Jacksonville, AR 
Dupree Park Share
Uploaded By: jongoff09 Hole #11 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 344ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 New course

5+    6/21/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: BigA31640
Played: 54  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 17.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2009
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is heavily wooded and very technical. Holes are short to average length but there are a couple open enough to grip and rip. Concrete tee pads. Restrooms and water.
Cons: Not very well marked at this time. Poison ivy and mosquitos a plenty. In the rainy season this course is very very soggy.
Other Thoughts: This course has only been in the ground for about 2 years now and as it gets tweaked it will be a really cool place to play.

Tee pad one is at the back of the pond. Pull into the entrance and follow the paved road to the pond. Continue to follow the paved road on the left side of the pond until you get to the far end. Park under the trees behind the dog park. As you face away from the dog park towards the woods you'll see the tee pad for one.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

18 holes, ALL WOODED!!!

2-4    6/22/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/16/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All in the shade. Not busy. Easy to navigate once you find the first tee pad. Just follow the orange ribbon tied to the trees and you can see most of the next holes tee pads from the completed holes basket. The longs are concrete and long and the shorts are medium size on the holes that have 2 sets. Multiple tees on all, some have 3. Several memorable pin placements. Hole ten on a big mound, basket sits at about 9 ft. and another hole sits surrounded by a deep creek that was dried up today because of lack of rain. The creek runs along side of the fairway and in order to ace it you must throw out over the creek because the basket sits about 4 ft. from the edge. Another has a basket with a creek behind it, but if it is your first round you would not know it. The holes that are not straight shots have different lines to throw and are pretty technical. Some nice scenery and would have been really nice if all creeks were not dry. Easy to walk as far as terrain goes as it is mostly flat. A fun course for everyone except pros. It is the only course that I have played where every hole was wooded, so that was right up my alley. The straight holes were at least different lengths with some tight alleys and some wide that allowed the multiple paths I already mentioned, but mostly tight. There are a couple of bomb shots that play open but you are still in the woods, this helped add variety to the feel of the course if that makes any sense. An enjoyable day in the woods in my opinion.
Cons: About half of the holes were straight shots with about half of them being ace runs if you are a pro. If you are a pro some of this course would be too easy (mostly the short straight holes) Not enough trash cans or benches. Lots of bramble and brush in the fairways. LOTS of stumps as this course was carved out of very dense woods. Of course poison ivy, mosquitos and horse flies. that's about it for the cons.
Other Thoughts: If you don't LOVE heavily wooded courses, you might want to skip this one. But if you love playing disc golf in the woods, except for elevation this course has it all. Turn on park road. turn right just past the park map which is on the right, stay on road even when it looks like it is ending you will drive along side the water and when you pass the water on the left is the parking spots. 1st tee on the right next to black piles of crushed gravel. You can see the concrete pad of 1 to the right of gravel piles.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty good start...

1    10/19/2008   10/19/2008
Review By: anoncow
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of course, seems to be a good start & from the looks of things, concrete tees and some other enhancements are coming soon.

1-11 are all woods. I ran out of light so I'll come back for 12-18 in a few weeks.
Cons: Hard to find the 1st tee without a map - some signs would be nice.
NO signs on the course - there was some paths to guide me around but a few signs or markers giving directions would be nice, especially between the #9 and #10 tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: I threw into the water not once but twice on #2. Had I not done that, I'd have probably seen more of the course. I'd beware of snakes and such if I was out here during the summer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

6/6/2008   6/10/2008
Review By: discdawg
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Not much traffic. Easy to navigate - follow the deer-hunter like orange ribbons from basket to tee. Front nine is VERY tight. Back nine opens up a little bit and there are some challenging pin placements.
Cons: Maybe because it was flooded recently, it had a LOT of trash on it. Very hot and lots of mosquitos with a few snakes - Classic Arkansas woods for June.
Other Thoughts: Had a good time - will play again sometime, overall a decent course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

11/13/2007   11/15/2007
Review By: stephens
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Short and tight.
Cons: Short and tight.
Other Thoughts: Will play agian whne I need to boost my confidence.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.