Dryden, NY 
TC3 Panther Highlands Share
Uploaded By: Raoul Duke Hole #7
3 / 461ft.   3 / 397ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Approach



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Could be a masterpiece with some improvements

1    8/4/2008   9/6/2008
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Immaculately groomed course. Many of the fairways resemble ball golf - 6 has a sweeping fairway up and around a hill. Water, trees, punishing rough, and well-defined and fair fairways. Blue tees are good for intermediates, and red tees could give a challenge to experts. Can't say enough how beautiful this course is. Hard to believe this is a community college... it's nicer than most private schools I've visited!
Cons: Signage is practically useless. Please print out a map before going! Some long walks between holes, but with holes as well designed as 9 and 10, it's worth the walk. Holes 16 and 17 are temporary and it shows (down to the portable baskets). Hole 16 is too narrow a fairway, short and lame. Teepads could also use some love.
Other Thoughts: Construction looks finished... how about restoring the course? I found old basket 16 and the blue tee outline, so that hole is actually still playable! (Consider it an easter egg). Also blue tee 18 is still there, so when you finish the course be sure to try that tricky little water hole.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting 18

7/4/2008   7/4/2008
Review By: cdeane
Played: 50  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets and Tees well maintaned and course well groomed. Beautiful setting, quiet, nature filled. Nice wide open fairways, but errors are still punishing (finding disc in brush at right of # 5, ovethrowing the hole and the creek behind it on # 7 OB) Arrows on the baskets point the way to the next tee. Some interesting elevation changes.
Cons: No permanent tee markers. Not much variety, no holes in the woods, only #1 plays next to water. Some awkward transitions (12 to 13 and 17 to 18). Very buggy, bring spray or bug wipes.
Other Thoughts: #2 had a blurb about a "triple mondo" on the tee sign but no explanation. Good thing I printed out the map - I needed it. I played the closer tees (i've learned not to go for the long ones first time out on a course) and had a few birdies shots and even a plausible ace try on #16. I enjoyed this course and would travel to play it again. I was the only person playing (Maybe July 4 holiday keeping players away at festivities?) so kinda lonely out there.
**played from the Redcat Tees the next day- gives some holes a whole new feel particularly # 1 # 13 and # 16. Watched my disc on # 17 fall out of the sky in mid-drive and realized I hit the phone lines DOH! Only added 5 strokes to my game playing from the long tees...........

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

7/3/2008   7/3/2008
Review By: andy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good basket placement for an open course. Hole 3 is amazing!! Well groomed and no poision ivy. Chainstars are good baskets. Fairways are defined. Will play every time I am in the area. You have a gem on the hill!
Cons: Rubber in not my favorite. No true woods holes. Needs at least 1 more shorter hole in the 200' -275' range.
Other Thoughts: Would be an awesome course for 18 new baskets and a 4 layout course like warwick or blackfalls. Hole 17 lengthen by 100' so you can throw a driver if you dare.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not Bad...

4/4/2008   5/3/2008
Review By: PsyStal
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes layouts and settings. Course is kept in good condition for the most part, and they did a good job working the space available. For those in Ithaca with limited time/mobility, TC3 is like paradise compared to the other local courses.
Cons: Navigating without a map is difficult. Holes were probably marked well initially, but many of the small laminated signs have fallen over or gone missing and numerous random paths dot the course. Not a great course for rollers. While the hole variety is nice, some of the hole lengths don't jive well with their layout, probably due to the very tight land restrictions. Rubber tee pads aren't my favorite (I actually prefer gravel) and most course accessories (signs, benches, etc) are cheap if not entirely missing in action. Certain holes hold water for several days after it rains.
Other Thoughts: I'm fortunate enough to have three great courses very close to my hometown in PA, so I'm a bit spoiled. TC3 is a decently designed course primarily lacking the final touches that help make a course more accessible. It's not a course I'd want to play in a tourney, but it is great for practicing a variety of shots. With just a little extra investment of time, money, and land this course could really be extraordinary, but it seems like the powers that be cut it off just shy of that point. Again though, if you're in the area this is by far the best course you're going to find. Don't waste your time at the other two Ithaca-area courses.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Really Great course!

10/8/2007   10/8/2007
Review By: NIBSTOOLS
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Like the mix of different holes. Has some holes with decent elevation changes, which I was not expecting on a college campus! Once you get past hole one and two you don't hardly realize your on a campus at all until the final holes on the back 9!
Cons: Some of the tee sign are knocked down and/or missing. Made my first time around a bit challenging. Long walk between 17's basket and 18's tee.
Other Thoughts: I liked hole 17, long down hill shot. Maybe it could even be longer. Just under 400 feet with alot of elevation change.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Do Not Eat the Apples

9/23/2007   9/23/2007
Review By: cayuga
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2008
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Other Thoughts: I played this course today, a 65F Sunday with blue sky and persistent winds. B1 starts it off with a pond to your left. B2 presents a tree hallway. At B3, you will throw between large pines to your left and the college entrance road to your right. I met Bob and Mike at the B4 tee. Strong players, much better than I. B4 is a grassy fairway with medium thickness plant growth on both sides, and its basket is partially blocked by an apple tree. No, the apples are not fit for human consumption. B5 has a similar feel. I enjoyed this course and will play it again. It is not necessary to check-in with the TC3 Fitness Center. There is a waiver sign at B1 tee to inform you that the college is not responsible should you injure yourself. The course layout is good enough that I rarely found myself having to refer to the course map. Next tee signs and tee markers are consistent and correct, although both have a less than permanent quality as they are the "sticks in the ground and duck tape sign to sticks" type.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Almost perfect

9/16/2007   9/16/2007
Review By: Raoul Duke
Played: 16  Reviewed: 15
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great layout for the first 17 holes. Nice mix of elevation, anhyzers, hyzers, short and long holes. Very scenic and clean.
Cons: Long walk from 17 to 18. Random paths were misleading, tall grass was found to be obscuring signage. Some fairways were overgrown, took away roller options. Rubber teepads not the best, but far better than dirt or gravel.
Other Thoughts: Not completely sure about the need to sign a waiver. Signs on first tees seem to cover the College without the need to check in. Very fun course, would love to play a tourney here!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very Interesting

9/11/2006   6/11/2007
Review By: Greg Kurtz
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Elevation changes are nice. Mix of shots required.
Cons: Very funky layout, did a great job with what they could work with.
Other Thoughts: A tough course to play, various traumas throughout the layout. Fun

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice for NY

6/8/2007   6/8/2007
Review By: innovaetor
Played: 45  Reviewed: 22
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Full 18 with alternate tees for every hole. Water, elevation, trees, short, long. It has it all.
Cons: Rubber tee-pads slippery when wet. Grass gets long in the summer.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!!!!!!!!!!!!!

4/20/2007   5/24/2007
Review By: jim owens
Played: 50  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: One of the best in upstate NY. Elevation, wind, open and wooded, and some decent length.
Cons: First-timers definitely will need a map.
Other Thoughts: Awesome views down the looooong valleys!!!!!!!!

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.