Devens, MA
Devens - The Hill Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #13
3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee Sign



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 love it!

5+    8/9/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: dukdukgolf
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
This review was updated on 12/6/2011
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: i live near here so i play it alot. The more i play the more i like it. Elevation is crazy and it creates unique challenges that are truly different than any other course ive played. Must use many different shots to play this course. Its wooded course but fairways are very defined.
Cons: updated cons: all rubber tee pads are in and practice basket installed.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Love this course

5+    7/26/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: ed oc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is a challenge everytime you play. Hard to become a expert. You can love one hole and the next time you play the same hole is your nemesis. This makes this course never boring.
Cons: During the fall and after a rain storm, hiking boots a must. If no boots, have a least something with a grip. Also this course has less walking then most in the area, but it is constant up and down will work muscles that you may not work very often. So you will get tired quicker and sore the next day.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. You will usually run into people on the weekends, but the weekdays you will be alone. I have seen many fathers playing here with there 8-9 yrs children. You will hit trees and have bad holes guaranteed. One minute you will be down, next up. As long has you keep a cool head you will really enjoy this course.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Old Military training hill = One helluva Disc Golf Course

2-4    6/9/2009   8/4/2009
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 73  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2009
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The welcome board has some really nice scorecards and a course map. There is also a dry erase board there with a spot to put found discs. The board had the found discs and what hole they were found on. The tee signs were made of a high grade metal that didn't fade or rust. They were very colorful and mapped out the best way to the basket. The tee boxes were natural but were well defined with 4x4's lining the side. There is one tee that is the cement base of an old antenna tower, which is a great challenge. Several of the tree stumps are used as benches at the beginning of the tees. Since the course is on an old military training hill there are several large elevation changes (hole16 drops down 90 feet, and hole 14 inclines 65 feet; just to name the two largest.) the steps that are installed are a lifesaver. There is also a super clean porta potty right in the parking lot.
Cons: You have to be careful walking through the pathways to the next tee pads as you might get smacked in the face by low hanging branches. It might have been worse when I played as it had been raining for a week prior; but still be on the lookout. If you aren't in shape, have asthma or a heart condition this course isn't for you. It is nicknamed The Hill, and it sure lives up to that. It is based on an old military training hill (the course is just outside of an active base: Fort Devens) and the course plays well alternating up and down frequently. Some of the rocks on the rock stairs on hole nine are very loose, I almost fell a few times. The tee pads on the holes lack consistency. There is dirt on some while there is gravel on others. Although the gravel limits the mud it isn't packed and makes for slippery footing.
Other Thoughts: The latitude and longitude directions will get you between the soccer field and a Department of Public Works building. Look across the street and follow the green chain link fence to the Welcome Board and first tee (which are on the left hand side).
The elevation changes are listed below
Hole #1 ~ up 15`
Hole #2 ~ up 25`
Hole #3 ~ down 10`
Hole #4 ~ up 15`
Hole #5 ~ up 10`
Hole #6 ~ up 15`
Hole #7 ~ down 45`
Hole #8 ~ up 40`
Hole #9 ~ down 30`
Hole #10 ~ down 30`
Hole #11 ~ up 6`
Hole #12 ~ down 30`
Hole #13 ~ down 20`
Hole #14 ~ up 65`
Hole #15 ~ up 5`
Hole #16 ~ down 90`
Hole #17 ~ up 50`
Hole #18 ~ down 70`


The porta-pottie is removed in the winter time.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Everything A DG Course Should Be

1    7/25/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: mattydgolfer
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is incredibly clean and well maintained. Signage is excellent throughout. Natural tee boxes work great, stairs and rope help on steep slopes, yardage and elevation change on each hole is helpful. This course has a bit of everything, from hills, to short technical holes, to downhill wind ups to long straight flat throws, and more!
Cons: Buggy (nobody's fault just bring some good bugspray!), wish there was some signage near the dirt area or parking lot across the road....to be honest this course deserves a billboard on I-495 or some signage in town.
Other Thoughts: I wished I lived a bit closer but its worth the drive if you have the time...every hole was unique and there was some challenge but also some shorter throws. I would recommend playing a few easier courses if you are a beginner but do not hesitate to give Devens DGC a try after a few weeks of playing!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Simply blown away!

1    6/19/2009   6/21/2009
Review By: moe.jams89
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I absolutely loved this course!
Amazing and clever use of elevation.
Every tee I found myself saying "WOW"
Obstacles and layouts I've never seen before
Beautiful scenery where ever you are on the hill
Cons: NONE!! EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT!!!
(even the natural tees are nice)
Other Thoughts: Anyone who loves disc golf needs to check this place out! I know I'll be going back plenty more times this year

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/1/2009   6/3/2009
Review By: gwillim
Played: 154  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 12.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
The first thing that struck me when I started playing this course was how well the designer(s) incorporated the natural landscape with the DG Course. It seems often that course designers will try to fight the landscape and things don't always mesh well. I would put Deven's Hill probably in the top 3 of best "meshed" courses I have ever played! After playing the round, I don't know that I could have improved much of anything in terms of design.

