Middletown, IA 
Drulis Park Share
Uploaded By: lazy42 Hole #4 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 177ft.   3 / 179ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Red Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun and quick!

2-4    5/4/2014   5/5/2014
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 70  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 14.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Easy access from the 4-lane highway
- Porta-john, and a few trash cans at the course.
- Very good navigation
- Older, but quite sufficient baskets in good shape.
- Great signs at each hole, although distances have mostly faded away. Show all the hole possibilities, as well as direction to the next hole. Bag hangers on all sign posts.
- Two tees and two pin placements on each hole. Most tees provide a different look and line, although a few are just longer.
- Good distance on a course in a park of this size. Surprising, actually.
- Some nice shots requiring you to throw under a reasonable green ceiling.
- Some nice shots over the little brook that runs through the park. #3 is especially unique with a shot window over a bridge about 200 feet out.
- #4, although short, is through a stand of mature trees that has some difficulty. The red and blue tees are pretty far apart too, which provides two entirely unique holes.
- #7 basket is guarded tightly by 3 large mature trees. Definitely makes you decide on how to approach the pin with your second shot.
Cons: - Hole #1 is not particularly clearly marked until you get right on it.
- Parking is nicely centrally located, but it is definitely in play on #9 for a RHBH drive that gets away from someone. So is #8 tee pad. And the porta-john.
- Some debris on #8 that needs to be cleared. Or burned. Also, the pin is close to some private property with a fence. Looks like shots go long all the time, and people have to stoop under the fence to go find discs.
- Some of the long holes don't have a lot going for them aside from their length (#5, #9)
- #9 has been redesigned, assumedly because of the electric pole and guy-wires that were installed in its fairway. So now the pads point the wrong direction, and the hole loses a little character.
Other Thoughts: - Very solid 9-hole park course, that's pretty well dedicated to disc golf. Don't think it gets a ton of play, but the fun factor is decent here. Pretty well designed for the land, which is scenic. Well worth the 30 minute stop if you're passing by. If I lived close by, I would be very content with this as a home course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    9/3/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice well maintained park.
-Signs with maps, Multiple Tee's per hole, Alt Pin placements, Bag Hooks, Concrete Tee's
-Porto on site
-You can make an 18 hole round out of the different tee's
-Easy to navigate
-Quite a few long distance drives.
-One risk/reward. Long distance shot, where you have to hit one of two gaps to make it through. Pretty tight, but I enjoyed it!
-Each hole has it's individual challenge. I definitely wouldn't call this an easy course
-Each fairway has multiple lines, but you will need to bring your finesse game here.
-Red and Blue tees
-Beginner Friendly
-Very conducive for tournament play
-Had a decent fun factor
-Very close to Highway 34 and very easy to access.
-Secluded and off by itself.
Cons: -The distances are faded on the sign
- #9 isn't marked on the map. (Probably recently relocated) The new location is near the parks entrance, just inside the bushes.
-Though I couldn't really think of any other major Cons for this course, my "Other Thoughts" will layout my feelings on this course.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course. It's a nice course that is tucked away in a nice park. I could see myself driving over from Mt Pleasant to play it again, maybe once or twice. It had long distance fairways, and it also requires you to use your finesse game. On the flip side though, I wouldn't drive out of my way to play here. However... If I lived in Middletown, I'd happily play here frequently.

Given the challenge of the holes, the course was still kind of Vanilla. The fun factor was okay, I had a good time. The challenge factor was definitely higher than I thought it would be. This course could definitely host a solid tournament.

It is right off highway 34, and it's easily accessible. (You can see it from the highway) There aren't many gas stations or restaurants nearby, so make sure you have your own liquids. Outside of chasing a disc that went into some woods, any type of clothing and footwear will be fine here.




3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Quiet Course

1    6/25/2013   6/25/2013
Review By: Caveman1829
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Entrance to course marked by the road clearly
-Use of the creek, shooting over it multiple times.
-Fair bit of obstacles: trees, creek, corners,etc.
-In an isolated area where only disc golf players will be and not typically busy (perfect if you have young kids/dog)
-Concrete tee pads (two for each hole)
Cons: -The picture for hole #9 shows inaccurate placement of hole
-Shrubbery could be trimmed up a bit
-Flat course
-Not a lot of parking & only a port-a-potty
-Distances for each hole were mostly worn off the signs
Other Thoughts: -Pictures for each hole are only by the blue pads not both.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/5/2010   3/8/2010
Review By: lazy42
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice simple course setting, park pretty much dedicated to DG. Porta John on site. Single trash can also.

