Leicester, MA 
Maple Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #3 (Taken 4/2013)
3 / 260ft.   3 / 290ft.   3 / 400ft.   3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Red Approach

Reviews: 81
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

1    8/1/2015   8/10/2015
Review By: waterhyzerd
Played: 61  Reviewed: 16
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Elevation, water, O.B, mix of wooded and open holes, multiple pads and baskets on every hole, mach X targets, pro shop on site, accurate signage and distances, suitably challenging, accessible location.
Cons: Objectively speaking, the forced carries over water from the gold tees can really lighten up your bag after playing a round. I personally DO NOT see this as a con because I love courses with water like this. However, I am a little sour after underestimating and not clearing the pond on hole one from golds on my first try. Leave the ego locked in your car or Maple Hill may crush you before you realize it!
Other Thoughts: I had one chance and limited time to play Maple Hill while passing through Mass on the way to Boston. I played the gold tees while my less skilled companion played the whites. As an advanced played with good BH and FH capabilities, I found the golds to be a phenomenal challenge while still being fun. He is an occasional player and found the whites to match his abilities as well.

My sample size for top dgcr critically acclaimed courses is admittedly low, but I feel well-traveled enough to say Maple Hill is and/or should be a top five course in the U.S. I feel confident in that assertion even after only being able to play the gold layout once. I was sure to at least check out the lines and baskets of the other layouts; the blues and whites definitely seemed just as fun and challenging but at more suitable distances for frequent play.

This won't end up being my best review. Maple Hill was just at such a high caliber in every aspect that I am having trouble attempting to do it justice with typed words. The recent tournament videos of the Maple Hill Open do a pretty good job of giving you a preview but you need to play it in order to really appreciate the massive elevation, water, beauty, creativity, etc.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

2-4    7/26/2015   7/27/2015
Review By: blazerico
Played: 211  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Maple Hill has everything, but you already know that if you read any of the other reviews. There's a lot of fun to be had here, but there are also a lot of butt clenching moments too. Holes 8, 14 and 5 will test your nerves but they are not impossible to birdie.
Cons: not a fan of pay to play. when the money is used to create and maintain a place like this, p2p isn't as annoying. the annual membership is a bargain if you're a local
Other Thoughts: I can't find anything wrong or missing from Maple Hill, so I guess I have to give it a 5.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Wow, wow, wow...

2-4    6/18/2015   6/18/2015
Review By: Areometer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Even with high expectation before I went there, this course didn't disappoint at all. Beautiful and opened layout for Red course, or very challenging / intimidating for the other colors. We almost lost 4 discs but managed to find / retrieve them all (mostly from water). What an amazing day.
Cons: Directional arrow to next tee can be better displayed. Please use Pelham (NH) course colored arrow on basket as reference, so far that's the best / clearest indicators for next tee. Also, for Red course basket 15, there seems to be TWO red baskets. Which is the real one?
Other Thoughts: The big opened water with baskets on the rim is for the most daring and advanced players. I would imagine that most will lose a lot of discs even attempting. This is not for novice players. Otherwise, this is a world-class disc golf course that we New Englanders should be proud of. Gladly paid the $10 fee.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Maple Hill Yeah!

1    6/6/2015   6/6/2015
Review By: SpatialT
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 29.6 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Where to begin? Top notch, from the street signage to the flower gardens planted throughout the course to the excellent pro shop (not as good as Pyramids) to the excellent 4 course layout. Buchasjs1's review says it all, really, as far as the course goes
Cons: disc loss potential is high
traffic (but, like a top roller coaster, it is worth the wait if you have one)
Other Thoughts: Visited while up from Atlanta and staying in Providence - 70 minute drive. Worth every minute of it. Got there around 11 am. Luckily, it was slow day. Was met at the pro shop by the property manager, who was very gracious and helpful. Knowing I was visiting and didn't have all my discs, he let me use some of their practice discs. He even suggested a plan of action for my day (play the red tees first and then blue or white) with lunch in between at Bushel and Peck's deli 5 minutes down the street. I took his advice, for the most part. Didn't do the white or blue tees completely as I had enough fun playing red tees 3 times. The last round I mixed a few other holes in so I could see the entire course.

Lunch place was awesome! Took my sandwich back to the course and ate at a picnic table. By 4:00 pm, there were about 15 people on the course. It is a world class place and I would go back again and again!!!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    7/1/2014   3/14/2015
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 57  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 3.2 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Although I have played many courses that I consider to be five star courses, this one trumps them all.... This truly is what the rating I have given it states, the "best of the best."

Overall variety- This course has a tremendous amount of variety. Between the 4 distinct layouts that the course has to offer and the variety and challenge that each hole entails, I could not ask for more. Each and every hole is well thought out, and there is not a single tweener hole, or hole that I would change. A player certainly needs every shot to score well at this immaculate course.

Water Features- This course offers a variety of water features, all considered lakes or ponds, that are incorporated beautifully into the challenging layout. If you cannot clear the water feature, the course offers other tees on all water carries so that one does not risk losing plastic if they do not want to.

Navigation- For the most part, navigation is made easy by numerous next tee signs, and easy to follow paths.

Amenities- This course boasts the new Mach X baskets, which are very good at catching discs, and make for very few spit outs. The course has a world class pro shop just down the road, and a very good pro shop on the property. The course also has great signs, which display distance, hole maps, and desired flight lines well.

Scenery- This is the hilly area of Massachusetts, which allows for some great views, and especially during fall foliage. The ponds and lakes on the property also allow for some quality views. The landscaping and large stone walls found in abundance throughout the course also add to the beauty.

