Mitchell, SD 
Dry Run Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: andyman Hole #7 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 270ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Great collection of holes, but some issues

2-4    7/23/2016   7/25/2016
Review By: cydisc
Played: 192  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 20.5 Years
Pros: - Concrete pads
- Good terrain
- Very well designed holes (more on that below)
Cons: - Flow of the course could be improved
- Potentially dangerous conflicts with other holes and other park facilities
- Inconvenient location of parking lots
- some of the tee signs are missing or damaged.
Other Thoughts: The course is in a narrow greenbelt type park that runs along Dry Run Creek. Baskets are in good condition and there are adequately sized concrete tees and mostly good signage. The topography is very interesting and utilizes the available elevation, trees and water very well in its design.

Taken individually, the holes are as well designed and fun to play as I've seen in a course. However, there are some glaring problems with the course when judged as a whole. The first issue is the location of parking. There are two parking lots that serve the course. One is located near the first tee. The other is located near the #18 basket. Unfortunately, #1 and #18 are quite far apart, so you'll either have a long walk (roughly 1000 feet) to start the course or a long walk at the end.

Next issue is how the course relates to other park uses. There is a multi-use path that runs through the park and some of the holes will play near or across the path. For the most part, any people on the path are visible and it's easy enough to suspend play until it's clear. However, there is at least one location where the path is in a blind spot and it is possible that someone could be struck with a disc thrown from the tee.

There are some holes that cross each other, or some in close proximity to each other, so that it's quite possible to throw into a group playing another hole. As noted in another review, there are some places where it's not obvious which basket you are playing to, as there are a few baskets close to one another.

Finally, adding to the confusion, the course has been redesigned from the original configuration, so there are many new tee locations. However, the old tees remain in the ground.

In summary, it's a park with a lot of potential for greatness, but the execution as some problems. It's a fun course to play, but you have to be familiar with the course and be careful around other park uses.

Dry Run Creek is Getting a Little Tired

1    7/18/2016   7/18/2016
Review By: Rossome
Played: 182  Reviewed: 15
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you are making the trek across South Dakota on I-90, this is a nice stop to break the long hours on the road. I read the reviews and expected a bit more. I also noted that the reviews were 2-5 years old.
- Nice park with some beautiful mature trees
- Good tee pads (multiple on some holes)
- Restrooms and trash cans around the park
- At first appearance it looked like a short jaunt around a neighborhood park, but I was pleased to discover some distance and variety

Cons: - Despite what others have said, this is a multi-use park with a skatepark at one end, playground, and walking/bike trail through the middle
- I did have to wait for walkers, skateboarders, and kids playing at one of the cages
- Difficult to navigate. I ended up playing to the wrong basket twice and it was not intuitive which tee pads were in use, which were alternate, and which were "old".
- Several signs were missing and no indications of direction to next tee
- We parked in the suggested lot and it was a long walk to find the map board and tee #1 over by the skate park
Other Thoughts: This course was in a nice setting and overall a decent disc golf experience. With some tee signs missing, no markings on the tee pads (would be easy to paint a number in blue or white in the back left hand corner) and no clues to find the next tee pad, I rated it a 2.5. Even some of the numbers on the baskets were faded or missing. With a little TLC and simple navigation aids (painting or taping the basket spoke pointing to the next tee pad), it would jump a full point to a 3.5.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Pleasant Round in a Nice Park

1    7/4/2014   7/6/2014
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 125  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Innova Discatchers that catch well
-Good concrete tee-pads
-Nice tee-signs that show the distance of each hole, each pin position, and a good layout of each hole
-Multiple tee-pads on many of the holes and most holes have multiple pin positions too.
-A decent variety of distance on this course. There are a couple holes over 500, including one hole at about 660 feet. A majority of the holes are under 300 besides those couple holes, but overall the distances on the holes didn't feel repetitive.
-This course has a good variety of holes. There are a couple of tightly wooded holes, some mainly wide open holes, and then a bunch of holes that use the available trees well to force some shot shaping.
-The dry creek (though it wasn't dry when we were there) is used well on 3 or 4 holes to add some nice risk/reward. The creek is fairly overgrown and an errant shot could make the next shot a little more difficult.
-There is a good use of the available elevation on this course. There are several uphill holes and several downhill holes.
-Well groomed pleasant park
-The park wasn't very crowded even though we played on a very nice 4th of July day.
Cons: -Course can be hard to navigate. There are a lot of baskets and tee-pads in the same area, so it is not always clear, tee-pad or basket you are throwing to next. There are also some old tee-pads that appear to no longer be in use, which makes it more confusing. Removal of the unused tee-pads would help a bit. Expect to spend some time walking around and backtracking while looking for the next tee-pad.
-A lot of holes play quite close to each other and on a couple holes over each other. If the course is crowded, I would keep an eye out for incoming discs.
-While I like some of the added risk/reward of the creek, it is quite overgrown so you could lose a disc in it.
-While there were some fun holes non of the holes were very memorable or super challenging.
-A couple of the holes felt like filler holes, mostly holes 10 and 11, while they did throw over the dry creek, they weren't very challenging or very long and just felt boring.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a fun course. It has some good holes but nothing that is super memorable. Overall, it is a fun round in a pleasant park. Of the two courses in Mitchell, it is by the far the better course. If you are looking for a round while in Mitchell this is the course to go to.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 very good course

