Salt Lake City, UT 
Creekside Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #20 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 264ft.   3 / 288ft.   3 / 309ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #20 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Not to bad of a course

5+    7/23/2014   7/23/2014
Review By: Barneybboy
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 0.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/11/2014
Pros: The course is located in a park so it makes it good for that family to be able to play there while others throw the course. The park/course is really nice with some open areas and some trees in others. Makes for a good variety of throwing.
Cons: Course is not signed very well and is difficult to navigate. There was a big picture on the pavilion in the park showing the course and where the holes should be, however when I went to follow that map the holes were numbered differently and some of the baskets were not where they said they would be. This is what made the navigation kind of ruff. However, after having thrown this course it is easier to find the holes because I know where I am going. It was really hard the first round though. The baskets are not very visible at all. They are just all metal with no bright markers or flags on top of them. Hard to throw at things you can't see.
Other Thoughts: Overall the course is a good one. Like I said it was just hard to navigate on the first time. My recommendation is to walk the course first so you know where you are going and it will make it a lot easier and more fun to play.


5+    9/1/2013   11/6/2013
Review By: thenewguy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Requires all types of shots and disc use. Great course to work on technique.Very easy to find a pick up game
Cons: Very hard to navigate. Baskets seem clustered together and every tree is painted orange, not sure what is OB anymore.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

so good, but so crowded

2-4    5/29/2013   6/4/2013
Review By: Memphis Newbie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with grass, woods, hills, a creek (more of a river by Utah standards) with crystal clear water that makes it easy to spot discs

the design of the individual holes is great. lots of variety and character. super fun that some of the baskets are perched just a couple feet from the roaring creek, making what would normally be a good drive or approach, a frantic wade into the creek to save your disc.

Tee pads are great.

baskets are my favorite--dga mach Vs

The map here on DGCR makes for easy navigation, otherwise you will get very lost.
Cons: Number one con--incredibly crowded. This is the only good course in SLC so it gets all the crowds. I was there on a Wednesday from 11 am to 4 pm. I was on vacation visiting from TN, and apparently so was every disc golfer in SLC because it seemed like they were all there. It was especially crowded around noon, probably because people were playing during their lunch hour.

Slow play-- I think the locals are accustomed to the crowds and have adapted by learning to play very slowly. I am used to playing quickly and I almost jog through my local courses, so it was frustrating to see players sitting at a tee bench for extended periods even when no players were in front of them and then they would stand up and tee off right when we approached the tee instead of letting us play through. Most players we encountered here were very friendly and courteous.

Layout-- I mentioned that the design of the holes is excellent, however, the layout of the holes has a lot of overlapping fairways and backtracking, on a less crowded course this wouldn't be so much of an issue.
Vandalism--there are frames for signs at every tee, but the signs have all been destroyed. I have heard rumors that there is some hate against disc golf in this park. Bummer.
Other Thoughts: loved playing here, even with the crowds. beautiful park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best use of flood basin ever

5+    9/17/2011   1/17/2012
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 153  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 35.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course seems to have it all---open and grassy, wooded, volumnous creek, elevation changes, isolated bowl holes, varied clientele, alternate pin placements. Not much pro/long-armed, but not really a beginner's course either. Most of the lovely, dewey field fairways are in the first 9; the holes start flirting with the creek about halfway through. The creek helps mediate the temp in the park, and can provide a cool dip on a blistering summer day, or steal your disc when its up and muddy. The trees start to really kick in and affect shots starting on #9. I think its a great course with educational opportunities for the improving discer; if you can excell here, you should be able to handle all but the most overgrown, mountainous, abysmally long courses.
Except for 1-2, 15, and 17-18, you're pretty much hidden from the rest of the park, a nice amenity for those who like an "its my country-club" atmosphere. A nice selection of tees with benches, and the bathroom might be 300 yds. from the most distant hole.
Cons: Major hindrances are other discers [lots on weekends], other park users[dogs, kids, strung-out LDS/LSDers], obscenely hot temps in summer and fairway/tee encroachment. The creek can be hazardous in late spring-mid summer: if its muddy you should have your life insurance policy paid-up if you risk going in.
Other Thoughts: Too bad there's not another course of this style in the Greater Salt Lake area---the flatter, longer, blander courses are why this one is so popular.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun park course

