Bettendorf, IA 
Devil's Glen Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
4 / 432ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun shorter course

1    10/7/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: lddake
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really like the layout of this course. It has a wide variety of different types of shots for it being a slightly shorter course. Amateur friendly also, the pars aren't ridiculously unobtainable.
Cons: My only real complaint about this course is that while a lot of the holes have signs for them, a lot of them don't. They were rather artistically done, and I suspect that is why they have fallen victim to vandals and thieves. Because of this, sometimes the next tee can be a chore to find.
Other Thoughts: I rated this a 3, but I would have given it a solid 4 if I wouldn't have struggled so much finding some of the tees. Maybe sometime they will add a course layout map?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Devily

1    7/19/2010   9/14/2010
Review By: lazy42
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiuse park, picnicking, walking path, ball field, fishing, shelters. Maintained well in the open holes and down by the creek. Elevation here surprised me; I wasn't familiar with the area and after pulling in was surprised by the actual size of the park. Multiple pins. Really creative signs, wish all courses had something similar. Several different hole types; open, wooded, water. Some of the more open holes still had enough trees to make it difficult. Some of the wooded holes started out in the open then led into the woods, some others stayed in the woods, and a couple you tee'd up in the woods and threw out. Nice variation there. Wooded holes had VERY tight fairways. A couple of nice holes along the creek which adds to the pucker factor.
Cons: Not a fan of the rubber mats for tee's, though it looks like they are preparing for concrete. A few of the pads were tore up and had holes and divots under them you couldn't see unless you stepped in it, nothing to cause injury, but could make you throw badly if not aware and stepped into one. Only 12 holes, which could be good or bad depending on how you look at it. I don't mind an occasional 9 holer, so this really didn't bother me. Not all holes had the locators on the tee signs locating which pin was active. Some of the wooded holes needed cleaned up a bit, just need a little love and "cleaning" of brush and downed limbs. I felt there was a hole or two that were fillers, yeah the ace or deuce chance was nice, but it felt out of place, 10 comes to mind. Navigation was a little difficult the first time playing. I played a few holes twice because I threw the wrong direction; I thought hole 5 was up the hill, not off to the right. May not be an issue next time though, but walking that steep hill twice = not fun.
Other Thoughts: Lots of OB, not sure how I feel about that, though it does make you think harder about shot placement. I really enjoyed hole 2, I ended up throwing a line drive thumber, and parked just outside putting distance of the pin. Water holes along the creek, take it or leave it. Let's just say on # 4 I am lucky we hadn't had any rains lately :-) I liked hole 11, as a RHBH dominate thrower, it forced me to use an anny, which actually worked for me here. A fun course I would be willing to hit again, but since it is so close to Middle, I'd probably play that one instead, unless I was in a hurry and only had time for 12 holes. You could bring the family along and let them do other stuff in the park, but probably not a park I would bring a new player to introduce them to the game, I'd stick to Eastern for that.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Devilish Design

1    8/29/2010   9/14/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Practice basket is available at the south end of the parking lot.

2) Nicely done signs wirh Distance, Hole #, Par and a general layout. This layout on the sign though could be more detailed. Apparently there are colored washers to indicate hole placement. I never saw them so they were either there and I am an idiot, ot there had been removed or vandalized. I am leaving this as a positive because a local told me they were there.

3) 3 pins on most holes if not all. I really enjoy a course that can be played many different ways, I didnt see the supposed washer indicating basket placement, but they were supossedly there. Sometimes I would just throw up what I thought was the middle and if I executed well, I may be totally off angle.

4) Nice concrete tees are appreciated at this course with the slopes on many of the teeing areas. Rubber tees must have recently been replaced. Some were visible but concrete on every hole was in!

5) I really like the view of the cutaway rock along the creek on holes #3 and 4. That is an awesome geologic formation from massive glaciers or floods in the past. SO what I AM A NERD!

6) Shot shaping is essential here because there are all sorts of shots needed. You need to work the disc both directions so if you are a sidearm and forehand thrower you are in better shape than I was. I had to anhyzer a lot of shots that brought a lot of risk into play (like the creek on #3). I never was in the creek but I came darn close to going into the water once. The hyzer route on #4 is the obvious choise but if you play the skip off the road you might overshoot the basket too and end up in the water. None of this is a negative you just need to plan correctly.

7) The holes in the woods are awesome especially #6, #7, and #8. #9 is a shorter tighter shot and I like it too, but the epicness of 6, 7, and 8 are the key to this course!

8) There is an awesome amount of variety here with tighter wooded holes, shot shaping goes all directions, the open holes still have some obstacles to avoid, and there is even some good elevation change here.

