Dover, DE 
Dover Park Share
Uploaded By: jchoate7  
Hole #17 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not bad

1    7/21/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: Longjonsilverz
Played: 34  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The hole designs are great for practicing your accuracy. The park is limited on space but the course makes the best of it. The baskets are in good shape. Decent signs for the front nine.
Cons: This course could use some attention. The natural tees are full of roots and pine straw which make it difficult to throw and the signs are too close and kind of get in the way of your follow through. Some of the signs for the back nine are broken or missing and they are very hard to locate if you're a first timer.
Other Thoughts: This is a 9 hole course that has an additional 9 posted that uses the same baskets from different tees. The course is relatively short with only one hole over 300ft on the front nine. The hole designs are good however with a lot of accuracy required. The back nine is on wooden signs posted on some trees. Hole 10 is at the edge of the pine woods facing the soccer fields. This is a decent course for a quick game in Dover, however if given the choice, I would rather play Killens pond which is only a few miles south on rt.13.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    6/5/2014   6/5/2014
Review By: CheerHannah
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very good course for beginner disc golfers! I have a blast whenever I go!
Cons: The tee boxes are not in prefect shape but easy to spot. The first time my dad and I went, it was hard to find the tees. With love, this course could thrive!
Other Thoughts: When my dad and I go, we always have a blast and take some putting practices at the end on the practice hole. We have a blast!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great beginner course

5+    5/10/2014   5/15/2014
Review By: t55dude
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: short, opportunity to use different shots. Great place to bring a beginner. Clean course. 9 alternate tees put in for more fun.
Cons: tee boxes are not in good shape. course is hard to navigate, specially the added back nine. 18 tees play to only 10 baskets. Obstacles on course make you have to skip 2 holes sometimes.
Other Thoughts: My 12 year old, and my wife, neither of which have ever played, have a lot of fun here. holes 2 and 11, shoot to the same basket, which are right nest to a pavilion. When the pavilion is in use, you have to bypass these holes. Soccer field is on 3 holes, but is hardly ever used, if ever.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Dover Park DG

2-4    8/26/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: jchoate7
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/9/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short, fun little course to go play. Short holes allow for ace runs on almost every hole. One tee location and one pin location on each hole with natural teepads (except for a concrete pad on 2). There is a soccer field that runs adjacent to the course to allow practicing your drives after or before you play. There is also a practice hole just next to the hole 1 teepad. Very good place to introduce someone to the game of disc golf (this is where I am teaching my girlfriend to play). A perfect place for a quick game of disc golf for Dover locals.
Cons: Due to the lack of signs saying where the next tee is I found myself walking around amlisley looking for the next tee on a couple of the holes. The longest hole is a just over 300ft. The course does have some dangers where you will find yourself shooting close to the park office, a pavillion, and the road (just make sure to look before you throw).
Other Thoughts: Overall, a nice, quaint little course. Great for introducing someone to the great sport of disc golf and also fine tuning your approach and putting game. The park also offers not just disc golf. Some other activities include; tennis courts, basketball courts, soccer field, baseball field, playground, picnic areas with pavilions, and more! A great place to get out and enjoy the great outdoors.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 nice local 9 holer

1    8/26/2010   10/28/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice baskets without a lot of traffic. Several ace runs made me want to play over and over, it doesn't have to be hard to have some good qualities. Course tries to add variety with in 9 holes and lots of trees force you to work on accuracy.
Cons: Several shots come close to parking areas, pavilions, cars, as well as other tees and fairways.
Pretty short course, I only pulled out the driver once.
9 alternate tees were difficult to find, I just played the traditional 9 over and over.
Hole 3 tee was difficult to find and had no fairway at all to the basket, just a tommy through the trees, but it is short.
Other Thoughts: For an Eagle Scout project this course's only flaw is the multiple safety issues, but when you compare it against the other DE courses it falls way short. I played this course when I had to drive some football players to the University. It was a lot of fun, but I would not have made the drive just for this course. If you are in the area check it out, but it is not worth a road trip like Iron Hill, Carousel, Brandywine and the other high caliber DE courses.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Droverís Road

