Auburn, ME 
Dragan Field Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 240ft.   4 / 356ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Half what you expect

1    6/30/2013   7/1/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 207  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I came to Dragan Field expecting two things based on the reviews and its location in Southern Maine. 1. Generous Pars. 2. A lot of muck.

It delivered on the first, which can be either a pro or a con, but I was very happy that it failed to meet my second expectation. It had been raining for a few days and my shoes were still wet from Pleasant Hill the day before. After seventeen holes, my shoes had actually dried out while playing Dragan Field.

Beyond that, it was a really fantastic course. It wasn't an wide open course but it wasn't a woods course either. A ton of the fairways were just nicely shaped, original holes, that have a bunch of replay value.

When i say its not open or woodsy, what I mean is that a lot of the holes feel open, but require you to hit specific gaps as there trees on the fairways, probably planted there specifically to force your shot. This is an old course, so I feel safe in saying that this course wasn't cut out of the woods in some places, but that the trees were grown to give each hole a unique character.

Short par threes that seem too easy if you see the distance but then make you think when you have to play it. (Hole 3) is short but there is an immense OB of woods in the middle of the fairway. You have to throw it about 1540 feet and THEN hook it sharply if you want a chance at two. Awesomely, you can try going left or right. (Hole 10) is real short lengthwise but the tee faces a twenty foot cliff. Throw it up and over the cliff, then another 150 feet where the cage sits on a raised platform.

There's a few strangely shaped fairways that require you to first go one way, then the other to stay on the fairway. Hole 6 is the most obvious example.



Great signage, with a ton of info on the tees, and almost unnecessary arrows pointing the way at the cages. Great flowage for most of the holes.

Cons: I mentioned earlier that my shoes had dried out by hole seventeen. Well hole eighteen quickly undid all the sun's good work. Could not find a place to walk up that fairway.

I'm not sure if the generous pars in the area are really a con, but they should be noted. Really, it's all relative though. You shoot what you shoot on that course and where you fall compared to an arbitrary number doesn't really matter. It's fun to struggle to stay under par, sure, but it's more fun to compete against your own best score from the same course, no matter where the par is set.

The balance of holes going right to left was a bit high for my taste. RHBH guys will obviously love it but I like a few par threes to swing right so I have a chance at par.

Several of the holes do suffer from my least favorite feature in a course, the too-small tee pad. In most cases there was space on the side, but I'd rather see natural then cement that I can fall off of.

There are a few times where the tees are near a different fairway. Someone putting on eight is in the crosshairs for someone driving on six, for example.

One last quibble, hole eleven does shoot downwards towards a few small ponds, where you can not see them from the tee. This isn't a fun challenging water shot. This is a spot where from the tee, you could hit water and not be able to tell if your disc actually went into the water or not. Didn't happen to me, but when I saw the water there was a moment of panic.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course overall.

2-4    8/24/2012   8/24/2012
Review By: ProjectKyle
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well maintained! The workers do a professional job at taking care of the fields.

The course offers meany unique and challenging holes. Which includes a straight uphill par 3 on hole 10 ware the basket is sported on a concrete slab!

Good mix of woods and open fields

Pars are within reason

Cons: The finale 9 holes are not mapped out well. Making it vary easy to get lost if its yore first time.

Also on hole 2. the property on the left side is privately owned. And you are not allowed to retrieve yore disc if it go's over.

Small pro shop with a small selection of discs
Other Thoughts: Overall a grate course that beginners and pros will enjoy.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Close to home

5+    12/29/2011   1/8/2012
Review By: Maine focus
Played: 34  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: perfectly maintained, fairways are in great shape, with ob's clearly marked. This is one of the best upkeeped courses in Maine.
Course offers a variety of shots from long bombs to tight wooded holes.

overall a great course in southern maine well worth the time to play it
Cons: owners are a weird bunch.

not much of a pro shop

no dogs allowed
Other Thoughts: This course is my home course being that its 15 min away, have played here 100's of times, really is perfectly groomed. They even shovel t pads and pack down fairways in the winter.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

5+    7/22/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: Ryan LaRoche
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easy for beginners
-Yet difficult to "master" for the more experienced player
-Excellent markings
-Excellent tee pads and maps
-Clean-always
-Well maintained
-Requires multiple shots hyzers, anys, big drives, technical skilled shots are not a must but if you want to shoot in the 50's it is a necessity.
-Nice pro shop, not the best but efficient use of the space. Could have more on hand but they cover the basic needs of most.
-Knowledgeable friendly staff
-Open year round
Cons: -As stated it does hold water, especially in the spring
-It is pay to play but all courses here in Maine are
-It is too easy to get to par, although pro par is MUCH more difficult, but attainable for the above average player
Other Thoughts: This is the course that I learned to play on. It was very hard but attainable par for a newb was a definite plus. The course is ALWAYS open. I have had some memorable winter rounds in as much as three feet of snow! Wear the appropriate footwear as it does have some wet areas, but that is normal for Maine courses. Overall a great experience even after well over 150 rounds played there!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/17/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: DF Maintenance
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First of all, I am writing this as both a player and someone who works on the course. I want travelers to understand the playing conditions. The course is clean, regularly mowed, litter free and has the feel of a nice quiet park. Although the course recovers from snow and underground runoff in April and early May (as is any Maine course), it is NOT otherwise usually wet. Any areas that take slightly longer to dry are reinforced with rocks so you don't sink in past your soles, or are in minimally-landed-in fringe areas of fairways; and there are paths to walk across anything else. From June through October the course is sneaker-dry. (Also, In the winter we shovel tee pads and pack fairways after each snowfall as the course is fully playable all year).

As a player, this is one of my favorite courses still of over 150 played, and I still have not tired of it. It is very beginner-friendly, but is designed to encourage advanced players to work on most skills (righty-lefty; backhand/flick/tomahawk) to seek out deuce opportunities with multiple approaches.
Cons: These are not really "cons" but reminders or advisories. When playing ANY course in Maine: wear sturdy footwear, stay hydrated late spring thru autumn, have insect repellent and/or sun screen available. Also many courses in Maine have ponds and streams so a floater disc can't hurt (we have a tiny pond with a couple of rakes for you to use if you happen to catch it)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of my Fav's

5+    6/6/2008   3/19/2009
Review By: ShortBusDiscGolf
Played: 182  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 19.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome layout and design. Bring a couple 'Trick Shots'.....and some arm. Hole 16 is one of my favorites in all of disc golf. Great signs and trash cans. Gordy is the man!!!!!!!!!!
Cons: Some drainage issues, but so what. More benches please. $5 to play, but totally worth it.
Other Thoughts: A must play while in Maine.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.