Devens, MA 
Devens - The Hill Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #7
3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Another great Metro Boston course

1    6/18/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: corin_brown
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Gorgeous sylvan setting. Great test of long downhill drives and approaches and long uphill drives and upshots. Great test of one's control mad touch. Clean, organized. Great tee pads. Empty. Great workout hoofing it up and down the holes.
Cons: None really. A little remote. Hole 1 tee pad is a little ways from the parking lot - no big deal. I didn't see too much commerce around - not too many spots to get a drink or a sandwich. Really buggy.
Other Thoughts: Another great Boston course. I live in LA but my folks live in Boston. After I picked up the game three years ago, I started to bring my gear with me when I would visit. So far, in Boston, I've played Maple Hill, Borderland and now The Hill at Devens. Each have been superb. Tomorrow, I plan to hit The General.

It's really apparent how much work & dedication went into building The Hill. Based on what I've seen, the DG scene in Boston looks quite hale & hearty. Big time respect to the designers & builders of The Hill. Can't wait to play The. General tomorrow. Keep up the great work.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Brutal course... I Love it!

2-4    7/1/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: PumaPaws
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good way to get into shape. This course requires a good bunch of different throws which makes it a challenge. Beginners can enjoy it as well but this shouldn't be your first course to play (maybe your third or fourth). A course you can enjoy plus enjoy the scenery as well. Good parking nearby.
Cons: Hard to find the first tee but real easy after that.
It is hilly. This is a pack it in, pack it out type of course.
Other Thoughts: This is a challenging course for decent average players. Fun but tough. Not so bad the second or third time around (if you miss the trees). Elevation changes, trees, rocks, this course has them all. If you are not in decent shape you'll probably feel it by the end. However, I'm not in great shape and I enjoy playing here. Bring water with you and also leave some in the car!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Embodies Many of the Best Things About Disc Golf

1    1/25/2012   1/26/2012
Review By: Menacewarf
Played: 60  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Secluision, peacefulness, and a fun test of your golfing skills await those who choose to play up and down the hill of Devens DGC.

The course features a good variety of shot's though I would rate it a 7 out of 10 in that department. Someone with just overhand and forehand shots can score close to scratch here while it seems throwing RHBH for every shot would make that more difficult.

The nice signage is an extra bonus considering the course is unmarked from the road. I like the use of the Helo Pad at the top of the hill (hole 7).

Many things to like for fans of all that mountain golf has to offer!
Cons: No sign from the main road (can understand this though). A slight con in shot variety as said above. Perhaps favors overhand and forhand players.
Other Thoughts: This is a wonderful course. Any coast to coast Discers should check out Shale City in Oregon for a west coast sister course to this. Very similar tests. Shale has remote mountain paradise, while Devins has nice baskets, flags, and nice tee pads. Both favorites of mine!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good times

2-4    10/15/2011   10/16/2011
Review By: Elegenza
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Course in good shape. Challenging tight holes. Good workout while I ran up and down hills. Maps are outstanding and course east to follow. Must play if you enjoy Disc Golf
Cons: Very hilly. Since the holes are all played in the woods it is a very tight course. I would not recommend for beginners
Other Thoughts: Would recommend to all who enjoy sport.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/4/2012   9/29/2011
Review By: Iamthemo11580
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is in excellent condition. Great tee pads and benches, clean and well maintained, and signs with descriptions at every hole. This one is a workout because you're hiking all over the place! There are some really interesting holes here that make drastic elevation changes. A nice little course over all.
Cons: There were some trees that had been knocked down by the elements that hadn't been cleared out of the way yet, but that's really no big deal.
Other Thoughts: *** I JUST PLAYED THIS course for the first time since last fall and remembered how much I love to hate it! Here's a tip - get your mid range discs out. With all the rapid elevation changes it's easy to overthrow a few of these.

Most of the holes are very short and technical, so you can rack up some extra strokes if you get off course. There are some easy 2's mixed in as well. I definitely want to play it again before the end of the season.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great workout, great course!

1    4/10/2011   4/10/2011
Review By: Everett Evans
Played: 64  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 21.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/13/2011
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, what a course! I had read about the terrain on DGCR and thought I would be prepared, but it can be really brutal in places. Parts of the back nine, when you are already tired, almost make you think the designers were as interested in wiping you out as they were in creating a great course (seriously? another #%@&ing stairway???). All in all, one of the best I have played in New England.

It is extreme disc golf, very focused on uphill and downhill shots, with only a few holes with less than 10' of elevation either way. Even #3, with technically 15' of elevation down, is a workout because the hole actually plays 50' down and 35' back up.

Many, many memorable holes, fun holes, extremely fair fairways, good opportunities for deuces and bogies, and I suppose a few 5s and 6s if you really get stuck.

The signage is perfect, showing you the line, elevation and distance at each tee and guiding you from one hole to the next tee, without overkill or ugly spraypainted arrows everywhere. I think most if not all of the baskets had high orange flags to mark their position, which came in very handy on a few.

