Devens, MA 
Devens - The Hill Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12 (Taken 5/2015)
3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Good stuff!

5+    10/25/2009   11/4/2009
Review By: lazy cake
Played: 421  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/21/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Gorgeous setting on a hill in central Massachusetts.
-One of the best designed courses I've ever played. Beautiful use of the natural landscape, it really feels like you're taking a walk in the woods and there just so happens to also be a great disc golf course laid out on your path.
-Extremely challenging. I've played here dozens of times and am still nowhere near par (+6 is my best round).
-Terrific hill action. Holes 1-6 play relatively flat, with the exception of number 3 (major drop, hard dog leg to the left, and back up the hill again to the basket). Starting with number 7, there's very little level terrain. Dramatic uphill shots mixed in with exciting downhill shots keeps things exciting. Plus, hill climbing makes for a good cardio work out.
-Well designed and high quality signs showing distance to the basket and change in elevation.
-Chainstar baskets. I prefer these for some reason.
-Pretty much unlimited opportunity for creative shot making. The change in elevation, trees, boulders, etc, provide new scenarios each time I play.
-Abundant wildlife. Frogs use the pond behind the 6th basked as a mating ground in the spring, it sounds like a UFO is landing for about a week. I once spent 20 minutes watching a snake slowly eat a frog on hole 17's fairway.
-Off the beaten path. You don't run in to mixed use problems here.
Cons: -The other type of wildlife: abundant mosquitoes from June-September. Vicious biters, bathe in DEET before playing. .
-Natural tee pads. It's sloppy during the muddy season.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 All Hill, All the time.

5+    9/26/2009   9/30/2009
Review By: MadChillMojo
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hands down my favorite MA course. I play here a LOT and my best score so far is a grin-inducing -2.
Additionally, my one and only Ace to date was carded here on Hole#2 during a tournament.

Devens is technical in every way imaginable. Challenging from drive, through approach, and right up to your putt. Putt with care! Too often if you front-lip it with a low or high flyer, your disc may roll back waaaay past you for some negative distance and subsequent elevated blood pressure.
There are elevation changes galore and a nice easy-to-navigate layout. The signs at the tees have good informative pics and there are signs leading from basket to the next tee on each as well.
The underbrush is light for the most part which helps when you have to go hunting for a stray shot. Last winters' ice storm did a lot of damage here, but the upside is that it cleared out a lot of troublesome obstacles.
I've been playing here quite often since I started playing in 2006 and it just gets better and better as the volunteer staff upgrades it. While the tee boxes are still natural, they're gradually leveling them out and boxing them in with 4x4 lumber. Except for a couple holes, you won't need much of a run-up for your drives. Concentrate on accuracy v.s. distance and you'll be in good shape.
The course is easily accessible from Rt.2 and the gas station in "town" has all your drinks, food, etc. to set you up for a full days play.

Can't say enough good things about Devens. The technical aspect of this place continues to make me a better, more shot-conscious DG'er.
Cons: Not for the out-of-shape or respiratorily challenged player. The phrase "all hill all the time" is their own advertisement and their logo is a severed head on a stick. You will often feel exactly like that after a hot summers day of playing.
Beginners will have a tough, though educational time of it here and if they can stick it out, will learn a lot about the game.
Mosquitos and black flies will welcome you to dinner with open...ummm... arms? These guys are Army trained so I recommend you do battle with them with some military grade DEET.
Other Thoughts: Hole 18 can crush your spirit if you don't approach it carefully. The downhill approach to the higher-than-normal basket is a nightmare. Unless you're a dead-eye downhill putter from inside 20-40', I recommend playing it safe with a scoobie-slider and lay up for the easy put-in. Bogey is a good score on this one! If you over-shoot the basket or get up on edge, it'll sail/roll away on you and you're in for a loooong recovery coming back up the hill to finish out.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  loved it

2-4    9/5/2008   9/15/2009
Review By: turtlehill
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Loved everything about this course its challenging and beautiful. Extreme elevation changes this course will make you shoot every shot you know and maybe teach you some new ones this course is one of my all time favorites
Cons: the only con i would think of is its not nice to beginners but thats why its so good for the rest of us
Other Thoughts: even if you have to go out of your way i recomend trying this course

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Pleasurable Challange

5+    9/6/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: RHINESEL
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean, well marked, challenging, quiet.
Cons: Natural tees, a bit too physical for some people, not the most beginner friendly course.
Other Thoughts: Devens is an extremely challenging course set on a hill in a former military base. The course uses elevation extremely well challenging even the most seasoned players. This is the type of course where you pull just about every disc out of your bag once and shoot every shot in your arsenal. No round is ever the same.

