Devens, MA 
Devens - The Hill Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #8
3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Don't take it too serious

5+    4/16/2011   11/7/2011
Review By: bradharris
Played: 70  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.2 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Devens is more than a disc golf course, it is a disc golf experience. It is built on a wooded hillside, providing a landscape that is very unique to the sport.

This terrain creates some pretty spectacular shots. Probably most notable is the 16th hole which is 260 feet long but 90 feet downhill! To make matters worse, the tee is set back from the edge of the hill enough to make it a totally blind shot.

Course maintenance is top-notch. There is a very strong community of players at Devens that keep the place looking great.

Signage is awesome. Elevation and distance are listed at each tee along with fun facts about Fort Devens and the hill that houses the course.

There is a really nice secluded feel to the course. Because of the thick woods and the fact that it's a disc golf only space, it really feels like stepping into another world once you cross into the trees on the first green. Solo rounds here on quiet days are incredibly peaceful.

The extreme terrain adds one test that is very rare in disc golf. You will have to be able to throw well with an elevated heart rate. In particular, the hike to the second tee is very steep. Although it's a short hole, it's a tight fairway and you will likely be breathing heavy by the time you step onto the tee. Later in the round fitness will come into play again after playing and hiking up 14. You'll still be breathing heavy by the time you get the long downhill 16. Hopefully that was enough rest, because 17 works back up the hill followed by another uphill hike to the 18th tee.
Cons: There is a huge luck factor in play here. Many baskets have trees very nearby that can quickly turn a potential park job into a bad downhill kick. Even if you avoid the trees, there are plenty of tree roots and exposed rocks that can make a disc stand up and roll down the ever-present hill. It's very easy to see round-by-round swings of ten strokes or more for all but the most consistent players.

A lot of times, the crazy elevation and tight lines make holes feel gimicky. Hole 16 mentioned above may be fun, but it's not a really serious test, more of a spray-and-pray kind of shot.

There are also a couple holes that feel like forced, filler holes. Nine and 11 in particular come to mind in that respect. Nine is a short 190 foot downhill shot that feels more like an easy approach than a tee shot. 11 is a short uphill shot through a gauntlet of trees.
Other Thoughts: In my opinion, Devens is best experienced in a casual setting where you're not taking your score too seriously. In serious play, you're likely to become very frustrated here. In casual play, the luck factor can present a nice equalizer for different skill levels. And who doesn't love giving a buddy a hard time after watching a perfect drive stand up on a root and roll all the way back to the tee?

There is a great fun-factor here and I would definitely recommend the course to anyone in the area. If you don't take it too seriously, it's a really enjoyable place to play.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Good times

2-4    10/15/2011   10/16/2011
Review By: Elegenza
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Course in good shape. Challenging tight holes. Good workout while I ran up and down hills. Maps are outstanding and course east to follow. Must play if you enjoy Disc Golf
Cons: Very hilly. Since the holes are all played in the woods it is a very tight course. I would not recommend for beginners
Other Thoughts: Would recommend to all who enjoy sport.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/4/2012   9/29/2011
Review By: Iamthemo11580
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is in excellent condition. Great tee pads and benches, clean and well maintained, and signs with descriptions at every hole. This one is a workout because you're hiking all over the place! There are some really interesting holes here that make drastic elevation changes. A nice little course over all.
Cons: There were some trees that had been knocked down by the elements that hadn't been cleared out of the way yet, but that's really no big deal.
Other Thoughts: *** I JUST PLAYED THIS course for the first time since last fall and remembered how much I love to hate it! Here's a tip - get your mid range discs out. With all the rapid elevation changes it's easy to overthrow a few of these.

Most of the holes are very short and technical, so you can rack up some extra strokes if you get off course. There are some easy 2's mixed in as well. I definitely want to play it again before the end of the season.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A true Sloppydisc favorite!!

1    8/17/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.7 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A true technical wooded course with great elevation. It's not just a round, it's a workout. The whole course plays in a hilly wooded area, and makes great use of everything.

