Devens, MA 
Devens - The Hill Share
Uploaded By: Killer B Disc Golf Hole #18 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 410ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 at the ridge, halfway to basket



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
WOW!

1    10/9/2014   10/9/2014
Review By: gabereif
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Stunning natural setting. The rocky outcroppings and topography are like nothing else I've seen in the 10-15 courses I've played in New England.
-Extremely challenging, while most holes are still very fair. This game tests your skill big time
-No thorns or poison ivy (that I saw)
-Easy to find poorly thrown discs
-Free
-Very easy to navigate. Kudos to whoever did the signs!
-Fantastic balance of left, right, and straight holes
-Great course design in so many aspects. It's easy to navigate, it's safe, fairways don't cross, 18 finishes near where 1 starts...
-Has a pro shop next to one of the holes
-People clearly care about and care for this course. It's something special.
-Great rubber tees with enough length
Cons: -18 sort of needs a spotter if you throw a nice drive
-Shouldn't at least one of these holes be a par 4? 3? 18?
Other Thoughts: This course blew me away. It is beautiful, extremely well kept, and a great playing experience. I didn't go to the Hawks Nest pro shop, but maybe that would've bumped this up to a 4.5. Other things that could raise the rating are multiple pin/tees, 18 being less of a threat for lost discs, having some water in play (this obviously cannot be done, but for a course to get a top rating from me, it helps to have water). For a free, public course, it's hard to get much better than this. I'll be sure to play The General the next time I'm in town. Thank you to all the volunteers who made this exceptional course!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Another great Metro Boston course

1    6/18/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: corin_brown
Played: 25  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Gorgeous sylvan setting. Great test of long downhill drives and approaches and long uphill drives and upshots. Great test of one's control mad touch. Clean, organized. Great tee pads. Empty. Great workout hoofing it up and down the holes.
Cons: None really. A little remote. Hole 1 tee pad is a little ways from the parking lot - no big deal. I didn't see too much commerce around - not too many spots to get a drink or a sandwich. Really buggy.
Other Thoughts: Another great Boston course. I live in LA but my folks live in Boston. After I picked up the game three years ago, I started to bring my gear with me when I would visit. So far, in Boston, I've played Maple Hill, Borderland and now The Hill at Devens. Each have been superb. Tomorrow, I plan to hit The General.

It's really apparent how much work & dedication went into building The Hill. Based on what I've seen, the DG scene in Boston looks quite hale & hearty. Big time respect to the designers & builders of The Hill. Can't wait to play The. General tomorrow. Keep up the great work.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    6/1/2014   6/8/2014
Review By: chrisdisc
Played: 27  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.5 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is an amazing course. Great Layout with some challenging shots. A great aspect of this course is the ability to ace many of the holes while the same holes having the ability to turn a birdie into a bogie real quick. Overall great course I play all the time.
Cons: One issue is the ability of this course to ruin great shots. The hills bring the fun to the game sometimes but man it hurts.
Other Thoughts: always looking to play dubs at devens

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    5/25/2014   5/29/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I think it's safe to say that it will be a long time before I play another course with this much elevation. You can read the tee signs and see, "25 feet up," and "15 feet down," but that does not do justice to how steep these holes are. There's barely a hole that doesn't have you throwing up or down at incredible angles. It's a course that you must absolutely play once.

While the severity of the elevation pervades most of the course, there are some standout holes. Of particular note is 16. While most of the holes feature fairly constant rises and drops, 16 features a blind drop off that will make you want to be very careful with your placement.

A bunch of holes take advantage of the naturally occurring boulders. And I mean boulders. They force some shot shaping, just as much as the trees. This is a highly technical course that makes up for a lack of length with a great layout and unique terrain.

Great signage, which is very necessary here. Of any course that you will play, this is the one where knowing the elevation change is key. It's also got bricks placed under each basket with arrows pointing players towards the next tee. It's easy to navigate the terrain, even if traversing it is rough.
Cons: I'm someone who regularly plays up to six rounds in a day. My motion is smooth enough not to cause tennis elbow. But you take that motion and alter it to be constantly throwing upwards at a massive degree? The body is not used to such motions. My arm was about to fall off by the end of one round at The Hill. Just so much uphill. I really don't think it could be an everyday course.

That leads to the other thing. The course is a bit of a one-trick pony. As fun as this extreme elevation is at the beginning, by the final few holes, most players will be hoping for something else. Too much of a good thing makes the good thing feel blase.

It's also not the greatest test of skill. Primarily because it only really tests one skill and it's not one that comes into play often on most courses. But also because with elevations this steep the luck of the bounce will come into play more often than on most courses.

Lastly, the terrain is more taxing than the discing. The course is not that hard but the terrain that you have to cross is. Expect to be worn out. And oh, yeah, leave the carts at home.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Hills, hills, hills!

1    6/15/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 181  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 22.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Built on an old military training center where you run up and down hills through the woods and over huge boulders. The design is like a roller coaster, as you go up, down, and start again. I can't remember many holes that were flat at all. It's all wooded and removed from everything, so its a very peaceful experience, except for the heart pumping you'll get as you hike around. Its fun and challenging and will test your game - especially how you can handle elevation, both subtle and extreme, and tight line. . It's all technical, without really any chance to open up the air game.