Dual Tee's, Dual pin possibilities, though have only seen one set of pin locations used (except hole 9) in the year or so.

Has large number of fully grown trees in the park (mostly Walnut), they are used well within the layout of the course and on a few holes they protect the basket pretty well (4 and 7). Single creek that runs through course, that comes in to play on holes 3 and 6.
Cons: I remember seeing a sign about picnicking. That could be an issue if a group were to use the park for that, as the park is small, though has not been an issue anytime I was there.

Hole 5 is boring for this course, as it isn't wooded on that side, and doesn't fit in well with the rest of the course, but it does give you an opportunity to air it out.

Grass is way too tall. Seriously like shin height. Every time I've been here, either it has been like this, or just after a mow when clumps of grass everywhere.

Not enough elevation to worth noting.
Other Thoughts: There are many chances for 2's, but not necessarily gimmies. There are enough trees to make several of the holes difficult.

For a 9 hole course, I really liked it. Holes 3 and 4 are my favorite. On 3, you have to choose where to lay it up, as the trees near the creek can be difficult depending on your lie, then throwing across the creek and over the bridge (some can do this in one throw). Hole 4 is nice short hole, but difficult because of the trees near the tee and the basket.

If I am in the Burlington area and have a little time to waste, I will be hitting this course again. I'd rate this a 3 disc 9 holer, but the fact that the course isn't mowed enough, and playing in the fall with all the Walnuts on the ground I can't go above a 2.5.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Middle of the Road

1    1/31/2010   2/2/2010
Review By: Gflap
Played: 322  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 11.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park dedicated only to disc golf. Dual concrete tee pads each of decent length. 2 pin placements at every hole. Beautiful homemade baskets ( best homemade baskets I've ever seen ) Mature trees on most holes as obstacles. Creek comes into play on holes 2, 3 and 6. Tee signs on the long (blue) tee pads on 4x4s with bag hooks. 4x4 posts with bag hooks on short (red) tee pads. 2 nice bridges to cross the creek. Less than 1 mile off of US 34 outside of Burlington, IA. Varying distances and lines to baskets.
Cons: Course is mostly flat. No benches and only 1 trash can. Minimal parking.
Other Thoughts: Nice course to stop and play a quick nine. Mostly medium length holes with a couple of short ace runs. Favorite hole for me was # 7, a straight line with trees forcing one to alter the flight of your drive with 3 trees guarding the basket. Over 400 feet in length, providing for a precise approach for par. Although this course is lacking elevation changes, you still will require a variety of shots to maneuver through the trees. Worth a stop if in the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/23/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: Keokuk Discer
Played: 28  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in a cute little park and it is apparent that 9 holes are all that will ever fit on this course and make it competitive. There are no easy short holes either. Each uses the terrain and vegetation to create a fun yet challenging course. Each hole has two tees (neither too short) and multiple pin postions, one short and one long, and each hole has very good signs. The pins were all in the long postion when I played and that was fine by me.
Cons: This course is a little tricky to find, especially if you follow the directions given. I passed it twice before I found it. A larger sign might help to tell where the park is or one by the road at least. There is little or no elevation changes to speak of at all and the trees aren't huge obstacles. The tee signs could use a way of indicating which position the pin is in and at least on 1, the distances are missing on the blue tee.
Other Thoughts: If you want to play this course, follow these directions. After getting off I34 at the Middletown turnoff, turn right towards Middletown and then right again on J20, which is just past the I34 overpass. Drive kind of slow and you will see a good sized parking lot on your left after a 1/4 of a mile. Park there and the course is about 100 yards to the west, with tee one by the large sign.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 fun short course

10/1/2007   2/29/2008
Review By: lunk
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good set up for the size of the park, some nice long throws included.
Cons: 9 holes (all that could fit), parking a little tricky (don't enter where the sign is go a little east and enter the ammunition plant road and there is a little parking area)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.