Devens, MA 
Devens - The Hill Share
Uploaded By: Killer B Disc Golf Hole #17 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Great Course

5+    6/1/2014   6/8/2014
Review By: chrisdisc
Played: 27  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.6 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is an amazing course. Great Layout with some challenging shots. A great aspect of this course is the ability to ace many of the holes while the same holes having the ability to turn a birdie into a bogie real quick. Overall great course I play all the time.
Cons: One issue is the ability of this course to ruin great shots. The hills bring the fun to the game sometimes but man it hurts.
Other Thoughts: always looking to play dubs at devens

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 This course kicked my butt, physically!

1    4/15/2012   4/15/2012
Review By: bosoxbrent
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful and adventurous course that goes up and down on some fairly steep terrain. There are a lot of rocks and steep areas that will challenge even the most experienced of players.

The signage is some of the best that I've ever seen on disc golf courses. The signs are accurate and do a great job of explaining the vertical challenge you are about to face. It is easy to find your way from hole to hole due to the signs.

The course is very well maintained and you don't have any visible areas that would hold standing water for too long. The brush is cut down and there are very few, if any, downed trees in the playing area.
Cons: If you are out of shape or easily frustrated, this is not a course for you. You will spend a good couple of hours going up and down, clearing hundreds of vertical feet. You will also probably hit a dozen or so trees while playing as some areas are pretty heavily wooded.

I agree with the other reviews that some of the holes are pure luck due to blind shots towards the basket.

You need to wear boots with good ankle support when playing this course. Those with sneakers or shoes without good ankle support run the risk of twisting their ankle climbing up and down the course, especially if it is wet. So be prepared.
Other Thoughts: This courses physically kicked my butt! It was only 70 degrees when I played it and I worked up a huge sweat. I've only played about 6 different courses so far, but this one was by far my favorite. It was a lot of fun.

BTW...Hole 16 is a total trip! There is climbing rope to assist you in climbing down the cliff like terrain. It was like a mix of disc golf and mountaineering!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Techy!

2-4    1/20/2012   2/16/2012
Review By: anttiwalt
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Super technical course, lots of very tight throws with numerous trees, boulders, elevation changes, and turning shots.

Fantastic signage and upkeep. Located on the top of a hill so the scenery is fantastic as well as the terrain. makes for a great hike
Cons: - the rocky terrain and tight trees destroy your dx plastic
-no water shots
Other Thoughts: best course in north central mass, if you are within an hour and half I would recommend going

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Change from the Texas courses

1    1/27/2012   2/3/2012
Review By: mirkky
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Amazing hike up and down the hill. Excellent signage. Great tee-pads. Love the flags on the baskets making them easier to see from a distance. Only needed my mid range and putter to play this course.
Cons: Half a country away. Very slippery due to the ice and snow, but this is mostly due to the course being a big hill. Disc golf shop moved to Georgia. No trash cans any where.
Other Thoughts: Ended up here while on vacation and glad I made it out. The primary course I play in the Austin area is a wide open huck fest with lots of 400ft+ holes. This course had great elevation changes and I had fun hucking some extra discs from the ace race markers that were still in the ground.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A true Sloppydisc favorite!!

1    8/17/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6.1 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A true technical wooded course with great elevation. It's not just a round, it's a workout. The whole course plays in a hilly wooded area, and makes great use of everything.

There are down hill shots through the woods and uphill shots through the woods. I'm talking steep uphill and downhill. Fun, fun, fun.

Signs at tee pads are very good. Not only do they show you the hole layout, they tell you how far downhill or uphill you must throw.

Navigation was easy. No map needed. Everything flowed and made sense. Even to me.

Lots of shot shaping and gap hitting. It's a wooded technical course. You need to be accurate.

A very secluded feel to the course. It almost had the feel of a secluded mountain course. But you're very close to everything. Kinda cool.
Cons: Natural and rubber tee pads. Concrete is always better in my book.

No wide open, long holes for those that like to throw their drivers and watch them fly. You could play a round without a driver at Devens very easily.
Other Thoughts: This is instantly one of my favorites. Don't let the walk to #1 or the look of that first hole fool you. This is a great course. If this was up in the mountains somewhere everybody would rave about the elevation and technical lines. The design and fun factor here are top notch. Big hills, trees and boulders. Beautiful land and disc golf. I usually put a star by any hole in my notes that stands out and my final tally here was 9 stars. That's pretty high on the Sloppydisc scale. My 4.5 disc rating is probably a little high compared to how a lot of people rate courses, but since this is a subjective review anyway I think it more than earns the 4.5. I played Hyzer Creek in NY and this has a very similar feel, but with more elevation. It's not only a great course, it's a great workout.

While there are not real long distance holes here, the elevation and steepness make many of the uphill holes play longer than their stated distances. You don't get to watch discs fly 600' here, but you do need to be able to throw well to score well.