Very little trash, just a few pieces of bottle glass here and there where some jerk must have thought throwing a bottle was a really cool thing to do, and might get him women.

All of the teepads were fine, some were awesome, some were just OK, but none were a trip hazard, and the couple that were OK I threw forehand and didn't need a run up anyway.

Speaking of forehand, I threw about 75/25 BH/FH, which I was not prepared for. I usually rely on anhyzer RHBHs to do the trick on left-right holes, but the fairways and tree placement on most of the left-right holes at Devens ruled out a sweeping anhyzer. Much better shot was a low, straight RHFH which faded right at the end. Seeing as I don't throw a lot of those, it was a little refreshing.

Elevation, elevation, elevation!!!! 30', 50' 70'!, 90'!!?!?!?! of elevation on holes under 400'?? And on some holes under 300'?????? Just awesome and a lot of fun.

Portable toilets down at the parking area.

This course is about 70 minutes from me, but I will definitely be back. Well done!!!
Cons: Only three cons I can think of, all relatively minor:

1) Hole 9 finishes in the middle of the woods, so if you have to break for lunch (like I did), you have to walk quite a ways to get back to the car, then back to 10 to finish up. Not much of a con if you plan on playing 18 holes.

2) Due to the awesome and rugged terrain, your discs may take a beating, which may change your disc selection. There were a few times where I brought out a trusty favorite disc, thought about it, then put it back in and picked another with a slightly different shot in mind, because I didn't want to risk gouging a favorite disc. I often throw an SE Leopard, but never threw it once, although I had opportunities. So, if you are concerned about bashing your favorite Roc on one of the 17 million rocks on the course, leave it home. DX plastic will SUFFER!!

3) Some of the stairs and paths were in rough shape and, in a couple cases, were more dangerous than just clamboring down the hillsides. One stairway in particular (the really steep one on the back 9, #16 I think) had various missing chunks and exposed rebar supports and took some careful navigating to make it down. Honestly, that hole was worth it though.

Other Thoughts: Bring water, really, really good solid shoes or hiking boots, and take your time. Don't throw your favorite 15 year old DX whatever unless you're looking to replace it.

There were a few missing amenities that you might find at higher-end or private courses (snack bar, tee brooms, bag hangers, etc), but I don't factor them in as Cons, just missing Pros.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Killer Hill

5+    11/21/2010   11/23/2010
Review By: N8malibu
Played: 43  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love the fact that I can get my heart rate up clamoring up to the second hole. The layout was well planned to put the hill to it's best use. I like the fact that it's a technical course and there aren't any real bomb shots to be had.
Cons: Not a great course for the beginner, some tight tree littered shots. To far from me to play on a regular basis :(
Other Thoughts: New Killer B pro shop located behind hole 12 has a fine selection of discs, bags and other necessities for the golf nut. Friendly and helpful staff, check 'em out!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 loved it

1    9/25/2010   9/25/2010
Review By: eastcoastf
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: what a great course.. well laid out and mapped.

very challenging and fun holes to play...i had a blast..wished i lived a little closer.

this is what i wish more courses were like.
Cons:
nothing bad to say about it.

but bring a drink..it's a workout
Other Thoughts: park at the soccer field parking lot and cross the street where the american flag on the fences is..first hole on the left.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course!

2-4    4/1/2010   4/7/2010
Review By: spinderella
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the best laid out courses out there! Big elevation changes, challenging shots, and beautiful scenery!
Cons: No negatives on this course, unless you count the toll it takes on your legs!
Other Thoughts: This course is an hour plus travel time for me, but well worth the drive, by far one of my favorites! Wear good hiking shoes and bring a water!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Best course in the area!

5+    11/10/2010   2/20/2010
Review By: ScottyD86
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/19/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Devens DGC sits on an old military training facility and is shrouded in woods. The only time you are outside the woods is the first tee shot, and then it's all woods and hills from there. Par for each hole is 3, but depending on your skill level, a handicap can help your confidence. Steep elevations both up and down from hole to hole keep this course a constant challenge. This is the course I play most often (because it's the closest to me) and I rarely play a round free of at least one 5+ hole.

Brand new recycled rubber teepads have been put in on most holes, making for consistent tee-offs instead of worrying about slipping on dirt or tripping in a divot on the teepad.
Cons: Both a pro and a con, this course has a lot of steep elevation changes (See holes 14 and 16 especially!), as well as a few holes where it helps to have a second person to watch your tee-shot, as you'll have to throw around some sharp doglegs that go around large boulders or thick sections of trees, so playing this course alone comes with the risk of losing your disc. Missing a putt on downhill holes can be catastrophic for your score, as most misses result in a long roll down the hill.
Other Thoughts: Definitely a course where you'll want to bring shoes or boots good for hiking, bug spray, and water, especially when playing in the summertime.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.