Derby, KS 
Stone Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: marteh Hole #3 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 262ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
All around good course

1    7/6/2014   7/6/2014
Review By: JFibeZZZ
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Forces you to work on keeping the disc low, and definitely made me use every disc in my bag.
2. Beautiful scenery along most of the course, very little outside noise as it is a secluded park.
3. Pretty good combo of short and long holes.
4. If it hasn't recently rained, chances to lose a disc are low.
5. Flows very well, never confused on where to go next.
Cons: 1. To go along with my last pro, there are a few blind holes and a few where I wasn't sure which pin I was throwing at. I'm sure they are working on getting signs. There were also little metal plated embedded in the ground for short pads, they were hard to see though and need concrete pads soon.
2. If it has recently rained, there is a chance to lose a disc on the first 9 or 10 holes due to the creek running through it. Not necessarily a con, but just a warning.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed it. This course will improve my game because it really does make you throw every shot in your bag.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A good test of your overall game

5+    3/29/2014   3/30/2014
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 250  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The tee pads are nice and long and there are bag hangers at every hole. Most holes have benches or log stumps to sit on. Also there are foot scrapers at every hole as well. Wood chips have been added recently around the baskets to help with the soil compaction and to reduce roll away putts.
The flow is very logical and there are several well placed foot bridges to assist you in crossing the creek.
There is a good mix of short, long, and moderate length holes as well as technical holes and water threat. There is just about every shot accounted for here.
Hole observations:
1-straight shot with one tree upon approach
2-you have to hit a gap right off the box
3-technical hole with a narrow window
4-must cross the stream and the basket is out in the open
5-low ceiling shot that plays L to R
6-uphill shot with thick trees on the right side
7-is an anny shot RHBH or a FH shot with the basket sitting right on top of a hill, slopes downhill behind the basket
8-open until about the 2/3 mark then has trees upon approach
9-Long shot that crosses the creek at least twice. Low ceiling and tree lined
10-Similar to 9 but about half the length
11-the creek is on the left
12-is an open shot that works L to R until about the 3/4 mark and then you must cross the creek again and the approach is tree lined
13-crosses the creek playing downhill. Heavily wooded with your best play being a possible spike hyzer RHBH
14-Longer hole that is mostly open and the pond is on the left. The basket sits on the hill by the pond.
15-short shot across the pond with the hyzer route open RHBH
16-straight, shorter shot with the pond on the right
17-similar to 16 but about 2.5 times the length
18-EPIC tunnel shot, long and tree lined the whole way. Accuracy test for sure.
Cons: Being as the baskets are homemade they aren't real deep like a Name brand basket, however they do their job.
Seems to need a few trash cans here or there to help alleviate the littering.
The walk from 11's basket to 12's tee is a little long but not too bad.
When it rains the soil of the fairways can get slick so good thing there are shoe scrapers at every hole.
Other Thoughts: When the creek is full and the trees are in full foliage, this great course plays even tougher. This course is well designed and well worth your time if you are in the Wichita area. This is a must play course for sure. I wouldn't be afraid to put it in the top 10 for the state of Kansas. I really like playing here and by the amount of traffic this course gets apparently I'm not alone.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun and Challenging

2-4    12/11/2012   1/5/2013
Review By: DTB501
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice and well kept. It's very easy to tell that the course is well taken care of. A few holes are very challenging. There is a good mix of open shots and wooded ones. Definitely a nice change of pace from most courses in kansas. A couple of holes run next to a pond and a creek runs through the course. The holes near the pond are very high risk of a water hazard if you aren't careful. The creek was dried up when i played there so getting discs out wasn't a big deal but I'm sure that can change with a lot of rain.
Cons: The only reason why i didn't give this course a five was because their is hardly any way to tell where to start. The tee pads aren't really marked, me and a friend had to walk a ways to find the basket so we knew what hole we're on. Once you get started the holes flow fairly well. A map or better markers would do a lot!
Other Thoughts: Of all the courses that I've played so far this would be my new favorite. Herman Hill use to be my favorite but this one is better in my mind. If you're a beginner you might want to try a different course though. Some of the holes are pretty tough in my mind.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    8/6/2012   12/8/2012
Review By: DiscPirate
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.3 Years
Pros: Well maintained course. Has a few chances for aces. Good mixture of woods and open shots. Slight water hazard at the end of the course. Good thing there was extreme heat this summer and the creek was dry. I would've had a couple wet disc's.
Cons: Since it was my first time playing, one or two of the holes were confusing. had to walk the fairway to find the basket then go back to drive.
Not sure what the name of the trees are but they have massive thorns on them and seemed to attract some big ass wasps.
Other Thoughts: Definitely plan on playing this one more in 2013.