There are down hill shots through the woods and uphill shots through the woods. I'm talking steep uphill and downhill. Fun, fun, fun.

Signs at tee pads are very good. Not only do they show you the hole layout, they tell you how far downhill or uphill you must throw.

Navigation was easy. No map needed. Everything flowed and made sense. Even to me.

Lots of shot shaping and gap hitting. It's a wooded technical course. You need to be accurate.

A very secluded feel to the course. It almost had the feel of a secluded mountain course. But you're very close to everything. Kinda cool.
Cons: Natural and rubber tee pads. Concrete is always better in my book.

No wide open, long holes for those that like to throw their drivers and watch them fly. You could play a round without a driver at Devens very easily.
Other Thoughts: This is instantly one of my favorites. Don't let the walk to #1 or the look of that first hole fool you. This is a great course. If this was up in the mountains somewhere everybody would rave about the elevation and technical lines. The design and fun factor here are top notch. Big hills, trees and boulders. Beautiful land and disc golf. I usually put a star by any hole in my notes that stands out and my final tally here was 9 stars. That's pretty high on the Sloppydisc scale. My 4.5 disc rating is probably a little high compared to how a lot of people rate courses, but since this is a subjective review anyway I think it more than earns the 4.5. I played Hyzer Creek in NY and this has a very similar feel, but with more elevation. It's not only a great course, it's a great workout.

While there are not real long distance holes here, the elevation and steepness make many of the uphill holes play longer than their stated distances. You don't get to watch discs fly 600' here, but you do need to be able to throw well to score well.

Being a born and raised New Yorker, I hate all things Boston, but this course has me rethinking that view. I'll definitely be back at Devens any chance I get.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded Refuge

2-4    7/26/2011   8/12/2011
Review By: Evilhippy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good mix of terrain with some exceptional downhill shots, not too long but not too short either.
Cons: Trees, Trees, and more Trees, don't get me wrong I like trees as much as the next guy but there are a few too many on this course IMHO.
Other Thoughts: Owner of Killer Bee runs the course, really nice guy. Bring bug spray and good shoes are a must.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great workout, great course!

1    4/10/2011   4/10/2011
Review By: Everett Evans
Played: 63  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 21.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/13/2011
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, what a course! I had read about the terrain on DGCR and thought I would be prepared, but it can be really brutal in places. Parts of the back nine, when you are already tired, almost make you think the designers were as interested in wiping you out as they were in creating a great course (seriously? another #%@&ing stairway???). All in all, one of the best I have played in New England.

It is extreme disc golf, very focused on uphill and downhill shots, with only a few holes with less than 10' of elevation either way. Even #3, with technically 15' of elevation down, is a workout because the hole actually plays 50' down and 35' back up.

Many, many memorable holes, fun holes, extremely fair fairways, good opportunities for deuces and bogies, and I suppose a few 5s and 6s if you really get stuck.

The signage is perfect, showing you the line, elevation and distance at each tee and guiding you from one hole to the next tee, without overkill or ugly spraypainted arrows everywhere. I think most if not all of the baskets had high orange flags to mark their position, which came in very handy on a few.

Very little trash, just a few pieces of bottle glass here and there where some jerk must have thought throwing a bottle was a really cool thing to do, and might get him women.

All of the teepads were fine, some were awesome, some were just OK, but none were a trip hazard, and the couple that were OK I threw forehand and didn't need a run up anyway.

Speaking of forehand, I threw about 75/25 BH/FH, which I was not prepared for. I usually rely on anhyzer RHBHs to do the trick on left-right holes, but the fairways and tree placement on most of the left-right holes at Devens ruled out a sweeping anhyzer. Much better shot was a low, straight RHFH which faded right at the end. Seeing as I don't throw a lot of those, it was a little refreshing.

Elevation, elevation, elevation!!!! 30', 50' 70'!, 90'!!?!?!?! of elevation on holes under 400'?? And on some holes under 300'?????? Just awesome and a lot of fun.

Portable toilets down at the parking area.

