Leicester, MA 
Maple Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #4 (Taken 4/2013)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 300ft.   3 / 300ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Red/Gold Tee Sign



Reviews: 76
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great course at any ability

2-4    10/21/2012   4/21/2013
Review By: Xnrbl
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great upkeep, friendly and helpful staff (and patrons), great signage, superb course layout, high level of visual interest to courses, reasonable pro-shop prices, excellent disc-return system and ethic among users.
Cons: Hole 18 impact hazard for milling throngs near practice tees and pro shop.
Other Thoughts: Spend a whole day there, it's worth it.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.


1    2/16/2013   4/19/2013
Review By: JC AceHole
Played: 291  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent course. 4 different layouts with several tees and baskets on numberous holes. The plus with this is a high level top pro and a true novice could both find a layout here that they could play and enjoy. This makes it a fun place for everyone and gives the course much variety as alot of these looks are completly different.

Water water water. When playing the upper level tee/pins, you better have a cannon. There are some holes where you have to throw a long ways to clear the ponds. The views from these water holes are amazing. There is a good mix of elevation, wooded and open holes with holes that west test every shot in your bag. Be prepared.

Club house on site with discs and such but I'd recommend going across the road to Marshall street as that place is outstanding. Very well kept course and home to the Vibram open.
Cons: Closed during the Christmas season to sell trees. Can't really fault them for closing then to make more money but I prefer courses that are open all year.
Other Thoughts: This course is worthy of being #1 on DGCR. It's in my personal top 3 and on some days if you ask me I would say its my favorite. It just has such variety and shots that make you say wow when you get up to the tee. I think most course designers would hope for this reaction and maple hill accomplishes this over and over again.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 As Good as it Looks on Video

1    10/10/2012   11/27/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 294  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.3 Years
23 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- All that I Hoped it Would Be. I have seen enough video of the Vibram Open to have been set up for a huge disappointment… however, Maple Hill was all that I hoped it would be. All the memorable holes from the videos (1, 5, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 16, 18) lived up to expectation.
- 4 Options. With each hole having two tee-pads (sometimes more) and two pins, Maple Hill had 4 options for play: red, white, blue and gold. Every tee-pad and pin had two color-coded flags designating the tee/pin for that hole. The system of flags - in combination with the tee-signs - worked really well, and I never had any trouble identifying what was what.
- Championship Level. Maple Hill has it all when it comes to "what a championship level course is supposed to be": long, extremely demanding golf with opportunities for punishment, multiple water holes, several other OB features, numerous Par 4's, and fantastic amenities.
- Pro-Shop. There was a huge pro-shop stocked with nearly everything you could probably ever want. They had a great selection of plastic from all the brands (Innova, Discraft, Lat64, MVP, Gateway, Legacy, DiscMania, etc…), and had bags, straps, towels and anything else DG related. They also had snacks and drinks for sale.
- Pyramids is Down the Street. It's nice to be able to bag two courses in a new state and not have to drive very far to do it. Pyramids DGC is just down the street (apparently the cousin to the owner of Maple Hill). It's a fun course and worth bagging since you're going to be so close to it anyway.
Cons:
- Par 61. My only complaint about Maple Hill was the seemingly low Par as compared to other "championship level" courses I've played and love: Harmon Hills, Idlewild, Iron Hill, Nevin, Renny Gold, Fly Boy and all 3 at the IDGC. I would have loved to have seen three or four more Par 4's, and a few Par 5's out there.
Other Thoughts:
- I was the First Person to Play the New Hole 16. As I was playing the course, I could hear some chainsaw work going on. When I finished Hole 15, I was unable to find the tee-pad of 16. I walked up to the person with the chainsaw (Dave) and asked where the Gold tee-pad was… he told me they had to remove the tee-pad and redesign the Hole… which was a bummer because the hole had a fairly demanding water crossing off the tee. However, he also told me that he had just finished cutting the new fairway and I would be the first person to play the new Hole - Bonus! I went back and played the old hole too… crushed both drives and had birdie looks at both.
- Overall… With all the hype I've heard, and all the video I've seen, I could have easily been disappointed in Maple Hill… but I wasn't. Maple Hill was definitely worth the hype of being one of the best courses in the country. When you combine an amazing piece of private property, with championship level golf, famous holes that live up to the hype, multiple water holes, massive bombers over Christmas trees, old rock wall OB features, a complete package of amenities, beautiful scenery, and more… you get a disc golf destination like no other. Any serious disc golf course bagger would be foolish to be anywhere within 200 miles of this course and not go out of their way to bag it.
My Score: a very proud 63 from the Golds

