Leicester, MA 
Maple Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 200ft.   3 / 310ft.   3 / 370ft.   4 / 580ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 White/Blue Tee



Reviews: 76
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
What every private course should strive for

5+    8/4/2014   9/19/2014
Review By: hawk12
Played: 169  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 24.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Private course on a great piece of land, elevation well utilized in the design, great use of the natural ponds and allowing players to choose risk/reward shots.
Three sets of tees designs for specific skill levels (White, Blue, Gold) allowing players to choose how hard of a layout they want on any particular day, and just outstanding for tournament play!!! Can't say enough how much I love the three separate layouts, played them all and each one feel different, uses many different lines/fairways to the baskets.
Baskets, new Mach X baskets, orange makes it easy to spot through some of heavier wooded holes. Catch well, they do have a slightly different feel as a soft putting style might not be as well received as a hard push putter. (Just my opinion).
Pro shop, great disc selection, great people working there, snacks available also. They pull lost discs out of the pond and hold them for you too!
Beautiful views throughout the property, great scenic shots looking down over some of the ponds, no trash, and super well maintained course.
Cons: Not much to say here, they close for Christmas tree season...
maybe could knock the lost discs, but they get them out of the pond and hold them for you in the pro shop, so nope this is a pro also
Other Thoughts: Thank you Steve for allowing us to come play on your property!!
Been coming up to Maple Hill for over 10 years, and have seen it just grow and grow. Used to be two sets of tees and a drop slot in the old barn, just an amazing amount of growth over the years!!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


1    9/16/2014   9/16/2014
Review By: overkill
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 34 Not
Pros: Long fairways and challenging holes; decent pin locations but no more so than some other courses in New England
Cons: Poor/non existent markings to next tee box; extremely annoying overlap of RWBG courses / 4 diff tee boxes for each hole leads to throwing into other players; poorly groomed - hadn't been mowed in weeks

3 of 37 people found this review helpful.

Map-illicious

1    8/21/2014   9/14/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 238  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 11.6 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is nothing Maple Hill could do to improve the quality of the disc golf course. Dictionary definition of a perfect 5. Only way it could of been better is if I got an ace, or they invited me to live in the pro shop. There are 4 layouts, and tailored scorecards for each at the shop. Different layouts may shared tee boxes or baskets on different holes, but they are all clearly identifiable. The very nice rubber tees are marked with color coded signs, and multiple baskets with colored flags. There is all of the stuff required for a stellar course. Trees ranging from high density, to open and spread out, to evenly spaced rows. Large changes in elevation on several holes. Water on a few of them, too. Everything maintained beautifully. No weak links here. One through eighteen will challenge you to make smart accurate throws, no matter what your style of play, or which layout you're playing. My favorite hole, if I were forced to pick one, would have to be 11. Tees on peak of a hill, and over a number of small trees that are planted in a grid laid out to the left, scattered more randomly to the right and beyond the white basket. Long and open, but landing zone is small enough to require good accuracy over the lengthy downhill drive. 4 was a fairly steep downhill with narrow gaps in the trees and water looming behind the baskets. Also really liked 6, downhill and wooded, with a stone wall the length of the right side, OB on the other side of the wall. Perfect drive gave me a 2 for a birdie. 13 was another fun, downhill bomb. The uphill holes are no joke. 10, 17 and 18 will test your arm and get the blood pumping.
Cons: Paying admission is worth it, even just for one round. Throws over water on multiple holes, loss of control may result in loss of discs. Saw two large non-venomous snakes. Not a con to me, but I'm reaching for something to list under cons.
Other Thoughts: The Maple Hill DGC is truly among the best of the best. Scored a 4 over par, 63 on my one and only visit here. Would love to be able to play it on a regular basis. A must play if you are going to be anywhere close and the weather is favorable.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Wow. Just wow.

1    7/21/2014   8/18/2014
Review By: Will_S
Played: 26  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: - Almost every hole on this course would be a signature hole on any other course.

- Challenging, yet rewarding layout

- Very well maintained

- Pro shop on site as well as being directly across the street from Marshall Street HQ

- The flags on top of the baskets make identifying them very easy
Cons: I did not experience any cons on my trip here

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

2-4    7/20/2014   7/26/2014
Review By: KLydon
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2014
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: +Beautiful
+Spacious, allows you to let it rip
+Well maintained
+Fantastic chains/Holes
+Challenging
+4 tee spots/multiple holes
+No hole is alike
+Totally Unique!
+Great community
+Across the street from Marshall, aka the best disc store ever
Cons: The water hazards guarantee you won't get your disc back that day but they regularly scuba and post lost discs on their website! Write your name and number down on your discs!
Other Thoughts: This is officially my favorite course. Perfect mix of technical and let-it-rip for me. I love just letting the disc fly in the open. You will need every shot in your bag (and some distance to boost) to master this course. Not many New England courses are like this! Make the trip if you haven't... I would gladly drive am extra hour to play this beauty.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.