9) Elevation change is used well here as seems to be the purpose of all Quad Cities courses. There are some that go up some that go down and some that go along the slopes. What a great design to bring into play all of the elevation changes on this property. It isn't even a tough walk though which is kindof nice.
Cons: 1) Baskets definitely need some sort of bright paint. They are so hard to see when shooting from the grassy open area into the darker tight woods. Fairways aren't defined enough to find the basket easily especially with multiple placements. The practice basket could also confuse people on #12 so it should be different from the rest, perhaps painted a different color.

2) Routing seems ok, but there is no sign near the parking lot so you better have a map or you won't find #1.

3) Sign is missing on #2 which really would be helpful since it is a blind basket from the tee.

4) The concrete tees are a little slick. I like a little more grip on the teepad so my footing is a little more sure.

5) # plates are not always facing the teepads which is an issue for me when they are there for a reason. It isn't that hard to install at the correct angle.

6) Walkpath comes into play on multiple occassions. There isn't much way to avoid this from happening here unless they rerouted the holes slightly.

7) More defined fairways needed in the woods. It is simply to hard to tell where the hole goes. I suppose this is also partly because of multiple basket locations, but the three fairways should be more defined. There also seems to be a fair amount of deadwood and undergrowth making the fairway definition difficult.

8) #5 was annoying because you cannot see the hole. It looks like the basket could easily be over by #6 tee which I assumed is where it was, threw straight and it ended up being about 100 yards to the right. That was bothersome.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course but not knowing where the pins was made me dislike my round. It doesn't make me dislike the course but the multiple pins makes it stronger. It simply was tough my first time through. This course has all sorts of variety, elevation change, tighter wooded holes, open holes with obstacles, water in play on 2 holes. It has just about everything I look for in a well rounded course. There simply were too many negatives for this course to be considered awesome. I think that some improvements could make this course better but it might be limited to a 4 disc course even if the improvements are made. Right now in its current state I think it is a 3.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 shot placement essential

1    8/23/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 740  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/13/2011
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As already mentioned tee signs are awesome; especially the washer to let one know what pin placement is in (all courses need to incorporate this eventually).
All 12 shots require different style throws; and offer variety of delight to the eye.
I happen to like o.b. play. This course forces one to think sincerely about where your shot will land and even what the disc will do after it hits the ground.
Combined with Middle and Eastern; gives you the full effect of Duck Creek. The two water holes here may be the best of all offered by the three courses. The view on the one with the rock wall is simply amazing.
Cons: I honestly didn't find many. There are some slight grounds keeping issues; and you will have to scout for the next tee a bit; but, not that difficult to find. Tees are rubber mats and not in perfect shape.
Other Thoughts: Long pins make a difference here. In the longs, this course seems to me, to be an earn your deuce kind of course for blue level players.
We came here after Eastern, which is a rip it and chuck it course, from longs; nearly all holes over 400 feet. Devil's was a welcome relief from Eastern. Holes are long enough that you must earn your reward; but you don't have to throw it as hard as you can, shot after shot. Very rare that I would give a 12 hole course a 3. We played course twice; and I reiterate that I found this one most enjoyable and thought the Duck Creek holes may be the best two of all offered for the three courses using this waterway.
I nearly gave this a 3.5; unheard of for a 12 hole course with only one course on site (for me). But, I liked it a lot.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 The Devil is in the Details

5+    8/19/2007   2/27/2009
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2009
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course and it is rarely crowded. About half of the holes require some technical shots. It is a great place to practice throwing mid-range discs. The tee signs are really well designed and the tee pads are pretty good as well. Hole #3 is one of the more beautiful holes in Iowa/Illinois with Duck Creek and a rock wall on your left and some older trees on your right.
Cons: There are only 12 holes. This course leaves you wanting more.
A few fairways are literally picnic areas, walking paths and/or scenic areas where people gather, so you need to keep an eye out for pedestrians on some blind shots.

Other Thoughts: You can do well on this course if you are able to get the fear out of your head before each throw. For instance, take your drive out over Duck Creek on hole number 3 instead of the safer route through the trees on your right. Holes 6-10 are heavily wooded and anything with wobble or hesitance will catch a branch, so find your line and throw with confidence. Also, keep an eye out for poison ivy on holes 6-10 as well.
This course is the last of three courses along Duck Creek before it flows into the mighty Mississippi. (Eastern Avenue Park, Middle Park and Devil's Glen) Each course is unique and it makes for a very fun day to play all 49 holes in a row.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.