Dubuque, IA 
Dubuque Veterans Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
4 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Super fun, kinda annoying.

1    10/22/2016   10/26/2016
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 269  Reviewed: 194  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course located in a pretty disc golf secluded spot in Veteran's Park.

Innova Discatcher baskets, all mounted decent and work well. They're the old bar stamp version, but still performed decent enough, especially given their age. One pin position on most holes, with a few exceptions. Some of the pin positions were fantastic, with many high risk/reward putting runs.

Wonderful rolling hills just about everywhere on this course. I love uphill and downhill shots, and there are plenty here. It's more unusual for there to NOT be some elevation on a hole here. Nothing too crazy, but a lot of fun.

Most holes are relatively tight and tree-lined (which I happen to love). You'll be forced to throw a specific line on many holes, with some hero type shots available on some. Very few of the fairways are what most people would consider luck type shots. Also, there is usually enough space that different types of shots could be utilized, within those same windows.

Navigation is relatively easy, with decent signage at each hole. For as separate as most of the holes feel, there was some good work done to fit this many quality shots into a smaller space. There's a couple spots where several holes kind of live in the same space, but it wasn't a huge deal for us on a beautiful Sunday morning. I suspect there just isn't that much disc golf traffic in Dubuque.

There's a couple spots where you may have to lift, but as a whole, very cart friendly.

While there's nothing crazy long, or hugely bomber-ish, there's plenty of distance variation, especially when you factor in the elevation changes.

The rough here is solid. Discs shouldn't disappear too often, but you're appropriately punished for going in.

Concrete tees, plenty long and grippy. More on this below.
Cons: While the concrete tees here are decent enough in form, they suffer quite a bit in function. Basically any hole that has any sort of non-flat start, is going to have a tee pad that's on a slant. Many of these are NOT minor, and will greatly alter the way you throw. This is a major con for me, and if these tees were graded out to level, my score on this course would instantly bump up a half disc. I don't much care what material a tee pad is, so long as it is flat and level...and these only fill half that bill. Call me a tee snob if you will, but it irked the hell outta me.

There are a few spots where the holes are really packed in together. It's easy to figure out, navigation-wise, but I'd imagine any sort of tournament here could turn into a pretty good cluster @#$#.

It felt like there were just a couple too many hard right to left doglegs. Not a huge con, but something that definitely stood out to me.
Other Thoughts: There's a ton to like about this course. The throwing is fantastic, and if you can get over the tees, there's really not much to dislike about it. Hole 1 is a really, really nice opening hole, and can set the mood for your round. The golf isn't CRAZY hard, but it's going to be a decent challenge for most players.

For an area with not a ton of options, this is super solid. Definitely worth the spin (or several) while you're in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/21/2015   8/21/2015
Review By: DrewbieDoobieDoo
Played: 71  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great elevation changes
-variety of tee shots needed, you will get a chance to use most discs/throws
-Multiple pin locations
-fun and challenging terrain
-clean park with signs at each tee, garbage cans, benches
-pretty secluded from other areas of park and neighboring high school
Cons: -many tee pads are set at awkward angles because of the hills
-easy to lose discs on some holes
-tough beginner course
-brush lining fairways can get thick and unkempt at times, but usually not a problem

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging course

5+    8/22/2014   8/23/2014
Review By: Gory Lobotomist
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -huge variety of holes (shots)
-Well maintained
-Plenty of benches
-Private area
-Friendly locals
-Lots of elevation changes
-Tough tight lines
Cons: -Lots of heavy wooded areas
-Easy to loose dic on the blind holes
-A lot of alleys to throw down
Other Thoughts: I love playing vets. It is a huge challenge for me and I feel the more you play this course the better you will get at all aspects of the game. This course is very tight, with limited opportunities to really bomb disc, but the terrain is super nice, and the elevation changes make for some tough shots! I usually like to play with another person out here, there are a lot of blind shots with heavy woods. Overall, this is my go to course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

5+    10/16/2013   11/16/2013
Review By: Horsman
Played: 116  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great use of the piece of land given for the course

- Great use of the change in elevation

- There are some nice shoter and longer technicle holes as well as a nice mix of a liitle more open bomber holes.

- The flow from hole to hole is very easy to figure out.