Elevation- The property contains quite a few separate hills which make one execute both downhill and uphill shots to score well, also adding to the variety.
Cons: High chance of losing a disc- With the many water carries, even from the short tees, the water surrounding fairways and baskets seems to have an appetite for discs. For those that are intimidated by water carries, head down the road to Pyramids, a great course just down the road.

From what I have gathered and seen, it seems as if the place gets crowded, especially with multiple groups playing different layouts, there could be a problem
Other Thoughts: Disclaimer: I only played the gold layout that this course has to offer, and every single shot was unique, demanding and beautiful. This being said, I am not judging this course on the other layouts, just the variety that the complex provides with having 4 distinct layouts.

This course honestly trumps all that I have played and I can not wait to come back to experience all of the complex's layouts and shots that are available.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

What every private course should strive for

5+    8/4/2014   9/19/2014
Review By: hawk12
Played: 203  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 25.1 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Private course on a great piece of land, elevation well utilized in the design, great use of the natural ponds and allowing players to choose risk/reward shots.
Three sets of tees designs for specific skill levels (White, Blue, Gold) allowing players to choose how hard of a layout they want on any particular day, and just outstanding for tournament play!!! Can't say enough how much I love the three separate layouts, played them all and each one feel different, uses many different lines/fairways to the baskets.
Baskets, new Mach X baskets, orange makes it easy to spot through some of heavier wooded holes. Catch well, they do have a slightly different feel as a soft putting style might not be as well received as a hard push putter. (Just my opinion).
Pro shop, great disc selection, great people working there, snacks available also. They pull lost discs out of the pond and hold them for you too!
Beautiful views throughout the property, great scenic shots looking down over some of the ponds, no trash, and super well maintained course.
Cons: Not much to say here, they close for Christmas tree season...
maybe could knock the lost discs, but they get them out of the pond and hold them for you in the pro shop, so nope this is a pro also
Other Thoughts: Thank you Steve for allowing us to come play on your property!!
Been coming up to Maple Hill for over 10 years, and have seen it just grow and grow. Used to be two sets of tees and a drop slot in the old barn, just an amazing amount of growth over the years!!

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

1    9/16/2014   9/16/2014
Review By: overkill
Played: 24  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 42 Not
Pros: Long fairways and challenging holes; decent pin locations but no more so than some other courses in New England
Cons: Poor/non existent markings to next tee box; extremely annoying overlap of RWBG courses / 4 diff tee boxes for each hole leads to throwing into other players; poorly groomed - hadn't been mowed in weeks

3 of 45 people found this review helpful.


1    8/21/2014   9/14/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 259  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 12.4 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is nothing Maple Hill could do to improve the quality of the disc golf course. Dictionary definition of a perfect 5. Only way it could of been better is if I got an ace, or they invited me to live in the pro shop. There are 4 layouts, and tailored scorecards for each at the shop. Different layouts may shared tee boxes or baskets on different holes, but they are all clearly identifiable. The very nice rubber tees are marked with color coded signs, and multiple baskets with colored flags. There is all of the stuff required for a stellar course. Trees ranging from high density, to open and spread out, to evenly spaced rows. Large changes in elevation on several holes. Water on a few of them, too. Everything maintained beautifully. No weak links here. One through eighteen will challenge you to make smart accurate throws, no matter what your style of play, or which layout you're playing. My favorite hole, if I were forced to pick one, would have to be 11. Tees on peak of a hill, and over a number of small trees that are planted in a grid laid out to the left, scattered more randomly to the right and beyond the white basket. Long and open, but landing zone is small enough to require good accuracy over the lengthy downhill drive. 4 was a fairly steep downhill with narrow gaps in the trees and water looming behind the baskets. Also really liked 6, downhill and wooded, with a stone wall the length of the right side, OB on the other side of the wall. Perfect drive gave me a 2 for a birdie. 13 was another fun, downhill bomb. The uphill holes are no joke. 10, 17 and 18 will test your arm and get the blood pumping.
Cons: Paying admission is worth it, even just for one round. Throws over water on multiple holes, loss of control may result in loss of discs. Saw two large non-venomous snakes. Not a con to me, but I'm reaching for something to list under cons.
Other Thoughts: The Maple Hill DGC is truly among the best of the best. Scored a 4 over par, 63 on my one and only visit here. Would love to be able to play it on a regular basis. A must play if you are going to be anywhere close and the weather is favorable.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Wow. Just wow.

1    7/21/2014   8/18/2014
Review By: Will_S
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: - Almost every hole on this course would be a signature hole on any other course.

- Challenging, yet rewarding layout

- Very well maintained

- Pro shop on site as well as being directly across the street from Marshall Street HQ

- The flags on top of the baskets make identifying them very easy
Cons: I did not experience any cons on my trip here

3 of 16 people found this review helpful.


2-4    7/20/2014   7/26/2014
Review By: KLydon
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2014
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: +Beautiful
+Spacious, allows you to let it rip
+Well maintained
+Fantastic chains/Holes
+4 tee spots/multiple holes
+No hole is alike
+Totally Unique!
+Great community
+Across the street from Marshall, aka the best disc store ever
Cons: The water hazards guarantee you won't get your disc back that day but they regularly scuba and post lost discs on their website! Write your name and number down on your discs!
Other Thoughts: This is officially my favorite course. Perfect mix of technical and let-it-rip for me. I love just letting the disc fly in the open. You will need every shot in your bag (and some distance to boost) to master this course. Not many New England courses are like this! Make the trip if you haven't... I would gladly drive am extra hour to play this beauty.

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.