Devens, MA 
Devens - The Hill Share
Uploaded By: Killer B Disc Golf Hole #6 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  loved it

2-4    9/5/2008   9/15/2009
Review By: turtlehill
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Loved everything about this course its challenging and beautiful. Extreme elevation changes this course will make you shoot every shot you know and maybe teach you some new ones this course is one of my all time favorites
Cons: the only con i would think of is its not nice to beginners but thats why its so good for the rest of us
Other Thoughts: even if you have to go out of your way i recomend trying this course

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Pleasurable Challange

5+    9/6/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: RHINESEL
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean, well marked, challenging, quiet.
Cons: Natural tees, a bit too physical for some people, not the most beginner friendly course.
Other Thoughts: Devens is an extremely challenging course set on a hill in a former military base. The course uses elevation extremely well challenging even the most seasoned players. This is the type of course where you pull just about every disc out of your bag once and shoot every shot in your arsenal. No round is ever the same.

At the parking lot there are port-a-potties, trash cans, and a large soccer field for warm up throws. Adjacent to the first tee there is a billboard with notices, scorecards, and a lost and found drop.

Tee signs are at every tee showing elevation change, layout, and suggested routes. The tees are natural but well defined and mostly flat. Signs exist pointing to the next tee and paths are well worn between basket and next tee.

This course has a large following and an active league play. The website www.devensdiscgolf.com is up to date and includes a course map, detailed directions, and updated lost and found information along with a running blog. The administrator for the course returns e-mail very quickly.

Simply a pleasure to play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 technical

2-4    8/31/2009   8/31/2009
Review By: sikaranmonkey
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Awsome terrain. Every shot is a technical shot. I personally love the up and down course. The course is well marked and not confusing. Maps of holes are accurate. Just fun to play. The more throws in your arsenal the better. ie; forehand, flick, s shots, hammer, floaters, etc.
Cons: If you like the occasional big drive mixed in with your technical game, go to Barre, or Tully, or Maple hill. This reminded me more of Pyramids on steroids except on a boulder strewn hill instead of a dirt valley. Most Tees are well constructed even if natural. A bit hard to find.
Other Thoughts: No long drives here. The biggest disc I pulled out was a midrange driver. No room for the beast or wraith. Sometimes an easy shot on a steap hill can make for a discouraging roller. We're talking easy chances for negative distance gain.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Thrill of the Hill!

1    7/13/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Simply the perfect technical course. Course gradually gets better and more dramatic as it unfolds before you....constantly providing that wow..what could possibly be next experience! Utilizes a dramatic and steep hill along with massive granite boulders, rock outcroppings, old growth hardwoods and plenty of creativity to blend all of the elements to both provide fun and challenge in the most perfect mix imagineable. Every shot you encounter here will be burned in your memory. Your either shooting across hillsides with all types of trouble for an errant toss, up steep climbs to challenge your strength or parachuting down in gleeful but terrifying plunges downward. Some distances may seem short but when you realize the elevation shifts are 45-65-70-90 feet on these holes you will suddenly forget about distance. You can get aces here but you can also get a fair share of double bogeys on these same holes also. The fun factor here is unlimited. No shule just old growth stands of pines and soft pine needles for your disc to land in after hitting a tree or large granite wall. The tee pads are natural but were not an issue for me. You don't need a big run up when your trying to delicately drop a putter down a 90 foot drop to a basket below that is reachable only by repelling down with a rope and steep stairway. Who cares about having a big wide open field hole when you have 18 wooded masterpieces to enjoy. I actually threw harder trying to climb 65 feet straight up the hill than I would in an open field anyway. (65 feet..thats a 6 story building think about that!) Who cares about water when an errant throw can sail a hundred feet past the hole or get plinked by a massive tree and your fighting for bogey. I searched for my discs a few times but the smile never left my face. The course is technical but very fair! I had no issues with navigation, everything was clearly marked. Once you find the course which is hidden from the street in an almost Batman Cave location let the fun begin. I have played 80 courses and played some famous courses but this is my favorite technical course....par 54 which will make your legs sore!
Cons: If it had concrete tees or rubber tees we are talking without question...World Class! It's a hike which might not be for everyone. Bring your own drink and be prepared to carry out your trash. There is no big wide open hole or water to throw over or near...for those who need that.
Other Thoughts: I played this course on the same day I played Maple Hill...This course is the one I would come back and play again and again. Disc Golf is about shotmaking and there is unlimited shot making here..more than any course I have ever played.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 love it!

