Disc Golf Center
Leicester, MA 
Maple Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 260ft.   3 / 220ft.   4 / 390ft.   4 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 White Tee Sign



Reviews: 79
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Wow, wow, wow...

2-4    6/18/2015   6/18/2015
Review By: Areometer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Even with high expectation before I went there, this course didn't disappoint at all. Beautiful and opened layout for Red course, or very challenging / intimidating for the other colors. We almost lost 4 discs but managed to find / retrieve them all (mostly from water). What an amazing day.
Cons: Directional arrow to next tee can be better displayed. Please use Pelham (NH) course colored arrow on basket as reference, so far that's the best / clearest indicators for next tee. Also, for Red course basket 15, there seems to be TWO red baskets. Which is the real one?
Other Thoughts: The big opened water with baskets on the rim is for the most daring and advanced players. I would imagine that most will lose a lot of discs even attempting. This is not for novice players. Otherwise, this is a world-class disc golf course that we New Englanders should be proud of. Gladly paid the $10 fee.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Maple Hill Yeah!

1    6/6/2015   6/6/2015
Review By: SpatialT
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 29.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Where to begin? Top notch, from the street signage to the flower gardens planted throughout the course to the excellent pro shop (not as good as Pyramids) to the excellent 4 course layout. Buchasjs1's review says it all, really, as far as the course goes
Cons: disc loss potential is high
traffic (but, like a top roller coaster, it is worth the wait if you have one)
Other Thoughts: Visited while up from Atlanta and staying in Providence - 70 minute drive. Worth every minute of it. Got there around 11 am. Luckily, it was slow day. Was met at the pro shop by the property manager, who was very gracious and helpful. Knowing I was visiting and didn't have all my discs, he let me use some of their practice discs. He even suggested a plan of action for my day (play the red tees first and then blue or white) with lunch in between at Bushel and Peck's deli 5 minutes down the street. I took his advice, for the most part. Didn't do the white or blue tees completely as I had enough fun playing red tees 3 times. The last round I mixed a few other holes in so I could see the entire course.

Lunch place was awesome! Took my sandwich back to the course and ate at a picnic table. By 4:00 pm, there were about 15 people on the course. It is a world class place and I would go back again and again!!!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wow.....

1    7/1/2014   3/14/2015
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 48  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 2.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Although I have played many courses that I consider to be five star courses, this one trumps them all.... This truly is what the rating I have given it states, the "best of the best."

Overall variety- This course has a tremendous amount of variety. Between the 4 distinct layouts that the course has to offer and the variety and challenge that each hole entails, I could not ask for more. Each and every hole is well thought out, and there is not a single tweener hole, or hole that I would change. A player certainly needs every shot to score well at this immaculate course.

Water Features- This course offers a variety of water features, all considered lakes or ponds, that are incorporated beautifully into the challenging layout. If you cannot clear the water feature, the course offers other tees on all water carries so that one does not risk losing plastic if they do not want to.

Navigation- For the most part, navigation is made easy by numerous next tee signs, and easy to follow paths.

Amenities- This course boasts the new Mach X baskets, which are very good at catching discs, and make for very few spit outs. The course has a world class pro shop just down the road, and a very good pro shop on the property. The course also has great signs, which display distance, hole maps, and desired flight lines well.

Scenery- This is the hilly area of Massachusetts, which allows for some great views, and especially during fall foliage. The ponds and lakes on the property also allow for some quality views. The landscaping and large stone walls found in abundance throughout the course also add to the beauty.

Elevation- The property contains quite a few separate hills which make one execute both downhill and uphill shots to score well, also adding to the variety.
Cons: High chance of losing a disc- With the many water carries, even from the short tees, the water surrounding fairways and baskets seems to have an appetite for discs. For those that are intimidated by water carries, head down the road to Pyramids, a great course just down the road.

From what I have gathered and seen, it seems as if the place gets crowded, especially with multiple groups playing different layouts, there could be a problem
Other Thoughts: Disclaimer: I only played the gold layout that this course has to offer, and every single shot was unique, demanding and beautiful. This being said, I am not judging this course on the other layouts, just the variety that the complex provides with having 4 distinct layouts.

