Devens, MA 
Devens - The Hill Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #17
3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee Sign



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    9/20/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: kanekasey9
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is very challanging. If you don't like hills and alot of trees ( all woods ) it is not for you. Loved the challange of this course.The course is very well marked and very well layed out.I think hole 16 is the most challanging. It is marked that it goes down 90 feet, and they mean it. The walk down is a little ruff but they have steps and a rope to hold on to.
Cons: The course is behind a school and on hole 18 a class was out there, could not finish my shot, and they picked up my husbands disc and gave it to him. Other then that I liked the course.
Other Thoughts: Veyr easy to get to and will go back again.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Devens Heavens

1    7/21/2010   7/21/2010
Review By: FrankieDG
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well marked, well laid out, challenging course. Crazy dog legs around big boulders. Intense long tees. Great variation from hole to hole.
Cons: Only cons I can think of is the distance the course is from NJ and it was a little difficult to find. If it was closer I'd play it often.
Other Thoughts: Please respect your fellow golfers and not litter the course. Thanks!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Where the 17th Tee?

1    6/15/2010   6/15/2010
Review By: Jeffro Skull
Played: 107  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Short overall distance 1.6 miles makes for fast play, if uncrowded. Lots of trees and elevation, but well played drives leave plenty of birdie opportunities.
Cons: mosquitoes
Other Thoughts: If you are visiting the Boston area, make sure to add this to your wish list.
If you use your GPS (Garmin, specificly) to locate, use the city of 'Ayer' instead of 'Devens'

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course!

2-4    4/1/2010   4/7/2010
Review By: spinderella
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the best laid out courses out there! Big elevation changes, challenging shots, and beautiful scenery!
Cons: No negatives on this course, unless you count the toll it takes on your legs!
Other Thoughts: This course is an hour plus travel time for me, but well worth the drive, by far one of my favorites! Wear good hiking shoes and bring a water!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice wooded course

2-4    2/20/2010   2/20/2010
Review By: Smithcok
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 5/18/2010
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great use of terrain (trees!) and elevation (especially back 9). Not a super long course, but will require a lot of accurate shorter drives and midrange shots. Ample parking, variety of holes, and plenty of trees to keep fairways tight.

For people that like a good hike when playing, this is an amazing course.

Some holes require a big hike down/uphill, but the course has great steps and/or ropes run to help out.

Lots of opportunities for high risk, high reward shots.
Cons: A few more signs designating tees may help. No complaints other than that really.

Other Thoughts: Watch those downhill putts (especially the one on hole 18!)

Bring bug spray and lots of water.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Best course in the area!

5+    11/10/2010   2/20/2010
Review By: ScottyD86
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/19/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Devens DGC sits on an old military training facility and is shrouded in woods. The only time you are outside the woods is the first tee shot, and then it's all woods and hills from there. Par for each hole is 3, but depending on your skill level, a handicap can help your confidence. Steep elevations both up and down from hole to hole keep this course a constant challenge. This is the course I play most often (because it's the closest to me) and I rarely play a round free of at least one 5+ hole.

Brand new recycled rubber teepads have been put in on most holes, making for consistent tee-offs instead of worrying about slipping on dirt or tripping in a divot on the teepad.
Cons: Both a pro and a con, this course has a lot of steep elevation changes (See holes 14 and 16 especially!), as well as a few holes where it helps to have a second person to watch your tee-shot, as you'll have to throw around some sharp doglegs that go around large boulders or thick sections of trees, so playing this course alone comes with the risk of losing your disc. Missing a putt on downhill holes can be catastrophic for your score, as most misses result in a long roll down the hill.
Other Thoughts: Definitely a course where you'll want to bring shoes or boots good for hiking, bug spray, and water, especially when playing in the summertime.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A- = Amazing course!

1    12/19/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.4 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == A-
(Being a tightly wooded course with pretty dense rough, there are quite a few holes that will slam you for bad performance off the tee and a few that will add extra strokes for mediocre drives - that is a good thing! Some holes are just too short though to make it difficult to recover from bad throws. This aspect is the main thing that kept me from giving a higher score here.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == B-
(Only about 1/3 of the holes feel really rewarding for me to birdie. There is a real variety of lengths.....effective lengths really (taking the effects of terrain into account). This variety makes some holes too short to be rewarding and others too long from me and people of my arm strength to ever hope for birdies....rather just an easy drive, easy upshot and tap-in par = boring. It seems the designers tried to cater to everyone in this regard.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A
(This is an area where this course shines - lots of up/down/left/right/late-turn/early-turn. IMO, there is potential to have had more creatively designed holes - the type that would have gotten an A+. Great use of terrain - I love the way the transition paths (from basket to next tee) take you uphill on almost all holes. This leads to more of the very fun downhill shots.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == A+
(Extremely secluded and very beautiful after you "Walk past piles of junk and follow green chain-link fence to 1st tee" (from course directions - ouch!). Rock out-croppings, beautiful trees and a healthy under-story make you feel like you are hiking the AT. Amazing!)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == D+
(There are 1.5 legit par 4 holes (3 is a right angle dogleg that you throw putter-putter-putter & 18 is slight dogleg that is reachable with some luck) and they are not really challenging as far as good par 4's go. But, some bonus points for adding multi-throw holes!)
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (150+ 18-hole, 90+ 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Use a spotter!!!

