Beloit, WI 
Dr. George W. Hilliard Park Share
Uploaded By: WIpilot Hole #9
3 / 230ft.   3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Short, open, simple

1    3/31/2012   4/1/2012
Review By: DoomDoomDoom
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Well thought out for the amount of space provided.
- Cement tees (always a plus)
- Descriptions of where the baskets were on tee signs (the ones still there, anyway)
- Beautiful park scenery tucked away in the city
- Restrooms!
- Practice basket
- A good novice/practice course.
Cons: - Surrounded on most sides by fenced in areas, like a tennis court or residential property
- Since it's in a city park, there are a few benches, a shelter and a playground which could interfere with play if people are occupying them.
- Fairly simple, not many challenging opportunities
- High grass in some spots
- 9 hole
Other Thoughts: This isn't a bad course, but it isn't by any means fantastic. There are some fair drives required here and there, along with a couple of bends around trees but the course won't be too much to handle for someone with a bit of experience.

The pin placement is nice for most holes, but going from tee to tee and figuring out which target can be a little confusing - most baskets aren't too clearly marked, however the tees have the hole number marked on the cement, which helps.

The tee signs which are still up are useful, but it would be nice if tee 1's sign was still marked - we got the practice basket confused with hole 1 (It also didn't help that the tee sign said 133 or so feet, which was written in marker. Kinda short for a hole, yeah?).

The baskets were in pretty decent condition, though I noticed a bit of rusting on the interior chains of basket 9. Being secured in the ground with cement is a nice touch, especially for a city park's course.

If you're in the area and looking for a new place to go through, it won't hurt to check the place out and get a nice feel for how you're progressing - It's a simple course that doesn't demand much, so for more experienced players, this course should be a breeze. Just be careful of anyone in the shelter/playground area. And lock your car doors, the neighborhood seems a bit shady.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Good Practice Course

2-4    5/17/2011   5/19/2011
Review By: Chris89
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great for beginners. My mom and dad want to learn to play and this is a great course for them. Its also a good course for anyone just wanting to have fun and is in the area.
Cons: The layout is confusing but after you play it once its easy to remember. If there is a lot of people at the park in the pavilion I would recommend not playing very aggressive.
Other Thoughts: Good small course in town. Wouldn't recommend traveling to play it but if you live in the area and want to practice its a nice course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/30/2011   5/8/2011
Review By: gassal01
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of big trees and is very well maintained. I did not see any trash. The only times I have played this course. There has been no one else in the park, which is nice because you can play a couple of rounds in about in hour. This is what I would consider a practice course. I had just gotten some new discs and wanted to mess around with them. This course is the place to do that.

Baskets are in relatively good shape and all the tee pads are great.

Cons: Not a very long or difficult course. This is not a course for someone who wants to be challenged but is like a said, a great practice course.

Tee Signs are in rough shape. The first time I play. I had a hard time figuring where to go after I was done with one hole.
Other Thoughts: Would have never stopped if my girlfriend was not a Beloit College alum. If your are looking for something to do in town. Bring a couple discs with you and stop by, its not gonna hurt. If you aren't having fun after awhile. Well its only 9 holes or a short walk to your car.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short But Decent

2-4    9/26/2009   9/27/2009
Review By: suprnva
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A lot of course for such a small area. A few tricky holes that make it fun.
Cons: The course is very short and not very tough. Parking on the street kinda sucks, but it could be worse. There is a pavilion in the park that a few of the holes are close to and made me kinda nervous to throw towards due to the large party that was going on.
Other Thoughts: The course is worth playing if you're in the area like I was, but I wouldn't travel to play it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beloit course review

1    3/16/2009   3/18/2009
Review By: Dahminator
Played: 24  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -They managed to keep the holes pretty long in a small area.
Cons: -Holes are all very similar
Other Thoughts: I tend to like courses that more open holes as opposed to trickier shots through woods, and that is what this course offers.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.