Cheyenne, WY 
Dry Creek Parkway Share
Uploaded By: srm_520 Hole #9 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 185ft.   3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Best course in town

5+    4/20/2014   4/25/2014
Review By: zmangin
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1. 18-hole course. Air Force base course is only other 18-holer in town. Need a pass to get on base to play that one though.
2. Hole #1 is my favorite. It is very aceable.
3. Easily navigable.
Cons: 1. Kinda muddy sometimes esp on back 9. Forget about playing after a heavy rain.
2. Horse manure near hole #15 usually.
3. One hole has a big orange net in front of tee box. Kinda annoying but park is trying to get a tree to grow there.
Other Thoughts: Dry creek isn't usually dry. A stream flows through and affects a few of the holes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

WInd and Water

1    4/10/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 68  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 2.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This 18 hole course is built along a creek and takes great advantage of the vegetation growing along the creek, and the creek itself. Given the small width of the creek, I was surprised at how many holes brought the water into play.

Nice range of hole lengths from 200' out to about 600'.

Two tees for each hole with concrete for the white tee and a natural red tee. The are 2-5 pin locations available for each hole as well and the pin positions are far enough apart to give different looks to the holes.

Great use of the trees and brush along the creek to impact the line to the basket. Hole 4 requires a straight drive to stay out of the trees on the right and the creek on the left. Hole 5 actually crosses the creek and requires that you hit a gap in the trees to get over safely. If you end up in the creekside brush you may be limited to just pitching back out.

Hole 15 is a nice challenge as the basket is close to the bank on the far side of a pond. You have the choice of laying up right, laying up left, or going directly for the basket at about 300'. Even with a layup the basket is so tight to the pond that your approach will likely end up well past the pin.

Course flow is decent, but having the map helped me know which way to look in a few spots.
Cons: Little elevation change along the course.

Navigation can get a little confusing, especially in the area of Holes 10, 11, and 12. The course has apparently been changed since the pads were poured, and the pads for Holes 10 and 11 have been swapped. But the original hole numbers are still cast into the pads, so it is confusing for first-timers. There is a new pad poured for Hole 12 that is up in a corner and a little off the beaten path.

Many of the alternate pads are just places in the dirt, so they we uneven and a little muddy when we played.

The 4x4 post at each tee pads gives a distance, but depending on which location the basket is in that distance could be significantly off.
Other Thoughts: I played three of the courses in Cheyenne (missed the AFB) and found this to be the best of the lot. Good variety of hole lengths and lines, use of the creek and the ever-present wind make this a challenging course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A fun course. Best in Cheyenne

2-4    5/14/2013   5/15/2013
Review By: bcos4life
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A really fun course with some great pin placements. It is rarely an open shot that you can just go for. Trees, creeks, and bushes are always around.

Good mix of short shots, and one's that you can stretch your arm on.

The use of water is second to none. Rarely are you not throwing over/around/before water.

Great tee pads. Only one is an addition to sidewalk.

Fairways are mowed to increase skips and make it easier to figure out where you are going.

A few level changes, but not too many.
Cons: Signage is either missing, or damaged. The course is oddly maintained. Trash is prevalent, but the rest looks great.

Baskets are a little lower than usual.

Some of the foliage, brush, and grass is very mean. Tore my legs up.
Other Thoughts: It might be a little frustrating for a newer player due to the technical nature of the putting, the constant presence of water, and the usual lack of conventional drives.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Do Not Look At Listed Par

1    7/2/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 98  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For the piece of land that this course was on I thought the design was very good forcing some narrow alleys to shoot through and making water come into play while giving a good variety in shots and distances. The tee pads were rather nice as it appears they recently put in cement tee pads. The baskets were all in good condition and consistent in type.
Cons: The worst part about this course was the bugs, I was eaten alive, literally. The par listed for each hole was more for the casual player and I do not think all the distances were accurate. (Hole six did not feel like 600 ft and was definately not a par 5, I took all of three shots on the hole) Constructions has forced a few minor changes to the course temporarily.
Other Thoughts: This course was a pleasent surprise to me as I felt that it was a very good course for the setting. The bugs really got to me part of the way through my round, to the point where it affected my game physically and mentally. I did kill a bunch of skeeters though so hopefully you won't have to be bothered by them. This is not an amazing course but is a lot of fun and is worth a stop if you are driving on I-80 through Wyoming.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I Don't Wanna be a Cowboy

7/13/2008   7/20/2008
Review By: macilsoul
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 27.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a good variety of lengths and is laid out in a manner that is intuitive. You can see the next tee from the basket. The addition of multiple basket placements has tightened up some of the areas of the course, so it kind of corrupted the Houck design, but also added to the length and interest of the course. Thank goodness it is never really congested. The change to the Mach V has been welcomed even if I still can't make a putt. This course maximizes use of the creek, pond and trees. Some locals have taken it upon themselves to prune the available foliage with mixed results. As trees added mature, this course may be quite interesting. The tee pads are generally nice with the 15th tee being short as a result of being perched on a small hill on top of a culvert.
Cons: Despite the openness of the course, I spend a lot of time looking for my discs. It could just be my errant shots, but the grass, as noted in other reviews, does have a tendency to eat discs. Watch for flooding and bring your antihistamine if you have any allergies. The pond is not a place to search for discs and with the new basket across the pond, there are more in there all the time.
Other Thoughts: If you don't play well in wind you won't play in Cheyenne (or Laramie for that matter). I have an affinity for this, my home course even with its shortcomings.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 No Pushover

1    3/28/2008   3/28/2008
Review By: DGadvocate
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 39.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/20/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A John Houck designed course, he made use of every one of the few trees and the creek that runs through the middle of the course. There is OB potential on more than half of the holes as a result of the creek, the bike path, the road, or neighbors yards. 3 and 4 are tough, long, narrow fairways when they're in the long position. New trees on 8 and 9 make these short holes a little more technical and difficult than the sure birdies they once were. There are some good opportunities to open up and let it rip on a few holes, but you'll pay for inaccuracy because of the creek and the tall grass which serves as a rough on the edges of the mowed fairways.
Cons: No restrooms. Cheyenne can be a very windy place at times. If you can't throw in the wind, make sure you check the weather forecast because strong winds are possible, but locals consider the wind an added challenge.

Don't go near the course for a couple of days after a heavy rain because it's built in a flood plain and will be very boggy, especially since the city put in a bike path crossing with culverts 1/3 the size of the creek bed. Little change in elevation, several holes still need more trees. Entering the pond on 15 to retrieve a disc is dangerous due to sharp objects which have resulted in serious lacerations requiring stitches to many feet.
Other Thoughts: Everything good about this course can be credited to John Houck, who made a silk purse out of a sow's ear here. Any complaints about the redesign (alternate pin placements, crossing fairways) belong with me.

Parks has agreed to supply Tee signs which we hope to get installed in early 2010.

This course has come a long way in the last few years through the efforts of many volunteers and the great cooperation of the Cheyenne Parks and Forestry Departments; cement Tee Pads, Mach V baskets replaced the old Discatchers, three pin placements for each hole, 30 new trees that'll some day make a big difference.

Keep your eye on your disc, the fairways are cut tight in the summer and the High Plains Grasses will gobble them up (makes up for the lack of trees I guess) so disc placement is important.

The Cheyenne "breeze", when it kicks in, adds to the challenge, sometimes insanely so.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.