Disc Golf Store
Cheyenne, WY 
Dry Creek Parkway Share
Uploaded By: srm_520 Hole #11 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 275ft.   3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 

1    8/29/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: GDisc
Played: 58  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6.6 Years
Pros: Variety of distance makes this course an instant desirable course. It provides a tradional ball course feel playing up and down the "Dry Creek".
Cons: Very windy everytime I have been there, but it is Cheyenne so have to expect that coming in. The course has a map at Hole 1 but other than that is not very well marked. Holes play too close to each other.
Other Thoughts: I first checked this course out with a buddy in the Spring of 2009 and we had drove up from Colorado. We got up early and drove excitedly to Cheyenn just to find out the course was completely under water. Dry Creek had quickly filled up from the mountain snow drain and we were unable to even throw one disc due to the water. 6 months later I met up with a buddy in Cheyenne and we checked it out again. It was dry and ready to go. I enjoy the course, especially the variety of distance, but also think that the design could be improved!!!

 Do Not Look At Listed Par

1    7/2/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 101  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For the piece of land that this course was on I thought the design was very good forcing some narrow alleys to shoot through and making water come into play while giving a good variety in shots and distances. The tee pads were rather nice as it appears they recently put in cement tee pads. The baskets were all in good condition and consistent in type.
Cons: The worst part about this course was the bugs, I was eaten alive, literally. The par listed for each hole was more for the casual player and I do not think all the distances were accurate. (Hole six did not feel like 600 ft and was definately not a par 5, I took all of three shots on the hole) Constructions has forced a few minor changes to the course temporarily.
Other Thoughts: This course was a pleasent surprise to me as I felt that it was a very good course for the setting. The bugs really got to me part of the way through my round, to the point where it affected my game physically and mentally. I did kill a bunch of skeeters though so hopefully you won't have to be bothered by them. This is not an amazing course but is a lot of fun and is worth a stop if you are driving on I-80 through Wyoming.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 An Ever Evolving Course

5+    6/29/2009   1/26/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2010
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (June 09 update - Half the pin locations have been moved to give the course a new look. One local told me that a few people have basically made the course their baby and move two or three pins a month. Whether or not I agree with the new locations, it's admirable to see when a course is loved and cared for.)

This course is well marked, full size concrete pads on most tees (even some ladies tees), water challenges (a creek plays through most holes), shot style and length variation, and even a few elevation changes. The park service is working on planting more trees every year, so when the last of the concrete tees are installed, and the trees mature a little more - this is absolutely the ideal course.

Hole one and two are definite possible ace holes, but other holes are between 400' and 600' feet depending on the tee box you play. Most are par threes, but three holes are designated par four and hole #6 is a par five.

If a person needs to learn to play the game or hone their drives in this mostly still open course - this place is perfect. Really this course is perfect for just about anyone.

BEST HOLE/S: #6; #15
Cons: (June 09 update - Hole 12 and the hill it used to be on is gone due to greenway construction, but will be replaced when it's done. Also, many distances on the tees are inaccurate due to the movement of pins.)

It's in Cheyenne, so half the year it's nice, and the other half is covered in snow. Wind is usually always a factor in Cheyenne, and I believe hole 11 is under water any time it rains, which is usually just spring and early summer.

Some people would complain that some holes are way too easy and others are too hard based on length and openness, but to each their own. Based on the courses age, and the time it takes for a tree to grow in Wyoming, it may be years before this course reaches it true potential.

WORST HOLE/S: #2; #11
Other Thoughts: (June 09 update - I feel the course has fallen a bit since hole 12 is gone, and that the signage has fallen into disrepair. However, this is still a very solid course, and the updated pin placements were great to see. If people could get a course map, and simply show the alternate placements - it would be a huge improvement. Plus - the future looks bright for most Cheyenne courses.)

