Leicester, MA 
Maple Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #4 (Taken 4/2013)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 300ft.   3 / 300ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Red/Gold Tee



Reviews: 73
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Perfection

5+    6/23/2012   10/23/2012
Review By: JAKE master
Played: 31  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.9 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course offers absolutely everything. From newbie to touring pro, everybody will fall in love with this course. Multiple layouts provide endless entertainment for your $10 a day fee. Seating and trash very abundant. Grippy tee pads, full photo color t signs, colored flags marking your particular layout choice. Owners are really great people. Pro shop available on site and in the off chance it is closed you have Marshall st practically in walking distance. Beautiful New England landscape with tons of risk reward water hazards. Course is great in terms of retrieving discs and there lost and found. Lunch options not far. Cant say enough positive things regarding maple hill.
Cons: I was intimidated by this course my first year of serious play. after i played i realized there is no need. Only one porter john and its near parking the lot.
Other Thoughts: Maple hill is a complete, disc golf destination. A paradise among paradise's. I played the white and blue and another round of white because we were camping there and they had league night. the following morning we played gold and finished later that day when my GF showed up to play red. she too fell in love. its so nice up there I might just drive the hour to buy a Xmas tree despite the fact i live next to one of the biggest Xmas tree farms in New England. Cheers Maple Hill to course done right.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Course

1    10/5/2012   10/15/2012
Review By: gassal01
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.2 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Most profesional disc golf course I have played. I really enjoyed the beauty of this course and the difficulty. I played from the blue tees and found it fun and challenging. Wonderful signs that tell you what tee and basket to go to. Flowers planted by some of the baskets and tees made it feel very welcoming. Like a course I would build if I had land like that. The guy who was working in the pro shop was very friendly and helped me pick out a few new discs. Even encouraged me to play more! Well worth the $10 to know that your money is going back into the course.
Cons: Got kind of lost towards 15-16 but I tend to be an idiot sometimes. Also, concrete pads are always nice. Although this gives them the option of changing. Other than that this course has NO cons.
Other Thoughts: This course can be played from red,white,blue or gold tees and baskets. You could literally play all day and not play the same course. Make the trip! It is well worth it.

Lots of water holes! If you are not an advanced player. Bring a few used discs you don't mind losing in the water.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Center of New England Disc Golf Universe

5+    8/13/2012   9/12/2012
Review By: Menacewarf
Played: 60  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.9 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All four layouts provide appropriate and awesome disc golf. The red is fun and there for the taking score wise and is a nice way to experience the course with minimal frustration. The gold is a spectacular challenge with a slew of memorable holes. White and blue incrementally add additional challenges. The overall layout is a unique and creative way of constructing a full array of disc golf experience. The tee pads and baskets for each layout are marked with colored flags making navigation fairly self explanatory.

The fairways are well defined, varied, interesting, and highlight the land. The use of water is exciting and appropriate to the skill leval for each layout. The par four's on the gold course are almost all very challenging and memorable. I like the way OB is used and none of it seems contrived. Teepads are spacious, flat and grippy rubber. Elevation comes into play on every hole except perhaps the over water route on hole 5.

Maple Hill has it all. Amazing disc golf for all skills, great course equipment, and beautiful land.
Other Thoughts: Pro Shop, adequate facilities, and friendly staff complete the package. There is a great deli down the street in Worcester. Ask the staff for directions, go eat, and then come back and play another round!

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Simply The Best!

2-4    9/9/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: NH DISCDOLF J
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
-An excellent variety of technical holes, long holes, and demanding risk/reward holes.
-Pristine Condition. Excellent Atmoshere.
-4 Course Layouts.
-Red--An excellent track for beginners. Most of the water on the course is taken out of play.
-White--Where the average player should play.
-Blue--Long. Some forced carries, but most trouble can be avoided. I believe the blue 8th tee is even harder then the gold.
- Gold-- Very demanding. If you don't throw 350+ play the blues. An oppurtunity to see how your game stacks up against the best in the world. If you are willing to play the gold course.
-All shot types are needed.
-Generous staff.
-Rarely overcrowded.
Other Thoughts:
-The course is open most of the year.
-The staff does a nice job of retrieving discs. You can pick them up on your next visit.
-There are plenty of food options nearby if you want to play 54 or 72.
-Great pro shop on site. Marshall St. is a massive disc golf store just across the street at The Pyramids.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A Disc Golfer's Dream!!

