Duncan, OK 
Duncan Lake - West Share
Uploaded By: Sports_Fan_Stan Hole #6 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 190ft.   3 / --   3 / 190ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket: Tee is downhill next to waterline



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Diamond in the Rough

2-4    3/7/2014   3/14/2014
Review By: CincySlim
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is just fun. The dirt tees add to the overall "feel" of the course. Every hole is a challenge. Elevations are constantly changing and terrain is quite rugged at times so you definitely get a workout. There are some very creative hole placements. I agree with other reviewers: first shots are critical. Course is very technical at times with many blind shots. Overall just a total blast to play!
Cons: Yeah, as everyone else has already said, it's not well maintained. Finding your way around is difficult at best but it has been enhanced by the addition of arrows at the base of each basket directing players to the next tee. I found the map available on this site to be a great help; was unable to finish last time I played here (December, 2010) because we just couldn't find our way. I haven't played it in summer, but I can imagine it could get pretty heavily overgrown with no maintenance. Most of the baskets are pretty decent although a couple towards the end are kinda crude; maybe because they are nearer the campground and/or vandals? Also, I would not recommend this course to someone who is not in at least moderate to good physical condition.
Other Thoughts: With a little polish and regular upkeep this course could be a real gem! It's not the prettiest you'll ever play but it is very scenic. It's the perfect cross between disc golf and a rugged hike. It just feels to me like what the game was meant to be.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

There Is A Killer At The Lake

2-4    3/30/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 51  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 3.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good baskets
Awesome views
Great use of elevation changes
Great exercise
Multiple tees
One great hole after another
Not crowded
Next tee arrows on the baskets
Will challlenge even the best
Is still fun for the rec players
Use every shot you have
Great intense risk/reward
Never a dull "connection" hole
Rugged land
Plenty of parking
Bathrooms
When we went there were buckets at each tee for trash
We took a large group and everybody had a blast
Can go alone or just a few and have a quiet round.
Makes me want to come back over and over

Favorite Hole(s): #4, #9, #10, #16
Loved every minute of this course
Cons: Natural tees (no problem, they were good)
No tee signs
Gets pretty rough in the summer (ticks, tall grass, thick rough)
No water to drink. Carry plenty
You should have a map or a guide your first time
Not for the faint of heart. Better be in shape
Other Thoughts: Love this course. A great explanation is that its been 8-9 months since I played at the lake and I can remember every single hole. Can't get it out of my mind. Every shot, every miss, every minute. Its that much fun. If you are in oklahoma anytime during Late Fall through Mid Spring you have to plav this course. It would easily be a 4.5 with a little better summer upkeep and some concrete pads. Go play at the lake and I promise you won't regret it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Challenging Course

1    11/2/2012   11/2/2012
Review By: bpartrid
Played: 57  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The layout is very well done in such a harsh area of land. There are many signature holes with picturesque views and throws. The course is very challenging while being fair without luck shots to get through it. Overall, you get to use many different throws. This course is a good one with even more potential.
Cons: I like this course but there are many things I think need to be done to improve its flow and enjoyment (especially for first-timers to this course). First, there needs to be some sort of sign directing you towards the first tee from parking (take the left trail from the parking lot and follow it to veer right and up a small hill). Next, needed are concrete tee pads since many shots are long indeed. Currently, blue flags signify long tees and red flags are short tees. Then, put out better hole signs to direct the player where he is throwing as many holes do not allow you to see the basket from the tee. Also, the tee signs need to tell people if they are playing a par 3 or 4. There are some signs directing you towards the next hole but they can be improved as well. The baskets can be pretty shoddy but overall they work fine, but it may be good to have flags on the top of the baskets to better direct players of basket locations (often I would have to walk halfway down the hole just direct my throw from the tee). As for the "grooming" of the course, I played in early november of 2012 and it is doing well right now in that regard. This course is kinda in the middle of nowhere, so I understand if updates and grooming of the course are unable to be done often, but unfortunately that is a shame because the course itself is AWESOME!!
Other Thoughts: A practice basket at the parking lot would be a nice touch to the course. This course is mostly a professional course due to the fact that the best tees are definitely the blue (long) tees due to their views and elevation changes. Also, red tees (red flags) are sometimes hard to find or have terrible throwing areas, not to mention the fact that there aren't any distances given for the short tees. Overall, a very good course but can be very tough to those who don't play often as the course can punish you for errant throws (even losing a disc possibly). Those who frequent this course surely must enjoy it because if I had the chance at it a few more times, now knowing how to play it, then you would get better fast. LAST THOUGHT: the wind can really play a factor with some shots, even with putts, but not so bad as to get you frustrated. This course could be rated 4 - 4.5 if improvements were made to those cons previously listed. ENJOY THIS COURSE!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Duncan is NOW PLAYABLE