Being a born and raised New Yorker, I hate all things Boston, but this course has me rethinking that view. I'll definitely be back at Devens any chance I get.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Devens Heavens

1    7/21/2010   7/21/2010
Review By: FrankieDG
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well marked, well laid out, challenging course. Crazy dog legs around big boulders. Intense long tees. Great variation from hole to hole.
Cons: Only cons I can think of is the distance the course is from NJ and it was a little difficult to find. If it was closer I'd play it often.
Other Thoughts: Please respect your fellow golfers and not litter the course. Thanks!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good stuff!

5+    10/25/2009   11/4/2009
Review By: lazy cake
Played: 330  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/21/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Gorgeous setting on a hill in central Massachusetts.
-One of the best designed courses I've ever played. Beautiful use of the natural landscape, it really feels like you're taking a walk in the woods and there just so happens to also be a great disc golf course laid out on your path.
-Extremely challenging. I've played here dozens of times and am still nowhere near par (+6 is my best round).
-Terrific hill action. Holes 1-6 play relatively flat, with the exception of number 3 (major drop, hard dog leg to the left, and back up the hill again to the basket). Starting with number 7, there's very little level terrain. Dramatic uphill shots mixed in with exciting downhill shots keeps things exciting. Plus, hill climbing makes for a good cardio work out.
-Well designed and high quality signs showing distance to the basket and change in elevation.
-Chainstar baskets. I prefer these for some reason.
-Pretty much unlimited opportunity for creative shot making. The change in elevation, trees, boulders, etc, provide new scenarios each time I play.
-Abundant wildlife. Frogs use the pond behind the 6th basked as a mating ground in the spring, it sounds like a UFO is landing for about a week. I once spent 20 minutes watching a snake slowly eat a frog on hole 17's fairway.
-Off the beaten path. You don't run in to mixed use problems here.
Cons: -The other type of wildlife: abundant mosquitoes from June-September. Vicious biters, bathe in DEET before playing. .
-Natural tee pads. It's sloppy during the muddy season.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  loved it

2-4    9/5/2008   9/15/2009
Review By: turtlehill
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Loved everything about this course its challenging and beautiful. Extreme elevation changes this course will make you shoot every shot you know and maybe teach you some new ones this course is one of my all time favorites
Cons: the only con i would think of is its not nice to beginners but thats why its so good for the rest of us
Other Thoughts: even if you have to go out of your way i recomend trying this course

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Thrill of the Hill!

1    7/13/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Simply the perfect technical course. Course gradually gets better and more dramatic as it unfolds before you....constantly providing that wow..what could possibly be next experience! Utilizes a dramatic and steep hill along with massive granite boulders, rock outcroppings, old growth hardwoods and plenty of creativity to blend all of the elements to both provide fun and challenge in the most perfect mix imagineable. Every shot you encounter here will be burned in your memory. Your either shooting across hillsides with all types of trouble for an errant toss, up steep climbs to challenge your strength or parachuting down in gleeful but terrifying plunges downward. Some distances may seem short but when you realize the elevation shifts are 45-65-70-90 feet on these holes you will suddenly forget about distance. You can get aces here but you can also get a fair share of double bogeys on these same holes also. The fun factor here is unlimited. No shule just old growth stands of pines and soft pine needles for your disc to land in after hitting a tree or large granite wall. The tee pads are natural but were not an issue for me. You don't need a big run up when your trying to delicately drop a putter down a 90 foot drop to a basket below that is reachable only by repelling down with a rope and steep stairway. Who cares about having a big wide open field hole when you have 18 wooded masterpieces to enjoy. I actually threw harder trying to climb 65 feet straight up the hill than I would in an open field anyway. (65 feet..thats a 6 story building think about that!) Who cares about water when an errant throw can sail a hundred feet past the hole or get plinked by a massive tree and your fighting for bogey. I searched for my discs a few times but the smile never left my face. The course is technical but very fair! I had no issues with navigation, everything was clearly marked. Once you find the course which is hidden from the street in an almost Batman Cave location let the fun begin. I have played 80 courses and played some famous courses but this is my favorite technical course....par 54 which will make your legs sore!
Cons: If it had concrete tees or rubber tees we are talking without question...World Class! It's a hike which might not be for everyone. Bring your own drink and be prepared to carry out your trash. There is no big wide open hole or water to throw over or near...for those who need that.
Other Thoughts: I played this course on the same day I played Maple Hill...This course is the one I would come back and play again and again. Disc Golf is about shotmaking and there is unlimited shot making here..more than any course I have ever played.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 love it!

5+    8/9/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: dukdukgolf
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
This review was updated on 12/6/2011
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: i live near here so i play it alot. The more i play the more i like it. Elevation is crazy and it creates unique challenges that are truly different than any other course ive played. Must use many different shots to play this course. Its wooded course but fairways are very defined.
Cons: updated cons: all rubber tee pads are in and practice basket installed.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.