1    7/7/2014   7/12/2014
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 146  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 14.7 Years
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What an experience it was to play Maple Hill the day after the 2014 Maple Hill Open. When you drive up to the course you know you are walking into something special. A lot of private courses get inflated ratings simply because they are private but Maple Hill is just not one of them. I would rate Maple Hill as the number two course in the world just behind Flyboy Aviation. Here are my reasons:
1) Greatest opening hole in all of disc golf. You walk up to the Gold Tees and get to throw a shot 480 feet over a pond to a protected green with Christmas trees all around. Its also slightly downhill, which gives you a wonderful view of area. I am not sure it gets any better than this when it comes to starting off with a bang.

2) Multiple options to play the course - I was amazed at the various "courses" within a course that Maple Hill entailed. We played the Gold to Gold design but I had a chance to play some extra holes afterwards and it was truly a joy. The Red design looked like a nice, relaxing and fun round while the Gold design offers one of the most challenging tests in disc golf. I was able to shoot a 60 but if I was slightly off my game I could have easily been over 65.

3) The usage of water hazards was perfect. In my opinion, to be a "5" you need to have water on the course and it needs to come into play. Maple Hill offered some of the most breathtaking shots over water that I have ever played. I already mentioned hole 1 and the shot over the pond but many other holes incorporated water, including the tight downhill number 4, the big flick number 5, numbers 8 and 9 and of course number 14.

4) This course has MULTIPLE signature holes. Its not often that hole 1 sucks you in right away with a signature hole but it truly does the trick. Hole 14 is probably the signature hole at Maple Hill and honestly a signature hole in all of disc golf for me. Throwing 420 feet over a pond, downhill with a tight green is truly an amazing shot to throw. Nearly the entire drive is over water from the Gold tee so it just makes it fun. Hole 11 doesn't involve any water but throwing that drive out over the Christmas Tree farm down the hill is one of the most fun shots you can throw. The green at hole 18 also makes this one of the most memorable holes on the course and a definite signature hole. With a sharp left to right, uphill fairway to navigate followed by the ultimate risk/reward second shot to an island/brick wall green, it truly is an amazing hole.

5) The clubhouse at the course was a nice little addition. Anytime a disc golf course has a clubhouse and pro shop they get points in my book. They also had gatorade and some snacks for sale.

6) The course was extremely fair, even from the long tees. There was only one part of the course that maybe was a bit unfair (see below in cons) but honestly that's just being nitpicky. The course didn't have any poke and hope holes and the OB lines were very clear.

7) The baskets were out of this world. Not only were the long baskets orange powder coated but they were deep and caught very well. These baskets were some of the best baskets I have ever played on.

8) While some courses have filler holes here and there, this course did a great job of not having holes that were forgettable. There were only a few holes that were average while the rest of the holes ranged from above average to purely phenomenal.

9) The course had a ton of variety and challenged every part of your game. There were tight holes (3 and 4), long holes (1 and 11), anyhyzer holes (18), option holes (5), straight shots (7 and 16), uphill holes (8), downhill holes (13), hyzer holes (14) and everything in between.
Cons: There's not much bad you can say about one of the best courses in the world. Here are just a few things:
1) Navigation was a little tricky after hole 14. Hole 15 Gold was actually Hole 16 red (to different baskets) and because every hole has multiple baskets and multiple tee pads it was a little tricky to navigate in this one area. With that in mind, the course was marked very well with flags (gold, blue, white, red) and the navigation was easy besides this area.

2) This is not a major con for me, but the teepads are rubber and not concrete and I could see this becoming an issue on wet days.

3) A few holes from the long tees could have an issue of penalizing a good drive by being in the middle of the Christmas Tree farm. This is not a huge con because there are areas around the farm, but on holes 1 and 17 I could see a great, long drive penalized because if you throw a straight and long drive on these holes you could seemingly have an open line but may be right in a Christmas Tree.

Please don't take these cons the wrong way - this course is a 5 all the way!
Other Thoughts: There's not much else to say. Make sure to support the pro shop when you are here. The $10 greens fee per person is more than worth it and I didn't think twice about paying it.