5+    10/17/2010   10/18/2010
Review By: silvereagle2150
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Duncan Lake is one of the most beautiful courses to play, but it is certainly not easy.

There are a lot of different shots to test even the most professional golfer, and that is why so many attend the Hillclimber in the spring, when the course gets a lot of love and care.
Cons: Everyone wants to play this course and complains about the upkeep, yet no one volunteers to help keep the course playable year-round.
Other Thoughts: SOONER DISC GOLF in Norman, OK has worked hard to find a solution to the maintenance problem at Duncan, and one solution was to hold a tournament in the fall.

Because of our upcoming doubles tournament at Duncan next weekend, a group of 6 dedicated golfers came down to Duncan this weekend with a brush hog, two lawnmowers, two weedeaters, and several loppers and revived the course.

Due to the exceptional effort on the part of these golfers, it is now possible that the course will be playable through the winter and into the spring when the Hillclimber is held.

So please, go and enjoy the Duncan Lake course while you are able, and if anyone is ever willing to help keep the course clean, please feel free to contact us (Sooner Disc Golf) on Facebook or at schwartz.kathryn@gmail.com. We would love the extra help.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 wow.

1    1/16/2010   1/19/2010
Review By: lschrock
Played: 38  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is such a huge course. Very technical, very complicated. Really easy to lose discs. This course is one of the most scenic that I've ever seen, playing along Duncan Lake, with tons and tons of woods. There's a lot of wildlife out here as well, especially big buzzards, constantly circling overhead. Most shots you can't see the basket, so you really have to take time with shots and be careful where you throw. This is a big distance course, with lots of big throws. First shots really matter here, if you don't get a good first throw, you'll be in bad shape on a lot of these. There are some really epic holes here. There's one hole overlooking water over this peninsula, and you throw from this hill about 500 feet, watch it glide forever. The wind really comes into play here.
Cons: Course is not maintained at all. I went when it was really muddy, and with grass tees, it was hard to get traction. Grass is overgrown, sometimes even into the basket. Lots of trouble spots, easy to lose a disc.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  aahh duncan

5+    4/16/2008   5/16/2009
Review By: okdiscrat
Played: 35  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this course is a real challenge. from both sets of tees you have multiple shot options and decisions to make.You are at times forced to be creative and not just "go with what you know".also if you can get out early enough you will probably witness a deer or two, the wildlife and the scenery are worth the trip alone and the golf is great.
Cons: If you've never played it before the course can be confusing,and the wind is almost always brutal.the city does not mow that is true and the local club has that responsability all to themselves, with little outside help except at tourney time.
Other Thoughts: enjoy this course, and if you get the chance play the hillclimber in early spring.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Tourny Course

2-4    3/25/2008   2/17/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sweet course!!! Lots of super great shots. Lots of tight shots and lots of boomers, on the drives and ups. Super fun and it will make you pay for a bad shot for SURE! They dont mow it except for the tourny from what I hear but that is worth everything. One of the funniest tourneys ever. The course plays very long and hot even in the early spring. Endurance is a key for sure. Once you play it once you will dig it. Good showers/bathrooms, and great campground.
Cons: Very hard to navigate. Lots of ticks. Windy because of the lake....and its Oklahoma. No tee signs and a couple of really "ghetto" baskets.
Other Thoughts: Not for rookies!!!! Play the Highclimber!!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  

1    1/19/2009   1/25/2009
Review By: discgolfzach
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: i played this course on 1/19/09 and the course design was amazing on a beautiful lake great surroundings
Cons: very hard to navigate i printed off a map of the course off this webstie without it i would have never completed it. another thing is it looked to me that nobody had mowed this course in years its completely overgrown on some holes the grass was so long it was coming up through the bottom of the cages.
Other Thoughts: a superb course but it makes me mad to see that nobody takes care of it.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center