-If you are a fanof a lot of tunnel shots then this is a course for you.

- Field next to the course were you can do some field work

- Practice Basket

- Easy Parking
Cons: - Some of the teepads are at some wierd angles, so that can throw you off a bit.

- Might not be the most beginner friendly course with a lot of the holes being unreachable off the tee for some.

- The are a lot of blind shots, so a spotter sometimes is a must.
Other Thoughts: I absolutely love playing this course. It has a lot of elevation change that you have to play up it, down it, on the side of it and I absolutely love that. It is a very underated course to me and is one that I think should get some more foot traffic because it really is a lot of fun to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great course, challenging but very rewarding.

5+    5/21/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: wilhelmschmitt
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 6/11/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -very technical, you need to bring all your shots
-great use of elevation
-very satisfying to get birdies on this course
-great course for intermediate to advanced
-beautifully maintained
-holes12-15 are the most fun and biggest challenge
-practice basket (aka hole 19)
-great signage, benches
Cons: -If you miss the fairway you are in thick woods. Prepare to get a little scraped up.
-Tough course for beginners
-Not difficult to lose a disc
-slanted tees
-some drainage issues, specifically the right side of hole 1
-ravine on hole 13 (also a plus, offers a good challenge)
-often very narrow fairways with thick woods lining
Other Thoughts: I love playing this course, it really helps improve your game. It is for sure tough to shoot under par on this course, but incredibly satisfying when you do. It is a frustrating course for beginners, especially because everything besides fairway is thick woods. I have lost a few discs here, but whatever. On the whole, this course is a great one to improve your game a lot. You really get a chance to use every shot you have. Best played multiple times to learn how to shoot it right.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/17/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 90  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 9.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course really offers a lot!

Massive elevation changes on half of the holes, both uphill and down. Some really nicely designed fairways that make for a very challenging round. Well placed pins that offer tough approaches. Dual pin placements too! They really alter your shot. Not a simple "Pin B is 50 feet further down from Pin A". You can see the effort put in by the designers.

Pristine signage throughout, marking off distance as well as a fairway map, noting the multiple pin positions.

Trash cans were available and there were even a few benches at some of the tees. Literally NO litter that I could see. Course was extremely well maintained as well it should be! Grass was torched but with the drought conditions it was to be expected. (I played on a 100 degree day).
Cons: The course plays up and down a fairly steep hill, with the holes running back and forth along the incline. As a result, most fairways are hopelessly sloped and are a real pain in dealing with rollaways as well as doing a number on your feet. Tee pads are sloped as well, following the terrain - make sure you compensate for this when driving or you will pay.

Brutal schoal lining tight fairways isn't very inviting, either. A few holes had almost impossible lines (looking at you #11 and 15). Some blind holes sprinkled in as well make this a dreadnaught of a course, especially when played solo. Overall I felt the majority of the holes were claustrophobic and made for a very tense round. The only place where you can relax and rip is hole #1, and even then you'd better not stray.

Navigation is fairly easy although disorienting your first time through. There are several open areas that have multiple tees in them and in one instance two tees even use the same fairway! A few "next tee" signs couldn't hurt, but for the most part the course flows well and maximizes the land available.
Other Thoughts: I found myself dissapointed in this course, especially as it is the only one in the greater Dubuque area. The cons I list above really suck all of the fun out of your round, and I found myself playing it safe on every hole, rather than trying to take a chance or two. By the end of my round I was mentally drained, and not in a good way. It is a very challenging course and I think would be fun with a group of three or more. Definitely play with a partner at least so you have a spotter. While the design is intriguing, the execution left a little to be desired. Still, DVMP is a very solid course and worth one's time.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Marble in a wooden labyrinth maze