1    5/24/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.7 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Private course located down the street from Pyramids and Marshall St. This is a DG destination. Maple Hill also has its own pro shop with plenty of discs for anybody to find what they need for a round. They also have a great lost disc section to locate anything you lost on your last visit.

Beautiful, professionally done score cards for each of the 4 different layouts available on this course. Each score card has a great map of that layout.

Each layout adds different levels of challenge for players that are looking for a different challenge. I played Blue. That is a Par 60 with a Rating of 970. It was tough, but didn't kill me. Play Gold if you really want some pain. Red is a nice short round with shots most players can handle.

Level rubber tee pads for each hole. Some pads were built on elevated decks to keep any water or swampiness from getting to the pad.

Colored flags for each pad and basket to help players locate the right basket and pads for their round.

The best feature of this course IMO is shot variety. There are uphills, downhills, lefts and rights. There is an elevated basket, baskets with sloping greens, and there are water carries galore. There is not a feature you'll miss here. Gotta love it. There is even a chance or two at an ace for an average player. This course doesn't try to kill you with its greatness.

There are nice tight wooded holes, and there are open downhill bombs. Plus there are holes with a combinations of features. I can't think of anything missing here. I used every shot I am capable of throwing, needed them all, and could have used all of them with an extra 50' a few times. Wow.

The risk reward factor on the water carries and basket positions is great. On most holes you can ease up, and just try to make par, or risk greatness and go for it. But hillsides and ponds await to make you pay for any errors.
Cons: Hole #1!!!! It's a nice hole, but I'd prefer my 345' over the pond shot to be at the end of the round when I'm warmed up. That's a tough way to start a round, even if it is a pretty hole.
Other Thoughts: There is not really anything more to say than what has been said about Maple Hill in the past. It is truly one ofthe best. We can all pick our favorites, and try to pick apart the other guy's, but this is a course every player would love. Everything is well thought out, and there is some variation for players of all abilities. The course is probably the best maintained private course I've played also. Well mown grass, and well cleared woods. This is what we all dream of when thinking of our own private course.

I won't describe every hole, but will say that #8 was my personal favorite. Not because it was the prettiest, or most dramatic, but because I stood on that damn pad and tried to figure put a way to pay it safe. 8 Blue will give you that butterfly in your stomach, or scratch in your throat. It's a sweet 275' shot over the water with a low ceiling, tight line, and no safe landing spot if you're not near the basket. It's all or nothing, with water all around. Just a great layout from the Blue. I thank the DG Gods for my luck on that shot. My disc is dry, and I got par!

If you are ever in MA make a plan to spend a day at Maple Hill. It currently has a $10 per day fee, but it is well worth it for 1 round. Make a day of it, and you're practically stealing fun. This place is simply one of the best.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Heaven

1    5/6/2012   5/8/2012
Review By: Disc Fiend
Played: 61  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is on a beautiful piece of land and it utilizes every bit of it to make one awesome course. Constant elevation changes and water in play on most holes make for one fun and challenging round. There are multiple tees and baskets on every hole so you could play this course a couple different ways if you choose. The teepads are kept really nice and navigation was not an issue at all. There is a pro shop on site so if you need to pick up some new discs because you lost them over some water (which probably will happen lol) you can.
Cons: There really isn't any. Some people may say the 10$ fee is a con, but trust me you will get your moneys worth
Other Thoughts: I love this course! This is the kind of course that you dream about. When you play it you can't help but just sit back and take it all in. It is EPIC! every disc golfer needs to make a pilgrimage here at least once in their life

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/24/2012   3/26/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 71  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.3 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Maple Hill has it all. Four unique layouts, full service on-site pro-shop, and a staff dedicated to creating the best disc golf experience possible.

The signage is some of the best I've seen. Colored flags at each tee and basket and color coded next tee arrows make navigating the various layouts a breeze.

