Leicester, MA 
Maple Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 195ft.   3 / 195ft.   3 / 285ft.   3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Red/White/Blue/Gold Tee Sign



Reviews: 73
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Pretty darn amazing

2-4    3/28/2009   3/30/2009
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2010
35 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Where to start? Such a wide array of shots and difference in hole length. Three sets of tees; red (short), white (medium), and blue (long). Each hole has at least two tee pads or two baskets. Some holes havthree of each! The red holes vary from 195-455, white from 195-666, and blue from 280 to 785. Fairways are easily defined and well laid out. The course offers all kinds of variations in water shots (ponds and over-the-lake shots), elevation changes, and technical vs. grip and rip shots. The course is very open and even on a very busy day (like the one I played) it seems like the course is almost there just for you. The test of risk/reward will get you wondering just how big of a canon arm you have or whether it is really a noodle. There are colored flags on top of the baskets so you know which one to shoot at. The tee signs are in full color, easy to read and show the ideal path to the basket. The pathways between the holes have color coordinated arrows on them to point you to the right tee. There are really nice rubber teepads on every tee. OB for all the holes is clearly marked by colored rope, even on the rock walls. Some benches and trash cans are also scattered throughout the course.
Cons: There are no public bathrooms: although Marshall Street has a porta pottie. There arent any brooms on the teepads in the woods. Some of the basket flags are either tattered beyond repair or totally missing. I don't like to lose my discs so the possibility of losing so many discs is a con to me. Although all the discs that are found are posted to their website:
http://store.maplehillopen.co...tandfound.asp
http://store.maplehillopen.co...tandfound.asp
Other Thoughts: I gave Maple Hill a 4.5 due to the current conditions of when I played. I.E. the missing flags, busted tee signs, and the super long grass.

The course itself is amazing nonetheless and a must play if you are visiting New England.

Drop zones are provided for over-the-water shots.

I would recommend playing it near the Vibram Open as it is optimal condition then.

The course itself is amazing nonetheless and a must play if you are visiting New England.

Drop zones are provided for over-the-water shots.

Update: Most of the ice storm damage has been cleared. The course is now a 5.0!

35 of 38 people found this review helpful.

 Top of the list

5+    8/16/2008   1/29/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 183  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 33 Years
23 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: So many good things to choose from.
Excellent scenery, excellent use of both elevation and water on the course. Nice mix of distance and technical shots. And a number of unique obstacles and variety offered by multiple tees and pins. Not so much a test of physical endurance (even though it is a pretty hefty walk) but definietly a test of mental endurance and of your course management skills. There are rewards to be had by going for it in a number of locations - but the punishment is equally available for errant shots.
Cons: Hard to find much in the way of cons for this course. Other than being 500+ miles away from my house. I guess the only peeve I have is that in the couple of locations where boardwalks have been built for tees - they are a little short (I'm thinking holes 12 and 13, the one on 18 is awesome)
Other Thoughts: This is a place that draws you back, time and again. Once you've played Maple Hill, it's hard to imagine how you get a better piece of property for a DGC.

23 of 25 people found this review helpful.

 Maple Skills

5+    11/20/2008   1/22/2009
Review By: Hoey
Played: 42  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.2 Years
25 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Maple Hill has got everything you look for in a championship calibur course. Ponds, lakes, streams, elevation variation... and big 'ol trees along with rock wall ob's nicely define fairways. 3 different layouts also provide whatever level of challenge you're ready for. You really must play smart on the Blue's and to a certain extent, also on the Whites. You may get away with going for it a couple times, but unless you're cashing at the Vibram Open, the course finds a way to punish you, and punish you big. There are no gimmies, and no "deuce or die" type holes on the blues as well, unless you're amazing. So, if you disagree, congratulations for being awesome, I still need alot of practice. I may have not played 100's of courses, someday... but I have a hard time believing this course (and I've said this for years now) isn't in the top ten in the country. You come here, and you'll agree, it is a five star course all the way.

What I also like about it is that because it is so big, the course can be fairly busy, and you feel like you have the whole place to yourself.
Cons: Water hazards can be tricky for some. Dropzones provided.
Other Thoughts: This is one of those courses that makes you better, because you must throw that shot just right in order to nail the gap or fairway, or tricky putt, and so on. Get your Hill on.

25 of 26 people found this review helpful.

  Do you have the skill to play Maple Hill?