PLEASE NOTE: The Gold to Gold layout is not for the faint of heart. I would not recommend playing this layout unless you are above a 935 rating. It is challenging and there is a great chance to lose discs. This is why Maple Hill is so special - it gives you multiple options for multiple skill levels.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Choose Your Own Adventure

2-4    6/25/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.5 Years
12 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Gold 3. What a magnificent beast. I don't even have to throw it. I just want to watch that hole parade around. A tee overlooking the same area that 1 traversed but it throws into the woods, down and then up a hill that climbs to the left and away from you to a high pin that you can see from the tee.
Maple Hill is a true destination course. I'm not breaking any news by telling you that there are four layouts here but I have two things to mention about the layouts. First, it's impossible to tell from the course maps just how different these layouts are from each other. Vastly different. Tees, baskets and fairways are everywhere. What makes it all work is the professionalism of the complex. Tees and baskets are marked with large colored flags indicating which layout or layouts use that particular feature. Playing whites, look for the basket with a white flag. Finish the hole, follow the white arrows until you see a tee with a big white flag over it. Additionally, the different layouts do an amazing job of providing opportunities for players of all different skills. Personally, I found the whites fun and the blues challenging. The reds looked very boring at times and the golds were a bit too daunting for me but both clearly appeal to a different player. Very impressive since the difference between layouts is often not just a harder tee. It's a completely different hole that happens to use the same plot of land.
A ton of variety. I'm not going to detail all the incredible holes here. They all bring it. Wooded holes, open holes. All the water you can handle and tough carries on the longer layouts. Elevation changes on most of them. It all mixes together in an incredible package. The factor that lessens some destination courses in my mind is that they aren't everyday-playable. That isn't an issue here, largely because of the different layouts. If I lived here, I would save the golds for special occasions. The blues and whites, I could play those all the time. Do you want an epic experience or a solid round that gets you home in time for dinner? You can get either here.
The picture is made clear as soon as you survey the terrain that the first hole covers. The white tee is midway up a hill. You will need to throw over the hillside and then a picturesque pond with the basket perched on the edge of the far shore. Awesome throw. One of my favorite on the white course. The gold tees off from the top of the hill, with well over 300 feet to cross the water in one. From there it's almost as long again to the basket which hides behind a rock wall. Choose your own adventure.

Cons: I have to say, I don't love the carry-a-bunch-of-low-scrub holes. Challenge-wise, they are no different than water-carries. Experience-wise, they bore me quickly. One is a change-up. More than two? I want real obstacles. Not a test of how far I can throw. And it's not really like water. If you land in water, you lose the disc, go to a drop zone and have to take a stroke. That's what makes a successful throw so rewarding. If you land somewhere in the scrub, you find your disk and likely have a simple approach shot, as long as you have an idea where the pin is. Much less risk. Much less reward. Over the Christmas trees is awesome on the first hole but not interesting after that. And 16, man, that belongs on a much worse course than this.
Other Thoughts: I think each of the layouts here on their own would merit a 4.0. (Except red) Probably. Being generous to white. All four together, with potential for repeated play, and the almost unparalleled capability to accommodate different skill levels, the whole thing is a 4.5 for me. If Maple Hill isn't my all-time favorite destination, it is certainly close.

12 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf Mecca

5+    5/12/2014   5/14/2014
Review By: Parsaver
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Gorgeous property with rolling hills, woods, lakes and open fields filled with christmas trees.
-4 course layouts. Beginners will enjoy the red course, while the gold course can challenge touring pros. The whites and blues fill in everything in between.
-Baskets, tees and signs are impeccable, and the maintenance is the best I've seen.
-Great variety and design. Uphill and downhill shots, left and right doglegs, wooded hallways and open bombers this course has them all, plus a few thrillers over water to test your nerves. Plenty of risk/reward decisions as well.
-Wooded holes have tight gaps but they are fair, no "throw and pray" holes.
-Proshop, practice baskets, disc lost and found, scorecards, and water coolers out on the course are nice amenities.
-Only $10 to play all day. I know some people don't like pay-to-play but for this course 10 bucks is a bargain.
Cons: -No real cons
-Heard it can get crowded on weekends.
-Groups playing different layouts could have the problem of throwing into one another on the wooded holes.
Other Thoughts: This is disc golf at its finest. You will not forget your day at Maple HIll.

