Cheyenne, WY 
Dry Creek Parkway Share
Uploaded By: DGadvocate Hole #4
4 / 280ft.   3 / 460ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Dry Creek DGC

1    8/13/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 34  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) good use of trees and well protected baskets on most holes
2) two sets of tees
3) water comes into play, and is actually an obstical, on some holes
4) good variation of distances and design
Cons: 1) only long tees are cement, short tees are dirt are rutted out
2) not much elevation
3) confusing layout from holes 8-16
4) difficult to navigate and the course map is very inacurate, missed hole 12 and 13 compleatly and couldn't find 15s tee.
5) when i played it seem to not be mowed for more than 10 days
6) "bridges" that go ever holes 5 and 6 are more or less ballance beams
7) on most holes the creek is annoying rather than an obstical, because it is maybe a foot wide and a few inches deep
8) lots of holes play very close together
Other Thoughts: overall it's a less than average course, i do not plan on playing this course again. even if i am in the area, i would play one of the other courses in Cheyenne...which i hear from the locals are much better.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Extremely frustrating

1    9/3/2008   9/11/2008
Review By: Greg Layton
Played: 142  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2009
14 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Lots of history behind this course. As you'll read from the message board at the beginning of the course, this course has been a labor of love and a work in progress for over 10 years.
- Open with enough trees to keep things interesting. Big arms will need to show wind-awareness to have their disc wind up where they wanted it.
Cons: - Just about everything. Wind, absurdly abundant tall grass, a deep creek, and confusing pin positions all combine to make this the most frustrating and exasperating course I've played.
- It's hard to find places to get across the creek and quite a few times you'll get confused as to which side of the creek you and your disc need to be on.
- The grass deserves mentioning again... while the fairways are mowed, you'll find that you'll never actually be on them thanks to the obscene Wyoming wind. The rough grass seems to have never been mowed at all so you'll spend a lot of time and energy looking for your discs.
- The creek is hard to locate discs in, so on blind shots where you have to go over the creek (there are a lot of them) you'll just have to cross your fingers and hope you don't get wet.
- Poor pin positions due to nearby construction and the course just flat-out flows badly. There's also a jaw-dropping "Why on earth would I throw that?" hole (#15 I believe) that has you throwing at least 250-300 feet over a lake to a basket 5 feet from the water. Even if you make it over, which isn't a sure thing in the wind, you could easily throw your putter into the lake if you let your guard down.
- Flooding looks to be a real issue here, so there's a chance that you'll make the trip out here only to walk away without playing a single hole.
Other Thoughts: I really came to this course wanting to like it but I just couldn't find many redeeming qualities. There aren't many courses to play in Wyoming, but even when you bring that into consideration I'd recommend skipping this one.

--
Update November 2009: I was looking back over my ratings and noticed that this is the lowest course that I've rated on this site. In retrospect, this is far from the worst course I've played, so I've added a disc to my rating to align it with a couple of similar courses that I've seen in my travels.

14 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Consruction blues

1    8/22/2008   9/1/2008
Review By: dosahl
Played: 38  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2008
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course had nice variety of hole lengths and difficulty. Crossed the creek a number of times.
Cons: Hole marking from 10-14 was difficult. Hard to find tee boxes from basket often times. It was not a simipple here to there walk. There was construction that also hindered tee box and basket play. we had to skip a few holes because of this.
Other Thoughts: The course was easy to find with the instructions on this site.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.