Pickwick, TN 
Pickwick Plantation Share
Uploaded By: timg  



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Potential > Actual

1    8/24/2014   8/25/2014
Review By: AUfantastic
Played: 88  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 14.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great potential. Not extremely long. Birdies possible on many holes for experienced players. Mild up and down and good mix of types of holes.
Cons: Too many trees in several fairways without valid throwing paths. Grass tall. This course just needs work to keep it up. Paying to play will not matter then. This course was NOT NEARLY as nice as was pictured on this website. I had great hopes which mostly were disappointments
Other Thoughts: This could be a beautiful and great course to play but it will cost time and money to keep it up and I do not see that happening. I honestly did enjoy playing the layout but hated the tall grass, the broken bridges and unkept condition overall. Oh, and I shot a 4 under the first and only time I ever played it which is quite unusual for me.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Abandoned???

1    7/6/2013   7/7/2013
Review By: kalpic30
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to follow. Fun course.
Cons: Paying for this course...esp. in its condition..Not maintained at all. There were knee high weeds and dandelions throughout the whole course. Seemed as if the house/course was abandoned. There was a lot of trash at the what used to be snack bar, and house is covered in overgrowth. Needs some tlc....
Other Thoughts: I actually missed the course the first time I drove to it. When you're driving on TN 57, look for John's Pier Point Restaurant; there's a huge faux lighthouse in front. Pickwick Plantation is the very next turn after it (or before if you're coming from Mississippi).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Date: 8/28/2014 Designer Response by: HB553
I talked to the owner today (7/8/13) and he is just behind due to all of the rain and such . . . . hopefully back cut and clean soon!

EDIT: The Plantation is for sell . . . expect the maintenance will be lacking now.

 Bring your short game!

1    4/22/2009   4/23/2009
Review By: tdortch
Played: 62  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really cool little course. It requires good shot placement and precision drives. There are uphill, downhill, valley, and if it's a dogleg, most of them are annie shot for RHBH. It is wooded, but not thick woods. The trees are very much in play though. Most holes are tight shots. I played the pro tees, but there are rec tees also. The doglegs are not like 90 degrees or anything, but more like curving fairways:

Quick run thru:

1. 380' downhill drive over a creek with a nearby highway, which you can hit if you don't watch it.
2. 210' tight uphill shot
3. 295' tighter uphill shot. The only line I saw was a sidearm "S" shot.
4. 300' valley shot ace run, also tight
5. 265' tight uphill dogleg left
6. 410' nice downhill dogleg left
7. 305' nice uphill dogleg left
8. 430' hardest hole on course due to very tight fairway and a tree that grows out in your way about 100' up. It makes you feel like you don't have a shot off the tee pad.
9. 295' uphill ace run
10. 360' downhill ace run with trees and ob and a creek
11. 260' very tough downhill blind shot thru lots of trees. I didn't really see a fairway, but a nice thumber put me close enough for an easy 3.
12. 250' tough narrow shot to pin
13. 270' big bending dogleg right. this one is the closest to a true dogleg hole, 250' are mostly straight, then you go right. Trees abound and it's not an open shot.
14. 260' uphill shot with ob road on right, which is also the best line. Big, thick pine trees are the fairway on this hole, so the road is the way to go.
15. 385' Big downhill/side of hill hole. The basket is in the flats, but the hill can make for a good skip. Ace run if you can get thru the guardian trees that surround the basket.
16. 315' Annie drive to a side of the hill basket. Tight off the teepad thru about 150' of trees to field.
17. 315' Downhill to the basket, surrounded by trees again aceable if you can get past the few well 'placed' trees.
18. 245' Uphill slight right, ace run.