5+    8/9/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: dukdukgolf
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
This review was updated on 12/6/2011
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: i live near here so i play it alot. The more i play the more i like it. Elevation is crazy and it creates unique challenges that are truly different than any other course ive played. Must use many different shots to play this course. Its wooded course but fairways are very defined.
Cons: updated cons: all rubber tee pads are in and practice basket installed.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Love this course

5+    7/26/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: ed oc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is a challenge everytime you play. Hard to become a expert. You can love one hole and the next time you play the same hole is your nemesis. This makes this course never boring.
Cons: During the fall and after a rain storm, hiking boots a must. If no boots, have a least something with a grip. Also this course has less walking then most in the area, but it is constant up and down will work muscles that you may not work very often. So you will get tired quicker and sore the next day.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. You will usually run into people on the weekends, but the weekdays you will be alone. I have seen many fathers playing here with there 8-9 yrs children. You will hit trees and have bad holes guaranteed. One minute you will be down, next up. As long has you keep a cool head you will really enjoy this course.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Old Military training hill = One helluva Disc Golf Course

2-4    6/9/2009   8/4/2009
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2009
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The welcome board has some really nice scorecards and a course map. There is also a dry erase board there with a spot to put found discs. The board had the found discs and what hole they were found on. The tee signs were made of a high grade metal that didn't fade or rust. They were very colorful and mapped out the best way to the basket. The tee boxes were natural but were well defined with 4x4's lining the side. There is one tee that is the cement base of an old antenna tower, which is a great challenge. Several of the tree stumps are used as benches at the beginning of the tees. Since the course is on an old military training hill there are several large elevation changes (hole16 drops down 90 feet, and hole 14 inclines 65 feet; just to name the two largest.) the steps that are installed are a lifesaver. There is also a super clean porta potty right in the parking lot.
Cons: You have to be careful walking through the pathways to the next tee pads as you might get smacked in the face by low hanging branches. It might have been worse when I played as it had been raining for a week prior; but still be on the lookout. If you aren't in shape, have asthma or a heart condition this course isn't for you. It is nicknamed The Hill, and it sure lives up to that. It is based on an old military training hill (the course is just outside of an active base: Fort Devens) and the course plays well alternating up and down frequently. Some of the rocks on the rock stairs on hole nine are very loose, I almost fell a few times. The tee pads on the holes lack consistency. There is dirt on some while there is gravel on others. Although the gravel limits the mud it isn't packed and makes for slippery footing.
Other Thoughts: The latitude and longitude directions will get you between the soccer field and a Department of Public Works building. Look across the street and follow the green chain link fence to the Welcome Board and first tee (which are on the left hand side).
The elevation changes are listed below
Hole #1 ~ up 15`
Hole #2 ~ up 25`
Hole #3 ~ down 10`
Hole #4 ~ up 15`
Hole #5 ~ up 10`
Hole #6 ~ up 15`
Hole #7 ~ down 45`
Hole #8 ~ up 40`
Hole #9 ~ down 30`
Hole #10 ~ down 30`
Hole #11 ~ up 6`
Hole #12 ~ down 30`
Hole #13 ~ down 20`
Hole #14 ~ up 65`
Hole #15 ~ up 5`
Hole #16 ~ down 90`
Hole #17 ~ up 50`
Hole #18 ~ down 70`


The porta-pottie is removed in the winter time.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Everything A DG Course Should Be

1    7/25/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: mattydgolfer
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is incredibly clean and well maintained. Signage is excellent throughout. Natural tee boxes work great, stairs and rope help on steep slopes, yardage and elevation change on each hole is helpful. This course has a bit of everything, from hills, to short technical holes, to downhill wind ups to long straight flat throws, and more!
Cons: Buggy (nobody's fault just bring some good bugspray!), wish there was some signage near the dirt area or parking lot across the road....to be honest this course deserves a billboard on I-495 or some signage in town.
Other Thoughts: I wished I lived a bit closer but its worth the drive if you have the time...every hole was unique and there was some challenge but also some shorter throws. I would recommend playing a few easier courses if you are a beginner but do not hesitate to give Devens DGC a try after a few weeks of playing!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Simply blown away!

