Salt Lake City, UT 
Creekside Park Share
Uploaded By: xcad3ncex Hole #15 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 325ft.   3 / 332ft.   3 / 490ft.   3 / 386ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Long Tee Sign



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not to bad of a course

5+    7/23/2014   7/23/2014
Review By: Barneybboy
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 0.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2014
Pros: The course is located in a park so it makes it good for that family to be able to play there while others throw the course. The park/course is really nice with some open areas and some trees in others. Makes for a good variety of throwing.
Cons: Course is not signed very well and is difficult to navigate. There was a big picture on the pavilion in the park showing the course and where the holes should be, however when I went to follow that map the holes were numbered differently and some of the baskets were not where they said they would be. This is what made the navigation kind of ruff. However, after having thrown this course it is easier to find the holes because I know where I am going. It was really hard the first round though. The baskets are not very visible at all. They are just all metal with no bright markers or flags on top of them. Hard to throw at things you can't see.
Other Thoughts: Overall the course is a good one. Like I said it was just hard to navigate on the first time. My recommendation is to walk the course first so you know where you are going and it will make it a lot easier and more fun to play.

Run down but still fun

2-4    10/29/2013   10/29/2013
Review By: protravler
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solid, large Tee Pads. Just enough Technical challenge. Very well played-in, son few places left on the fringes for discs to hide.
Cons: 95% of all signage has been ripped out or vandalized, very hard course for a first-timer to figure their way around, lots of crossing patterns and overlaps to make that worse, crowded scene plus crowded course design.
Other Thoughts: OK, so I get this course is an oldie, and that shows. Probably my biggest complaint since spending hours trying to navigate this thing the first couple times I played was just the overall crowded feel. That said though, the course is a fun mix of technical challenges and it's one of those short courses where there's a birdie available on just about ever hole for the better players with accuracy off the tee. A good 'locals' course for sure.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/26/2010   5/27/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Strictly a DGC park with large parking lot, practice basket and restrooms next to first tee. Nice manicured fairways and some nice tunnel shots with elevation changes, blind pin placements and very little under brush. Great water hazards are present on several holes. Maintained and kept clean.
Cons: Is crowded on the weekend and a surge of people usually arrives around lunch time (11:30) during the weekdays.
Navigation is challenging with no pin locators on tee signs.
Course layout can be dangerous or causes wait time on the tee pads while others reverse back up towards you or criss cross; like holes # 5&6, 7&8, 9&10
Erosion and course use is evident around most tee pads allowing water to puddle up and same goes for a few baskets.
Some tee pads are cracked or have cracked corners.
Other Thoughts: When I first played this course as I mentioned navigating can be a challenge if nobody is around to help you out. With the lack of pin locators to show where the basket and the integrity of the tee signs being bland it was frustrating. I would see all the different pin placement options and the beautiful terrain in front of me but, didn't know where exactly to throw towards! The second time I played it was much more enjoyable and the locals are friendly and helpful I just happened to show up at dusk the first time I played.
The ground is hardened clay and may hurt your game near the creek or help as in a skip up to the basket.
I did play the course after a very wet stormy day and then again shortly after and realized that the puddles are a problem here and could be fixed up with some D1 or D2 gravel. One basket had a puddle of water that circled the entire basket from about 4 ft out; if you missed it was in the mud. Overall this is a fun course and would highly suggest if you are in the area this is a must play as its one of Utah's many fine courses!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good - Too Crowded Though

1    3/2/2010   3/5/2010
Review By: themontage
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiple tee positions, Concrete tee pads, a wide variety of options for playing shots (rollers, FH, etc).
They usually changes the pins often, while we were playing they changed the layout on us during our second round. Well maintained.
Cons: Not very long, Very crowded, tight adjacent fairways, little or no "heads up" for incoming discs. Improvements to the tee signs would be helpful, some of them don't have the multiple pin positions or distances on them. Next tee signs would be helpful too. Lots of holes had similar shot layout (250-350) left to right shots. Would have liked to have seen more of a mix than a run of similar shots.
Other Thoughts: It was a fun course, but could be played only FH (most players I saw there did), could be a +/- depending how you look at it. The course was just way to crowded, I was there on a tues at 11:00 AM and there were tons of people there and it tends to grow more crowded as the afternoon comes in.
The locals will help out though, with helping you find next tee, pins, etc. The map on tudg.org is somewhat helpful, but is still a little misleading.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Creekside in Holladay Utah

2-4    7/31/2009   8/2/2009
Review By: successwarrior
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The trees and the creek make for some tough approaches. On the day we went, the tee placement for some of the shots made birdies almost impossible, which we liked.
Cons: The course criss-crosses in places and not all the pads are labeled so you might find yourself confused the first time through. There were plenty of locals the day we went so we just asked for directions and they were glad to guide us in the right direction.

Some of the criss-crosses meant that you had to wait for players on one teepad to throw before you could throw on your teepad.

The course is set up tight. "Fore" is yelled a lot because disks end up on other fairways and teepads often.
Other Thoughts: The course is set up to be a challenging par 3 course but it seemed that the holes were too close together and there were a lot of players on the day that we went (which was a Thursday at 1:00 pm). Our second time through, we ended up behind a group of 8 that didn't offer to let the two of us play through.

We had a fun time and the course was challenging with all the low hanging branches.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 creekside park slc utah

1    5/6/2008   5/6/2008
Review By: martinb
Played: 153  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 35.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2008
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes, well maintained by local club, mulitple pins placements. easy to get around course, caters to most disc golf levels.
Cons: too crowded, very popular course. a little conflict with fairways, the course is squeezed into a fairly small area for eighteen holes. only one or two long shots to challenge the younger big-arm players if the pin placements are set up that way. dog walkers dont pick up poopy-poops.
Other Thoughts: the course plays in an old water retention area so is a little limited in space, and sometimes flooding occurs in the spring, but this doesnt detract from the great course layout which is altered weekly by the local club. no crossing fairways but an errant shot will put you on another fairway very easily. the course itself plays more technical and will challenge you to put your drives where they need to be, hyzer and turnover shots are needed to do well here. lots of trees to plays through but ont overly. this course is the oldest course in utah and has lots of history. if you dont mind waiting for big groups to play at peak hours, it wont be a problem. it would get a better rating but there are too many people playing there nowadays and its a bit limited as to length.

10-13-08 TICKET ALERT!!! - If you are caught with alcohol in the park you will receive a $750 citation. This is an attempt to stop people drinking in the park. So heads up....

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.