5+    10/16/2011   10/22/2011
Review By: baylor90505
Played: 31  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful park and great layout. Great concrete tees and challenging hole locations. Awesome little river runs along some of the holes. Great flow to the course and pretty hard to get lost.
Cons: Some areas of the park never seem to dry up and can be very muddy. Can be very busy at times and sometimes have to wait on holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall a really fun and challenging course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  FORE!

1    7/10/2011   7/12/2011
Review By: mallardthrasher
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety from a few wide open holes to tight wooded fairways on the back 9 that require control shots rather than the monster drives on almost every hole at Valley Regional, Water hazards make it challenging and fun, No Joggers/Walkers to wait for or hit!
Cons: Lots of people, overlapping fairways and tees (You have to wait for people to tee of on the next hole before you can throw or else you may hit them in some cases). Sprinklers were going the whole time I was playing (very soggy back 9). Lots of discs flying in every direction on a few holes making it a bit dangerous. Confusing hole layout and lack of markings for someone that has never played the course before.
Other Thoughts: I have to say it is a cool course especially with the control needed to score well on the back nine. However, I am not a big fan of having discs thrown at me the whole time I was playing, but all in all it wasn't too bad. With as many people that were playing, it is a little too crowded for my taste, but it does help to not have the joggers and walkers all over that have no idea what is going on.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Creekside AKA A packed house

5+    6/27/2013   5/25/2011
Review By: JDee
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Creekside is the staple course in Salt Lake for year round play.
-Multiple hole placement is a bonus. It's nice to show up even 2 days later and a few holes are in new locations. different hole location add different challenges to the over all excitement of this course.
-Trees, shrubs, water, mudd, and people add to the difficulty and fun of this course. You will hit a tree, you will hesitate before you throw over the water, and you will have to yell FORE because there are peeps everywhere!
I enjoy a challenge, therefore the difficulty and challenge of this course is a pro.
-One of the better courses to be able to use multiple discs that do different things to your advantage. And you will be able to throw your long distance drivers at least a few times.
Cons: -To. Many. Damn. People!!
-When it's nice out, it doesn't matter what time of day, this place is a mad house. A packed house! Prepare to wait. If you go with less then 2 people most groups are totally awesome about letting you play through. But still, it's a hassle.
Other Thoughts: You can't go wrong with Creekside. It's a legit, fun, sometimes difficult course. There are two bonus holes. hole 3a and 3b that are fun as well if you would like to play 2 extra holes.
Play with a group and enjoy taking your time. Or come with less then two and rip through all the tons of people and huge groups. Enjoy salt lakes staple disc golf course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good and challenging

5+    3/28/2011   4/3/2011
Review By: climbingbubba
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has a lot of basket placements per hole so the course is rarely the same.

Has double tournaments every tuesday night which is always good times.

Very challenging with some heavily wooded holes.
Cons: Lots of places to lose your disc if you mess up.

Holes 4-6 can get backed up and you need to watch out for incoming discs.

Gets really crowded and it seems a majority of people there have no sense of proper disc golf etiquette.
Other Thoughts: Its a very challenging course that is probably the most frustrating one around. Due to this it definitely helps build skill and lets you take many interesting shots that you wouldn't encounter on more open courses.

