Jacksonville, AR 
Dupree Park Share
Uploaded By: jongoff09 Hole #16 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 238ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    6/22/2015   7/16/2015
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 245  Reviewed: 237  Exp: 19 Years
Pros: Dupree Park offers what you would and should expect for a DG course. There are 18 holes here, tee signs are sufficient, concrete tees were in really good shape, and the older Mach baskets have held up well and caught discs just fine. There were signs for the next tee and the paths were worn so navigation for first timers is not an issue. The course is also on land all to itself and apart from the other park activities that are on the other side of the small lake.

The style is generally wooded and technical, with a little bit of room for options or for recovering from errant drives. The fairways were very fair always with a clear path or two to the basket (no throw and hope shots.) Most holes are in the shorter range (<300') but there are some holes over 330' providing for a good mix overall and from hole to hole. There is opportunity here to utilize all shot shapes during your round (left, right, straight).

The basket locations stood out as a positive. Well-placed for every hole with variety, for example: 1 on a mound, 1 behind a big log, 1 over a creek.

Hole 17 is one of the best holes anywhere, playing over a bend in the creek. You can play it safe to the left along the flat ground or go for the basket over the water (which is down in a fairly large and steep ravine). The view from the tee is really nice and the hole makes for a fun and adventurous ace run/birdie opp.

The park has plenty of parking and was easy to get to and easy to find from the interstate. There are restrooms in the park on the way to the course past the ball fields near the lake.
Cons: Not a big deal, but the front 9 and back 9 had 2 different feels, rather than being 1 course with mixed diversity throughout. The front overall is shorter and was better manicured and maintained with short grass or worn dirt fairways. The back 9 had some taller grass (hopefully gets mowed sometimes) and is where the longer holes are found.

Where hole 17 was awesome, hole 18 was kind of a let down playing down this laser straight gravel/dirt road (vs the more natural wooded fairways of the rest of the course.) Then there was a fairly long walk back to the car. The finish left the impression to me that maybe this course had been either increased from 9 to 18 or been redesigned at some point in order to create #17, but left the problem of somehow getting back to car when finished, so the overall continuity and flow lacked just a bit. I am a purist who prefers 18 holes, but adding a 19 or 20 here could work fine.

The flat ground the course sits on is in an area that can be muddy or even marshy during rainy periods. I would check conditions if playing here after heavy rains or the wet season. (Several of the more local reviewers back this up.)
Other Thoughts: I had a lot of fun playing this course. It was challenging enough but not too stressful or punishing. It was clear where to throw and there was no trouble finding your discs. Great for beginners, rec, and intermediate players (long bomber arms and pros may prefer to play elsewhere).

This is probably not a course one would want to play every single day, but I definitely would not mind playing it more than once. For me the course rates as a very strong 2.5 (I would give it 2.75 if I could.)

 Trees, trees, and then a tree.

1    7/11/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: LookIhitAtREE
Played: 39  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front 9 were very short, and technical, while the back 9 were more open. Tons of tree make you think before you just fire a disc off. If you don't have a super long drive, then you would find this course to be quite satisfying.

The signage was nice, showing distance and flight path options.

Concrete teepads and nice baskets.

Lots of tunnel shots to keep things interesting and accuracy is a must.

Mucho ace runs for some, lots of holes sub-200, especially on the front 9.

Lots of shade was nice considering 103 degrees.
Cons: Can be a mud-fest after rains, as it is low-lying and almost grassless.

Very short holes could be a con for some as it could be boring.

Lots and lots of trees can get very frustrating at times.

Didn't see a toilet or potable water source and very few trash cans.

Road runs through part of course and we had to pause play to let a car drive through the fairway, lol.

Had a couple walkers that were walking through fairways.

No elevation changes at all.

Not a very "pretty" course, not that big a deal, really.



Other Thoughts: All in all, it was an enertaining round. One of the only other local 18's besides Burns Park. The short, technical runs were a fun break from the 300 foot norm at most other courses. This would be a wonderful course for beginners, kids, weaker arms.

Hole 18 is a fun way to finish, but bring your straight shot! It is a 400 foot, tree-lined tunnel of frustration, lol.

