Derby, KS 
Stone Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: marteh Hole #12 (Taken 6/2014)
4 / 435ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 All around good course

1    7/6/2014   7/6/2014
Review By: JFibeZZZ
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Forces you to work on keeping the disc low, and definitely made me use every disc in my bag.
2. Beautiful scenery along most of the course, very little outside noise as it is a secluded park.
3. Pretty good combo of short and long holes.
4. If it hasn't recently rained, chances to lose a disc are low.
5. Flows very well, never confused on where to go next.
Cons: 1. To go along with my last pro, there are a few blind holes and a few where I wasn't sure which pin I was throwing at. I'm sure they are working on getting signs. There were also little metal plated embedded in the ground for short pads, they were hard to see though and need concrete pads soon.
2. If it has recently rained, there is a chance to lose a disc on the first 9 or 10 holes due to the creek running through it. Not necessarily a con, but just a warning.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed it. This course will improve my game because it really does make you throw every shot in your bag.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A good test of your overall game

5+    3/29/2014   3/30/2014
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 267  Reviewed: 112  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The tee pads are nice and long and there are bag hangers at every hole. Most holes have benches or log stumps to sit on. Also there are foot scrapers at every hole as well. Wood chips have been added recently around the baskets to help with the soil compaction and to reduce roll away putts.
The flow is very logical and there are several well placed foot bridges to assist you in crossing the creek.
There is a good mix of short, long, and moderate length holes as well as technical holes and water threat. There is just about every shot accounted for here.
Hole observations:
1-straight shot with one tree upon approach
2-you have to hit a gap right off the box
3-technical hole with a narrow window
4-must cross the stream and the basket is out in the open
5-low ceiling shot that plays L to R
6-uphill shot with thick trees on the right side
7-is an anny shot RHBH or a FH shot with the basket sitting right on top of a hill, slopes downhill behind the basket
8-open until about the 2/3 mark then has trees upon approach
9-Long shot that crosses the creek at least twice. Low ceiling and tree lined
10-Similar to 9 but about half the length
11-the creek is on the left
12-is an open shot that works L to R until about the 3/4 mark and then you must cross the creek again and the approach is tree lined
13-crosses the creek playing downhill. Heavily wooded with your best play being a possible spike hyzer RHBH
14-Longer hole that is mostly open and the pond is on the left. The basket sits on the hill by the pond.
15-short shot across the pond with the hyzer route open RHBH
16-straight, shorter shot with the pond on the right
17-similar to 16 but about 2.5 times the length
18-EPIC tunnel shot, long and tree lined the whole way. Accuracy test for sure.
Cons: Being as the baskets are homemade they aren't real deep like a Name brand basket, however they do their job.
Seems to need a few trash cans here or there to help alleviate the littering.
The walk from 11's basket to 12's tee is a little long but not too bad.
When it rains the soil of the fairways can get slick so good thing there are shoe scrapers at every hole.
Other Thoughts: When the creek is full and the trees are in full foliage, this great course plays even tougher. This course is well designed and well worth your time if you are in the Wichita area. This is a must play course for sure. I wouldn't be afraid to put it in the top 10 for the state of Kansas. I really like playing here and by the amount of traffic this course gets apparently I'm not alone.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Really Like This Coure

2-4    7/17/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: souljacker
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee Pads are all cement. Easy to make your way from each basket to the next tee. Baskets are homemade, but well made. Parking at Hole 1. Information board with layout and other information. Good variety. Some open long bombs, a good selection of left/right/straight drives, and obviously lots of obstacle shots.
Cons: Can be a bit hard deciding which basket is the one to throw at on a couple holes when you are searching down the field through the trees. If the signage could show the basket on them it would be helpful.

I am not going to call all the tree's and obstacles a con, that is the course!
Other Thoughts: I really like this course alot! It is an accuracy course no doubt. I see a lot of people find the dense tree's a con, but I find this makes it more challenging and you have to take a second to think of what your shot is going to be. Hole 9 IS a wall of tree's but I disagree it needs thinned out. If you can get your drive through, or even just deep into it, you can par that hole everytime...of course that is you dont hit a tree off the tee. That's the fun of it! If you are not confident or dont have a floating disc the water hazards could be intimidating. Get a floater and just go for it!!!All in all a fun course, I really enjoy this one!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  A Beginners Opinion

2-4    10/25/2010   10/26/2010
Review By: adamclaythompson
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It forces you to learn a low and straight throw. Something I need work on. And with the exception of one water hole (which I skip) it is tough to loose a disc. The baskets are nice and there are big tee signs to help guide your way.
Cons: Someone needs to take a chain saw and cut back the trees just a little bit. With a little trimming it could be a great course. Also number 9 is a ridiculous hole. It makes no sense.
Other Thoughts: Don't forget to check out the Derby Disc Golf Club. We meet Monday at 4:30 and Thursday at day break. It's a social group and you probably are better than me so don't worry about skill.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center