Dryden, NY
TC3 Panther Highlands Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
4 / 560ft.   4 / 465ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Red Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
I Wanna Be at TC3

2-4    5/2/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: esdubya
Played: 93  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 18.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Other Thoughts: From purely a hole design standpoint, TC3 Panther Highlands is probably a 5 star course. Where it loses some of its lustre is all of the other pesky things, like long walks from basket to tee-pad, and the lack of concrete tees. I really enjoyed playing here, and look forward to my next round at TC3 Baby! Looks to be a good challenge from both sets of tees, although I played the black layout the first time.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Endless possibilities

1    5/23/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 197  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 5.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with 2 tee pads for each hole. Great signs that show distance and hole layout. Small arrows on the baskets help direct you to the next tee. There are also a few signs in key locations directing you tomthe next hole.

A well maintained course with a ball golf feel. The freshly mowed grass fairways made me feel like I should have been wearing a collared shirt.

Fairways were well defined and trails and walkways were clear. No interference from other activities or campus users. Just nice, neat and clean. A beautiful course.

Course has trees and woods, but plays mostly in the open.

2 holes near the pond and several that use small creeks to add risk.
Cons: Rubber tee pads that were uneven and sometimes slick with dried grass. Concrete pads would be nice.

While there is trees and woods the fairways for the most part are open or wide. You are usually not
forced to hit a certain line or angle. There is a pretty wide margin for error on most holes.

Basket positions could be used better in some areas to add challenge or risk to the holes. Several of the baskets are in very open areas. While there are 2 holes that play near the pond, 1 and 18, neither is close enough to the water to add risk to the hole. Only a truly errant shot will take a swim.

A couple long walks between holes. Transitions could be better. In a couple spots I think I saw the chupacabra beast hidden in the woods. Bring water, food, and something to do while you're wandering down the paths. From hole 10 to 11 and from 16 to 17 is where you get to wander through the woods.
Other Thoughts: There were a few holes that really stood out as fun at this course.

#3 is a nice, long 520' shot off a small hill. There are some scattered trees in the fairway and an OB road to the right. Pretty cool

#7 is a blind 460' hole that tightens toward the basket which is perched on a small hillside.

#9 could be the most challenging hole on the course. It is 560' and forces you to hit a narrow gap about halfway down the fairway. And both side are lined with a very nasty rough. Get off the fairway and you are in trouble. Just a really good hole.

#16 is a fun 385' shot off a big hill that let's you watch your disc fly through a fairway of small trees toward the basket. Feel free to empty your bag on that one. It's a blast.

Over all I was pretty impressed with this course. With a few minor tweaks and improvements this could be a true championship caliber course. Just beware of the chupacabra on those long walks through the woods.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Home

5+    1/7/2010   1/9/2010
Review By: alx133
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Dual tees that actually change the feel of the course substantially
- Beautifully maintained course; even through the summer when classes are not in session
- Big, and challenging holes
- 17 is a huge bomb of a hole off of some serious elevation
Cons: - without a guide the first time through will be difficult for most to follow.
- the walk from 17 to 18 or old 16
- tee pads are not level
- no wooded holes
Other Thoughts: -This course is only getting the 3.5 because of the disruption in its flow that was caused by the expansion of TC3's buildings. The walk between holes 17 and 18 is truly asinine.
-I have been hearing about expansion at this course for years now, no doubt there is plenty of room for it, not to mention expansion would hopefully fill the gaps between some of the holes.
-Old 16 is still in the ground and is a sweet hole.
- It is rare to see other players out on this course which is a shame. this course is excellent and worth playing to be sure. I have never met a student playing disc golf here in my 4 years of playing this course.

- this course is definitely worth playing even if technical courses are what you desire. one of the better courses in the CNY/Finger Lakes area

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 my baby

5+    7/8/2009   1/24/2009
Review By: 80playedin10states
Played: 84  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 20.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: well groomed and great baskets, 2 sets of tees..you will need all your shots here. some nice use of the elevation(hole 17 is now 525' and reachable with a great shot) and there is a pond and a little creek that runs thru a few holes..
Cons: lack of signage and cement...still "under construction"..rubber pads arent the best but they are better than dirt/mud.may need spotter(holes 5,7,9,13) if you find yourself off the fairway...very dense rough(disc eating)...could be a little confusing to follow for a first timer but the baskets are numbered and there are next tee arrows on the bottoms of the baskets..
Other Thoughts: i play here often so im biased, but could use some tlc(money) to make the course a true 4-5..of course the pictures dont do it justice. if you start on hole 2, you will finish your "front 9" after hole 10(both holes are within yards of the parking lot). there are a few longer than short walks from hole to hole, but for me this isn't a con.. there is a path completed from 17's basket to 18 as of 7/11/09...still kind of rough..it comes out behind 14's basket...a short stroll to 18's tees..course records are 44 and 50..SIGNAGE ON THE WAY

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting 18

7/4/2008   7/4/2008
Review By: cdeane
Played: 50  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets and Tees well maintaned and course well groomed. Beautiful setting, quiet, nature filled. Nice wide open fairways, but errors are still punishing (finding disc in brush at right of # 5, ovethrowing the hole and the creek behind it on # 7 OB) Arrows on the baskets point the way to the next tee. Some interesting elevation changes.
Cons: No permanent tee markers. Not much variety, no holes in the woods, only #1 plays next to water. Some awkward transitions (12 to 13 and 17 to 18). Very buggy, bring spray or bug wipes.
Other Thoughts: #2 had a blurb about a "triple mondo" on the tee sign but no explanation. Good thing I printed out the map - I needed it. I played the closer tees (i've learned not to go for the long ones first time out on a course) and had a few birdies shots and even a plausible ace try on #16. I enjoyed this course and would travel to play it again. I was the only person playing (Maybe July 4 holiday keeping players away at festivities?) so kinda lonely out there.
**played from the Redcat Tees the next day- gives some holes a whole new feel particularly # 1 # 13 and # 16. Watched my disc on # 17 fall out of the sky in mid-drive and realized I hit the phone lines DOH! Only added 5 strokes to my game playing from the long tees...........

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.