Leicester, MA
Maple Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 195ft.   3 / 195ft.   3 / 285ft.   3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee (White Layout)



Reviews: 67
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next >
  

2-4    9/21/2008   1/9/2009
Review By: C-Cow
Played: 55  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 39 Not
Pros: Love the various types of shots. This course makes you have to play smart golf. You have to plan out what you want to do for each hole. I love the varying terrain. Having 3 different courses is nice. What isn't to like about Maple Hill.
Cons: nothing that i can think of

3 of 42 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best

5+    7/19/2008   9/9/2008
Review By: Caddyliqq
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
23 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: There are too many pros to list, I will keep to the best pros.
Excellent Condition: Occasionally when playing a round I will see one of the many people who devout time to this course out there taking care of it mowing, trimming or raking. One of the best kept courses I have ever played.
Challenge: This course offers a broad challenge for practice beginners to touring pros. The level of difficulty can wear you down mentally if you let it.
Opinions: If you happen to find Steve Dodge out doing work on the course he will probably stop to talk with you and ask you about the course. He takes suggestions seriously and is always working to improve the course or make it that much more refined.
Paying to Play: While others consider this a con I find it a pro. On almost every course I have payed to play on, a lost disc will come back unless you lost it 'good'. The course is well kept in all ways. You pay for what you get.
Cons: None in my eyes...

except maybe that island green on 18 that says you can make it!
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I have ever played.

23 of 27 people found this review helpful.

 o my god

7/28/2008   7/28/2008
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 182  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 19.6 Years
6 Helpful / 43 Not
Pros: The best of the best. Seriously. It is the best place to play disc golf in the world. Amazing water, amazing piece of property. Each hole is spectacular. It is just amazing in every possible way. Make the trip, play this course. OH MY GOD!!!!!! And I thought I had played some nice courses, but this is the ONE
Cons: NONE
Other Thoughts: Just get there as soon as possible.

6 of 49 people found this review helpful.

 Long and tough and great

7/14/2008   7/16/2008
Review By: crandellfamily
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9.9 Years
29 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes. Best tee signs, tees, and directions to holes imaginable. Well worth paying for the professional layout. Shorter and longer holes all played very well. Demands all sorts of shots. A lot of effort made to clear out tough but fair landing areas. Favorite stretch was 13-15. Played both blues and whites from 14 and it's an entirely different hole, with a good setup, both options.
Cons: A couple holes had almost no option except to challenge the water. Only a con for weaker players like us. There were times when the rows of Xmas trees made it hard to track where shots landed. #8 could use a barrier to keep rolling downhill shots out of the water. OOB around hole at #18 seemed a bit contrived.
Other Thoughts: I'm hopeless at disc golf, but love it. Played the whites while my daughter played the reds, and this is by far the best course we've ever seen. Just visiting - don't know when we'd ever be back. If we ever are around we'd make a stop.

29 of 33 people found this review helpful.

 

7/10/2006   9/4/2007
Review By: justin
Played: 239  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.9 Years
10 Helpful / 27 Not
Pros: [Repeat earlier praise] and they do a stellar job of returning your lost-in-the-drink discs. Beautiful, challenging course.
Cons: Not for the hydrophobic.
Other Thoughts: All I can add to what others have said is more courses should have water and Maple Hill certainly has plenty of that! Also, I think more Xmas tree farms should look to add disc golf. It works extremely well here.

10 of 37 people found this review helpful.

  

8/1/2007   8/12/2007
Review By: nolte
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
13 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: great course, compliments to everyone involved in the design/maintenance/appearance. country club feel with beautiful tee signs, they set the standard for all tee signs, this is what disc golf needs to get to in the future, very dedicated course staff, i'm sure it will only get better. also try the pyramids course only a 30 sec drive up the road and then browse in the fully stocked pro shop, soothing yourself with new plastic for the drive home.
Cons: threat of ticks evidenced by the tick mortuary in the sign in shack
Other Thoughts: excellent test of a disc golfer's abilities, the course asks for good shots not impossible ones, if you execute generally you are rewarded

13 of 31 people found this review helpful.

  My home course!

7/10/2007   7/10/2007
Review By: maplehill
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
9 Helpful / 27 Not
Pros: This course is designed to challenge all of a disc golfers skills, and it delivers. Big open drives, OB lined fairways, over and around ponds, through fields and woods and great use of elevation.
Cons: It is on a Christmas tree farm and is closed from Thanksgiving to Christmas while they sell Christmas trees.

9 of 36 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.