Beloit, WI 
Dr. George W. Hilliard Park Share
Uploaded By: WIpilot Hole #2
4 / 322ft.   3 / 322ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Short But Decent

2-4    9/26/2009   9/27/2009
Review By: suprnva
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A lot of course for such a small area. A few tricky holes that make it fun.
Cons: The course is very short and not very tough. Parking on the street kinda sucks, but it could be worse. There is a pavilion in the park that a few of the holes are close to and made me kinda nervous to throw towards due to the large party that was going on.
Other Thoughts: The course is worth playing if you're in the area like I was, but I wouldn't travel to play it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 C+ = average 9 holer

1    7/2/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 375  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 21.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is crammed into a very small piece of land. Major kudos to the designer for milking every ounce of potential to make several very interesting holes!

What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == B
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B-
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good use of limited space

1    4/20/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: ReDisculous
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Although the holes are relatively short, they did a good job with the space they had by using tree placement etc. Also this past winter they kept the baskets in, which was nice.
Cons: Advanced players will not find this course challenging. Lots of wide open shots, less than 300 feet.
Other Thoughts: There are usually kids playing on the playground here, which makes me think the neighborhood here is not that bad, although I can see why some would think so.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beloit course review

1    3/16/2009   3/18/2009
Review By: Dahminator
Played: 24  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 10.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -They managed to keep the holes pretty long in a small area.
Cons: -Holes are all very similar
Other Thoughts: I tend to like courses that more open holes as opposed to trickier shots through woods, and that is what this course offers.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 oldest course in Wisconsin

2-4    7/11/2006   3/11/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 768  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 27.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the oldest course in the state and that alone makes it a required destination. Course was revamped sometime @ 2006. This improved the overall look considerably. New design essentially reverse of original. A fun little nine.
Decent signs and short, but cement, tees.
Cons: Neighborhood perhaps not the best. I had no problems the two times I have been there.
Other Thoughts: Flat with no water in play. Trees provide obstacles. Anyone that can demonstrate that Vollrath Park, Sheboygan, is an older course, p.m. me with said info. I believe this the older of the two. Vollrath has much more elevation and a much bigger place in everyone's hearts; but, this is a cute little old school nine near Illinois border.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good short course

3/24/2008   3/24/2008
Review By: WIpilot
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: the course is set up as a fairly technical course with lots of tree hazards on just about every hole. good use of the land given.
Cons: The holes are fairly short but thats due to the park being really small.
Other Thoughts: you have to park on the street to play this course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.