Auburn, ME 
Dragan Field Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 193ft.   3 / 193ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great Course, Happy to have made the drive!

2-4    5/14/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: runningDoc
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.3 Years
Pros: Great Layout. Its a private course and you have to pay (by honor box if before/after clubhouse hours) or at the clubhouse.

All the tees were cement and nice and grippy.

The holes have a ton of variety, from open fairways, to doglegs, to water hazards and uphill and downhills.

Its maintained great, there are garbage cans on each tee and each tee has a clear map of the hole and what to avoid/O.B./warnings.

The guy working there was super nice. I played before clubhouse hours and paid by honor box and then decided to play later that day and he let me play again for free (even though it should've been at least a couple dollars more for the whole day option).

Its a private course so you don't have to worry about other people using the course as a park.
Cons: Its a little in the middle of nowhere and a drive up from Freeport or Sabego Lake. I think it took me almost 40min from both areas to drive in. It was worth it, but still you've got to plan your day around it if you're far away.

The worker at the clubhouse was a nice guy but it seemed like their stocks of stuff was depleted. I understand in the age of internet people are probably buying stuff online, but I was actually looking for a disc golf bag and some discs and was excited to buy locally but they didn't have much stocks of simple stuff like champion roc3 or innova standard/starter bags.
Other Thoughts: I played after some torrential rains and it did dry up a lot, but there was some muddy parts. I didn't care though. It would be wise to take note of the course conditions and maybe call in before making the trip out there though.


1    7/23/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: CrowLegs
Played: 52  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy Navigation
Plenty of trash cans and benches
Very good layout
Very good use of elevation
Cons: The swamp near the end (hole 18?) was pretty soggy.
Other Thoughts: I played this as part of my vacation. I really enjoyed it, probably more than any other course. The course is impeccably maintained, and navigation was a breeze (I played by myself and did not get lost once).

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Half what you expect

1    6/30/2013   7/1/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 176  Reviewed: 175  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I came to Dragan Field expecting two things based on the reviews and its location in Southern Maine. 1. Generous Pars. 2. A lot of muck.

It delivered on the first, which can be either a pro or a con, but I was very happy that it failed to meet my second expectation. It had been raining for a few days and my shoes were still wet from Pleasant Hill the day before. After seventeen holes, my shoes had actually dried out while playing Dragan Field.

Beyond that, it was a really fantastic course. It wasn't an wide open course but it wasn't a woods course either. A ton of the fairways were just nicely shaped, original holes, that have a bunch of replay value.

When i say its not open or woodsy, what I mean is that a lot of the holes feel open, but require you to hit specific gaps as there trees on the fairways, probably planted there specifically to force your shot. This is an old course, so I feel safe in saying that this course wasn't cut out of the woods in some places, but that the trees were grown to give each hole a unique character.

Short par threes that seem too easy if you see the distance but then make you think when you have to play it. (Hole 3) is short but there is an immense OB of woods in the middle of the fairway. You have to throw it about 1540 feet and THEN hook it sharply if you want a chance at two. Awesomely, you can try going left or right. (Hole 10) is real short lengthwise but the tee faces a twenty foot cliff. Throw it up and over the cliff, then another 150 feet where the cage sits on a raised platform.

There's a few strangely shaped fairways that require you to first go one way, then the other to stay on the fairway. Hole 6 is the most obvious example.



Great signage, with a ton of info on the tees, and almost unnecessary arrows pointing the way at the cages. Great flowage for most of the holes.

Cons: I mentioned earlier that my shoes had dried out by hole seventeen. Well hole eighteen quickly undid all the sun's good work. Could not find a place to walk up that fairway.

I'm not sure if the generous pars in the area are really a con, but they should be noted. Really, it's all relative though. You shoot what you shoot on that course and where you fall compared to an arbitrary number doesn't really matter. It's fun to struggle to stay under par, sure, but it's more fun to compete against your own best score from the same course, no matter where the par is set.

The balance of holes going right to left was a bit high for my taste. RHBH guys will obviously love it but I like a few par threes to swing right so I have a chance at par.

