Auburn, ME 
Dragan Field Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 236ft.   4 / 272ft.   4 / --   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Playable and Forgiving

5+    12/21/2012   1/10/2013
Review By: Menacewarf
Played: 60  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dragan field is an 18 hole course made up of fairly straightforward fairways over a fairly flat yet undulating piece of land.  The design does make good use of the available terrain, playing up and down a particular hillside a number of times (three total) with each pass down and back up offering some different types of fairways.  Some of the highlights of this section include an uphill bomb over a sandy area to a grassy terrace, a two shot hole finishing tucked down left in a steep forest, an elevated basket, and a very reachable fun downhill hole with two routes.  

Dragan is made up of a mix of par 3's, a few unlikely deuces which play as par 3.5's (4,6,16), and a pair of true two shot holes (9,17).  Much of the appeal, of Dragan field is the variety of shots and fairways paired with a nice layout which doesn't wear you out.  Although a number of the par three's are bordering on too straight forward (2,5, 13, 18) the variety of lengths, angles, and slopes of theses holes, like the course as a whole, keeps things fun.  

Open all winter with adequate pads and baskets.
Cons: As said above there are a few tweener (3.5) holes. These could problably play a little better with a bit of tweaking, however there are no egregious concerns.

Again, as said above a number of the par three's are a bit straightforward, and while this helps the courses playability, these could likely get a bit boring for advanced or higher level players over time.
Other Thoughts: This course has a nice location and layout. Give it a try!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    3/23/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: roadtrip
Played: 194  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 19.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2013
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course. You use every throw, every disc, length, vegetation obstacles, etc. etc.

Updating this review 2 years later. Went back to Maine in the winter this time. Owner was very friendly and welcoming. He maintains the course even in Maine's brutal winters. Clears tee pads, etc. I've given ratings bumps for course maintenance at places like Bracket's, I think this course deserves the same bump (I upped it a half star). It certainly helps paying $5 when you know it goes to good people who are helping your disc golf experience, especially when they're doing it in freezing icy conditions.
Cons: Swampy. Pay-to-Play
Other Thoughts: I like this course. I think it just shows the difference in people's ratings. It's shocking that this course would rate higher than Hornets Nest, Waller Park, Idaho State. It plays more like Arcadia Lake (OKC) or a swampy Killens Pond (DE) or Davidson (NC).

I've been trying to figure out the most objective ratings system I can come up with. I don't narrate the entire round, but I want to give an idea of what you're driving to if you've never played the course before. The reviews I've seen seem more like cheer-leading the local course. If you give this course five stars, you'd have to give Sipapu/Nockamixon/Humboldt a hundred stars.

Variety (shots) - 3.5/5 - it does have a good mix of shots. Good use of the vegetation and other obstacles. You'll need to bend a disc every which way. Just nothing spectacular.

Variety (distance) - 3/5 - there's length. And it's sprinkled in, instead of just getting longer as you go. Lots of short holes. Fun for ace runs but it can have a pitch-and-putt feel to it at times.

Beauty - 2.5/5 - Hills, shrubs, green grass (seasonally). It's as good as you'll get in this part of the state.

Trackability - 3/5 - It's not too far from I-95, makes it an easy play on road trips. The holes flow well enough too.

Lost Disc Hazard - 2.5/5 - lots of shrubs. If you're accurate and/or persistent, you'll be fine. Just be sure to watch errant throws all the way through til the end.

Vibe - 2.5/5 - to each his own. Seems like the locals love it. I had a nice time. The swampiness doesn't bother me when I know to expect it. Summer bugs too. Not too crowded, though there were some folks there to tour guide you or chat local courses with.

Safety - 4/5.

21/7 = 3.00

It's a nice course. I'll play it again when I'm in the area. I'd hate to offend anyone who plays, designed, or maintains it, though I'd also hate to send people on long expensive journeys for courses that don't live up to their ratings.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 yeah, what he said

5+    9/26/2009   2/7/2010
Review By: ncee
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: All around nice course. The guys do a great job of keeping the course clean, and well maintained.

Nice pads, easy to see most baskets, but with a bit of a challenge on some holes.

A nice mix of woods, and fields.
Cons: To damn wet, to often.
Other Thoughts: Nice course, nice crew, nice escape.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Dragon Field is great

6/20/2008   6/28/2008
Review By: capedcodder
Played: 30  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Has everything you could want in a course. Well maintained with very clear OB areas. Easy to navigate with clear markings. Also, a couple of very creative holes with some fun suprises.
Cons: None that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: Pro shop attendant was awesome. Not only did he help us with our Maine disc golf tour schedule but he played a round with us as well. The guys at Dragon are the ones to talk to about Maine disc golf.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.