Jacksonville, AR 
Dupree Park Share
Uploaded By: jongoff09 Hole #18 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 400ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Not long, but character

5+    5/14/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: Usdrummer72
Played: 87  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of shots required
Aces are available,but must be earned
Monster arm not required
Lots of trees, so placement is a must
Good course for beginners with some control because distance is not as important as control
Good concrete tee boxes
Baskets are in good shape
Cons: Lots of trees can be frustrating
Mosquitos are prevalent
Longest hole is 400, but all others are under 300.
Floods frequently in fall and winter
Other Thoughts: If in the dry season, it is a good course to play to work on accurate lines and challenge creating a shot.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  I like it :)

5+    5/1/2012   5/1/2012
Review By: Frolfer907
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice Tee Pads
-Course Map // Hole Maps
-Trash Receptacles and Benches at Every Tee
-Mostly Wooded (good shade for the hot days)
-Good Rhythm from Hole to Hole
-Not Busy
Cons: -Bug Spray is a MUST in the summer
-VERY Soggy When it Rains
-Not Much Distance for the Power Player
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play. Most holes are tight and therefore technical. The front 9 don't have much distance, but there are a few holes over 300 ft coming back. There are large fields in other areas of the park that I like to use to warm up, so I count that as a plus. Overall I give this course a VERY GOOD.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/18/2012   4/25/2012
Review By: guitarfrk24
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Front 9 is really well maintained last time i was there. Back 9 they are doing a lot of work around it. Looks like they are trying to reroute the bayou. 6-9 are pretty brutal for being short.
Cons: Bugs. Lots of Mosquitoes, and wolf spiders all over the ground because of all the leaves.
Other Thoughts: Watch for water on 17 and 15. 18 is about 430 ft but super straight and very narrow tunneled.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Trees, trees, and then a tree.

1    7/11/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: LookIhitAtREE
Played: 39  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front 9 were very short, and technical, while the back 9 were more open. Tons of tree make you think before you just fire a disc off. If you don't have a super long drive, then you would find this course to be quite satisfying.

The signage was nice, showing distance and flight path options.

Concrete teepads and nice baskets.

Lots of tunnel shots to keep things interesting and accuracy is a must.

Mucho ace runs for some, lots of holes sub-200, especially on the front 9.

Lots of shade was nice considering 103 degrees.
Cons: Can be a mud-fest after rains, as it is low-lying and almost grassless.

Very short holes could be a con for some as it could be boring.

Lots and lots of trees can get very frustrating at times.

Didn't see a toilet or potable water source and very few trash cans.

Road runs through part of course and we had to pause play to let a car drive through the fairway, lol.

Had a couple walkers that were walking through fairways.

No elevation changes at all.

Not a very "pretty" course, not that big a deal, really.



Other Thoughts: All in all, it was an enertaining round. One of the only other local 18's besides Burns Park. The short, technical runs were a fun break from the 300 foot norm at most other courses. This would be a wonderful course for beginners, kids, weaker arms.

Hole 18 is a fun way to finish, but bring your straight shot! It is a 400 foot, tree-lined tunnel of frustration, lol.

It is worth a play, but don't drive way out of your way for it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 noisy from interstate - but Good!

1    10/23/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: tasha
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice tee boxes - interesting shots - challenging for me.
Cons: I'm not used to interstate noise, and it overwhelmed me a bit - but other than that - it is a great course.
Other Thoughts: I didn't have a whole lot of time to play - and I couldn't locate hole #1, so I started on hole #13 - played thru hole #17 - couldn't find #18, but #10 was right there, so I played #10 back to #13 where my car was...

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 nice if dry

5+    9/13/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: dirty8224
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: fun course, lots of birdie opportunities.

great winter course.
Cons: If it has rained in the last week before you play this course forget about it. It's built in a swamp and even the slightest sprinkle will turn every inch of that course into a mud pit. The skeeters are so thick during the summer that you can't breathe without inhaling one. BRING BUG SPRAY.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good beginner course

2-4    9/12/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: fountg
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners, variety of shots needed.
Cons: Some holes are overly simple, quite a few simple straight shots. If you can drive straight par wont be difficult at all on some holes.
Other Thoughts: I'll definetly be checking this course out some more. I always heard bad stuff about rain, but it had just rained a few days before I went last, and I noticed no standing water on the Tees at all.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 ebonsdad