It is worth a play, but don't drive way out of your way for it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good beginner course

2-4    9/12/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: fountg
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners, variety of shots needed.
Cons: Some holes are overly simple, quite a few simple straight shots. If you can drive straight par wont be difficult at all on some holes.
Other Thoughts: I'll definetly be checking this course out some more. I always heard bad stuff about rain, but it had just rained a few days before I went last, and I noticed no standing water on the Tees at all.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Strolling through the WOODS

5+    6/9/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: jongoff09
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/17/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Fully wooded course, if you like playing in thick woods, this is the course for you.
-Nice concrete teepads.
-Great Baskets.
-Variety of shots needed. A lot of holes have more than one route to the basket, but you still have to put your disc right on the line. Most holes can easily be birdied or par'd with a putter or mid, but a couple of holes require you to air it out with a driver or fairway driver.
-Some variety of distance on the back 9.
-Memorable finishing holes (17-18).
-Overall, a fun course to play.

***Update 8-9-2010***
-Tee signs have been added with the length of the hole on them.
Cons: -This course can be a swamp after a rain for a long time.

-Because of all the water for a majority of the time, mosquitoes can get really thick.

-Most of the holes were pretty short especially on the front 9, even though the very thick woods make up for the length, it still seemed like it would be more fun if it was longer.

-Once you finish the hole, you have to look for orange ribbon that indicates the path to the next tee. It can be hard to see at times.

-A few holes are truly luck holes. A group of 3 could all hit a gap the same way and only one is likely to make it through the trees passed the gap and give a look at a good putt. The other two will be scrambling and could easily make bogie. Hole 8 is a good example of this.
Other Thoughts: -Two of the holes have alternate concrete teepads, #s 10 and 17. The alt tee on #10 is to the left of the "A" tee about 150' away. To get to the long pad on 17, you have to go around the short pad and then make a right by the creek.

-Play this course after a few weeks of dry weather, and even then, bring the bug spray.

-The creek is nasty and may be hard to get a disc back from it. On 17, there was a really long stick that we used to get our discs back from it (yes, we both threw in there), and on #14, the creek is just a few feet behind the basket, however, you can't tell that from the tee. The basket is only about 130 feet away, and the creek is about 5-10 feet behind it. **Update 12/17/12**: the creek behind #14 has been re-routed and is now about 100' behind the basket from the tee, making the drive a lot less interesting IMO, but you shouldn't have to look for a disc anymore.

-Because the course floods all the time, there is trash that is washed into it all the time. The trash is EVERYWHERE.

-I struggled to come up with the rating that this course deserves. The course is nice and fun if you know what you are doing and can find everything. I played with someone that knew his way around the course so I didn't have any problems with navigation. The reason I gave it the rating I did is because of how much of the year it is playable, and the fact that there are no signs that direct you to the next tee.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 New course

5+    6/21/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: BigA31640
Played: 54  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 18.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2009
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is heavily wooded and very technical. Holes are short to average length but there are a couple open enough to grip and rip. Concrete tee pads. Restrooms and water.
Cons: Not very well marked at this time. Poison ivy and mosquitos a plenty. In the rainy season this course is very very soggy.
Other Thoughts: This course has only been in the ground for about 2 years now and as it gets tweaked it will be a really cool place to play.

Tee pad one is at the back of the pond. Pull into the entrance and follow the paved road to the pond. Continue to follow the paved road on the left side of the pond until you get to the far end. Park under the trees behind the dog park. As you face away from the dog park towards the woods you'll see the tee pad for one.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty good start...

1    10/19/2008   10/19/2008
Review By: anoncow
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of course, seems to be a good start & from the looks of things, concrete tees and some other enhancements are coming soon.

1-11 are all woods. I ran out of light so I'll come back for 12-18 in a few weeks.
Cons: Hard to find the 1st tee without a map - some signs would be nice.
NO signs on the course - there was some paths to guide me around but a few signs or markers giving directions would be nice, especially between the #9 and #10 tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: I threw into the water not once but twice on #2. Had I not done that, I'd have probably seen more of the course. I'd beware of snakes and such if I was out here during the summer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

6/6/2008   6/10/2008
Review By: discdawg
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Not much traffic. Easy to navigate - follow the deer-hunter like orange ribbons from basket to tee. Front nine is VERY tight. Back nine opens up a little bit and there are some challenging pin placements.
Cons: Maybe because it was flooded recently, it had a LOT of trash on it. Very hot and lots of mosquitos with a few snakes - Classic Arkansas woods for June.
Other Thoughts: Had a good time - will play again sometime, overall a decent course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.