At the parking lot there are port-a-potties, trash cans, and a large soccer field for warm up throws. Adjacent to the first tee there is a billboard with notices, scorecards, and a lost and found drop.

Tee signs are at every tee showing elevation change, layout, and suggested routes. The tees are natural but well defined and mostly flat. Signs exist pointing to the next tee and paths are well worn between basket and next tee.

This course has a large following and an active league play. The website www.devensdiscgolf.com is up to date and includes a course map, detailed directions, and updated lost and found information along with a running blog. The administrator for the course returns e-mail very quickly.

Simply a pleasure to play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 technical

2-4    8/31/2009   8/31/2009
Review By: sikaranmonkey
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.7 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Awsome terrain. Every shot is a technical shot. I personally love the up and down course. The course is well marked and not confusing. Maps of holes are accurate. Just fun to play. The more throws in your arsenal the better. ie; forehand, flick, s shots, hammer, floaters, etc.
Cons: If you like the occasional big drive mixed in with your technical game, go to Barre, or Tully, or Maple hill. This reminded me more of Pyramids on steroids except on a boulder strewn hill instead of a dirt valley. Most Tees are well constructed even if natural. A bit hard to find.
Other Thoughts: No long drives here. The biggest disc I pulled out was a midrange driver. No room for the beast or wraith. Sometimes an easy shot on a steap hill can make for a discouraging roller. We're talking easy chances for negative distance gain.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Thrill of the Hill!

1    7/13/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 14.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Simply the perfect technical course. Course gradually gets better and more dramatic as it unfolds before you....constantly providing that wow..what could possibly be next experience! Utilizes a dramatic and steep hill along with massive granite boulders, rock outcroppings, old growth hardwoods and plenty of creativity to blend all of the elements to both provide fun and challenge in the most perfect mix imagineable. Every shot you encounter here will be burned in your memory. Your either shooting across hillsides with all types of trouble for an errant toss, up steep climbs to challenge your strength or parachuting down in gleeful but terrifying plunges downward. Some distances may seem short but when you realize the elevation shifts are 45-65-70-90 feet on these holes you will suddenly forget about distance. You can get aces here but you can also get a fair share of double bogeys on these same holes also. The fun factor here is unlimited. No shule just old growth stands of pines and soft pine needles for your disc to land in after hitting a tree or large granite wall. The tee pads are natural but were not an issue for me. You don't need a big run up when your trying to delicately drop a putter down a 90 foot drop to a basket below that is reachable only by repelling down with a rope and steep stairway. Who cares about having a big wide open field hole when you have 18 wooded masterpieces to enjoy. I actually threw harder trying to climb 65 feet straight up the hill than I would in an open field anyway. (65 feet..thats a 6 story building think about that!) Who cares about water when an errant throw can sail a hundred feet past the hole or get plinked by a massive tree and your fighting for bogey. I searched for my discs a few times but the smile never left my face. The course is technical but very fair! I had no issues with navigation, everything was clearly marked. Once you find the course which is hidden from the street in an almost Batman Cave location let the fun begin. I have played 80 courses and played some famous courses but this is my favorite technical course....par 54 which will make your legs sore!
Cons: If it had concrete tees or rubber tees we are talking without question...World Class! It's a hike which might not be for everyone. Bring your own drink and be prepared to carry out your trash. There is no big wide open hole or water to throw over or near...for those who need that.
Other Thoughts: I played this course on the same day I played Maple Hill...This course is the one I would come back and play again and again. Disc Golf is about shotmaking and there is unlimited shot making here..more than any course I have ever played.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 love it!