1    6/19/2009   6/21/2009
Review By: moe.jams89
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I absolutely loved this course!
Amazing and clever use of elevation.
Every tee I found myself saying "WOW"
Obstacles and layouts I've never seen before
Beautiful scenery where ever you are on the hill
Cons: NONE!! EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT!!!
(even the natural tees are nice)
Other Thoughts: Anyone who loves disc golf needs to check this place out! I know I'll be going back plenty more times this year

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/1/2009   6/3/2009
Review By: gwillim
Played: 161  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.4 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
The first thing that struck me when I started playing this course was how well the designer(s) incorporated the natural landscape with the DG Course. It seems often that course designers will try to fight the landscape and things don't always mesh well. I would put Deven's Hill probably in the top 3 of best "meshed" courses I have ever played! After playing the round, I don't know that I could have improved much of anything in terms of design.

- Baskets in excellent shape
- Excellent signage along the course
- Fantastic terrain!
- Challenge! If you're tired of easy multiple under par types of courses, Deven's is a breath of fresh air.
- Very well thought out course design
- Wonderful tee signs that incorporate elevation gain/loss (very helpful on a mountain course)
- Very clean, hardly any trash
- Along with the signage leading you around the course, the designers placed the teepads far enough out of harms way, without leaving you any crazy walkouts, which is quite difficult given the terrain.
- Looking at the courses website, they seem to have a strong local contingent maintaining the course regularly.
- There is a huge multi-sport field at the parking lot to warm up your arm at.
- Porta-John at the parking lot to do your business at (and the cleanest porta-john I've ever used!)
-
Cons:
It is kind of hard for me to come up any real "Cons". There were surely some out there, but from an overall standpoint, they just don't seem too important.

-Teepads: The teepads are all natural dirt. They didn't bother me too much as there aren't too many shots where a full power run-up is justified. However, some of the teepads had roots popping out of them in bad places, some had boulder tips, etc. I think the course could benefit from elevated teepads with maybe rubber flypad style pads on top, similiar to some of the holes at Maple Hill. Hole 18 especially could use some help. The front half of the pad had a big root AND a large boulder tip sticking out.

-The course could be a bit dangerous if you're not careful while you traverse down some of the hills. I would suggest that ppl don't play the course and drink too much, it might lead to a serious accident trying to get down some of the declines.

-I can't remember trash cans on the course, but I also don't remember any trash lying around?! Maybe the ppl of Deven's have figured out the "pack in, pack out" rule better than the DG community as a whole?

-I didn't see any water fountains near the course. It'd be a good idea to bring a snack and some water with you during the round.

- Deven's is not a good place for golfers that who are not in good physical shape. I wouldn't suggest it for anyone suffering from a heart condition either.

-Also, I can see A LOT of ppl having a problem with how difficult the course is. That is legitimate, I suppose. To those ppl, I would suggest that they refrain from playing Deven's, and go play one of the other 95% of courses that are, frankly, too simple.
Other Thoughts:
This is the kind of course where they need to send a professional photographer out there to get shots of the holes, including tee shots and greens. I think that proper, professional fotos would do way more justice than someone just writing about the course.

I've played nearly a hundred courses around the nation, and Deven's just made my top 10 list after only one round. That's pretty good considering I have a serious distaste for natural teepads.

Normally, I won't vote any course with natural teepads above a 4, but with how well this course was designed, and how much I enjoyed just about everything about it, I'm rating it 4.5.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.