1    8/6/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: puttlikeablowfly
Played: 124  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 16.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Nice masonry disc golf sign welcomes visitors to the park
* Practice basket, although I thought it might have been #18 until we played ... you could make a 19th hole of the walk back up the hill from #18, which ends near #1 basket
* Concrete tees (also see "cons") with nice tee signs
* Lots and lots of elevation changes
* Good variety of hole lengths, except for lack of big bomber
* Plently of holes that dictate hyzers, anhyzers, or straight shots
* If you like woods, you'll love this course
* #12 - #15 is a fun stretch of holes
* Challenging but attractive layout
* Many holes require proper placement of layup shots
* Alternate placements on many holes
* Numerous trash cans (not every hole, but frequent); I took one empty bottle off the side of a fairway, but otherwise it appeared pretty clean
* Good course for intermediate and advanced players
Cons: * As others have mentioned, many teepads are sloped, but in all honestly, it wasn't as big of an impact as I expected
* A couple of baskets were damaged (bottom baskets or pole ... chains seemed fine)
* Perhaps too many blind shots that require you to walk up a ways for a look (I wished I had seen the ditch behind #17 basket first!)
* Only one tee per hole, which makes it more difficult to accommodate range of abilities
* Beginners may find it too difficult, while big arms and highly skilled players may wish for a few more opportunities for drives
* Since almost every hole is lined with woods on both sides, there are not a lot of options
* #13 is dangerous if there are other players in the area, in that the fairway threads through the a small area that contains #15 basket and #16 tee
* #7 & #11 share a fairway for the first part of the holes, but the tees are close and the holes play in the same direction
Other Thoughts: I'm having a hard time choosing between a 3.5 and a 4 for this course. There is a lot to like. The elevation change found on this course is fantastic. The woods make it very challenging. Referencing the title of my review, I felt like I was the marble in that wooden labyrinth maze game where you tilt the board with two wheels and move the marble along the path without falling in the holes. You're always moving up and down, left and right, and while the woods confine you to the path, there are pits to avoid.

After some relfection, I'm giving it a four, mainly because I think I would enjoy the course more after I've played it a few times. I'll admit that I played some shots a little more conservatively than I would once I was more familiar with the course. Mainly, the woods look very intimidating and are indeed pretty thick in some places, but we were able to find errant shots pretty quickly. Many of the holes are unreachable for me, and some pin locations are tucked into narrow paths and /or around sharp corners. Thus, the challenge is to learn where to place the tee shot in order to give the proper angle for the putt or approach. You also have to think twice about your aggressiveness on some shots, as the hills, ditches and ravines can offer a severe penalty if your disc comes in with some heat. In the end, the cons are relatively minor (except for the safety issue), so I'm going with a 4. Keep in mind that the course was empty when I played, so if there were more people, the safety issues and the close proximity of many of the holes might have weighed on my mind more.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/30/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 64  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Veterans Memorial is an excellent course with a ton of variety that will challenge pretty much any player.

The course plays through a hilly, wooded area of the park that is secluded from other park activities. Other than some noise from the nearby soccer and baseball fields, the course has a peaceful nature vibe.

The strongest aspect of the course is the use of elevation throughout the course. Combined with the trees that form and occasionally dot the fairways, there is consistent and effective use of the landscape throughout the course.

The course is challenging right out of the gate, with a long hyzer on #1, then a twisting downhill shot with a water hazard past the pin on #2, probably my favorite shot of the course.

From there you go through the woods, and move to the highest elevation in the park on 6-9, where there are some great views of the surrounding area. You get the chance to rip it a few times in this section, with the course's two longest shots (375 and 400).

From here the course zig zags through the woods. You'll have to use almost every shot in your bag at varying spots on this course, which leads to a fun and sometimes frustrating round. It plays fairly RHBH heavy, but you'll pay the price if you don't have an anny and an overhead shot.

The course was very clean, with garbage cans throughout. The baskets were in good shape and caught well, and the sings are very user friendly.
Cons: The most glaring flaw, and others have mentioned it, is the sloped teepads. About 75% of the teepads are not flat and either sloped uphill or to the side. This really messes with your run up, which effected my shot multiple times. You'll definitely want to take a practice run before you throw to get used to the feel of throwing from whatever angle the pad is sloped to.

4 and especially 5 were boring filler holes that did not live up to the rest of the course.