The beauty of Maple Hill is hard to top. The rolling hills and mirror-surface ponds put you in a state of disc golf euphoria, no matter how badly the course is beating you.

The Gold layout, as the Vibram Open layout, gets the star treatment. With very nice tees including a number of impressive tee platforms. Make the trip in August and the course will be perfectly polished for the big event. However the other three layouts get plenty of TLC too. They all feature well maintained rubber tee pads and clean fairways.

The course design is top-notch. Nearly every hole on every layout could be considered a signature hole. Figuring out Maple Hill is like solving a complex puzzle. It's clear that the staff takes a close look at scoring trends and if a particular hole is routinely scoring below par, it will be tweaked to provide a better challenge.

Play the correct layout for your skill level, and birdies won't come easy but bogeys will only come from mistakes.
Cons: There is no longer a 1-round fee. There is just a $10 all-day fee. So the cost of playing one-round could be a bit steep. Make it a full-day of disc golf, though and the $10 fee will seem low compared to the experience you get back.
Other Thoughts: The red layout is the beginner layout. It is by no means an "easy" layout though. It provides a nice challenge even for intermediate to advanced players. It emphasizes good line shaping and placement. With no water carries though, it far less intimidating for newer players.

The White layout provides a good test for intermediate to advanced players. Water comes into play a bit more, throwing over the ponds on 1 and 8. Nearly every tee-shot forces you to consider shot selection very carefully. Make the wrong decision and you will be punished for it.

The Blue layout will challenge Open level players. It plays like a longer white layout, with some great opportunities for the big arms to really let it fly.

The Gold layout is designed to challenge the world's best. This is the layout used for the Vibram Open every year. Every tee provides a unique challenge. A big arm and wide skill set are required to succeed on this layout.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Maple Hill...WOW

5+    2/25/2012   3/1/2012
Review By: DVinci24
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is truly the best disc golf course around! There are four different tee pads and range from beginner level play all the way up to the top pros. There is also a nice pro shop which you can grab a last minute disc right before a round if you want to and the prices are very reasonable. Some of the holes are absolutely beautiful and incredibly designed. It offers woods holes and very wide open holes all on the same 18. If you play the red or the white, the easier 18's, then there is very little to no water to worry about. On the reds, there are no water shots. On the whites there are a few water shots. On the upper two 18's, the blue and the gold, there are some very nice risk/reward shots over water that will leave your heart beating in the end. This is truly the best disc golf course anywhere in the area and has everything that anyone could want in a disc golf course!
Other Thoughts: This is one of the many disc golf courses right in the same area. You could easily make a trip to the Worcester area and play 3-4 courses and if you did, this would definitely need to be one of them!

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful challenge

1    8/25/2011   10/11/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 752  Exp: 12.5 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through hilly woods with ponds and stands of Christmas trees. There is incredible variety here, from tight technical woods shots to tricky water carries to bombs over the Christmas trees where placement is critical. The tighter holes offer punishment for missed shots, and have fair widths for the various lengths. The ponds are used perfectly to provide risk/reward options that are appropriate for the various tee levels, as well as adding some nice views.

With 2-4 tees and 2-3 pins per hole, there are 4 distinct layouts here. They are very different in terms of skill level, and offer great options for various levels of players. The red and white layouts go a little easier on the water carries and distance while still offering technical and interesting shots. There is great elevation on many of the holes, the hills are used beautifully to add challenge on drives and around greens.

The rubber pads are level and in great shape, and the baskets don't show much wear. There are color coded flags on every tee and basket making the overlapping layouts easy to follow, and making the next tee obvious. The signage is excellent, with layout and distance for all tees and pins. An onsite proshop is always a plus, especially when it includes an extensive lost and found for all the discs pulled out of the ponds.
Cons: There were a few areas of the course where the grass was a little long and could potentially hide discs, this was the only place I saw less than stellar maintenance. On some holes there are other tees and pins that could be in play on a day where people are playing different layouts, could be a safety issue at times.
Other Thoughts: This is a destination course for sure, especially with another really nice course just down the road at Pyramids. True beginners won't have a lot of fun here, with lots of water and rough in play to punish inaccurate shots and plenty of tight gaps and distance to contend with. For everyone else, there are enough options here to find an appropriate challenge, from intermediate players all the way up to the top pros.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Everything I hoped it would be

5+    9/4/2011   9/30/2011
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.2 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Maple Hill is a spectacular monument to what Disc Golf should be.