Not my favorite around (I am still pretty new) but a must for anyone coming to visit salt lake.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Solid SLC Option

1    7/1/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 17.4 Years
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Course setting and hole design. Parts of the course are heavily wooded with the baskets wedged in the trees (use a guide...some of the baskets are a chore to locate) and other parts are more wide open. The open holes require lots of three-dimensional planning. Many are on the top or side of steep hills. 200' rolls after missing a 30' putt are not uncommon. Not a cheap or easy hole to be found at Creekside.
-Water in play. Moving water. Water that will wisp your plastic away, never to be seen again. Sometimes it's between the thrower and the target. Other times its directly behind the target, making for some interesting up-shot restrictions. The signature hole is a shorty (about 260') with 3/4 of that distance over wooded water.
-Accurate tee signs denoting multiple pin locations. I understand the baskets are rotated regularly.
-Solid, clean concrete tees
-Plenty of parking
-Practice basket near tee one
-Restrooms near tee one
Cons: -Cottonwoods everywhere. Apparently I am highly allergic to them. :(
-Some weird course flow. The area that houses holes 4-6 is a cluster-****. Can't see the people teeing off on hole five until they are actually on the tee due to the hills. There is a real risk of some yahoo cracking you on the back of the head as you tee off on six (said yahoo missed me by about an ear's width). Equally his fault and whom ever decided to put a tee right in the MAIN FLIGHT LINE of the previous hole. Expect a wait here and around holes seven and eight (which, for all intents and purposes, use the same fairway). Serious course flow problems.
-Crowds. Yahoos who throw before one is finished putting and whose dogs start barking at you when you putt, no owner to be seen. This is a popular spot and the crowds weren't as bad as I had anticipated, but the people I encountered were rudely unaware of course etiquette and resistant to learning/practicing it.
Other Thoughts: Creekside has a lot going for it. Medium sized steep hills add a note of texture to the overall flat course. Trees and holes to thread galore. The water is cold and flowing fast, perfect respite from the summer heat.
Play early to avoid the legions of noobz that appear to run the course.
This course contains many really great holes and I struggled giving it the rating I did. The hole design, when looked at individually, hole by hole, is second to none. Elevation changes and tight wooded fairways make for some really fun line selection. To play this course with nobody around is the way to go.
That said, I understand that this course has crowding issues. It wasn't all that crowded when I played it, but the guys behind us were playing up our bums and didn't want to play through. I can't imagine a course full of that type of yahoo. It's actually my vision of the sixth level of hell. Combine that caliber of yahoo with the dangerous course design and I don't see how it can get a better grade than a 3.5 disc.
Do yourself a favor. Play this course at the crack of dawn. Preferably with a guide. But play it. One of the best courses in the area...one best enjoyed in as much solitude as possible.:)

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 The Heart of SLC's Disc Golf Scene

5+    6/25/2010   6/26/2010
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging, frequent changes in basket position, good mix of open and tight, excellent use of elevation and water, weekly doubles tourney (Tuesdays 5:30-6:30 start), jogging stroller friendly (if you can push it up the hill on 4 anyway), nice playground, well-groomed if you stay on the fairway
Cons: Crowded-worst course I've ever played for crowding actually, overlapping fairways create hazards and slow things down more, thick schule in some places for a course in a desert, not too hard to lose a disc in the creek, baskets need numbers on top as multiple baskets are sometimes visible from one tee and with the frequent rotation...I've played to the wrong basket several times, steep drop-offs at end of tee, several cracked/broken tees need replaced, no singles mini-tourneys, minis are fairly disorganized-no plastic payout for lower division- Some of the worst organization I've seen for such a big turnout, little use for overhand throws given canopy on most holes
Other Thoughts: This will be my home course for the foreseeable future. A few improvements like numbers on baskets, position indicators on updated tee signs, fixed tees etc would go a long way to improving the course. Actually, putting up another really good course in SLC would do more to improve the experience than anything else. My biggest beef is everyone plays there, a little like Z-Boaz in DFW. I'm not used to 2+ hour solo rounds and 3+ hour mini-tourneys. Yuch! I played at 9 am on a weekday and there were at least 8 other groups on the course-mostly singles, but by 2 or 3 pm, they'll be much larger groups. Before moving to SLC this summer I had only played it in the winter and it was a much better experience. Less foliage, better chance at retrieving discs out of the river, and most importantly, less people.

Like I said, my home course so I better get to work now I guess. It's still the course to play in SLC if you're just passing through. Could be a 4 with a few improvements.

Favorite hole is 1...love starting off with a long toss off a hill. Not representative of the course though. You'll need much better accuracy on the rest of the course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center