1    11/12/2009   11/16/2009
Review By: Flashy Pete
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course really is a great mix of short and long holes and causes you to use every shot in your bag
Cons: Some of the short holes are very easy. In the fall you should really use a spotter on some of the holes with large elevation changes or risk loss of disks under leaves.
Other Thoughts: Wear good hiking shoes! I thought I would be fine in my New Balance. This was not the case with leaves all over the place. Def worth the hike though, fun place to play.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good stuff!

5+    10/25/2009   11/4/2009
Review By: lazy cake
Played: 322  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/21/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Gorgeous setting on a hill in central Massachusetts.
-One of the best designed courses I've ever played. Beautiful use of the natural landscape, it really feels like you're taking a walk in the woods and there just so happens to also be a great disc golf course laid out on your path.
-Extremely challenging. I've played here dozens of times and am still nowhere near par (+6 is my best round).
-Terrific hill action. Holes 1-6 play relatively flat, with the exception of number 3 (major drop, hard dog leg to the left, and back up the hill again to the basket). Starting with number 7, there's very little level terrain. Dramatic uphill shots mixed in with exciting downhill shots keeps things exciting. Plus, hill climbing makes for a good cardio work out.
-Well designed and high quality signs showing distance to the basket and change in elevation.
-Chainstar baskets. I prefer these for some reason.
-Pretty much unlimited opportunity for creative shot making. The change in elevation, trees, boulders, etc, provide new scenarios each time I play.
-Abundant wildlife. Frogs use the pond behind the 6th basked as a mating ground in the spring, it sounds like a UFO is landing for about a week. I once spent 20 minutes watching a snake slowly eat a frog on hole 17's fairway.
-Off the beaten path. You don't run in to mixed use problems here.
Cons: -The other type of wildlife: abundant mosquitoes from June-September. Vicious biters, bathe in DEET before playing. .
-Natural tee pads. It's sloppy during the muddy season.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 All Hill, All the time.

5+    9/26/2009   9/30/2009
Review By: MadChillMojo
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hands down my favorite MA course. I play here a LOT and my best score so far is a grin-inducing -2.
Additionally, my one and only Ace to date was carded here on Hole#2 during a tournament.

Devens is technical in every way imaginable. Challenging from drive, through approach, and right up to your putt. Putt with care! Too often if you front-lip it with a low or high flyer, your disc may roll back waaaay past you for some negative distance and subsequent elevated blood pressure.
There are elevation changes galore and a nice easy-to-navigate layout. The signs at the tees have good informative pics and there are signs leading from basket to the next tee on each as well.
The underbrush is light for the most part which helps when you have to go hunting for a stray shot. Last winters' ice storm did a lot of damage here, but the upside is that it cleared out a lot of troublesome obstacles.
I've been playing here quite often since I started playing in 2006 and it just gets better and better as the volunteer staff upgrades it. While the tee boxes are still natural, they're gradually leveling them out and boxing them in with 4x4 lumber. Except for a couple holes, you won't need much of a run-up for your drives. Concentrate on accuracy v.s. distance and you'll be in good shape.
The course is easily accessible from Rt.2 and the gas station in "town" has all your drinks, food, etc. to set you up for a full days play.

Can't say enough good things about Devens. The technical aspect of this place continues to make me a better, more shot-conscious DG'er.
Cons: Not for the out-of-shape or respiratorily challenged player. The phrase "all hill all the time" is their own advertisement and their logo is a severed head on a stick. You will often feel exactly like that after a hot summers day of playing.
Beginners will have a tough, though educational time of it here and if they can stick it out, will learn a lot about the game.
Mosquitos and black flies will welcome you to dinner with open...ummm... arms? These guys are Army trained so I recommend you do battle with them with some military grade DEET.
Other Thoughts: Hole 18 can crush your spirit if you don't approach it carefully. The downhill approach to the higher-than-normal basket is a nightmare. Unless you're a dead-eye downhill putter from inside 20-40', I recommend playing it safe with a scoobie-slider and lay up for the easy put-in. Bogey is a good score on this one! If you over-shoot the basket or get up on edge, it'll sail/roll away on you and you're in for a loooong recovery coming back up the hill to finish out.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center