This is the first course I ever played on, and if the weather is nice and calm - it may be one of the best courses I've ever played. However, in Cheyenne it could be calm and sunny on hole 1 and it be blowing and snowing by hole 9, but it's still really fun.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Extremely frustrating

1    9/3/2008   9/11/2008
Review By: Greg Layton
Played: 143  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2009
14 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Lots of history behind this course. As you'll read from the message board at the beginning of the course, this course has been a labor of love and a work in progress for over 10 years.
- Open with enough trees to keep things interesting. Big arms will need to show wind-awareness to have their disc wind up where they wanted it.
Cons: - Just about everything. Wind, absurdly abundant tall grass, a deep creek, and confusing pin positions all combine to make this the most frustrating and exasperating course I've played.
- It's hard to find places to get across the creek and quite a few times you'll get confused as to which side of the creek you and your disc need to be on.
- The grass deserves mentioning again... while the fairways are mowed, you'll find that you'll never actually be on them thanks to the obscene Wyoming wind. The rough grass seems to have never been mowed at all so you'll spend a lot of time and energy looking for your discs.
- The creek is hard to locate discs in, so on blind shots where you have to go over the creek (there are a lot of them) you'll just have to cross your fingers and hope you don't get wet.
- Poor pin positions due to nearby construction and the course just flat-out flows badly. There's also a jaw-dropping "Why on earth would I throw that?" hole (#15 I believe) that has you throwing at least 250-300 feet over a lake to a basket 5 feet from the water. Even if you make it over, which isn't a sure thing in the wind, you could easily throw your putter into the lake if you let your guard down.
- Flooding looks to be a real issue here, so there's a chance that you'll make the trip out here only to walk away without playing a single hole.
Other Thoughts: I really came to this course wanting to like it but I just couldn't find many redeeming qualities. There aren't many courses to play in Wyoming, but even when you bring that into consideration I'd recommend skipping this one.

--
Update November 2009: I was looking back over my ratings and noticed that this is the lowest course that I've rated on this site. In retrospect, this is far from the worst course I've played, so I've added a disc to my rating to align it with a couple of similar courses that I've seen in my travels.

14 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    7/18/2008   9/1/2008
Review By: CBass
Played: 85  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/18/2009
10 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Variety of shots on holes. Fun to play. I personally love this course because it is quite challenging even with some pars at 4 or 5. Winds are calm earlier in the day. Risk / reward shots abound. Water comes into play on most holes. Signage with par designations. Concrete tees (dual). Many places to cross the creek by means of I-beams and what not. Being in Cheyenne, there's not often a wait on the tee box. This course challenges me more and more throughout the years with the addition and growth of foliage on the course.
Cons: Breezy. No public restrooms. Watch out for the giant Russian Olive Grove on the front nine, where you can get scraped up pretty bad!! The tall grass and overgrowth near the creek can make finding discs a challenge, so keep an eye on your shots.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy making this trip from the Colorado front range to play. The highway traffic is much lighter than going south to Denver and the course is always wide open for play. Perfect day trip. Shoot 18, eat lunch nearby, get discs nearby, shoot another 18. I like to see the positive changes made to the course over the years, it keeps getting better.

10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Consruction blues

1    8/22/2008   9/1/2008
Review By: dosahl
Played: 38  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2008
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course had nice variety of hole lengths and difficulty. Crossed the creek a number of times.
Cons: Hole marking from 10-14 was difficult. Hard to find tee boxes from basket often times. It was not a simipple here to there walk. There was construction that also hindered tee box and basket play. we had to skip a few holes because of this.
Other Thoughts: The course was easy to find with the instructions on this site.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 I Don't Wanna be a Cowboy

7/13/2008   7/20/2008
Review By: macilsoul
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 27.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a good variety of lengths and is laid out in a manner that is intuitive. You can see the next tee from the basket. The addition of multiple basket placements has tightened up some of the areas of the course, so it kind of corrupted the Houck design, but also added to the length and interest of the course. Thank goodness it is never really congested. The change to the Mach V has been welcomed even if I still can't make a putt. This course maximizes use of the creek, pond and trees. Some locals have taken it upon themselves to prune the available foliage with mixed results. As trees added mature, this course may be quite interesting. The tee pads are generally nice with the 15th tee being short as a result of being perched on a small hill on top of a culvert.
Cons: Despite the openness of the course, I spend a lot of time looking for my discs. It could just be my errant shots, but the grass, as noted in other reviews, does have a tendency to eat discs. Watch for flooding and bring your antihistamine if you have any allergies. The pond is not a place to search for discs and with the new basket across the pond, there are more in there all the time.
Other Thoughts: If you don't play well in wind you won't play in Cheyenne (or Laramie for that matter). I have an affinity for this, my home course even with its shortcomings.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 No Pushover