The course design is top notch. The course plays through lightly wooded but extremely "fair" fairways, over and around ponds and small Christmas tree patches. The use of elevation and natural OB (ponds and old stone walls) make this course extremely challenging but still extremely fun to play. Many of the holes are thoughtfully laid out so that the need for distance and accuracy are well balanced. Even on the longest holes it is important to consider where you are going to land on your drive so that you will be set up for your next shot. Whereas on the short holes you better be accurate. There are no true grip it and rip is holes on this course (which I wholly approve of).

Many of the holes on this course are so picturesque or unique that they would be the signature hole of any other course. Also Maple Hill has such a nice isolated/exclusive feel to it. Even when there are other people on the course you can't really hear them since there is such a good spread between holes, so that you feel like you have the whole place to your self (and sometimes you really do!)

The entire course and all of the facilities are immaculate. The landscaping is perfect, the grass is always mowed, the multiple baskets are in great condition, the fairways are clear of debris, and everything looks recently cleaned.

The tee pads and baskets are in perfect condition and the tee signs are pretty much as nice as I have ever seen. The signs provide a very accurate description of the hole with the relevant distances.

This course has four different layouts that you can play. Red, White, Blue and Gold. The Gold layout provides an amazing challenge and getting under par is great accomplishment. The different layouts really allow for all skill levels to enjoy this course, from beginners all they way to the top pro's in our sport. The gold layout really brings the ponds into play and if you are worried about losing plastic the Maple Hill crew is amazing at retrieving and returning discs (Lost and Found).

All of the people I met that are associated with Maple Hill were amazing. Steve Dodge and family are all great people and very welcoming.

There is camping onsite, bathrooms, a very, very nice pro shop with drinks and snacks available, and a sweet clubhouse with games and a cool deck to chill out on and watch people finish up on #18.
Cons: The only cons that I can list are really just nitpicks like it is a pay to play. Although this is really the only place I have ever played where I felt that it was completely worth every cent (I would have paid more).

It closes from Thanksgiving to Christmas to sell trees
Other Thoughts: I came to this course with some high expectations and Maple Hill exceeded them all. The course is amazing, the atmosphere was perfect, and the people were great. I have only ever given out one 5 disc rating before and I feel in my opinion that this course is even better than that one (Deer Lakes in Pittsburgh). The terrain is just absolutely perfect for disc golf. Plus this course is literally only a 3 minute walk to another great course Pyramids!

I love that Steve Dodge and his team looks to tweak the course ever year to make it even better. The willingness to change is much better than the course designers who feel that when the course is in the ground then it is perfect and should not be changed for at least ten years.

Some of my favorite holes were #5, #13 and #18.
#5 from golds is a sweet hole where there are two choices from the tee. One is a narrow RHBH through the woods that leaves little chance for a duece but is relatively safe. the other is a RHFH or BH anny that carries water the entire way to a pin that is 8 ft on the shore.. If you land safe its a drop in 2 but a tough drop zone for those that land in the water.
Hole #13 is a cool downhill shot into a gap in the woods. There are trees guarding the right side of the gap and a hill running away on the left. On this hole I saw FH's, BH's, OH's, drivers, midranges and putters all used off the tee. It allows for great creativity from the tee and the pin is well guarded with a steep hill running away behind it.
#18 is the best finishing hole I have ever been on. A full powered drive is needed with OB to the right and Christmas trees to the left. This is followed by the dilemma of trying for the narrow island green on the second shot or laying up. Keep in mind that if there are other people around they will be sitting 2 feet away from the green or on the deck above watching to see what your choice will be. This is a truly epic finishing hole.

I was lucky enough to play in the Vibram Open this year and it was the best tournament experience I have ever had and after only one trip here I am already planning for an annual pilgramage.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.