This course honestly trumps all that I have played and I can not wait to come back to experience all of the complex's layouts and shots that are available.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

What every private course should strive for

5+    8/4/2014   9/19/2014
Review By: hawk12
Played: 200  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 24.8 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Private course on a great piece of land, elevation well utilized in the design, great use of the natural ponds and allowing players to choose risk/reward shots.
Three sets of tees designs for specific skill levels (White, Blue, Gold) allowing players to choose how hard of a layout they want on any particular day, and just outstanding for tournament play!!! Can't say enough how much I love the three separate layouts, played them all and each one feel different, uses many different lines/fairways to the baskets.
Baskets, new Mach X baskets, orange makes it easy to spot through some of heavier wooded holes. Catch well, they do have a slightly different feel as a soft putting style might not be as well received as a hard push putter. (Just my opinion).
Pro shop, great disc selection, great people working there, snacks available also. They pull lost discs out of the pond and hold them for you too!
Beautiful views throughout the property, great scenic shots looking down over some of the ponds, no trash, and super well maintained course.
Cons: Not much to say here, they close for Christmas tree season...
maybe could knock the lost discs, but they get them out of the pond and hold them for you in the pro shop, so nope this is a pro also
Other Thoughts: Thank you Steve for allowing us to come play on your property!!
Been coming up to Maple Hill for over 10 years, and have seen it just grow and grow. Used to be two sets of tees and a drop slot in the old barn, just an amazing amount of growth over the years!!

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.


1    9/16/2014   9/16/2014
Review By: overkill
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 39 Not
Pros: Long fairways and challenging holes; decent pin locations but no more so than some other courses in New England
Cons: Poor/non existent markings to next tee box; extremely annoying overlap of RWBG courses / 4 diff tee boxes for each hole leads to throwing into other players; poorly groomed - hadn't been mowed in weeks

3 of 42 people found this review helpful.

Map-illicious

1    8/21/2014   9/14/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 242  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 12.1 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is nothing Maple Hill could do to improve the quality of the disc golf course. Dictionary definition of a perfect 5. Only way it could of been better is if I got an ace, or they invited me to live in the pro shop. There are 4 layouts, and tailored scorecards for each at the shop. Different layouts may shared tee boxes or baskets on different holes, but they are all clearly identifiable. The very nice rubber tees are marked with color coded signs, and multiple baskets with colored flags. There is all of the stuff required for a stellar course. Trees ranging from high density, to open and spread out, to evenly spaced rows. Large changes in elevation on several holes. Water on a few of them, too. Everything maintained beautifully. No weak links here. One through eighteen will challenge you to make smart accurate throws, no matter what your style of play, or which layout you're playing. My favorite hole, if I were forced to pick one, would have to be 11. Tees on peak of a hill, and over a number of small trees that are planted in a grid laid out to the left, scattered more randomly to the right and beyond the white basket. Long and open, but landing zone is small enough to require good accuracy over the lengthy downhill drive. 4 was a fairly steep downhill with narrow gaps in the trees and water looming behind the baskets. Also really liked 6, downhill and wooded, with a stone wall the length of the right side, OB on the other side of the wall. Perfect drive gave me a 2 for a birdie. 13 was another fun, downhill bomb. The uphill holes are no joke. 10, 17 and 18 will test your arm and get the blood pumping.
Cons: Paying admission is worth it, even just for one round. Throws over water on multiple holes, loss of control may result in loss of discs. Saw two large non-venomous snakes. Not a con to me, but I'm reaching for something to list under cons.
Other Thoughts: The Maple Hill DGC is truly among the best of the best. Scored a 4 over par, 63 on my one and only visit here. Would love to be able to play it on a regular basis. A must play if you are going to be anywhere close and the weather is favorable.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Wow. Just wow.

1    7/21/2014   8/18/2014
Review By: Will_S
Played: 29  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: - Almost every hole on this course would be a signature hole on any other course.