Several of the holes do suffer from my least favorite feature in a course, the too-small tee pad. In most cases there was space on the side, but I'd rather see natural then cement that I can fall off of.

There are a few times where the tees are near a different fairway. Someone putting on eight is in the crosshairs for someone driving on six, for example.

One last quibble, hole eleven does shoot downwards towards a few small ponds, where you can not see them from the tee. This isn't a fun challenging water shot. This is a spot where from the tee, you could hit water and not be able to tell if your disc actually went into the water or not. Didn't happen to me, but when I saw the water there was a moment of panic.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Playable and Forgiving

5+    12/21/2012   1/10/2013
Review By: Menacewarf
Played: 60  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dragan field is an 18 hole course made up of fairly straightforward fairways over a fairly flat yet undulating piece of land.  The design does make good use of the available terrain, playing up and down a particular hillside a number of times (three total) with each pass down and back up offering some different types of fairways.  Some of the highlights of this section include an uphill bomb over a sandy area to a grassy terrace, a two shot hole finishing tucked down left in a steep forest, an elevated basket, and a very reachable fun downhill hole with two routes.  

Dragan is made up of a mix of par 3's, a few unlikely deuces which play as par 3.5's (4,6,16), and a pair of true two shot holes (9,17).  Much of the appeal, of Dragan field is the variety of shots and fairways paired with a nice layout which doesn't wear you out.  Although a number of the par three's are bordering on too straight forward (2,5, 13, 18) the variety of lengths, angles, and slopes of theses holes, like the course as a whole, keeps things fun.  

Open all winter with adequate pads and baskets.
Cons: As said above there are a few tweener (3.5) holes. These could problably play a little better with a bit of tweaking, however there are no egregious concerns.

Again, as said above a number of the par three's are a bit straightforward, and while this helps the courses playability, these could likely get a bit boring for advanced or higher level players over time.
Other Thoughts: This course has a nice location and layout. Give it a try!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good Course overall.

2-4    8/24/2012   8/24/2012
Review By: ProjectKyle
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well maintained! The workers do a professional job at taking care of the fields.

The course offers meany unique and challenging holes. Which includes a straight uphill par 3 on hole 10 ware the basket is sported on a concrete slab!

Good mix of woods and open fields

Pars are within reason

Cons: The finale 9 holes are not mapped out well. Making it vary easy to get lost if its yore first time.

Also on hole 2. the property on the left side is privately owned. And you are not allowed to retrieve yore disc if it go's over.

Small pro shop with a small selection of discs
Other Thoughts: Overall a grate course that beginners and pros will enjoy.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Close to home

5+    12/29/2011   1/8/2012
Review By: Maine focus
Played: 34  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: perfectly maintained, fairways are in great shape, with ob's clearly marked. This is one of the best upkeeped courses in Maine.
Course offers a variety of shots from long bombs to tight wooded holes.

overall a great course in southern maine well worth the time to play it
Cons: owners are a weird bunch.

not much of a pro shop

no dogs allowed
Other Thoughts: This course is my home course being that its 15 min away, have played here 100's of times, really is perfectly groomed. They even shovel t pads and pack down fairways in the winter.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

5+    7/22/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: Ryan LaRoche
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easy for beginners
-Yet difficult to "master" for the more experienced player
-Excellent markings
-Excellent tee pads and maps
-Clean-always
-Well maintained
-Requires multiple shots hyzers, anys, big drives, technical skilled shots are not a must but if you want to shoot in the 50's it is a necessity.
-Nice pro shop, not the best but efficient use of the space. Could have more on hand but they cover the basic needs of most.
-Knowledgeable friendly staff
-Open year round
Cons: -As stated it does hold water, especially in the spring
-It is pay to play but all courses here in Maine are
-It is too easy to get to par, although pro par is MUCH more difficult, but attainable for the above average player
Other Thoughts: This is the course that I learned to play on. It was very hard but attainable par for a newb was a definite plus. The course is ALWAYS open. I have had some memorable winter rounds in as much as three feet of snow! Wear the appropriate footwear as it does have some wet areas, but that is normal for Maine courses. Overall a great experience even after well over 150 rounds played there!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/17/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: DF Maintenance
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First of all, I am writing this as both a player and someone who works on the course. I want travelers to understand the playing conditions. The course is clean, regularly mowed, litter free and has the feel of a nice quiet park. Although the course recovers from snow and underground runoff in April and early May (as is any Maine course), it is NOT otherwise usually wet. Any areas that take slightly longer to dry are reinforced with rocks so you don't sink in past your soles, or are in minimally-landed-in fringe areas of fairways; and there are paths to walk across anything else. From June through October the course is sneaker-dry. (Also, In the winter we shovel tee pads and pack fairways after each snowfall as the course is fully playable all year).

