Jacksonville, AR 
Dupree Park Share
Uploaded By: jongoff09 Hole #16 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 238ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 ebonsdad

1    8/10/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: ebonsdad
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 23.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Front 9 very technical through thick woods but short distances overall. Back 9 a little more open & longer overall. A few alternate tee positions, 1(I think) alternate pin position. out-of-the-way from rest of park. The course has been well taken care of since I last reviewed it. There are signs for every hole now with distances. #10 & #17 have alternate tee pads while #7 has alternate pin position. The course has been cleared of excessive debris & the drier season this year has made it much easier to play without fear of flooding or muddy conditions. OB strings adorn a few fairways to keep you honest.
Cons: Quite a few holes can get pretty "swampy" if not maintained. DO NOTplay after rain, course very low & gets muddy. Watch for snakes on holes close to water (quite a few). Water very muddy & difficult to retrieve disc (much less see them). # 17 still intimidating having to throw over a long, deep creek. I've gone in it once, but I've consistently seen a lot of people down in it. Only elevation is the basket on #10, otherwise flat.
Other Thoughts: Good for working on short technical throws in every direction. Decent course when maintained but needs more attention than it currently gets. Wear shoes you don't mind getting muddy.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Strolling through the WOODS

5+    6/9/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: jongoff09
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/17/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Fully wooded course, if you like playing in thick woods, this is the course for you.
-Nice concrete teepads.
-Great Baskets.
-Variety of shots needed. A lot of holes have more than one route to the basket, but you still have to put your disc right on the line. Most holes can easily be birdied or par'd with a putter or mid, but a couple of holes require you to air it out with a driver or fairway driver.
-Some variety of distance on the back 9.
-Memorable finishing holes (17-18).
-Overall, a fun course to play.

***Update 8-9-2010***
-Tee signs have been added with the length of the hole on them.
Cons: -This course can be a swamp after a rain for a long time.

-Because of all the water for a majority of the time, mosquitoes can get really thick.

-Most of the holes were pretty short especially on the front 9, even though the very thick woods make up for the length, it still seemed like it would be more fun if it was longer.

-Once you finish the hole, you have to look for orange ribbon that indicates the path to the next tee. It can be hard to see at times.

-A few holes are truly luck holes. A group of 3 could all hit a gap the same way and only one is likely to make it through the trees passed the gap and give a look at a good putt. The other two will be scrambling and could easily make bogie. Hole 8 is a good example of this.
Other Thoughts: -Two of the holes have alternate concrete teepads, #s 10 and 17. The alt tee on #10 is to the left of the "A" tee about 150' away. To get to the long pad on 17, you have to go around the short pad and then make a right by the creek.

-Play this course after a few weeks of dry weather, and even then, bring the bug spray.

-The creek is nasty and may be hard to get a disc back from it. On 17, there was a really long stick that we used to get our discs back from it (yes, we both threw in there), and on #14, the creek is just a few feet behind the basket, however, you can't tell that from the tee. The basket is only about 130 feet away, and the creek is about 5-10 feet behind it. **Update 12/17/12**: the creek behind #14 has been re-routed and is now about 100' behind the basket from the tee, making the drive a lot less interesting IMO, but you shouldn't have to look for a disc anymore.

-Because the course floods all the time, there is trash that is washed into it all the time. The trash is EVERYWHERE.

-I struggled to come up with the rating that this course deserves. The course is nice and fun if you know what you are doing and can find everything. I played with someone that knew his way around the course so I didn't have any problems with navigation. The reason I gave it the rating I did is because of how much of the year it is playable, and the fact that there are no signs that direct you to the next tee.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Mudy, But well kept

1    3/19/2010   3/20/2010
Review By: vtsquid
Played: 21  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: very tight, good for an advance player, Secluded.
Cons: Muddy, during the winter months is very brown, Very confusing at the end. Has no signs just orange tape to show you how to get to your next tee. Would be super buggy in the summer because its wet
Other Thoughts: Some one is really working hard to keep this course clear and clean, Nice job! This is a great tight course, lots of trees and throwing lanes. It was alot of fun and I had to use all my discs in my bag. In the summer I bet its going to be really nice and green, but in the winter it is brown and kinda ugly. After a wet season it is super muddy and slick so be careful when walking! This course really needs signs after hole 10 it can get confusing! Maybe meet up with someone who knows how to play the course! This course has the ability to be great!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 New course