23 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 Perfection

5+    6/23/2012   10/23/2012
Review By: JAKE master
Played: 37  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.2 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course offers absolutely everything. From newbie to touring pro, everybody will fall in love with this course. Multiple layouts provide endless entertainment for your $10 a day fee. Seating and trash very abundant. Grippy tee pads, full photo color t signs, colored flags marking your particular layout choice. Owners are really great people. Pro shop available on site and in the off chance it is closed you have Marshall st practically in walking distance. Beautiful New England landscape with tons of risk reward water hazards. Course is great in terms of retrieving discs and there lost and found. Lunch options not far. Cant say enough positive things regarding maple hill.
Cons: I was intimidated by this course my first year of serious play. after i played i realized there is no need. Only one porter john and its near parking the lot.
Other Thoughts: Maple hill is a complete, disc golf destination. A paradise among paradise's. I played the white and blue and another round of white because we were camping there and they had league night. the following morning we played gold and finished later that day when my GF showed up to play red. she too fell in love. its so nice up there I might just drive the hour to buy a Xmas tree despite the fact i live next to one of the biggest Xmas tree farms in New England. Cheers Maple Hill to course done right.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Course

1    10/5/2012   10/15/2012
Review By: gassal01
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Most profesional disc golf course I have played. I really enjoyed the beauty of this course and the difficulty. I played from the blue tees and found it fun and challenging. Wonderful signs that tell you what tee and basket to go to. Flowers planted by some of the baskets and tees made it feel very welcoming. Like a course I would build if I had land like that. The guy who was working in the pro shop was very friendly and helped me pick out a few new discs. Even encouraged me to play more! Well worth the $10 to know that your money is going back into the course.
Cons: Got kind of lost towards 15-16 but I tend to be an idiot sometimes. Also, concrete pads are always nice. Although this gives them the option of changing. Other than that this course has NO cons.
Other Thoughts: This course can be played from red,white,blue or gold tees and baskets. You could literally play all day and not play the same course. Make the trip! It is well worth it.

Lots of water holes! If you are not an advanced player. Bring a few used discs you don't mind losing in the water.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Center of New England Disc Golf Universe

5+    8/13/2012   9/12/2012
Review By: Menacewarf
Played: 60  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.2 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All four layouts provide appropriate and awesome disc golf. The red is fun and there for the taking score wise and is a nice way to experience the course with minimal frustration. The gold is a spectacular challenge with a slew of memorable holes. White and blue incrementally add additional challenges. The overall layout is a unique and creative way of constructing a full array of disc golf experience. The tee pads and baskets for each layout are marked with colored flags making navigation fairly self explanatory.

The fairways are well defined, varied, interesting, and highlight the land. The use of water is exciting and appropriate to the skill leval for each layout. The par four's on the gold course are almost all very challenging and memorable. I like the way OB is used and none of it seems contrived. Teepads are spacious, flat and grippy rubber. Elevation comes into play on every hole except perhaps the over water route on hole 5.

Maple Hill has it all. Amazing disc golf for all skills, great course equipment, and beautiful land.
Other Thoughts: Pro Shop, adequate facilities, and friendly staff complete the package. There is a great deli down the street in Worcester. Ask the staff for directions, go eat, and then come back and play another round!

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Simply The Best!

2-4    9/9/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: NH DISCDOLF J
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
-An excellent variety of technical holes, long holes, and demanding risk/reward holes.
-Pristine Condition. Excellent Atmoshere.
-4 Course Layouts.
-Red--An excellent track for beginners. Most of the water on the course is taken out of play.
-White--Where the average player should play.
-Blue--Long. Some forced carries, but most trouble can be avoided. I believe the blue 8th tee is even harder then the gold.
- Gold-- Very demanding. If you don't throw 350+ play the blues. An oppurtunity to see how your game stacks up against the best in the world. If you are willing to play the gold course.
-All shot types are needed.
-Generous staff.
-Rarely overcrowded.
Other Thoughts:
-The course is open most of the year.
-The staff does a nice job of retrieving discs. You can pick them up on your next visit.
-There are plenty of food options nearby if you want to play 54 or 72.
-Great pro shop on site. Marshall St. is a massive disc golf store just across the street at The Pyramids.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A Disc Golfer's Dream!!

1    5/24/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6.1 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Private course located down the street from Pyramids and Marshall St. This is a DG destination. Maple Hill also has its own pro shop with plenty of discs for anybody to find what they need for a round. They also have a great lost disc section to locate anything you lost on your last visit.

Beautiful, professionally done score cards for each of the 4 different layouts available on this course. Each score card has a great map of that layout.

Each layout adds different levels of challenge for players that are looking for a different challenge. I played Blue. That is a Par 60 with a Rating of 970. It was tough, but didn't kill me. Play Gold if you really want some pain. Red is a nice short round with shots most players can handle.

Level rubber tee pads for each hole. Some pads were built on elevated decks to keep any water or swampiness from getting to the pad.

Colored flags for each pad and basket to help players locate the right basket and pads for their round.

