Durango, CO 
Durango Mountain Resort Share
Uploaded By: wentzl Hole #3 (Taken 9/2010)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Pro Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not so terrible

1    7/22/2014   7/25/2014
Review By: giles
Played: 147  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 17.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate (other than finding hole 7 basket). Many signs to aid navigation.
More down hill shots than up.
All holes are fairly straight forward.
Great mountain resort with lots of non DG activitie$.
Beautiful setting with stellar views.
Good potential for safari golf.
Cons: Baskets and tee signs were installed and no other work was done.
Many tee boxes were poorly done and not level.
Baskets are older Discatchers with no inner chains. They may have been level once but the freeze and thaw on the mountain left many leaning to the side.
I don't think the grass ever gets mowed and will be waist high on some holes off the beaten path later in the summer.
Other Thoughts: Hole 7 would have been tough to find if I hadn't read a previous review. It is up the rise with the "basket 7" sign and across the lift line set in a gap in the trees up the hill to the left. Over 400' shot.
I pushed a jogging stroller with a 1 year old but it wasn't easy and would avoid doing so.
No trees have been limbed up so errant shots from the less skilled will put you in jail with no recovery shots while good shots leave easy approaches and putts. I'm not a fan. Skilled players will enjoy the course and the easy birdies from the long tees while less skilled will be in difficult rough with little chance of recovering for par. I'd rate it higher for good players who will not struggle with the rough and don't mind an easy course. I'd rate it lower for the less skilled due to the punishing rough so I split the difference.
I wouldn't go out of my way to play it but you can make a great day of visiting DMR and it is worth bringing your discs along for a round.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    5/16/2013   5/19/2013
Review By: GDisc
Played: 58  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6.5 Years
Pros: NIce disc catcher baskets. Dual tee pads, Every hole has a "Beginner" tee & an "Advanced" tee. Great layout out with big elevation change on every hole. Doglegs, bomber shots and technicality all mixed into a diverse 9 Hole buried in the San Juan mountains. Good thought put into the design of this course.
Cons: Course plays through a resort so can, presumably, get busy at times. Signage is lacking, Each pad is marked but without true directional signage.Your first time here can be a bit confusing finding your way, especially finding Hole 7, even with a map. (7's basket is buried up in the trees to your left, deep past the the hill and ski-lift, 450 feet).
Other Thoughts: This course is a true beauty buried up in the San Juan Mountains. And although it is a 9 hole course you while get all the elevation change, distance and technicality you can hope for. Not horribly challenging but will still requrie your A game to shoot well here. Dirt pads, common for a mountain course. The pond, you play over on Hole 6, is a "No Retrieve Pond' so, if you go in your Disc is considered gone. I played this course in mid-spring before the summer tourism rush and it was absolutely ideal. The guys in the greeting office were excellent and were more than helpful in 'mapping' out the course! Bring water and enjoy your surroundings, cus it's hard to beat this view on this one! If you are traveling along HWY 550 in southern Colorado (Durango to Silverton) this one is worth the stop!

 Fun little course

2-4    7/6/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: Jefflogix
Played: 29  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.1 Years
Pros: - Excellent baskets with yellow rims and hole numbers.
- Beautiful scenery
- Some challenging (though short) holes
- Elevation changes (nice little hike)
- Holes clearly marked, both beginner and advanced tees marked.
Cons: - Thick brush with thorny plants if you miss some of the fairways, So sometimes hard to retrieve an errant throw on some very narrow fairways.
- No flat surface for tee boxes, which wasn't really that big of a deal since most of the holes are pretty short.
- Only 9 holes, Would love to have played 18.
Other Thoughts: I had a lot of fun playing this course. It was quite short. A few holes, I teed off with a putter. I would definitely play it again. The main thing that would improve this course would be better tee boxes.

 Nice Shots

1    6/8/2011   6/10/2011
Review By: underpar24
Played: 118  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some amazing shots. With the up and down shot potential out here i had a blast. They have decent baskets. For being a nine holer they really give you alot of risk and reward opertunities out here. Alot of openness but there are still trees in the right places.
Cons: No T-boxes or direction of where to throw from. I would just find a flat place somewhere near the basket on the hole before and throw. No signs, benches or trash bins.
Other Thoughts: This course would be the best 9 hole course i have ever played if they had t-boxes or atleast some direction on where to throw from. Still had a great time with some difficult shots. Worth playing if you are in the area because it has potential for some really long boom shots on elevation. I had fun out here. Course number 99 for me!!!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 dmr

2-4    8/27/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: collin67
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As the previous reviewer said It is beautiful scenery. But not even the people who put this course together could have ruined that. There is a couple of cool hole locations. That's about all for the pros.
Cons: No tee boxes and not even smoothed out. Most of the time you are trying to tee off on uneven mix of grass, dirt, and rock. Appears as though there has no attempt to maintain the grass at any point on the course. several of the baskets are not even set in the ground straight. They lean so much that the chains are leaning off to one side. This is obviously a case of someone getting it in the budget to do and giving it to a crew that had no concern for what they were doing to put it in. Along with the mountain not maintaining it.
Other Thoughts: Look it's beautiful. I love the Durango area. They just did a poor job on putting this course in.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Durango Mountain Resort

1    9/5/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: wentzl
Played: 40  Reviewed: 12
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mountain scenery
Cons: No tee pads
Other Thoughts: A decent 9 hole course plays from behind the resort lodge down the hill towards the highway for the first six and then pretty much straight back up to where you start on the last 3 in a tight counterclockwise circle. First shot is the most interesting playing over the road and between a couple buildings with about the best chance of breaking a window I have seen on any course. Good mix of open and tight shots for such a short course and several good ace runs. Not a destination course, but worth stop if you are passing through the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.