Victorville, CA 
Doris Davies Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #3 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / 177ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
9 hole fun for the family

1    4/6/2014   4/18/2014
Review By: Discette
Played: 241  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 17.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

Located in a park was lots of grass and mature green trees. I was expecting a "High Desert" course to be dusty and rocky. However, I was pleasantly this is a nice little 9 Hole oasis among the trees. I think it is an excellent example of a small neighborhood park with a 9 Hole disc golf course designed for families and new players. Close to the 1-15, so if you are driving through you could take a break and play 9 holes.


The course has 9 baskets with 9 original grass tees. Most of the original holes are fairly short. They range in length from 138 to 264 feet along with the 540 foot Hole 9. Advanced players will still need to have accuracy and bring the short game if they expect to score well. Newer players will be challenged on most of the holes, but should not be too intimidated, even by the "Par 4" Hole 9.


There is an alternate 18 hole layout, meaning there are at least 27 different holes. The 27 hole map is available in the files section. I did not have time to play the alternate tees, but I did see a few and they will add some distance and challenge. You will need to download the map to play the alternate layouts.


This is not a destination course, but you can get some great practice and beat the heat in a pretty little park if you are in the area. It is right off the I-15. Although most of the holes are short, the original course really is a fun design. Local winds will also add to the challenge. Advanced players can find the chance to throw more distance shots on the alternate layout.


All ages and abilities could play this course. It was straightforward and easy to navigate with the map. Fine for children and new players. The course is two small loops. Park near the pool and warm up on the practice basket. Play holes 1 through 4, walk by pool parking lot and play 5 through 9.


Practice basket and green. There is a nice green patch right next to the pool parking lot with a practice basket. It also doubles as an alternate pin in the long layouts.


Course has natural grass tees. Players throw from the left or right of the tee signs. After 5 years, these are still in great shape with only a few bare spots. The grass is pretty lush and seems to be standing up to the foot traffic (as seen in photos I uploaded).


There could actually be water in play if the drainage ditch on Holes 5, 8 & 9 has running/standing water.


Kids and Strollers. Great place to get young ones to give disc golf a try. Short enough they could play an entire round. Park in pool parking lot, play 1 - 4 then pass by the car and then on to play 5 - 9. There is a playground right next to the practice basket and Holes 1 through 4. If the kids don't play or stay in the stroller, you could at least get some putting practice in on 4 and the Practice basket while the kids get some air on the playground.


Other park activities. There is a pool, a basketball court, a softball field and a playground.
Cons:

Except for signs, none of the original 9 holes have a marked tees. Most tees are on the grass.


Alternate tees do not have any permanent markings; you will need a map if you want to play those tees.


The holes could easily interfere with other park activities. Hole 6 has bleachers and a backstop right next to the fairway. If you are playing the alternate holes, you are more likely to encounter more park users and other players.



Other Thoughts:
Driving through Victorville on I-15? Stop here, stretch your legs and play a few holes as a nice rest stop to or from your destination. There are restaurants and stores at the Roy Rogers exit. The family could have a picnic in the park while you play a few holes.


I uploaded new photos of all the holes so everyone can see this is a nice little neighborhood park with green grass and shady trees. This is not a dry, dusty desert course among the rocks.


I made an ace on original Hole 5. It is only 138 feet, but it was on my first shot, so it counts. Plus I got it on video!


I felt safe enough playing alone here with my daughter. However, watch out for valuables left in your car. Lots of graffiti on the baskets and throughout the park.


I think it is a great example of a neighborhood park with 9 holes designed for families and new players. I am going to rate it in comparison to other 9 hole neighborhood parks and give this course a 3.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice little park

1    1/27/2013   2/11/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays around the edges of a multi-use park. The park is well kept with nicely mowed grass and seemed very clean. A few of the holes have a little bit of elevation adding some variety. Scattered trees come into play on several holes, you have different options to get to the hole but you do have something to think about off a few of the tees. One hole offers a chance to throw some longer shots and stretch out your arm a little.

The locals have created an alternate 18 hole layout that has longer and more challenging shots bringing more of the elevation and trees into play. The map available online or at the rec center makes it pretty easy to follow either layout.
Cons: Without the map it can be a little tricky to follow the original 9 hole layout in a couple spots, and you'd never figure out the unmarked alternates. The tees are pretty bad, rutted out dirt spots that aren't level and don't provide a good tee surface. Several of them show wear and compaction around the current tee area, the ruts are only going to expand as people throw from behind or next to the current spots.

