Salt Lake City, UT 
Creekside Park Share
Uploaded By: xcad3ncex Hole #4 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / 180ft.   3 / 195ft.   3 / 225ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Uncle Sonny and Aunt Kehau

1    3/10/2015   3/14/2015
Review By: manglin
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.6 Years
Pros:
-free to play (this is always my top benefit of DG)
-good variety of shots
-great sign showing multiple pins and distance for each
-good baskets
-fun
-nice challenge level (not crazy hard, but way too easy)
-benches
-trash cans
-good use of the land
-scenic beauty
-course was clean from trash and sticks/debris
-friendly locals
-good flow from one hole to the next
-several pin locations per hole, makes for variety within each hole
Cons: -several fairways overlapped another hole; if this course were to hold a tournament, they would have to change some pins or remove some holes
-i'm no major course designer, but having 20 holes seemed to cramp the course. i would find a way to have just 18 holes so as to make more space between some of the fairways, pins, and tees.
Other Thoughts: -This was my first time to come to Utah and play DG. This was a trip to see my brother and his wife.
-My wife and kids hung out around the playground which was great for a 3yr old and 5yr old.
-The park has bathrooms, but they were locked that day.
-I got to meet some cool guys: Curtis and Jason.

Great course

1    3/11/2015   3/13/2015
Review By: thespeedokid
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 0.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice hole signs. Large concrete tees. Two practice baskets. Large variety in hills and also in trees. Variety of shots needed to score well. Variety in distances of holes. Multiple hole locations.
Cons: There were a lot of people playing this course but there is a reason for it.
Other Thoughts: Really solid course with a creek that winds through a few of the holes. The water really shouldn't come into play to much. If you do end up in the creek it is shallow and clear.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Top Shelf

1    3/12/2015   3/12/2015
Review By: Disc chaser
Played: 35  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.4 Years
Pros: Great course. Attractive surroundings. Well designed for a variety of shots. Mostly long holes when I played but I noticed there were as many as five basket placement options on some holes. Easy to find and easy to access with good parking playground and facilities.
Cons: Needs a short (200ish) technical fairwaywith a visible basket. Hole 16 has a 207 option but was in the 291 position. The current March 12 setup offered distances that were very monotonous (all seemed 275-325 except 3a which was blind) . Easy fix if the local club pays attention to variety when changing baskets.
Can be crowded with intoxicated players.
Other Thoughts: Exceptional course for Utah.

Not to bad of a course

5+    7/23/2014   7/23/2014
Review By: Barneybboy
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/11/2014
Pros: The course is located in a park so it makes it good for that family to be able to play there while others throw the course. The park/course is really nice with some open areas and some trees in others. Makes for a good variety of throwing.
Cons: Course is not signed very well and is difficult to navigate. There was a big picture on the pavilion in the park showing the course and where the holes should be, however when I went to follow that map the holes were numbered differently and some of the baskets were not where they said they would be. This is what made the navigation kind of ruff. However, after having thrown this course it is easier to find the holes because I know where I am going. It was really hard the first round though. The baskets are not very visible at all. They are just all metal with no bright markers or flags on top of them. Hard to throw at things you can't see.
Other Thoughts: Overall the course is a good one. Like I said it was just hard to navigate on the first time. My recommendation is to walk the course first so you know where you are going and it will make it a lot easier and more fun to play.

Probably the best course in Utah

1    6/11/2014   6/11/2014
Review By: MrDarkHorse
Played: 35  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: - Very nice course, with great scenery and requiring a variety of shot selection
- Some fun elevation, and the creek is a decent water hazard
- Nice people
Cons: - Pretty crowded
- Signage is missing
- A little tricky to navigate in a couple of spots, I had to ask locals for help
Other Thoughts: Definitely a don't miss course in the SLC area. Not terribly difficult, but not a wide open pitch course either. Very good intermediate disc golf.

Great Course!!!

2-4    4/25/2014   4/29/2014
Review By: tommyUnitas
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice course. Open holes, tree holes, river holes, up shots, down shots, grassy, nice baskets and tee pads, new signs on each hole, tunnel shots, 2 extra holes plus a bonus hole which comes out to 21 holes, nice locals, tournaments, dubs, bathrooms, multiple pin variations.
Cons: Not many cons, some would say the river, but that's just a challenge, not a con.
Other Thoughts: Overall very good course. I played here 4/25/14. Was here from SoCal for work, and got in a practice round with some locals, followed by a Dubs tourney. Course was in great condition, with great views of the surrounding mountains. All the locals were cool, the course was dog friendly. I would recommend if in the area, and even if your'e not in the area, still worth playing...

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/1/2013   11/6/2013
Review By: thenewguy
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Requires all types of shots and disc use. Great course to work on technique.Very easy to find a pick up game
Cons: Very hard to navigate. Baskets seem clustered together and every tree is painted orange, not sure what is OB anymore.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Run down but still fun

2-4    10/29/2013   10/29/2013
Review By: protravler
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solid, large Tee Pads. Just enough Technical challenge. Very well played-in, son few places left on the fringes for discs to hide.
Cons: 95% of all signage has been ripped out or vandalized, very hard course for a first-timer to figure their way around, lots of crossing patterns and overlaps to make that worse, crowded scene plus crowded course design.
Other Thoughts: OK, so I get this course is an oldie, and that shows. Probably my biggest complaint since spending hours trying to navigate this thing the first couple times I played was just the overall crowded feel. That said though, the course is a fun mix of technical challenges and it's one of those short courses where there's a birdie available on just about ever hole for the better players with accuracy off the tee. A good 'locals' course for sure.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Creekside

1    5/22/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: Tay.anderson82
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A challenging course, but set up very well. I'm still very new to DG so I sucked at this course, but its nice to have a challenge to be able to get better.
Cons: Wait time is about it but that's not to bad if you're patient.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

so good, but so crowded

2-4    5/29/2013   6/4/2013
Review By: Memphis Newbie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with grass, woods, hills, a creek (more of a river by Utah standards) with crystal clear water that makes it easy to spot discs

the design of the individual holes is great. lots of variety and character. super fun that some of the baskets are perched just a couple feet from the roaring creek, making what would normally be a good drive or approach, a frantic wade into the creek to save your disc.

Tee pads are great.

baskets are my favorite--dga mach Vs

The map here on DGCR makes for easy navigation, otherwise you will get very lost.
Cons: Number one con--incredibly crowded. This is the only good course in SLC so it gets all the crowds. I was there on a Wednesday from 11 am to 4 pm. I was on vacation visiting from TN, and apparently so was every disc golfer in SLC because it seemed like they were all there. It was especially crowded around noon, probably because people were playing during their lunch hour.

Slow play-- I think the locals are accustomed to the crowds and have adapted by learning to play very slowly. I am used to playing quickly and I almost jog through my local courses, so it was frustrating to see players sitting at a tee bench for extended periods even when no players were in front of them and then they would stand up and tee off right when we approached the tee instead of letting us play through. Most players we encountered here were very friendly and courteous.

Layout-- I mentioned that the design of the holes is excellent, however, the layout of the holes has a lot of overlapping fairways and backtracking, on a less crowded course this wouldn't be so much of an issue.
Vandalism--there are frames for signs at every tee, but the signs have all been destroyed. I have heard rumors that there is some hate against disc golf in this park. Bummer.
Other Thoughts: loved playing here, even with the crowds. beautiful park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.