This course is about 70 minutes from me, but I will definitely be back. Well done!!!
Cons: Only three cons I can think of, all relatively minor:

1) Hole 9 finishes in the middle of the woods, so if you have to break for lunch (like I did), you have to walk quite a ways to get back to the car, then back to 10 to finish up. Not much of a con if you plan on playing 18 holes.

2) Due to the awesome and rugged terrain, your discs may take a beating, which may change your disc selection. There were a few times where I brought out a trusty favorite disc, thought about it, then put it back in and picked another with a slightly different shot in mind, because I didn't want to risk gouging a favorite disc. I often throw an SE Leopard, but never threw it once, although I had opportunities. So, if you are concerned about bashing your favorite Roc on one of the 17 million rocks on the course, leave it home. DX plastic will SUFFER!!

3) Some of the stairs and paths were in rough shape and, in a couple cases, were more dangerous than just clamboring down the hillsides. One stairway in particular (the really steep one on the back 9, #16 I think) had various missing chunks and exposed rebar supports and took some careful navigating to make it down. Honestly, that hole was worth it though.

Other Thoughts: Bring water, really, really good solid shoes or hiking boots, and take your time. Don't throw your favorite 15 year old DX whatever unless you're looking to replace it.

There were a few missing amenities that you might find at higher-end or private courses (snack bar, tee brooms, bag hangers, etc), but I don't factor them in as Cons, just missing Pros.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Killer Hill

5+    11/21/2010   11/23/2010
Review By: N8malibu
Played: 43  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love the fact that I can get my heart rate up clamoring up to the second hole. The layout was well planned to put the hill to it's best use. I like the fact that it's a technical course and there aren't any real bomb shots to be had.
Cons: Not a great course for the beginner, some tight tree littered shots. To far from me to play on a regular basis :(
Other Thoughts: New Killer B pro shop located behind hole 12 has a fine selection of discs, bags and other necessities for the golf nut. Friendly and helpful staff, check 'em out!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 pretty neato

1    10/11/2010   10/15/2010
Review By: smalcome
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -excellent signs- not only were they easy to read and in great shape, but they had distance and elevation noted
-elevation changes- it made the course pretty unique, there's one hole that is like throwing your disc off a five story building, and that made disc choice pretty tough
-nice terrain
-quality baskets in good shape
Cons: -very wooded, it is still fun, but if you start playing pinball off the trees, it is easy to get frustrated
-not much fun when its wet, as slipping along a rocky wooded path can be dangerous
Other Thoughts: i had a lot of fun playing this course. it is too far away from me to play regularly- so i think this fact makes it better. it would be a very challenging "home course," which would make you 'better' but also might cause people to not stick with it if they are a beginner- i suppose it's all how you look at it. i'll definitely play it again- it's well maintained, though that's because of the locals who pick up and carry out trash from other a-holes who leave it there. there are no baskets, so you need to carry out your garbage. and avoid glass bottles as i saw a few broken ones that weren't going to be picked up anytime soon- a great use of land. it'd be sweet to build an 'open' course on some of the flat land near by with some open distance shots of 400 feet or so... maybe even a 9 hole-er to play with this one.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 loved it

1    9/25/2010   9/25/2010
Review By: eastcoastf
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: what a great course.. well laid out and mapped.

very challenging and fun holes to play...i had a blast..wished i lived a little closer.

this is what i wish more courses were like.
Cons:
nothing bad to say about it.

but bring a drink..it's a workout
Other Thoughts: park at the soccer field parking lot and cross the street where the american flag on the fences is..first hole on the left.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/20/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: kanekasey9
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is very challanging. If you don't like hills and alot of trees ( all woods ) it is not for you. Loved the challange of this course.The course is very well marked and very well layed out.I think hole 16 is the most challanging. It is marked that it goes down 90 feet, and they mean it. The walk down is a little ruff but they have steps and a rope to hold on to.
Cons: The course is behind a school and on hole 18 a class was out there, could not finish my shot, and they picked up my husbands disc and gave it to him. Other then that I liked the course.
Other Thoughts: Veyr easy to get to and will go back again.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.