There are a few conflicts with other park uses, on a busy day you might have to skip some holes or avoid people picnicking or using the other park features. The alternate 18 creates even more conflicts, both with other park uses and with other holes. When I played, there were only two groups on the course and we still ran into each other on three different holes. On a busier day with people playing the alternates it would get pretty messy.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course very approachable with no chance of losing discs, reasonable lengths and little to no punishment for errant drives. More experienced players won't find a ton of challenge, though there are some better shots from the alternates. It's a fun quick round but nothing to go out of your way to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  27 holes

5+    8/23/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: puttfordoe
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: With the additional 18 created locally the course now offers a bit more challenge.
Easy walking throughout the entire course.
Good spot for beginners and pros alike.
Cons: There is a lot of non-golf traffic especially on the weekends.
The additional 18 is not for beginners.
Other Thoughts: There are maps in the rec office of all 27 holes beautifully GISd and easy to follow. Or you can ask a local. Trust me you can't miss the local crowd.
Speaking of shout out to all the Victorville Disc Golfers.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Oasis in the High Desert

2-4    7/8/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: Josh Perry
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The holes have good signs and are easy to find.
The park has just enough shade to make it comfortable to play all day long.
The locals have 18 unmarked tee boxes that play the same front nine baskets making for a fun 27 hole course. This opens up the course, makes it longer and a little more technical. Shout out to Charles who showed me the alternate tees.
The locals are great people, friendly and helpful. Be sure to ask about the alternate tees.
Cons: They built this course after I moved.
A good amount of non-golf traffic and with my bad aim I was afraid of casualties.
Other Thoughts: If you're in Victorville you should check it out, it's not a bad course and it's free. Can't beat free!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for a quick 9

2-4    9/15/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 17.2 Years
10 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: *Many ace opportunities

*Friendly locals (thanks, Mike, for being a gracious guide)

*Nice grass/park setting

*Putting green

*Technical shots for both right and left handers

*Free to all!
Cons: *Many a pedestrian

*Many a pedestrian

*Very wet/grass tee pads (luckily, i have a good static shot with my feet planted, but youre screwed if you have a footwork-intensive drive

*Stagnant water in the drainage disc that is in the fairway on 4 or 5 holes grossed me out...2 discs are in the dishwasher as we speak...so i have OCD...wanna fight about it?

*Desert winds- trade winds blow there regularly and are a major factor on 3 holes

*For a first timer, the course is a bit tough to find your way around
Other Thoughts: I am new to the area and am loving having a grassy retreat in the middle of the desert to work on my game. It is a newer course, but their people are dedicated and all psyched up to be growing. Feels cramped as i am used to longer holes, but hole 9 scratches that itch. If youre in the area, its defiantly worth the time to check out...just done decapitate any volleyballers or picnicers!

10 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Glad I stopped

2-4    7/8/2009   7/12/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 93  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained. Signs on every hole. Easy to navigate. Good variety of wide open and lightly wooded holes. Some elevation changes. Very friendly and helpful locals. Shade on most holes. Practice basket. Uncrowded.
Cons: Grass tees. Short course except for #9 (570 ft). Park is used by non-golfers, so people sitting in the fairway is common. Can be very hot and windy.

Other Thoughts: Well worth a stop if you're passing by. Simple holes with enough challenge to be interesting. Fun for both novice and advanced players.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Small (but fun) Community Course

2-4    6/22/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: inthebackcountry
Played: 92  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets-All in great shape
Signs-each tee is marked with permanent sign
Parking-plenty of parking
Landscape-Entire course in grass, lots of mature trees around
Layout- No bottlenecks on the course. Tricky shots make use of this park
"Putting Green" tee on course right next to parking lot.
Amenities- Sign at hole 1 says discs are available for rent at the racquetball center.

Fun little course of short, tricky holes. I've played it twice and only seen one other group of disc golfers each time.
Cons: Pads- No tee pads, concrete or otherwise.
Distance- Very short holes (except #9).
Obstacles- the park can get crowded and you may have to alter your shots to avoid people (ie. volleyball court on hole 6, picnic tables on hole 7)
Holes- Only 9
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course with some tricky shots around trees and can be made even trickier by playing certain lines out of bounds. The first six are all about accuracy on short shots, the last three open up for a little more arm.
The course would definitely benefit from the addition of tee pads, but the current tee boxes are flat and even enough that it's not such a nuisance.
In the evening or on weekends you'll probably spend some time waiting for pedestrians, families, and other non-golfers on the course.
Probably a bore for "grip it and rip it" disc golfers, but a quick fix if you like tight shots and short courses.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.