 Great fun factor!

1    7/2/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: redwrath
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Stone Creek is a lot of fun to play. The word creek is there for a reason, it was running dry today but the creek bed is prominent and I don't want to try and count all of the bridges. It's a disc golf specific park, meaning that you will not find picnic tables and shelters. There is a port-a-potty and plenty of trash cans. The course was well mowed, clean, and the trees had the lower limbs pruned back consistently. There is plenty of shade at this park and the south wind has no problem getting through the trees. It was 95 degrees with full sun and I had no problems hiking the holes.

Teepads are all marked with signs that include distance and strokes for par. Today was my first visit and I had little trouble navigating. Layout demands accuracy and forethought in order to stay out of trouble.

A couple of holes were very 'aceable' and others were challenging to reach in four. It's a good variety and excellent use of the available terrain. I never felt bored with the course at all.
Cons: Locust trees! Maintenance does a nice job actually trimming the thorns on many of them. Watch where you put your hands.

The trees are great, but keep a close eye on your disc in case it gets deflected. There is very little brush to lose a disc in, but it can end up somewhere unexpected.

Some of the holes, you will want to walk forward and scout out. Both to find the pin and figure out what line to throw.
Other Thoughts: I am definitely coming back to this course. It was a blast!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Much improved, always getting better

5+    5/11/2012   5/16/2012
Review By: srecje
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course, it is great for the beginner and still very challenging for the most advanced player. The parks department takes excellent care of the area. Concrete tees and new shorter tees are in the works as I'm typing. This course is tournament length, and ready. Also bring your poles all three ponds have fish in them.
Cons: Hole nine is a bit wooded, but its probably because I haven't figured the route I want to take on this hole regularly yet.
Other Thoughts: If your in the area and have time for a round call me Ill go with you if you'd like the company. 316-300-5440

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Really Like This Coure

2-4    7/17/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: souljacker
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee Pads are all cement. Easy to make your way from each basket to the next tee. Baskets are homemade, but well made. Parking at Hole 1. Information board with layout and other information. Good variety. Some open long bombs, a good selection of left/right/straight drives, and obviously lots of obstacle shots.
Cons: Can be a bit hard deciding which basket is the one to throw at on a couple holes when you are searching down the field through the trees. If the signage could show the basket on them it would be helpful.

I am not going to call all the tree's and obstacles a con, that is the course!
Other Thoughts: I really like this course alot! It is an accuracy course no doubt. I see a lot of people find the dense tree's a con, but I find this makes it more challenging and you have to take a second to think of what your shot is going to be. Hole 9 IS a wall of tree's but I disagree it needs thinned out. If you can get your drive through, or even just deep into it, you can par that hole everytime...of course that is you dont hit a tree off the tee. That's the fun of it! If you are not confident or dont have a floating disc the water hazards could be intimidating. Get a floater and just go for it!!!All in all a fun course, I really enjoy this one!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Definitely Improving

5+    7/1/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: marteh
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is shady and fairly challenging. The city mows the course at least weekly, and is quick to clean up and trim broken limbs. Most of the holes have a well defined route, with the continued exception of #9. Almost never crowded.
Cons: Only one set of tees and basket locations so far, but rumor is that there will be a second set of tee pads poured and multiple pin locations in the near future.
Other Thoughts: Having played the course over the summer about 25 times, i'd have to agree that there is a playable line on #9 - I just couldn't find it at the beginning of the summer!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  A Beginners Opinion

2-4    10/25/2010   10/26/2010
Review By: adamclaythompson
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It forces you to learn a low and straight throw. Something I need work on. And with the exception of one water hole (which I skip) it is tough to loose a disc. The baskets are nice and there are big tee signs to help guide your way.
Cons: Someone needs to take a chain saw and cut back the trees just a little bit. With a little trimming it could be a great course. Also number 9 is a ridiculous hole. It makes no sense.
Other Thoughts: Don't forget to check out the Derby Disc Golf Club. We meet Monday at 4:30 and Thursday at day break. It's a social group and you probably are better than me so don't worry about skill.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good

2-4    11/21/2009   12/9/2009
Review By: Austin4224
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good nice challenging course.
Homemade baskets that arent bad catchers.
Nice little quiet disc golfing park.
Not a lot of Bomb holes. this course makes you have accuracy.
Last 2 holes are SICK.
Cons: Tee signs are just numbers facing wrong way.

Not much terrain change.

Has a lot of potentional though.

Holes 17 & 18 enough said.
Other Thoughts: This course has grown and is starting to look good. Finally able to have some other good quality courses just outside wichita.
Defintely give it a try at least once.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.