Some of the tee signs are a little bit misleading and cannot be trusted on blind shots. Because of this I'd advise walking the hole before throwing. #6 comes to mind immediately, but I had the same problem in a couple spots. Some holes have alternative pins and the signs don't specify when the alternates are put in place. Also, not really a con, but the posted par is pretty brutal on a couple holes.
Other Thoughts: Dubuque's course is a legit 4-star that is both fun and challenging. The flaws don't really detract much from the experience as there is a lot here to enjoy. Well done to the designers and DG players of Dubuque.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Kicked my butt

1    9/5/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: koogs
Played: 119  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent variety in a very hilly, wooded setting. Seemed like almost as many right turning holes as left turning. Big uphill and downhill holes. Narrow and straight as well as more wide open with well placed obstacles. The more throws you can make, the better. Even your lesser used shots like rollers could come in handy here.
Concrete pads, decent tee signs, baskets were all in good shape. Trash cans and benches were seen often enough.
Cons:
Some of the tee pads were sloped badly, maybe the worst I've ever played on. I didn't think this would be as much of a problem as it turned out to be.
Navigation was definitely not easy. Crisscrossing fairways and shared fairways and sometimes there were baskets seemingly in the fairways other than the basket you're shooting for. Not a great layout.
If you throw into the rough, be prepared to get scratched up a little. Everything seemed to have thorns on it.
Other Thoughts: I played this course with my son, which really helped as far as spotting on the blind holes. Playing it solo would be a nightmare.
Another reviewer said that every hole could yield a deuce, but I can't see that at all. This was a very tough course. Maybe I just had a bad day, but according to my scorecard, this was the toughest course I've ever played. But, despite how poorly I played the course, I really liked it and if it weren't so far away, I'd play it again, soon, to try and get my revenge on it.
If not for the sloped tee pads and the confusing layout, I would give it a 4, but those issues made it a 3.5 for me.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great design great challenge, but requires too much luck

1    8/28/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 928  Reviewed: 479  Exp: 7.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Large concrete tees are necessary on this course.

2) Discatcher baskets are in good shape and catch well.

3) Benches and garbage cans available in sports throughout the course.

4) Nice bridge and steps going from #2 to 3. Well dont craftsmanship for a disc golf course.

5) Nice big concrete sign pointing to the disc golf course is a welcome sign as you pull in.

6) Practice basket is available in the valley near #1 tee.

7) This course will challenge all skill levels. There are many places where beginners will struggle. Some really tight fairways surrounded by really thick buckthorn ons loping fairways lead to a whole bunch of trouble.

8) You will need to bring every shot in your bag. some short holes, some long, some range from fairly open to really tight. You need to work the discs both directions so have a straight throw, hyzer, and an anny or flick will go a long ways here.
Cons: 1) Buckthorn along the fairways is thick and creates all sorts of problems. If you don't keep it in the fairway be prepared to search for your discs and also be prepared to just throw out a few times around. In my opinion this is the biggest issue I have with this course.

2) Sloping compacted soil fairways create all sorts of rollaways. This is also a big issue on a lot of shots. This creates a situation where controlled mid range shots are going to do better than threading the needle with your drivers. While this is ok, it becomes a negative in my opinion because it makes luck too much of a factor in scoring here.

3) Many of the teepads are on uneven surfaces. They have slopes which really alter your arm angles. It is something I am not really used to, nor do I know how to adapt to sloped teepads.

4) There are many places where you could easily get lost on your own. Directional signage would be helpful in multiple locations because of the confusing layout in a few spots. Fortunately they do have tee signs that you can at least figure out where you are.

5) I had to walk down fairways to find some baskets because they are blind and I wanted to know where I was throwing. Blind holes are ok on occassion but it is nice to have maps on the tee signs that help you figure out where the baskets are. Alternate pin positions are also not indicated.

6) There are a few locations where there are tees and baskets in close proximity to throwing lanes. SOme are on errant teeshots but there are also some shots that on the intended line you might be in danger on another hole.

7) Erosion around some teepads and other areas on this course are a problem. There are some major dranage issues in a few spots.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course because it presents a challenge for everyone. Beginners might not want to play here because they will be very frustrated by errant shots, searching for discs, and just the overall challenge. The maintenance of the fairways was sufficient especially since the area has had a lot of rain this summer.

I wanted to give this course a 4, because it is well designed, fun to make the required shots, but the luck issue plays too much of a role in your score here. The teepads and some of the erosion problems are also enough to force me to give this a 3.5 The locals won't like this rating, but it will means it is in my top 50 or so courses (out of 200). I simply think that the issues are enough to knock this course down.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.