- Challenging, yet rewarding layout

- Very well maintained

- Pro shop on site as well as being directly across the street from Marshall Street HQ

- The flags on top of the baskets make identifying them very easy
Cons: I did not experience any cons on my trip here

3 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

2-4    7/20/2014   7/26/2014
Review By: KLydon
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2014
3 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: +Beautiful
+Spacious, allows you to let it rip
+Well maintained
+Fantastic chains/Holes
+Challenging
+4 tee spots/multiple holes
+No hole is alike
+Totally Unique!
+Great community
+Across the street from Marshall, aka the best disc store ever
Cons: The water hazards guarantee you won't get your disc back that day but they regularly scuba and post lost discs on their website! Write your name and number down on your discs!
Other Thoughts: This is officially my favorite course. Perfect mix of technical and let-it-rip for me. I love just letting the disc fly in the open. You will need every shot in your bag (and some distance to boost) to master this course. Not many New England courses are like this! Make the trip if you haven't... I would gladly drive am extra hour to play this beauty.

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.


1    7/7/2014   7/12/2014
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 151  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 15.3 Years
19 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What an experience it was to play Maple Hill the day after the 2014 Maple Hill Open. When you drive up to the course you know you are walking into something special. A lot of private courses get inflated ratings simply because they are private but Maple Hill is just not one of them. I would rate Maple Hill as the number two course in the world just behind Flyboy Aviation. Here are my reasons:
1) Greatest opening hole in all of disc golf. You walk up to the Gold Tees and get to throw a shot 480 feet over a pond to a protected green with Christmas trees all around. Its also slightly downhill, which gives you a wonderful view of area. I am not sure it gets any better than this when it comes to starting off with a bang.

2) Multiple options to play the course - I was amazed at the various "courses" within a course that Maple Hill entailed. We played the Gold to Gold design but I had a chance to play some extra holes afterwards and it was truly a joy. The Red design looked like a nice, relaxing and fun round while the Gold design offers one of the most challenging tests in disc golf. I was able to shoot a 60 but if I was slightly off my game I could have easily been over 65.

3) The usage of water hazards was perfect. In my opinion, to be a "5" you need to have water on the course and it needs to come into play. Maple Hill offered some of the most breathtaking shots over water that I have ever played. I already mentioned hole 1 and the shot over the pond but many other holes incorporated water, including the tight downhill number 4, the big flick number 5, numbers 8 and 9 and of course number 14.

4) This course has MULTIPLE signature holes. Its not often that hole 1 sucks you in right away with a signature hole but it truly does the trick. Hole 14 is probably the signature hole at Maple Hill and honestly a signature hole in all of disc golf for me. Throwing 420 feet over a pond, downhill with a tight green is truly an amazing shot to throw. Nearly the entire drive is over water from the Gold tee so it just makes it fun. Hole 11 doesn't involve any water but throwing that drive out over the Christmas Tree farm down the hill is one of the most fun shots you can throw. The green at hole 18 also makes this one of the most memorable holes on the course and a definite signature hole. With a sharp left to right, uphill fairway to navigate followed by the ultimate risk/reward second shot to an island/brick wall green, it truly is an amazing hole.

5) The clubhouse at the course was a nice little addition. Anytime a disc golf course has a clubhouse and pro shop they get points in my book. They also had gatorade and some snacks for sale.

6) The course was extremely fair, even from the long tees. There was only one part of the course that maybe was a bit unfair (see below in cons) but honestly that's just being nitpicky. The course didn't have any poke and hope holes and the OB lines were very clear.

7) The baskets were out of this world. Not only were the long baskets orange powder coated but they were deep and caught very well. These baskets were some of the best baskets I have ever played on.

8) While some courses have filler holes here and there, this course did a great job of not having holes that were forgettable. There were only a few holes that were average while the rest of the holes ranged from above average to purely phenomenal.

9) The course had a ton of variety and challenged every part of your game. There were tight holes (3 and 4), long holes (1 and 11), anyhyzer holes (18), option holes (5), straight shots (7 and 16), uphill holes (8), downhill holes (13), hyzer holes (14) and everything in between.
Cons: There's not much bad you can say about one of the best courses in the world. Here are just a few things:
1) Navigation was a little tricky after hole 14. Hole 15 Gold was actually Hole 16 red (to different baskets) and because every hole has multiple baskets and multiple tee pads it was a little tricky to navigate in this one area. With that in mind, the course was marked very well with flags (gold, blue, white, red) and the navigation was easy besides this area.

