here or there to help alleviate the littering.
The walk from 11's basket to 12's tee is a little long but not too bad.
When it rains the soil of the fairways can get slick so good thing there are shoe scrapers at every hole.
Other Thoughts: When the creek is full and the trees are in full foliage, this great course plays even tougher. This course is well designed and well worth your time if you are in the Wichita area. This is a must play course for sure. I wouldn't be afraid to put it in the top 10 for the state of Kansas. I really like playing here and by the amount of traffic this course gets apparently I'm not alone.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Challenging

2-4    12/11/2012   1/5/2013
Review By: DTB501
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice and well kept. It's very easy to tell that the course is well taken care of. A few holes are very challenging. There is a good mix of open shots and wooded ones. Definitely a nice change of pace from most courses in kansas. A couple of holes run next to a pond and a creek runs through the course. The holes near the pond are very high risk of a water hazard if you aren't careful. The creek was dried up when i played there so getting discs out wasn't a big deal but I'm sure that can change with a lot of rain.
Cons: The only reason why i didn't give this course a five was because their is hardly any way to tell where to start. The tee pads aren't really marked, me and a friend had to walk a ways to find the basket so we knew what hole we're on. Once you get started the holes flow fairly well. A map or better markers would do a lot!
Other Thoughts: Of all the courses that I've played so far this would be my new favorite. Herman Hill use to be my favorite but this one is better in my mind. If you're a beginner you might want to try a different course though. Some of the holes are pretty tough in my mind.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    8/6/2012   12/8/2012
Review By: DiscPirate
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 20.6 Years
Pros: Well maintained course. Has a few chances for aces. Good mixture of woods and open shots. Slight water hazard at the end of the course. Good thing there was extreme heat this summer and the creek was dry. I would've had a couple wet disc's.
Cons: Since it was my first time playing, one or two of the holes were confusing. had to walk the fairway to find the basket then go back to drive.
Not sure what the name of the trees are but they have massive thorns on them and seemed to attract some big ass wasps.
Other Thoughts: Definitely plan on playing this one more in 2013.

 Great fun factor!

1    7/2/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: redwrath
Played: 27  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Stone Creek is a lot of fun to play. The word creek is there for a reason, it was running dry today but the creek bed is prominent and I don't want to try and count all of the bridges. It's a disc golf specific park, meaning that you will not find picnic tables and shelters. There is a port-a-potty and plenty of trash cans. The course was well mowed, clean, and the trees had the lower limbs pruned back consistently. There is plenty of shade at this park and the south wind has no problem getting through the trees. It was 95 degrees with full sun and I had no problems hiking the holes.

Teepads are all marked with signs that include distance and strokes for par. Today was my first visit and I had little trouble navigating. Layout demands accuracy and forethought in order to stay out of trouble.

A couple of holes were very 'aceable' and others were challenging to reach in four. It's a good variety and excellent use of the available terrain. I never felt bored with the course at all.
Cons: Locust trees! Maintenance does a nice job actually trimming the thorns on many of them. Watch where you put your hands.

The trees are great, but keep a close eye on your disc in case it gets deflected. There is very little brush to lose a disc in, but it can end up somewhere unexpected.

Some of the holes, you will want to walk forward and scout out. Both to find the pin and figure out what line to throw.
Other Thoughts: I am definitely coming back to this course. It was a blast!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Much improved, always getting better

5+    5/11/2012   5/16/2012
Review By: srecje
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course, it is great for the beginner and still very challenging for the most advanced player. The parks department takes excellent care of the area. Concrete tees and new shorter tees are in the works as I'm typing. This course is tournament length, and ready. Also bring your poles all three ponds have fish in them.
Cons: Hole nine is a bit wooded, but its probably because I haven't figured the route I want to take on this hole regularly yet.
Other Thoughts: If your in the area and have time for a round call me Ill go with you if you'd like the company. 316-300-5440

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.