1    3/28/2008   3/28/2008
Review By: DGadvocate
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 39.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/20/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A John Houck designed course, he made use of every one of the few trees and the creek that runs through the middle of the course. There is OB potential on more than half of the holes as a result of the creek, the bike path, the road, or neighbors yards. 3 and 4 are tough, long, narrow fairways when they're in the long position. New trees on 8 and 9 make these short holes a little more technical and difficult than the sure birdies they once were. There are some good opportunities to open up and let it rip on a few holes, but you'll pay for inaccuracy because of the creek and the tall grass which serves as a rough on the edges of the mowed fairways.
Cons: No restrooms. Cheyenne can be a very windy place at times. If you can't throw in the wind, make sure you check the weather forecast because strong winds are possible, but locals consider the wind an added challenge.

Don't go near the course for a couple of days after a heavy rain because it's built in a flood plain and will be very boggy, especially since the city put in a bike path crossing with culverts 1/3 the size of the creek bed. Little change in elevation, several holes still need more trees. Entering the pond on 15 to retrieve a disc is dangerous due to sharp objects which have resulted in serious lacerations requiring stitches to many feet.
Other Thoughts: Everything good about this course can be credited to John Houck, who made a silk purse out of a sow's ear here. Any complaints about the redesign (alternate pin placements, crossing fairways) belong with me.

Parks has agreed to supply Tee signs which we hope to get installed in early 2010.

This course has come a long way in the last few years through the efforts of many volunteers and the great cooperation of the Cheyenne Parks and Forestry Departments; cement Tee Pads, Mach V baskets replaced the old Discatchers, three pin placements for each hole, 30 new trees that'll some day make a big difference.

Keep your eye on your disc, the fairways are cut tight in the summer and the High Plains Grasses will gobble them up (makes up for the lack of trees I guess) so disc placement is important.

The Cheyenne "breeze", when it kicks in, adds to the challenge, sometimes insanely so.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 My Alma Mater

3/23/2008   3/23/2008
Review By: crimescsemirc
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Like DG Tourist states, nice shot variety. Great open holes where you can really test your arm without to much fear of tree-on collisions. Hole 15 has a nasty pond that has swallowed many a disc. A friend and I followed a disc in there one day and it is the nastiest stale drainage water ever. I don't recommend it. Also, another friend of mine walked in, cut his foot, and had to get stitches. Alot of aceable holes though I've never been so lucky...
Cons: Not good in insane blizzards. DG Tourist and I played this course in about 10 degrees with 40mph winds and heavy snow. It was perhaps the worst six minutes of my life before we hightailed back to the car in pain. Also, some of the layout changes made for more congestion.
Other Thoughts: If you've got an appetite for chains there's no reason not to play this course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/15/2009   3/1/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/22/2009
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is a good use of trees creek and pond making every hole unique in one way or another. It is easy to follow along and there are plenty of locals that will help. Overall the shots are open and favor a big arm but the baskets are usually accompanied by trees or water. There is plenty of shot variety options available. Although I wouldn't say it is a hard course. I can recogmmend this course for any skill level. The city is mowing the course quite often and the pin positions are moved enough to keep it fresh.
Cons: The layout is congestive to play so on the rare occasion when it gets busy, players on holes three or four ahead because of the need to backtrack. With the baskets for some holes located behind the tee boxes for the next holes forcing you not only to wait one hole but the next hole as well. One fairway, number 10, has players walking back into the fairway they came forcing play to wait more. The weeds in the middle of the fairway or near the creek can hide a disc easily. After rain the course will be flooded. There are no signs informing new players where the next tee box is. I see lost people all the time, checking the kioks is always a good idea here, even for peopl who have played it 100 times.
Other Thoughts: Cheyenne is a windy place.

Course flow hints and trouble spots. Number 5 is on the other side of the creek, often times players aim for the 18 basket in front of them. You must cross the street and follow the creek to play nember seve. The tee box for number 10 is back and to the east of number 9 by the bike path, not beyond 9. 12 plays behind the bushes near the11 fairway (because of construction). The tee box for 13 is normally where the construction is currently taking place, as well as the basket for 12. Starting at 14, the course again picks up a logical flow.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.