2-4    8/15/2008   1/12/2009
Review By: jivedude
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 43 Not
Pros: Good variety of wooded and open holes as well as short technical shots and long bombs.. Well designed and very well maintained. A very challenging course for a neophyte such as myself!
Cons: Easy to lose discs on a few holes.

4 of 47 people found this review helpful.

 this course should be in the top 5

5+    1/10/2009   1/10/2009
Review By: central mass
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 42 Not
Pros: maple hill cannot be explained in words. it should be in the top 5 if not number 1. it can be a really tough course. also very rewarding when you have a good round. i've played many course's and its a better course than warwick.
Cons: you can lose a couple disc's to the pond's during a round, but they have an great lost and found and swim for disc's from the pond's .
Other Thoughts: come play it, you will want to move here.

4 of 46 people found this review helpful.

 Absolute must play

5+    11/11/2008   1/9/2009
Review By: PageParkDG
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.4 Years
16 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Excellent piece of property, and very well used. Great variety, open holes, tight holes, big bombs, short technical shots, elevation, lots of water, lots of OB. The tee pads are second to none, allowing lots of run up room and nice and flat.
Three separate layouts to cater to all skill levels. Red course is the most beginner friendly, the white course is excellent and challenging, though not as vicious as the blues. The blue course will challenge even the best of the best to make smart shots on every hole, or pay with strokes.
The people are very friendly and seemingly always working on the course. You can even pick up some plastic while there.
The course always leaves you wanting to go back for more fun and punishment.
Cons: Closed for a few weeks in the late fall/early winter to sell Christmas trees. Only a con because the course is so good!
Other Thoughts: Just go play it and become a better golfer.

16 of 31 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    9/21/2008   1/9/2009
Review By: C-Cow
Played: 55  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 40 Not
Pros: Love the various types of shots. This course makes you have to play smart golf. You have to plan out what you want to do for each hole. I love the varying terrain. Having 3 different courses is nice. What isn't to like about Maple Hill.
Cons: nothing that i can think of

3 of 43 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best

5+    7/19/2008   9/9/2008
Review By: Caddyliqq
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
23 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: There are too many pros to list, I will keep to the best pros.
Excellent Condition: Occasionally when playing a round I will see one of the many people who devout time to this course out there taking care of it mowing, trimming or raking. One of the best kept courses I have ever played.
Challenge: This course offers a broad challenge for practice beginners to touring pros. The level of difficulty can wear you down mentally if you let it.
Opinions: If you happen to find Steve Dodge out doing work on the course he will probably stop to talk with you and ask you about the course. He takes suggestions seriously and is always working to improve the course or make it that much more refined.
Paying to Play: While others consider this a con I find it a pro. On almost every course I have payed to play on, a lost disc will come back unless you lost it 'good'. The course is well kept in all ways. You pay for what you get.
Cons: None in my eyes...

except maybe that island green on 18 that says you can make it!
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I have ever played.

23 of 27 people found this review helpful.

 o my god

7/28/2008   7/28/2008
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 184  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 20 Years
6 Helpful / 43 Not
Pros: The best of the best. Seriously. It is the best place to play disc golf in the world. Amazing water, amazing piece of property. Each hole is spectacular. It is just amazing in every possible way. Make the trip, play this course. OH MY GOD!!!!!! And I thought I had played some nice courses, but this is the ONE
Cons: NONE
Other Thoughts: Just get there as soon as possible.

6 of 49 people found this review helpful.

 Long and tough and great

7/14/2008   7/16/2008
Review By: crandellfamily
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 10.2 Years
29 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes. Best tee signs, tees, and directions to holes imaginable. Well worth paying for the professional layout. Shorter and longer holes all played very well. Demands all sorts of shots. A lot of effort made to clear out tough but fair landing areas. Favorite stretch was 13-15. Played both blues and whites from 14 and it's an entirely different hole, with a good setup, both options.
Cons: A couple holes had almost no option except to challenge the water. Only a con for weaker players like us. There were times when the rows of Xmas trees made it hard to track where shots landed. #8 could use a barrier to keep rolling downhill shots out of the water. OOB around hole at #18 seemed a bit contrived.
Other Thoughts: I'm hopeless at disc golf, but love it. Played the whites while my daughter played the reds, and this is by far the best course we've ever seen. Just visiting - don't know when we'd ever be back. If we ever are around we'd make a stop.

29 of 33 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.