Derby, KS 
Stone Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #16 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 199ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great fun factor!

1    7/2/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: redwrath
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Stone Creek is a lot of fun to play. The word creek is there for a reason, it was running dry today but the creek bed is prominent and I don't want to try and count all of the bridges. It's a disc golf specific park, meaning that you will not find picnic tables and shelters. There is a port-a-potty and plenty of trash cans. The course was well mowed, clean, and the trees had the lower limbs pruned back consistently. There is plenty of shade at this park and the south wind has no problem getting through the trees. It was 95 degrees with full sun and I had no problems hiking the holes.

Teepads are all marked with signs that include distance and strokes for par. Today was my first visit and I had little trouble navigating. Layout demands accuracy and forethought in order to stay out of trouble.

A couple of holes were very 'aceable' and others were challenging to reach in four. It's a good variety and excellent use of the available terrain. I never felt bored with the course at all.
Cons: Locust trees! Maintenance does a nice job actually trimming the thorns on many of them. Watch where you put your hands.

The trees are great, but keep a close eye on your disc in case it gets deflected. There is very little brush to lose a disc in, but it can end up somewhere unexpected.

Some of the holes, you will want to walk forward and scout out. Both to find the pin and figure out what line to throw.
Other Thoughts: I am definitely coming back to this course. It was a blast!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Has wonderful potential, but needs some tweaking

2-4    7/28/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 317  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Incredibly challenging. For all its length, it rewards accuracy over just being able to bomb. Yellow homemade baskets (and yes, they catch pretty good) provide for easy viewing provided you know which one to aim at. Flows fairly logically through a mostly wooded area around a subdivision and to a great degree is disc golf only (although you'll likely find non discers poking around). The small creek in the park provides an extra challenge on some holes. If you're feeling masochistic, you'll like the last two holes. A 430' drive to hit a narrow fairway between dense trees and a pond, and a 600+ tunnel with dense trees on both sides.
Cons: Tee signs, which as of my review are simple yellow signs with just the hole numbers are oriented all sorts of directions. Some are forward, some sideways, some slanted backwards. This leaves you wondering which direction to go. Brush pile blocking Hole 7. Hole 9 for its long length is an obstacle course with no really well defined fairway and can lead you off course. Hole 17 is going to swallow some discs and have rec players crying unfair, particularly if they're left handed.
Other Thoughts: This course has been a work in progress for a few years now, and its really nice to see the whole thing up and running now as it adds a new dimension to disc golf in metro Wichita, contrasting well with the more 'park' style courses at Herman Hill and Oak. I do hope a little bit of tweaking is done to clean up some of the dead wood, define the fairway on #9, and hopefully make the last two holes a bit friendlier for rec players.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

1    7/23/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: fat-schmidty
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Interesting course. Well mowed. A few nice opportunities for some very long drives (over 500 and 600 feet).
Cons: A couple of the holes are a little insane. Hole 7 is currently a blind drive over a very large brush pile and hole 9 is well over 400 feet through solid trees.
Other Thoughts: All 18 holes are now in place with distances marked at the tees.

 Derby, Ks

1    2/8/2009   2/8/2009
Review By: Robert Scott
Played: 52  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 18.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A pretty nice course as is. The baskets are homemade but are really nice. They are painted yellow so pretty east to see them all. There are signs but with only a number. A practice basket near the parking lot. I think they have a print out of the course map behind the sign but they were all gone.
Cons: The tees are grass and uneven. The tee signs are numbers only, no distance or direction to throw. The course layout is some what messed up I think. Hole 1-4 flow good then 5 is out of place (I think). 6-8 flow good then 9-11 are out of place with the rest of the course. 9 and 10 play along the trees on one side and a pond on the other, RHBH holes then 11 plays back the length of both 9 and 10. The creek is pretty nasty and the ponds maybe hard to get a disc out of.
Other Thoughts: They are working on clearing the trees out on the north end of the park. It looks like it is going to be a while before the other 7 baskets can be put in. I hope they chance some of the holes when they get it all finished.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Its Getter There

7/2/2008   7/3/2008
Review By: nathanburrows
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: clearly visible tee pads and tees
Cons: not mowed completely.
Other Thoughts: Since playing this course back in December of 2007 they have done alot of improvements.

I also hear they are planning on finishing the course making it 18 holes with concrete tee pads. I can't wait for that!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.