Beloit, WI 
Dr. George W. Hilliard Park Share
Uploaded By: WIpilot Hole #3
3 / 227ft.   3 / 227ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2

5+    10/2/2015   10/2/2015
Review By: thejetmechanic
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've played this course probably 25 times over the last year because me and my playing partner use either beloit or porter as a warmup course before we leave town on road trips.

Nothing exciting here, but also not a lot of negatives either.

*Tees, sinage, and baskets are all in good condition
*grounds are kept and free of trash
*Bathrooms available if they're unlocked
*easy layout to follow
*You can keep an eye on your vehicle from any hole on the course
*lots of chances to hit an ace if you can drive decently
Cons: *no thrills, basic public park 9 hole.
*Sketchy neighborhood, but haven't had any issues thus far
Other Thoughts: The last rating does have it spot on that this course is empty; but that is only true for weekdays. On the weekends it's the exact opposite. Usually there's a party going on in the pavillion, and the playground is full of children. There are also a lot of disc golfers here on the weekend.

Not an issue for me, just avoid going for big throws if you dont want to hit anyone.

This course is great for warming up or beginners.
Thank god for basket placements behind trees otherwise I probably wouldnt stop here
Don't go out of your way to play this place.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Textbook Example of "Reasonable"

1    10/1/2015   10/1/2015
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 126  Reviewed: 119  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: George Hilliard Park in Beloit, WI is a very "reasonable" course. It's got the typical course equipment...tees, signs, and baskets. The equipment isn't the best, but just very average.

This course is pretty secluded from everything else. It's in a neighborhood park that has a playground, but I can't imagine it gets very much use. There wasn't a single person in sight while I played my casual round here. The layout is pretty intuitive. Chances are, you'll have the course to yourself.
Cons: The area is a little sketchy. You have to park on the side of the road as there isn't a defined parking location.

The terrain is pretty bland. There are no elevation changes, no water, and no really wooded holes. It's set in a public park, so the feel is very urban. The signs are very bare-bones, just hole number and yardage.
Other Thoughts: I don't know if there is very much more to say about this course. It's a quick place to hit if you're traveling on the I-39, but it's nothing memorable. I travel from Madison to Normal often, but I don't know if I'll be back to play this course again. It would be a great course if I lived in the neighborhood...but outside of's just another course to add to the the list.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beloit Disc golf

5+    7/28/2012   11/28/2012
Review By: huskerfan
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I think this is one of the nicest 'park' courses around. Nice big trees, flows nice, easy to navigate.
Cons: It's a 'park' type course. starting to show some wear, signage, baskets, tees, etc.

Park is used by picnic'ers

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Short, open, simple

1    3/31/2012   4/1/2012
Review By: DoomDoomDoom
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Well thought out for the amount of space provided.
- Cement tees (always a plus)
- Descriptions of where the baskets were on tee signs (the ones still there, anyway)
- Beautiful park scenery tucked away in the city
- Restrooms!
- Practice basket
- A good novice/practice course.
Cons: - Surrounded on most sides by fenced in areas, like a tennis court or residential property
- Since it's in a city park, there are a few benches, a shelter and a playground which could interfere with play if people are occupying them.
- Fairly simple, not many challenging opportunities
- High grass in some spots
- 9 hole
Other Thoughts: This isn't a bad course, but it isn't by any means fantastic. There are some fair drives required here and there, along with a couple of bends around trees but the course won't be too much to handle for someone with a bit of experience.

The pin placement is nice for most holes, but going from tee to tee and figuring out which target can be a little confusing - most baskets aren't too clearly marked, however the tees have the hole number marked on the cement, which helps.

The tee signs which are still up are useful, but it would be nice if tee 1's sign was still marked - we got the practice basket confused with hole 1 (It also didn't help that the tee sign said 133 or so feet, which was written in marker. Kinda short for a hole, yeah?).

The baskets were in pretty decent condition, though I noticed a bit of rusting on the interior chains of basket 9. Being secured in the ground with cement is a nice touch, especially for a city park's course.

If you're in the area and looking for a new place to go through, it won't hurt to check the place out and get a nice feel for how you're progressing - It's a simple course that doesn't demand much, so for more experienced players, this course should be a breeze. Just be careful of anyone in the shelter/playground area. And lock your car doors, the neighborhood seems a bit shady.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Good Practice Course

2-4    5/17/2011   5/19/2011
Review By: Chris89
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great for beginners. My mom and dad want to learn to play and this is a great course for them. Its also a good course for anyone just wanting to have fun and is in the area.
Cons: The layout is confusing but after you play it once its easy to remember. If there is a lot of people at the park in the pavilion I would recommend not playing very aggressive.
Other Thoughts: Good small course in town. Wouldn't recommend traveling to play it but if you live in the area and want to practice its a nice course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    4/30/2011   5/8/2011
Review By: gassal01
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of big trees and is very well maintained. I did not see any trash. The only times I have played this course. There has been no one else in the park, which is nice because you can play a couple of rounds in about in hour. This is what I would consider a practice course. I had just gotten some new discs and wanted to mess around with them. This course is the place to do that.

Baskets are in relatively good shape and all the tee pads are great.

Cons: Not a very long or difficult course. This is not a course for someone who wants to be challenged but is like a said, a great practice course.