As a player, this is one of my favorite courses still of over 150 played, and I still have not tired of it. It is very beginner-friendly, but is designed to encourage advanced players to work on most skills (righty-lefty; backhand/flick/tomahawk) to seek out deuce opportunities with multiple approaches.
Cons: These are not really "cons" but reminders or advisories. When playing ANY course in Maine: wear sturdy footwear, stay hydrated late spring thru autumn, have insect repellent and/or sun screen available. Also many courses in Maine have ponds and streams so a floater disc can't hurt (we have a tiny pond with a couple of rakes for you to use if you happen to catch it)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    3/23/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: roadtrip
Played: 189  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 19.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2013
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course. You use every throw, every disc, length, vegetation obstacles, etc. etc.

Updating this review 2 years later. Went back to Maine in the winter this time. Owner was very friendly and welcoming. He maintains the course even in Maine's brutal winters. Clears tee pads, etc. I've given ratings bumps for course maintenance at places like Bracket's, I think this course deserves the same bump (I upped it a half star). It certainly helps paying $5 when you know it goes to good people who are helping your disc golf experience, especially when they're doing it in freezing icy conditions.
Cons: Swampy. Pay-to-Play
Other Thoughts: I like this course. I think it just shows the difference in people's ratings. It's shocking that this course would rate higher than Hornets Nest, Waller Park, Idaho State. It plays more like Arcadia Lake (OKC) or a swampy Killens Pond (DE) or Davidson (NC).

I've been trying to figure out the most objective ratings system I can come up with. I don't narrate the entire round, but I want to give an idea of what you're driving to if you've never played the course before. The reviews I've seen seem more like cheer-leading the local course. If you give this course five stars, you'd have to give Sipapu/Nockamixon/Humboldt a hundred stars.

Variety (shots) - 3.5/5 - it does have a good mix of shots. Good use of the vegetation and other obstacles. You'll need to bend a disc every which way. Just nothing spectacular.

Variety (distance) - 3/5 - there's length. And it's sprinkled in, instead of just getting longer as you go. Lots of short holes. Fun for ace runs but it can have a pitch-and-putt feel to it at times.

Beauty - 2.5/5 - Hills, shrubs, green grass (seasonally). It's as good as you'll get in this part of the state.

Trackability - 3/5 - It's not too far from I-95, makes it an easy play on road trips. The holes flow well enough too.

Lost Disc Hazard - 2.5/5 - lots of shrubs. If you're accurate and/or persistent, you'll be fine. Just be sure to watch errant throws all the way through til the end.

Vibe - 2.5/5 - to each his own. Seems like the locals love it. I had a nice time. The swampiness doesn't bother me when I know to expect it. Summer bugs too. Not too crowded, though there were some folks there to tour guide you or chat local courses with.

Safety - 4/5.

21/7 = 3.00

It's a nice course. I'll play it again when I'm in the area. I'd hate to offend anyone who plays, designed, or maintains it, though I'd also hate to send people on long expensive journeys for courses that don't live up to their ratings.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 played 100 plus here

5+    7/1/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: kfitz
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: ob adds difficulty which allows the most experienced player to come out and play with noobs or gf. lots of dueceable 4s, got one par 4 ace out there, have seen two others, plays easy on the body
Cons: kind of easy and that fabled second coarse that ive been waiting for doesnt seem to be coming....
Other Thoughts: leagues are fun

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.