1    8/10/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: ebonsdad
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 21.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Front 9 very technical through thick woods but short distances overall. Back 9 a little more open & longer overall. A few alternate tee positions, 1(I think) alternate pin position. out-of-the-way from rest of park. The course has been well taken care of since I last reviewed it. There are signs for every hole now with distances. #10 & #17 have alternate tee pads while #7 has alternate pin position. The course has been cleared of excessive debris & the drier season this year has made it much easier to play without fear of flooding or muddy conditions. OB strings adorn a few fairways to keep you honest.
Cons: Quite a few holes can get pretty "swampy" if not maintained. DO NOTplay after rain, course very low & gets muddy. Watch for snakes on holes close to water (quite a few). Water very muddy & difficult to retrieve disc (much less see them). # 17 still intimidating having to throw over a long, deep creek. I've gone in it once, but I've consistently seen a lot of people down in it. Only elevation is the basket on #10, otherwise flat.
Other Thoughts: Good for working on short technical throws in every direction. Decent course when maintained but needs more attention than it currently gets. Wear shoes you don't mind getting muddy.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Strolling through the WOODS

5+    6/9/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: jongoff09
Played: 32  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/17/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Fully wooded course, if you like playing in thick woods, this is the course for you.
-Nice concrete teepads.
-Great Baskets.
-Variety of shots needed. A lot of holes have more than one route to the basket, but you still have to put your disc right on the line. Most holes can easily be birdied or par'd with a putter or mid, but a couple of holes require you to air it out with a driver or fairway driver.
-Some variety of distance on the back 9.
-Memorable finishing holes (17-18).
-Overall, a fun course to play.

***Update 8-9-2010***
-Tee signs have been added with the length of the hole on them.
Cons: -This course can be a swamp after a rain for a long time.

-Because of all the water for a majority of the time, mosquitoes can get really thick.

-Most of the holes were pretty short especially on the front 9, even though the very thick woods make up for the length, it still seemed like it would be more fun if it was longer.

-Once you finish the hole, you have to look for orange ribbon that indicates the path to the next tee. It can be hard to see at times.

-A few holes are truly luck holes. A group of 3 could all hit a gap the same way and only one is likely to make it through the trees passed the gap and give a look at a good putt. The other two will be scrambling and could easily make bogie. Hole 8 is a good example of this.
Other Thoughts: -Two of the holes have alternate concrete teepads, #s 10 and 17. The alt tee on #10 is to the left of the "A" tee about 150' away. To get to the long pad on 17, you have to go around the short pad and then make a right by the creek.

-Play this course after a few weeks of dry weather, and even then, bring the bug spray.

-The creek is nasty and may be hard to get a disc back from it. On 17, there was a really long stick that we used to get our discs back from it (yes, we both threw in there), and on #14, the creek is just a few feet behind the basket, however, you can't tell that from the tee. The basket is only about 130 feet away, and the creek is about 5-10 feet behind it. **Update 12/17/12**: the creek behind #14 has been re-routed and is now about 100' behind the basket from the tee, making the drive a lot less interesting IMO, but you shouldn't have to look for a disc anymore.

-Because the course floods all the time, there is trash that is washed into it all the time. The trash is EVERYWHERE.

-I struggled to come up with the rating that this course deserves. The course is nice and fun if you know what you are doing and can find everything. I played with someone that knew his way around the course so I didn't have any problems with navigation. The reason I gave it the rating I did is because of how much of the year it is playable, and the fact that there are no signs that direct you to the next tee.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Mudy, But well kept

1    3/19/2010   3/20/2010
Review By: vtsquid
Played: 21  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: very tight, good for an advance player, Secluded.
Cons: Muddy, during the winter months is very brown, Very confusing at the end. Has no signs just orange tape to show you how to get to your next tee. Would be super buggy in the summer because its wet
Other Thoughts: Some one is really working hard to keep this course clear and clean, Nice job! This is a great tight course, lots of trees and throwing lanes. It was alot of fun and I had to use all my discs in my bag. In the summer I bet its going to be really nice and green, but in the winter it is brown and kinda ugly. After a wet season it is super muddy and slick so be careful when walking! This course really needs signs after hole 10 it can get confusing! Maybe meet up with someone who knows how to play the course! This course has the ability to be great!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.