- Baskets in excellent shape
- Excellent signage along the course
- Fantastic terrain!
- Challenge! If you're tired of easy multiple under par types of courses, Deven's is a breath of fresh air.
- Very well thought out course design
- Wonderful tee signs that incorporate elevation gain/loss (very helpful on a mountain course)
- Very clean, hardly any trash
- Along with the signage leading you around the course, the designers placed the teepads far enough out of harms way, without leaving you any crazy walkouts, which is quite difficult given the terrain.
- Looking at the courses website, they seem to have a strong local contingent maintaining the course regularly.
- There is a huge multi-sport field at the parking lot to warm up your arm at.
- Porta-John at the parking lot to do your business at (and the cleanest porta-john I've ever used!)
-
Cons:
It is kind of hard for me to come up any real "Cons". There were surely some out there, but from an overall standpoint, they just don't seem too important.

-Teepads: The teepads are all natural dirt. They didn't bother me too much as there aren't too many shots where a full power run-up is justified. However, some of the teepads had roots popping out of them in bad places, some had boulder tips, etc. I think the course could benefit from elevated teepads with maybe rubber flypad style pads on top, similiar to some of the holes at Maple Hill. Hole 18 especially could use some help. The front half of the pad had a big root AND a large boulder tip sticking out.

-The course could be a bit dangerous if you're not careful while you traverse down some of the hills. I would suggest that ppl don't play the course and drink too much, it might lead to a serious accident trying to get down some of the declines.

-I can't remember trash cans on the course, but I also don't remember any trash lying around?! Maybe the ppl of Deven's have figured out the "pack in, pack out" rule better than the DG community as a whole?

-I didn't see any water fountains near the course. It'd be a good idea to bring a snack and some water with you during the round.

- Deven's is not a good place for golfers that who are not in good physical shape. I wouldn't suggest it for anyone suffering from a heart condition either.

-Also, I can see A LOT of ppl having a problem with how difficult the course is. That is legitimate, I suppose. To those ppl, I would suggest that they refrain from playing Deven's, and go play one of the other 95% of courses that are, frankly, too simple.
Other Thoughts:
This is the kind of course where they need to send a professional photographer out there to get shots of the holes, including tee shots and greens. I think that proper, professional fotos would do way more justice than someone just writing about the course.

I've played nearly a hundred courses around the nation, and Deven's just made my top 10 list after only one round. That's pretty good considering I have a serious distaste for natural teepads.

Normally, I won't vote any course with natural teepads above a 4, but with how well this course was designed, and how much I enjoyed just about everything about it, I'm rating it 4.5.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 like a hike through the forest

2-4    5/30/2009   6/3/2009
Review By: GrandCactus
Played: 35  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has two distinguishing characteristics: its heavily forrested and it is located on a hill. As such, it favors control over distance, and requires an understanding of throwing with the changes in topography. Additionally, the forest and protruding rocks are beautiful and the course is nicely isolated.
Cons: Not the easiest to find, elevation is a bit much for a casual stroll--expect to be scrambling up and down the hill a lot.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun course that challenges you to practice different shots. Most of the holes have decent lines requiring controlled shots, but a few are just an adventure in tree avoidance. While I can't say that tossing uphill is my favorite throw, this course rewards you with several long, downhill shots, where the disc glides forever as it esses itsway through the trees.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 What a hike

1    3/6/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: shamroc333
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: It is a accuracy course. Distance is not needed. It will calenge you every time you play it.
Cons: It is a hike. You know it is a hard course when there are holes you need to hold a rope to get from tee to basket. Just so you tumble. I didn't like the deversity of the holes they where all up or down. Nothing open and unbelievable amonts of obsticles.
Other Thoughts: It is a fun course. Won't play it every day but it was an experience.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 What a course

2-4    10/17/2008   11/7/2008
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 102  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful woods, especially in the fall. Great elevation changes forces some fun shots. Had to use a lot of hammers on this one.
Cons: Tough to find, although that also keeps it from being too busy. Could use better signage, but we found our way all right. A lot of holes aren't visible from the tee, so you're guessing a bit the first time you go.
Other Thoughts: Really fun course to play. A lot of shots will result in shouts of joy or shouts of frustration, separated by inches. I love when people think to put a course in a place like this. Can't wait to get back.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Devens is a gem

1    10/7/2008   10/9/2008
Review By: whitewaterhelix
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great layout with huge boulders to work around, up and down on a big hill, scenery is great, very challenging, great workout, some steep, long mult-tiered downhill drives
Cons: Lots of trees, very challenging for beginners, not easy to find, a few 'fairways' aren't really fairways, did I mention trees? Could use more signage, especially at the entrance or parking area.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course that will challenge anyone. Not super long, but it makes up for it with technicality and some short uphills that play much much longer. It is unique and rewarding to play, despite the fact that you will most certainly dink plenty of trees and I agree with another reviewer that some of the shots are just a matter of luck to miss the trees (unless you're pro, then maybe not). Props to the folks who built this course, well done.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.