5+    6/21/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: BigA31640
Played: 54  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 19.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2009
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is heavily wooded and very technical. Holes are short to average length but there are a couple open enough to grip and rip. Concrete tee pads. Restrooms and water.
Cons: Not very well marked at this time. Poison ivy and mosquitos a plenty. In the rainy season this course is very very soggy.
Other Thoughts: This course has only been in the ground for about 2 years now and as it gets tweaked it will be a really cool place to play.

Tee pad one is at the back of the pond. Pull into the entrance and follow the paved road to the pond. Continue to follow the paved road on the left side of the pond until you get to the far end. Park under the trees behind the dog park. As you face away from the dog park towards the woods you'll see the tee pad for one.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 18 holes, ALL WOODED!!!

2-4    6/22/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 57  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 8.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/16/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All in the shade. Not busy. Easy to navigate once you find the first tee pad. Just follow the orange ribbon tied to the trees and you can see most of the next holes tee pads from the completed holes basket. The longs are concrete and long and the shorts are medium size on the holes that have 2 sets. Multiple tees on all, some have 3. Several memorable pin placements. Hole ten on a big mound, basket sits at about 9 ft. and another hole sits surrounded by a deep creek that was dried up today because of lack of rain. The creek runs along side of the fairway and in order to ace it you must throw out over the creek because the basket sits about 4 ft. from the edge. Another has a basket with a creek behind it, but if it is your first round you would not know it. The holes that are not straight shots have different lines to throw and are pretty technical. Some nice scenery and would have been really nice if all creeks were not dry. Easy to walk as far as terrain goes as it is mostly flat. A fun course for everyone except pros. It is the only course that I have played where every hole was wooded, so that was right up my alley. The straight holes were at least different lengths with some tight alleys and some wide that allowed the multiple paths I already mentioned, but mostly tight. There are a couple of bomb shots that play open but you are still in the woods, this helped add variety to the feel of the course if that makes any sense. An enjoyable day in the woods in my opinion.
Cons: About half of the holes were straight shots with about half of them being ace runs if you are a pro. If you are a pro some of this course would be too easy (mostly the short straight holes) Not enough trash cans or benches. Lots of bramble and brush in the fairways. LOTS of stumps as this course was carved out of very dense woods. Of course poison ivy, mosquitos and horse flies. that's about it for the cons.
Other Thoughts: If you don't LOVE heavily wooded courses, you might want to skip this one. But if you love playing disc golf in the woods, except for elevation this course has it all. Turn on park road. turn right just past the park map which is on the right, stay on road even when it looks like it is ending you will drive along side the water and when you pass the water on the left is the parking spots. 1st tee on the right next to black piles of crushed gravel. You can see the concrete pad of 1 to the right of gravel piles.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty good start...

1    10/19/2008   10/19/2008
Review By: anoncow
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of course, seems to be a good start & from the looks of things, concrete tees and some other enhancements are coming soon.

1-11 are all woods. I ran out of light so I'll come back for 12-18 in a few weeks.
Cons: Hard to find the 1st tee without a map - some signs would be nice.
NO signs on the course - there was some paths to guide me around but a few signs or markers giving directions would be nice, especially between the #9 and #10 tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: I threw into the water not once but twice on #2. Had I not done that, I'd have probably seen more of the course. I'd beware of snakes and such if I was out here during the summer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

6/6/2008   6/10/2008
Review By: discdawg
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Not much traffic. Easy to navigate - follow the deer-hunter like orange ribbons from basket to tee. Front nine is VERY tight. Back nine opens up a little bit and there are some challenging pin placements.
Cons: Maybe because it was flooded recently, it had a LOT of trash on it. Very hot and lots of mosquitos with a few snakes - Classic Arkansas woods for June.
Other Thoughts: Had a good time - will play again sometime, overall a decent course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

11/13/2007   11/15/2007
Review By: stephens
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Short and tight.
Cons: Short and tight.
Other Thoughts: Will play agian whne I need to boost my confidence.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.