Cheyenne, WY 
Dry Creek Parkway Share
Uploaded By: srm_520 Hole #1 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 220ft.   3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    6/14/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: optimalben
Played: 22  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 16.3 Years
Other Thoughts: I just played this course this summer, and I had a great time; I also closed out with two 2's on 17 and 18 including a near skip ace on 17 where it bounced up and hit the basket. I'm rating it a little lower (from a critic's point of view) compared to how much I enjoyed the course. A couple drawbacks for a first timer (especially) is that the course is so compact that you occasionally end up aiming at the wrong pins. This is something that you can learn the 2nd time around, but navigation was a bit tricky the 1st time. In general I like how the course is laid out, but it still needs a bit of polish, e.g., hole diagrams, signs pointing you to the next tee, all of the tees paved (some are currently). Maybe this one doesn't have to be like other "nice" courses with these amenities, though, because I really enjoyed playing this compact casual, yet challenging, course. And though I didn't personally get any discs wet, the water could be a major factor.

 Fun course offering some good challenges

1    3/31/2012   4/1/2012
Review By: tbsox
Played: 40  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers great variety with a great use of obstacles. The course is built around a small flowing creek and a small lake of which one of the 2 comes into play on most holes. The creek is not deep enough to eat your discs and retrieval is possible if you do end up in the creek. Of the 2 water hazards it plays more often.

The lake makes for a great marque hole (15). It is a great risk reward hole (it looks more likely to eat your disc than the creek).

I am also a big fan of hole 12 which I think is new. Its a downward look to the hole and has a few trees which once fully grown will make for a great hole design.

Overall the course is fair and balanced. It is a good fun option.
Cons: I don't see the point behind the amateur tees. Most only cut about 15 feet off the hole and really don't change the look of the hole to make it any easier, they are not padded (dirt only).

5 is a partially blind drive. It is not the hole which is clearly visible to the tee pad at the beginning (its actually 18).

13 and 14 are disappointing given the rest of the course. They are both wide open slightly slopped holes with no obstacles and not any significant amount of length.
Other Thoughts: There are a few redesign issues at the time I played I figure they will be worked out in short order. Some of the tee boxes are mismarked ( and if you've never played it before 9, 10, 11 area) the redesign has made these holes more cleanly ordered so playing the logical hole rather than the marked hole (the hole numbers are marked into the concrete on some holes) is going to get you to the right place. The area around the course had me believing I was in the wrong place (its in a neighborhood) but sure enough the coordinates were right on the money.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Soggy and Challenging

1    8/5/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: dborrego
Played: 65  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained course. It has several aceable holes (i got my very first and second aces on back to back holes 12 and 13). It also has some challenging and technical shots. Some of the baskets are tucked behind trees or shrubbery.
Cons: Most of the hole markers are broken and/or missing. The town has been hit with several rain storms so many of the fairways were very soggy with a lot of standing water.
Other Thoughts: I cant wait to play it again. Its a nice short rewarding course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice course, lots of risk v.s reward

1    8/30/2009   8/31/2009
Review By: Harrishabitat
Played: 134  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great design, you can tell this was a professionally thought out course. Starts of with two easy holes to get you started then gets technical. Hole 6 par 5 was a great hole. Decent signs and tee pads. This course is just a few small tweeks away from being a exceptional course.
Cons: Sometimes finding the next hole can be confussiong, some arrows or a small sign would go a long way.
Other Thoughts: I sadly had to catch a plane out of Denver in a few hours so I was only able to play the first 11 holes, but those were great. Park rat (lonely 12 year old kid) followed me around and was annoying and tried to get me to pay him to find my discs. There were a few times that I was not able to figure out where I was supposed to go for the next hole, some signs would be very helpful for first timers. All in all, I would love to play a tourney here, it would be a lot of fun,

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/29/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: GDisc
Played: 58  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6.3 Years
Pros: Variety of distance makes this course an instant desirable course. It provides a tradional ball course feel playing up and down the "Dry Creek".
Cons: Very windy everytime I have been there, but it is Cheyenne so have to expect that coming in. The course has a map at Hole 1 but other than that is not very well marked. Holes play too close to each other.
Other Thoughts: I first checked this course out with a buddy in the Spring of 2009 and we had drove up from Colorado. We got up early and drove excitedly to Cheyenn just to find out the course was completely under water. Dry Creek had quickly filled up from the mountain snow drain and we were unable to even throw one disc due to the water. 6 months later I met up with a buddy in Cheyenne and we checked it out again. It was dry and ready to go. I enjoy the course, especially the variety of distance, but also think that the design could be improved!!!

 An Ever Evolving Course

5+    6/29/2009   1/26/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2010
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (June 09 update - Half the pin locations have been moved to give the course a new look. One local told me that a few people have basically made the course their baby and move two or three pins a month. Whether or not I agree with the new locations, it's admirable to see when a course is loved and cared for.)

This course is well marked, full size concrete pads on most tees (even some ladies tees), water challenges (a creek plays through most holes), shot style and length variation, and even a few elevation changes. The park service is working on planting more trees every year, so when the last of the concrete tees are installed, and the trees mature a little more - this is absolutely the ideal course.

Hole one and two are definite possible ace holes, but other holes are between 400' and 600' feet depending on the tee box you play. Most are par threes, but three holes are designated par four and hole #6 is a par five.

If a person needs to learn to play the game or hone their drives in this mostly still open course - this place is perfect. Really this course is perfect for just about anyone.

BEST HOLE/S: #6; #15
Cons: (June 09 update - Hole 12 and the hill it used to be on is gone due to greenway construction, but will be replaced when it's done. Also, many distances on the tees are inaccurate due to the movement of pins.)

It's in Cheyenne, so half the year it's nice, and the other half is covered in snow. Wind is usually always a factor in Cheyenne, and I believe hole 11 is under water any time it rains, which is usually just spring and early summer.

Some people would complain that some holes are way too easy and others are too hard based on length and openness, but to each their own. Based on the courses age, and the time it takes for a tree to grow in Wyoming, it may be years before this course reaches it true potential.

WORST HOLE/S: #2; #11
Other Thoughts: (June 09 update - I feel the course has fallen a bit since hole 12 is gone, and that the signage has fallen into disrepair. However, this is still a very solid course, and the updated pin placements were great to see. If people could get a course map, and simply show the alternate placements - it would be a huge improvement. Plus - the future looks bright for most Cheyenne courses.)

This is the first course I ever played on, and if the weather is nice and calm - it may be one of the best courses I've ever played. However, in Cheyenne it could be calm and sunny on hole 1 and it be blowing and snowing by hole 9, but it's still really fun.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 My Alma Mater

3/23/2008   3/23/2008
Review By: crimescsemirc
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Like DG Tourist states, nice shot variety. Great open holes where you can really test your arm without to much fear of tree-on collisions. Hole 15 has a nasty pond that has swallowed many a disc. A friend and I followed a disc in there one day and it is the nastiest stale drainage water ever. I don't recommend it. Also, another friend of mine walked in, cut his foot, and had to get stitches. Alot of aceable holes though I've never been so lucky...
Cons: Not good in insane blizzards. DG Tourist and I played this course in about 10 degrees with 40mph winds and heavy snow. It was perhaps the worst six minutes of my life before we hightailed back to the car in pain. Also, some of the layout changes made for more congestion.
Other Thoughts: If you've got an appetite for chains there's no reason not to play this course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.