Cons: It is a pay course, but I didn't mind it after I played. I did think the $3 was a bit excessive and it might keep folks away, but it was a fun course. Also, the tee signs all say there is 2 pin locations, but I didn't see any additional placements. There are 2 tee pads for every hole though.
Other Thoughts: The trees on this course are not thick by any means - it looks like someone's yard or something, but they are well used. When you get to holes 5 - 8, they are the thickest on the front. Then, for holes 11 - 14 it's the thickest on the back. Great signage and easy to navigate.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 good courses

1    2/24/2009   2/24/2009
Review By: discn dawg
Played: 77  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: i liked this course its laid out really well easy to follow from tee to tee short technical shots mostly
Cons: still arent any benches though its not very long around it so not really a big deal
Other Thoughts: it is a pay to play course but worth it to play a new course

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/4/2008   11/7/2008
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/25/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are 2 sets of tees (Pro and Am). There is a pretty good variety of length from hole to hole. You will need to throw straight, left, and right. There is also a decent amount of elevation, both up and down, with varying steepness.

Great tee signs, baskets, and pads. It was fairly easy to find the next hole. It is scenic, and somewhat unique, as it plays around the plantation style house up on the hill. The course was very clean and well-kept.

We had the course to ourselves, pay to play probably keeps many away.
Cons: Pay to play ($3/person M-Th, $5/person F-Su).
Some of the holes along the small creek were rather marshy and smelled a little like sewage.
Other Thoughts: Nice course and I enjoyed playing it once, but it is kind of in the middle of nowhere, so I would not go out of my way to play again. Check it out if you are close by. It looks like it would be a good place for a tournament using the plantation house as a club house.

This course is NOT part of Pickwick State Park, which is just 3 miles up the road from the Plantation. (I drove there first and the park office folks kindly directed to the course!)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/18/2007   9/30/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: DISCatcher baskets and 2 sets of concrete tee pads and tee signs for every hole, as well as multiple pin placements. Given the size of the property, this is a well designed course that makes great use of the trees and elevation change. The variety is good and the course is a lot of fun to play. The course is not super tight and technical, but there are not any long open shots to really stretch out your arm.

The plantation also has a small restaurant and has bathrooms. The course does loop back at the half way point.
Cons: This course is pay to play, at $3 during the week and $5 on weekends. The course is kind of in the middle of no where. There were no benches last time I played this course.
Other Thoughts: If you do not mind paying a small fee to play, then I would recommend playing this course. The owner is real friendly and had the course designed, with brand new baskets and all the tees concreted before the course was even opened for play. The course is well taken care of with very little underbrush. It is challenging and fun to play for all skill levels, thanks to the different sets of tees. As a blue level player, I like to think of the longer tees as the kind of course where every hole can be birdied with a good shot, but there are no gimmies and at the end of the round, you feel good to shoot under par. I believe the course record is currently at 6 down, but I am not sure what the pin placements were set at.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Decent

6/6/2008   7/30/2008
Review By: memphisDGdestroyer
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good use of elevation; multiple tees (as I recall); tee signs; not an easy course; not the prettiest course but definitely functional and worth playing
Cons: some holes lacked a fairway (it might be just me but I prefer to have somewhat of a fairway); that's about it
Other Thoughts: watch out for poison ivy and ants; bring lots of water

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful, New Course

5+    3/16/2011   7/1/2008
Review By: Kurt Hodges
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pickwick Plantation is a new course that plays and looks like a mature course. I would call it a medium length course, so big arms aren't a huge plus here. It has lots of topography and forces you to compensate for elevation differences. The course is very well taken care of and the concrete pads, baskets and signs are all top notch and very professional. Water, other than small streams, never comes into play, so there is no need to worry about floating disks. The course is fairly open, but has a really good mix of right and left breaks, with trees abounding, and it forces you to stay focused if you want to score.
Cons: I only have a couple of complaints about Pickwick Plantation. First, and the only reason it isn't a five star course, is that it could use a few more holes with a little length. Lastly it is a pay course, but the fees are nominal and worth it. Monday -Thursday it is $3 and Friday - Sunday it is $5. There is a box to leave your money in and it is on the honor system.
Other Thoughts: Pickwick Plantation is a must play golf course that is worth traveling to. If you are in the area, you would be crazy not to play it. Pickwick Plantation is an H. B. Clark designed course, and he did a wonderful job. I only wish it was closer so I could play it regularly.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.