1    11/28/2009   11/30/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Good baskets and signs in a well-kempt multi-purpose park, very close to food/petrol options.
Cons:
Like most courses shoe-horned into a small multi-purpose park, there will be several holes where non-players could be endangered by slightly-errant throws. Basket #1 has a building near to its left; Hole #2 requires a sharp/short left-turning shot at a pavilion; The drive for #3 may hit the #4 tee area, or the bleachers next to the soccer field; Too long/left on #4 and you're finding the parking lot.
Other Thoughts:
Holes 1-4 are short (<200') left-turners with a variable amount of trees to miss. Holes 5-6 and 9 are ~200', playing in a small copse of pine trees - some may find the flight-path options too tight (they barely made my tolerance level). Holes 7-8 let you open it up a bit, although #8 requires a sharp right turn after about 250'.

There was a poster showing nine alternate tee locations to create a longer, more-varied "back" nine, but the box of maps was empty. Tee #3 is to the right of the pavilion, about even with basket #2.

A decent enough course for locals to play when the park (soccer field in particular) isn't being used, but a drive-by visitor may not have the luxury of arriving when there isn't a soccer game happening.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Flat but Has Personality! Good for Quickies!

1    9/15/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained park. Clean course with ample variety. Holes 1,7,8 are more open with 7 being the only real rip it out hole. 5,6,9 are pine alley shots that will test your accuracy. 2,3,4 well they are silly short shots that have a technical charm. Does not appear that many conflicts with public will occur on most holes. Seems a good place to introduce the game. Good for practicing your approach game then you could practice drives on the soccer field adjacent. Won't overwhelm you but it's interesting enough to keep you interested. Not much schule to ruin your day for such a woodsy course. Plenty of food nearby.Perfect quickie play for locals.
Cons: It's very short outside of holes 7&8. Hole 2 could be a mess if anyone is using the pavillion. You literally throw at it and must hyzer hard to avoid it! Hole 4 has you throwing past hole 3s basket. It's Delmarva so it's flat. Natural Tees (except for #2) which is fine considering the beginner/short nature of course. Not a place to drive more than 30 minutes especially with better options in Delaware.
Other Thoughts: Why a concrete tee on hole #2? It's the shortest hole and basically is a standstill putter hyzer. The info and practice basket are in the backyard corner of the info building. There is a map of a "back Nine" While I think it's an interesting creative use of space with much longer holes and challenge I am afraid it might be a bit too much for the park. That is it could promote danger to the public and many of the holes seem a bit too much for the area provided. Just my .02..It's a fine beginner and practice course..if people graduate and outgrow this course then it's time to drive to one of the many great courses elsewhere in Delaware!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Short Course

2-4    4/10/2009   4/10/2009
Review By: sasscers7
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice, new, uncrowded. Great for short game and technique practice. As short as each hole is not one gives you a straight shot at the basket.
Cons: Only one hole longer than 300'. You are gonna hit some trees.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good if you're local

5+    12/4/2008   12/10/2008
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 249  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/6/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice little 9 hole, good for practicing your approach and putting. 6 of the 9 holes go through the trees, a couple demanding real good accuracy to make par on the short holes. Baskets are new. 2 holes, 7 and 8 are more open and have a little distance to them. Park is lit at night and works very well for a bit a glow golf.
Cons: A couple tees where hard to find, and pin placement could use some work. On 2 the fairway goes straight ahead then hard left, and there's a pavilion directly in front of you. A couple other pins are right next to where people park their cars. Speaking of cars, a number of people in the park just sit in their parked cars and watch, it was a bit creepy.
Other Thoughts: Its a nice little course and was put in as an Eagle Scout project (cool) with most of the holes being sponsored by a local business. I always like seeing community and Disc Golf working together.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.