1    6/26/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: adazm
Played: 32  Reviewed: 31
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: was mostly easy to follow, only had trouble sussing out tee pads and baskets on a couple holes.
course goes along a creek, which is always a treat. one hole across water in a pleasing way.
if the walkways are played as OB, the course is quite challenging.
enough trees to be respectable, though not overtly challenging.
NOBODY was there, so that was better than battling crowds.
very little chance of losing a disc if you stay away from the creek.
happy short green grass!
a few very long holes which was fun.
also a super clever use of an ancient stone wall as a barrier for a shorter down hill basket.
Cons: stupid hot and humid at 10am, but hardly the courses fault.
not totally flat, but certainly not hilly.
sadly nothing amazing about course, but in no way was it a disappointment.
Other Thoughts: 5th of 9 dg course played on road trip that week. this one was the LEAST spectacular, but was certainly worth checking out if in area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    6/20/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 364  Reviewed: 357  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Dual tees and multiple baskets keep this course fresh. The tees are concrete and the baskets are nice DISCatchers.
-Creek and a good amount of well-placed trees provide a bit of variety and challenge
-The pipe hole- Valkyrie kid said it was hole 2 but I'm pretty sure it was hole 7. In any case, it was a unique challenge.
-The wooded hole, 15, where you have a few choices of lanes to throw down is pretty fun
-A few chances at aces and many chances at birdies.
-Other than the trail, this is a disc golf only course.
-Shouldn't be too busy ever.
-Nice sign at the start, I would recommend studying it for a bit or taking a picture!
Cons: -The layout could be a bit better. For me, it was often hard to tell which position the hole was in and sometimes you could see multiple pins. There were also a lot of dual tees which kind of confused me.
-Could be fairly buggy at times but it usually isn't too bad.
-May be able to lose a disc in the creek or the surrounding long grass. I found one with a name and number and texted it and they came to get it before I finished my round.
-The course isn't overwhelmingly long.
-In a low floodplain near the creek so there may be standing water on some parts
Other Thoughts: This course was a pretty fun course outside of being unable to navigate it at times. I think they may have messed with the layout recently which makes it a bit harder. This course is a recreational or intermediate level. I usually play advanced in tourneys and I shot about 7 under 54 par. I would recommend stopping here as it is the only 18 hole course for miles and the last course of any kind on I-90 all the way to Rapid City.

Xtreme trends in downtown Mitchell has an impressive selection of Disccraft and Innovas.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Unique Intermediate Course In A Lovely Park!

1    7/14/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1005  Reviewed: 955  Exp: 38.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dry Run Creek makes a favorable impression right off bat with a great informative course sign showing a map along with the hole distances. The course has nice large concrete pads, great Innova baskets with yellow rings and numbers facing the right way (thank you) and nice tee signs with the hole number, distances and the sponsers name on each.
The course starts off well with # 1 being a fun little downhill anhyser shot. Then # 2 could be the signature hole on the course. The "Pipe Hole" is just 234' but there is this big old water(?) pipe right in the way of your tee. Hit the pipe and your disc could end up in the creek. Makes this basic little hole a mindbender of sorts.

# 7 is under 200 feet but it forces you to hyser out over the creek and marshy area.

# 13 was my favorite hole. It's just a 230 foot tunnel throw across a walking path, up a valley and then up to basket. It's just a real pretty little hole.

And # 17 was kind of a "Top of the World" throw for this course 347' with a slight hyser around the trees.
Cons: Nothing particular comes to mind. I personally would move basket # 5 into the grove of trees. It would give this course one basket deep in the woods. Maybe it's placed in there some of the time. I don't know. These obnoxious little gnats swarmed around my face the entire time I played this morning. They wouldn't go leave me alone. Basically, I couldn't find any major faults with this course.
Other Thoughts: This is just a great not too intimidating intermediate 18 hole city park course. Advanced players won't be challenged here but I think they will enjoy playing it. Everyone else will have a great time here. Nice course, nice design, challenging enough for most of us. Enough gnats for everyone!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/13/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: corynace
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: cement tees, water hazards keep you on your toes, well kept, easy to follow
Cons: if your disc goes on the other side its very hard to get to it unless u cross the giant piping, cross the creek, or jump across but it is a good 5-7 feet across. since there is water the bugs get pretty bad, lots of bikers on the path way always have to be carefull
Other Thoughts: all in all great course very challenging holes can be short but the trees and other obsticals make it a fun and challenging course

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Dry Run Creek

1    5/14/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: andyman
Played: 150  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 10.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete Tee Pads. Nice sized, and point towards baskets.

There are tee signs with hole distances at each tee pad.

There are elevation changes on some holes.

The park was very well kept up. The entire park was mowed.

The baskets are in very good condition.

The course is very easy to navigate.
Cons: The fairways are very wide open. There were very little obstacles to throw around.

Only one hole was over 300'. I did not need to use a driver on most holes.
Other Thoughts: Pipeline on hole #2 posed a very unique obstacle to throw around.

The basket for hole #4 is hidden from view from the tee pad. It is located over the hill.

The basket for hole #6 is hidden between a group of pine trees.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center