The best feature of this course IMO is shot variety. There are uphills, downhills, lefts and rights. There is an elevated basket, baskets with sloping greens, and there are water carries galore. There is not a feature you'll miss here. Gotta love it. There is even a chance or two at an ace for an average player. This course doesn't try to kill you with its greatness.

There are nice tight wooded holes, and there are open downhill bombs. Plus there are holes with a combinations of features. I can't think of anything missing here. I used every shot I am capable of throwing, needed them all, and could have used all of them with an extra 50' a few times. Wow.

The risk reward factor on the water carries and basket positions is great. On most holes you can ease up, and just try to make par, or risk greatness and go for it. But hillsides and ponds await to make you pay for any errors.
Cons: Hole #1!!!! It's a nice hole, but I'd prefer my 345' over the pond shot to be at the end of the round when I'm warmed up. That's a tough way to start a round, even if it is a pretty hole.
Other Thoughts: There is not really anything more to say than what has been said about Maple Hill in the past. It is truly one ofthe best. We can all pick our favorites, and try to pick apart the other guy's, but this is a course every player would love. Everything is well thought out, and there is some variation for players of all abilities. The course is probably the best maintained private course I've played also. Well mown grass, and well cleared woods. This is what we all dream of when thinking of our own private course.

I won't describe every hole, but will say that #8 was my personal favorite. Not because it was the prettiest, or most dramatic, but because I stood on that damn pad and tried to figure put a way to pay it safe. 8 Blue will give you that butterfly in your stomach, or scratch in your throat. It's a sweet 275' shot over the water with a low ceiling, tight line, and no safe landing spot if you're not near the basket. It's all or nothing, with water all around. Just a great layout from the Blue. I thank the DG Gods for my luck on that shot. My disc is dry, and I got par!

If you are ever in MA make a plan to spend a day at Maple Hill. It currently has a $10 per day fee, but it is well worth it for 1 round. Make a day of it, and you're practically stealing fun. This place is simply one of the best.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Heaven

1    5/6/2012   5/8/2012
Review By: Disc Fiend
Played: 62  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is on a beautiful piece of land and it utilizes every bit of it to make one awesome course. Constant elevation changes and water in play on most holes make for one fun and challenging round. There are multiple tees and baskets on every hole so you could play this course a couple different ways if you choose. The teepads are kept really nice and navigation was not an issue at all. There is a pro shop on site so if you need to pick up some new discs because you lost them over some water (which probably will happen lol) you can.
Cons: There really isn't any. Some people may say the 10$ fee is a con, but trust me you will get your moneys worth
Other Thoughts: I love this course! This is the kind of course that you dream about. When you play it you can't help but just sit back and take it all in. It is EPIC! every disc golfer needs to make a pilgrimage here at least once in their life

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/24/2012   3/26/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 75  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 11.7 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Maple Hill has it all. Four unique layouts, full service on-site pro-shop, and a staff dedicated to creating the best disc golf experience possible.

The signage is some of the best I've seen. Colored flags at each tee and basket and color coded next tee arrows make navigating the various layouts a breeze.

The beauty of Maple Hill is hard to top. The rolling hills and mirror-surface ponds put you in a state of disc golf euphoria, no matter how badly the course is beating you.

The Gold layout, as the Vibram Open layout, gets the star treatment. With very nice tees including a number of impressive tee platforms. Make the trip in August and the course will be perfectly polished for the big event. However the other three layouts get plenty of TLC too. They all feature well maintained rubber tee pads and clean fairways.

The course design is top-notch. Nearly every hole on every layout could be considered a signature hole. Figuring out Maple Hill is like solving a complex puzzle. It's clear that the staff takes a close look at scoring trends and if a particular hole is routinely scoring below par, it will be tweaked to provide a better challenge.

Play the correct layout for your skill level, and birdies won't come easy but bogeys will only come from mistakes.
Cons: There is no longer a 1-round fee. There is just a $10 all-day fee. So the cost of playing one-round could be a bit steep. Make it a full-day of disc golf, though and the $10 fee will seem low compared to the experience you get back.
Other Thoughts: The red layout is the beginner layout. It is by no means an "easy" layout though. It provides a nice challenge even for intermediate to advanced players. It emphasizes good line shaping and placement. With no water carries though, it far less intimidating for newer players.

The White layout provides a good test for intermediate to advanced players. Water comes into play a bit more, throwing over the ponds on 1 and 8. Nearly every tee-shot forces you to consider shot selection very carefully. Make the wrong decision and you will be punished for it.

The Blue layout will challenge Open level players. It plays like a longer white layout, with some great opportunities for the big arms to really let it fly.

The Gold layout is designed to challenge the world's best. This is the layout used for the Vibram Open every year. Every tee provides a unique challenge. A big arm and wide skill set are required to succeed on this layout.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.