Memorable Holes:
#3. Starts with a downhill tunnel that doglegs left then goes uphill again to a large outcropping of boulders where the basket rests. The pin is also protected by some thin trees on the approach. Very cool setting!
#4. A large boulder rises in the center of the fairway where you see a flag rising above in the distance. The pin peeks up directly behind another large boulder. Beware, though! The green slopes downhill left, so if your approach lands on edge, you are likely to roll away.

The signage is excellent! It lists (very helpfully) the elevation gain/loss. Also, the pins are marked with flags to help you spot them easier (especially the pins hidden by boulders).
Cons: After awhile, you begin to get a bit a deją vu as a sense of sameness seems to take over some of the holes as you go up and down.
The course could use a couple of open holes (to balance it out) though it would require cutting down a forest to create that......so maybe not.
There are a couple of poke and hope shots where it seems you pitch out and it's not really a "drive".
Other Thoughts: Bring lots of water as there is nowhere here to get any. Wear solid shoes, as you are hiking the whole time through steep hills and forest.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Brutal course... I Love it!

2-4    7/1/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: PumaPaws
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good way to get into shape. This course requires a good bunch of different throws which makes it a challenge. Beginners can enjoy it as well but this shouldn't be your first course to play (maybe your third or fourth). A course you can enjoy plus enjoy the scenery as well. Good parking nearby.
Cons: Hard to find the first tee but real easy after that.
It is hilly. This is a pack it in, pack it out type of course.
Other Thoughts: This is a challenging course for decent average players. Fun but tough. Not so bad the second or third time around (if you miss the trees). Elevation changes, trees, rocks, this course has them all. If you are not in decent shape you'll probably feel it by the end. However, I'm not in great shape and I enjoy playing here. Bring water with you and also leave some in the car!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Devens DGC

2-4    4/22/2012   4/22/2012
Review By: Lemony
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: - Excellent signage.
- Good use of elevation.
- Some fun shots
- Maintains character as a technical course.
- Not crowded
Cons: - Elevation changes get old quickly, many holes seem gimmicky.
- Some tee pads do not promote following through with your drive at risk of strained/ sprained ankle.
- Many self-similar holes, and flow.
- Few trash receptacles.
- Only a couple of long holes.
Other Thoughts: While a unique course, Devens DGC doesn't really have what it takes to be an excellent course. The flow of the course is almost a pattern of two holes up one hole across and a couple of holes down. Many of the steep downhill holes could fairly easily be parked with a thumber to reduce the chance of glide-out. As another reviewer wrote Devens is a great place for a causal round and will get you to think about driving in a different way.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 This course kicked my butt, physically!

1    4/15/2012   4/15/2012
Review By: bosoxbrent
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful and adventurous course that goes up and down on some fairly steep terrain. There are a lot of rocks and steep areas that will challenge even the most experienced of players.

The signage is some of the best that I've ever seen on disc golf courses. The signs are accurate and do a great job of explaining the vertical challenge you are about to face. It is easy to find your way from hole to hole due to the signs.

The course is very well maintained and you don't have any visible areas that would hold standing water for too long. The brush is cut down and there are very few, if any, downed trees in the playing area.
Cons: If you are out of shape or easily frustrated, this is not a course for you. You will spend a good couple of hours going up and down, clearing hundreds of vertical feet. You will also probably hit a dozen or so trees while playing as some areas are pretty heavily wooded.

I agree with the other reviews that some of the holes are pure luck due to blind shots towards the basket.

You need to wear boots with good ankle support when playing this course. Those with sneakers or shoes without good ankle support run the risk of twisting their ankle climbing up and down the course, especially if it is wet. So be prepared.
Other Thoughts: This courses physically kicked my butt! It was only 70 degrees when I played it and I worked up a huge sweat. I've only played about 6 different courses so far, but this one was by far my favorite. It was a lot of fun.

BTW...Hole 16 is a total trip! There is climbing rope to assist you in climbing down the cliff like terrain. It was like a mix of disc golf and mountaineering!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Techy!

2-4    1/20/2012   2/16/2012
Review By: anttiwalt
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Super technical course, lots of very tight throws with numerous trees, boulders, elevation changes, and turning shots.

Fantastic signage and upkeep. Located on the top of a hill so the scenery is fantastic as well as the terrain. makes for a great hike
Cons: - the rocky terrain and tight trees destroy your dx plastic
-no water shots
Other Thoughts: best course in north central mass, if you are within an hour and half I would recommend going

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Change from the Texas courses

1    1/27/2012   2/3/2012
Review By: mirkky
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.5 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Amazing hike up and down the hill. Excellent signage. Great tee-pads. Love the flags on the baskets making them easier to see from a distance. Only needed my mid range and putter to play this course.
Cons: Half a country away. Very slippery due to the ice and snow, but this is mostly due to the course being a big hill. Disc golf shop moved to Georgia. No trash cans any where.
Other Thoughts: Ended up here while on vacation and glad I made it out. The primary course I play in the Austin area is a wide open huck fest with lots of 400ft+ holes. This course had great elevation changes and I had fun hucking some extra discs from the ace race markers that were still in the ground.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.