Also, Bushel and Peck, the deli in town a mile or two away, is a good place to grab grub between rounds.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

A National Treasure

5+    5/12/2014   5/13/2014
Review By: chikago12
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.5 Years
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Located on a beautiful piece of property. Lakes, trails, and Christmas trees make up the landscape, and it's just an amazing place to experience visually.
-Pro shop right on the property, so if you lose a disc in one of the many water shots, you can easily get a replacement. Marshall Street is right next door too if they don't have exactly what you're looking for.
- 4 distinct layouts for every type of player. Very cool to visit this place different times, play different courses, and see yourself improve. Even beginners have the Reds available to them.
- A teaching course. You need to be able to hit your lines and throw a variety of shots, and it forces you to learn how to shoot those shots or it'll be difficult to make par.
- Every hole requires a different unique shot. Each hole is memorable too - you'll be talking about the shot you had weeks later.
- Excellent use of elevation change.
- Mix of open and tight wooded holes. Even on the open holes if you miss your spots you can find yourself in the Christmas trees, but everything is very fair. You never hit a tree you didn't see.
- Lines on the wooded courses are very well established, so you always know where to shoot. There are no unlucky bounces here. If you hit a tree, it was user error.
- Incredible lost and found. They have a scuba diver that finds discs and returns them to the pro shop, where for a very reasonable dollar fee you can get your disc back.
- Incredibly maintained. Everything is manicured to perfection, and a hardworking staff works to keep it that way.
- Really cool scorecards which you can keep as souvenirs of your trip.
- #1, over a lake, is probably the best opening hole in disc golf. You need to throw about 330 to carry the lake, but some elevation helps.
- #11 on the whites and the blues is an awesome hole. Big bomb over the Christmas trees.
- #13 is extremely challenging, but very rewarding downhill shot to a pin tucked just behind a dried out river.
- #18 is an epic finish to an island green, and is always a very fitting way to finish a round.
- Mach X baskets are brand new and in great shape. Flags on the baskets, as well as their bright orange color, make them easy to spot, even in the woods.
- Color flags direct you to where you need to go next and to where you're throwing, so there's never any doubt of what you're aiming for.
- The $10 day is an absolute bargain for how much work these guys put into this course. The $10 fee keeps out people who you wouldn't otherwise want on your course.
Cons: - Never was a problem for me, but I could see it getting crowded on weekends and having to wait in between holes.
Other Thoughts: - Bushel and Peck, an awesome sandwich place, is right down the street. Great for taking a break in between rounds, because lets be honest, you're playing like 4 or 5 rounds when you're here.
- If you live within a half hour of Maple Hill, you should definitely get a membership, which pays for itself after 15 trips, in addition to other member benefits.

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Discovered My (Non-Blueberry) Thrill

2-4    10/14/2013   4/12/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has, in abundance, the two core features I like in a course - options, and variety. With multiple tees and multiple baskets per hole, everyone from beginners to professionals can find a challenge appropriate for their level of play. A great mix of open space, scattered trees, woods, water, and various types of elevation changes are blended together to create a wide variety of hole-types, requiring a well-stocked arsenal of throws to overcome.

Maps, scorecards, tee areas, signage - all top-notch.

The on-site store - hard to imagine any better.
Cons:
The options come at a potential negative cost - some tees are blind from other tees playing the same hole, a few fairways cross, a couple baskets are located near next tees - so there's an increases chance of players, especially when following/followed by players playing a different configuration, accidently throwing on somebody/being thrown on. The day I played, I was both thrown upon, and threw upon! Karma, I guess. :-)

Basket-18's location is too close to the main path from the parking lot to the store's entrance. Meandering pets, straying children, roaming non-players and landloping players all conspired to delay my approach shot for an inordinate amount of time!
Other Thoughts:
As stated in the "Pros" section, this course has options (I played two rounds - red/white), and variety. From the Reds, this course averages ~255', and only quite errant throws have the possibility of finding water. From the Whites, this course averages ~335', and the two water carries were just right for my level, as I barely made them!

The site has a great blend of openness (~1/3rd of the holes), and wooded challengers (~2/3rds). The open-oriented holes are not bland, as they usually include some combination of elevation change (up or down), parallel treelines, slopes, water, scattered trees, or protected baskets. The wooded holes avoid pinball, but require you to throw a variety (early/middle/late, sharp/middling/subtle, left/right) of turning-shots, while also dealing with elevation changes.

Speaking of elevation, you will face not only steep/gradual gains or losses, but also valley-crossing and up-and-over - the entire spectrum.

Find an excuse - any excuse - to be in the vicinity of this course, and come play the course - multiple times. You will find a wide-variety of challenges to exercise your entire game.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.