2) This is not a major con for me, but the teepads are rubber and not concrete and I could see this becoming an issue on wet days.

3) A few holes from the long tees could have an issue of penalizing a good drive by being in the middle of the Christmas Tree farm. This is not a huge con because there are areas around the farm, but on holes 1 and 17 I could see a great, long drive penalized because if you throw a straight and long drive on these holes you could seemingly have an open line but may be right in a Christmas Tree.

Please don't take these cons the wrong way - this course is a 5 all the way!
Other Thoughts: There's not much else to say. Make sure to support the pro shop when you are here. The $10 greens fee per person is more than worth it and I didn't think twice about paying it.

PLEASE NOTE: The Gold to Gold layout is not for the faint of heart. I would not recommend playing this layout unless you are above a 935 rating. It is challenging and there is a great chance to lose discs. This is why Maple Hill is so special - it gives you multiple options for multiple skill levels.

19 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Choose Your Own Adventure

2-4    6/25/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 228  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 4 Years
14 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Gold 3. What a magnificent beast. I don't even have to throw it. I just want to watch that hole parade around. A tee overlooking the same area that 1 traversed but it throws into the woods, down and then up a hill that climbs to the left and away from you to a high pin that you can see from the tee.
Maple Hill is a true destination course. I'm not breaking any news by telling you that there are four layouts here but I have two things to mention about the layouts. First, it's impossible to tell from the course maps just how different these layouts are from each other. Vastly different. Tees, baskets and fairways are everywhere. What makes it all work is the professionalism of the complex. Tees and baskets are marked with large colored flags indicating which layout or layouts use that particular feature. Playing whites, look for the basket with a white flag. Finish the hole, follow the white arrows until you see a tee with a big white flag over it. Additionally, the different layouts do an amazing job of providing opportunities for players of all different skills. Personally, I found the whites fun and the blues challenging. The reds looked very boring at times and the golds were a bit too daunting for me but both clearly appeal to a different player. Very impressive since the difference between layouts is often not just a harder tee. It's a completely different hole that happens to use the same plot of land.
A ton of variety. I'm not going to detail all the incredible holes here. They all bring it. Wooded holes, open holes. All the water you can handle and tough carries on the longer layouts. Elevation changes on most of them. It all mixes together in an incredible package. The factor that lessens some destination courses in my mind is that they aren't everyday-playable. That isn't an issue here, largely because of the different layouts. If I lived here, I would save the golds for special occasions. The blues and whites, I could play those all the time. Do you want an epic experience or a solid round that gets you home in time for dinner? You can get either here.
The picture is made clear as soon as you survey the terrain that the first hole covers. The white tee is midway up a hill. You will need to throw over the hillside and then a picturesque pond with the basket perched on the edge of the far shore. Awesome throw. One of my favorite on the white course. The gold tees off from the top of the hill, with well over 300 feet to cross the water in one. From there it's almost as long again to the basket which hides behind a rock wall. Choose your own adventure.

Cons: I have to say, I don't love the carry-a-bunch-of-low-scrub holes. Challenge-wise, they are no different than water-carries. Experience-wise, they bore me quickly. One is a change-up. More than two? I want real obstacles. Not a test of how far I can throw. And it's not really like water. If you land in water, you lose the disc, go to a drop zone and have to take a stroke. That's what makes a successful throw so rewarding. If you land somewhere in the scrub, you find your disk and likely have a simple approach shot, as long as you have an idea where the pin is. Much less risk. Much less reward. Over the Christmas trees is awesome on the first hole but not interesting after that. And 16, man, that belongs on a much worse course than this.
Other Thoughts: I think each of the layouts here on their own would merit a 4.0. (Except red) Probably. Being generous to white. All four together, with potential for repeated play, and the almost unparalleled capability to accommodate different skill levels, the whole thing is a 4.5 for me. If Maple Hill isn't my all-time favorite destination, it is certainly close.

14 of 18 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.