5+    8/9/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: dukdukgolf
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16
This review was updated on 12/6/2011
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: i live near here so i play it alot. The more i play the more i like it. Elevation is crazy and it creates unique challenges that are truly different than any other course ive played. Must use many different shots to play this course. Its wooded course but fairways are very defined.
Cons: updated cons: all rubber tee pads are in and practice basket installed.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Love this course

5+    7/26/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: ed oc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is a challenge everytime you play. Hard to become a expert. You can love one hole and the next time you play the same hole is your nemesis. This makes this course never boring.
Cons: During the fall and after a rain storm, hiking boots a must. If no boots, have a least something with a grip. Also this course has less walking then most in the area, but it is constant up and down will work muscles that you may not work very often. So you will get tired quicker and sore the next day.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. You will usually run into people on the weekends, but the weekdays you will be alone. I have seen many fathers playing here with there 8-9 yrs children. You will hit trees and have bad holes guaranteed. One minute you will be down, next up. As long has you keep a cool head you will really enjoy this course.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Old Military training hill = One helluva Disc Golf Course

2-4    6/9/2009   8/4/2009
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 76  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2009
19 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The welcome board has some really nice scorecards and a course map. There is also a dry erase board there with a spot to put found discs. The board had the found discs and what hole they were found on. The tee signs were made of a high grade metal that didn't fade or rust. They were very colorful and mapped out the best way to the basket. The tee boxes were natural but were well defined with 4x4's lining the side. There is one tee that is the cement base of an old antenna tower, which is a great challenge. Several of the tree stumps are used as benches at the beginning of the tees. Since the course is on an old military training hill there are several large elevation changes (hole16 drops down 90 feet, and hole 14 inclines 65 feet; just to name the two largest.) the steps that are installed are a lifesaver. There is also a super clean porta potty right in the parking lot.
Cons: You have to be careful walking through the pathways to the next tee pads as you might get smacked in the face by low hanging branches. It might have been worse when I played as it had been raining for a week prior; but still be on the lookout. If you aren't in shape, have asthma or a heart condition this course isn't for you. It is nicknamed The Hill, and it sure lives up to that. It is based on an old military training hill (the course is just outside of an active base: Fort Devens) and the course plays well alternating up and down frequently. Some of the rocks on the rock stairs on hole nine are very loose, I almost fell a few times. The tee pads on the holes lack consistency. There is dirt on some while there is gravel on others. Although the gravel limits the mud it isn't packed and makes for slippery footing.
Other Thoughts: The latitude and longitude directions will get you between the soccer field and a Department of Public Works building. Look across the street and follow the green chain link fence to the Welcome Board and first tee (which are on the left hand side).
The elevation changes are listed below
Hole #1 ~ up 15`
Hole #2 ~ up 25`
Hole #3 ~ down 10`
Hole #4 ~ up 15`
Hole #5 ~ up 10`
Hole #6 ~ up 15`
Hole #7 ~ down 45`
Hole #8 ~ up 40`
Hole #9 ~ down 30`
Hole #10 ~ down 30`
Hole #11 ~ up 6`
Hole #12 ~ down 30`
Hole #13 ~ down 20`
Hole #14 ~ up 65`
Hole #15 ~ up 5`
Hole #16 ~ down 90`
Hole #17 ~ up 50`
Hole #18 ~ down 70`


The porta-pottie is removed in the winter time.

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Everything A DG Course Should Be

1    7/25/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: mattydgolfer
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is incredibly clean and well maintained. Signage is excellent throughout. Natural tee boxes work great, stairs and rope help on steep slopes, yardage and elevation change on each hole is helpful. This course has a bit of everything, from hills, to short technical holes, to downhill wind ups to long straight flat throws, and more!
Cons: Buggy (nobody's fault just bring some good bugspray!), wish there was some signage near the dirt area or parking lot across the road....to be honest this course deserves a billboard on I-495 or some signage in town.
Other Thoughts: I wished I lived a bit closer but its worth the drive if you have the time...every hole was unique and there was some challenge but also some shorter throws. I would recommend playing a few easier courses if you are a beginner but do not hesitate to give Devens DGC a try after a few weeks of playing!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.