Tee Signs are in rough shape. The first time I play. I had a hard time figuring where to go after I was done with one hole.
Other Thoughts: Would have never stopped if my girlfriend was not a Beloit College alum. If your are looking for something to do in town. Bring a couple discs with you and stop by, its not gonna hurt. If you aren't having fun after awhile. Well its only 9 holes or a short walk to your car.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 It is what it is

1    7/17/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: skinner21
Played: 22  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/26/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: the course in a well maintained park with mature trees that does the best it can with the space that is available. The concrete tee pads are very nice, as are the signs that are available. There is a decent mix of hole lengths for a noodle arm like I myself have.

This course is very beginner friendly if no one is on the playground equipment and such. A great place to work on mids and putters.
Cons: this is not a course for advanced players or anyone looking for a challenge. Though the course does a decent job of using the trees to create what they can on holes, there just aren't enough to present any type of fun when repeating a round there.

Navigation here is a pain and made me take way longer than should have been reasonable. Between the crossing fairways, missing signs, and randomly numbered baskets, it get pretty frustrating rather quickly.

There are too many places where throwing at or near a playground or pavilion is what you need to do. One hole has a basket about 20 feet from a tennis court.
Other Thoughts: I had business in town or else I would never have stopped. If I ever play here again, it will by accident as there is no reason to ever come here multiple times unless you a local.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  9 Holes Dr. George W. Hilliard Park, Beloit, WI Frisbee Golf Course

5+    4/20/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: akakacey
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Although only 9 holes this course is spaced out well. They recently cut out much of the brush along the sides of the course. All par 3's. Never too busy so you can get in a nice quick game.
Cons: Missing information on the tees,
Other Thoughts: See a video of this hole at

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Odd little park

1    4/8/2010   4/9/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small flat park with mature trees and no underbrush. The fairways were grassy, and were reasonably well taken care of. There are nice concrete tees on all the holes that are big enough for a good run-up and had good surfaces to tee from. Most of the baskets were in good shape, especially considering their age. There is a nice practice area with a basket and marked distances for putting.

There is a mix of lengths, from shorter ace run holes to some longer air it out shots that still must go around and through the scattered trees, making for some good variety for a little 9 hole course. There are multiple lines on most holes making it pretty fair to a right or left handed player. A couple holes have fences or tennis courts as ob areas adding a little challenge. Locals have marked out an alternate 9 that looked more challenging and had some good shots,
I like when I can see how the locals play and play that layout myself without a guide.
Cons: There are lots of safety issues here. Many holes play near or over pavilions, picnic areas and playgrounds. There are also a lot of places where fairways overlap or the path from basket to next tee takes you across other fairways. A few holes throw directly over another tee. There were no other people playing when I played, making some of these issues less important, but if there are multiple groups playing keep an eye out.

The tee signs were in pretty sad shape. 2 of the 9 still had readable info, the rest were in some state of disrepair or just missing altogether. We were able to figure the course out by the sharpied markings on the blank signs and by the occasional numbered basket, but it took some wandering to get the layout right. One basket had broken chains, and several others were starting to rust enough that they looked ready to break.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course for newer players, with some variety and some challenge but no chance of losing a disc or any really frustrating holes. For more experienced players, this won't present too many challenges other than the couple longer holes, though the alternate layout is a little more difficult and interesting.

If you're passing through, it's not a bad place for a quick round, otherwise there are better courses around with a lot more challenge and variety, and better scenery.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Old school tight little 9 holer

1    11/1/2009   11/1/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 859  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/22/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Cement tee pads are always positive. It kindof surprises me, that this course had them just because of how small the course is, the limited use I expect it gets, although it is the only course in Beloit. Teepads are trapezoidal giving you a 4 foot wide area for your plant foot.

2) Nice descriptive signs where applicable. 3 or 4 of them however are just blank white and have been sharpied with a supposed alternate hole to make an 18 hole course. One sign is missing and an entire sign and sign post is missing on another hole.

3) Has a nice little area for a practice basket with stones set for a practice putting game.

4) Excellent design for the small property. The course uses the mature trees to the fullest extent creating some different lines for different people.

5) Nice exposure to the sport for a small industrial economically challenged city.

6) Very beginner friendly because of how short it is and how almost impossible it would be to lose a disc.
Cons: 1) Confusing layout, also made more difficult because some of the baskets have #'s signs and some do not. It is made even more difficult because the "alternate 9" that someone invented throwing from 1 tee to 3 basket, 7 tee to practice basket, etc etc etc is written on some of the signs that have no original hole layout on the sign to begin with.
I know it would be easy for the locals who play regularly to figure it out, but as a firsttimer I got lost twice. I am not an idiot believe it or not and it is sortof embarrassing it happened twice on a property that cant be more than a couple acres with 10 baskets!

2) Missing tee signs and a handful of blank tee signs.

3) Not sure about the neighborhood, but dont be too worried about your car . . . you are no more than a long destroyer throw from your car anyways, and you can always see it.

4) As others have said a couple of the baskets and tees are awfully close to the pavillion area and picnic tables, so if crowded with other activities, those hole might be tough to play. I can also imagine playing the "alternate 9" would be near impossible. If there were other disc golfers it would be for sure not playable.
Other Thoughts: I wanted to give this course a lower grade because of the layout and tee signs issues, but realized it would only have been trouble the first time through the course. There are some pretty decent holes on the course because of the use of the mature trees. All in all it was an average course. It mixed it up pretty well with shot requirements which is always good.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.