Salt Lake City, UT 
Creekside Park Share
Uploaded By: xcad3ncex Hole #19 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / 257ft.   3 / 275ft.   3 / 312ft.   3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #19 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Probably the best course in Utah

1    6/11/2014   6/11/2014
Review By: MrDarkHorse
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.6 Years
Pros: - Very nice course, with great scenery and requiring a variety of shot selection
- Some fun elevation, and the creek is a decent water hazard
- Nice people
Cons: - Pretty crowded
- Signage is missing
- A little tricky to navigate in a couple of spots, I had to ask locals for help
Other Thoughts: Definitely a don't miss course in the SLC area. Not terribly difficult, but not a wide open pitch course either. Very good intermediate disc golf.

Great Course!!!

2-4    4/25/2014   4/29/2014
Review By: tommyUnitas
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice course. Open holes, tree holes, river holes, up shots, down shots, grassy, nice baskets and tee pads, new signs on each hole, tunnel shots, 2 extra holes plus a bonus hole which comes out to 21 holes, nice locals, tournaments, dubs, bathrooms, multiple pin variations.
Cons: Not many cons, some would say the river, but that's just a challenge, not a con.
Other Thoughts: Overall very good course. I played here 4/25/14. Was here from SoCal for work, and got in a practice round with some locals, followed by a Dubs tourney. Course was in great condition, with great views of the surrounding mountains. All the locals were cool, the course was dog friendly. I would recommend if in the area, and even if your'e not in the area, still worth playing...

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Creekside

1    5/22/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: Tay.anderson82
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A challenging course, but set up very well. I'm still very new to DG so I sucked at this course, but its nice to have a challenge to be able to get better.
Cons: Wait time is about it but that's not to bad if you're patient.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Intermediate/Expert

1    9/30/2012   3/3/2013
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a city park that is pretty much devoted to disc golf. There are other activities present here, but it seems the course is well separated from everything else. Shouldn't be any interference.
- First section of the course plays in some pretty thick woods, which require accurate line shaping and control. #2 is a low RHFH flick into the treeline on the right, #3 shoots into the woods with a sharp left turn to get to the long pin, #3a is a tighter wooded hyzer, as well as #3b. #11 and #13 are pretty heavily populated too.
- Lots of other holes play next to dense forest or tree coverage as well; #4 is a long anny line with a hill left and the woods right, with the long pin tucked into a gap. #6 has woods lining the entire right side, #7 shoots through a gap in a thick line of trees, and #8 is a long anny shot with the treeline on the right.
- Rest of the holes are located in a more open area that has a combination of thick patches of trees/schule and individual trees. Lots of places where an errant shot can lead to big trouble due to rough, jail, or general bad lines to the basket. Decent mix of hyzer, straight, and anny lines, with some low ceilings and well protected baskets.
- Fair amount of elevation changes here, which are pretty good. #1 is a valley shot, #3b has an elevated teepad, #4 plays along a hill, #5 and #6 play on top of that hill with slopes left and right, and #7-#10 also have elevated teepads. Adds a lot of variety to the course, well utilized.
- Creek is in play on many holes, adding another element of difficulty to the course. #7 shoots directly over from the teepad; clipping a branch could be disastrous. It is also pretty close to the right of #8 and part of #13. #14 shoots directly over it, though it is possible to go way left to take it out of play.
- Good concrete pads, though #3a and #3b are natural. Tee signs are good with a few vandalized a bit, baskets are good. Navigation can be pretty tough; having a map is a big, big help. Practice basket in front.
Cons: - Biggest con at this course is some serious layout trouble. #7 and #8 have crossing fairways, #7 and #9's teepads are pointed across each other, #12's basket is just off of #13's fairway, and some holes are just generally close together in the more open area. Heads up at all times, or else.
- First half of the course is very interesting, the back half is kind of lackluster. Still challenging, but not nearly as fun.
Other Thoughts: - Solid course overall. A lot of different types of holes, from tightly wooded, to open bombers, to water holes, elevated pads and dangerous rollaways, a little bit of everything. Lots of different pin positions can influence the length and difficulty as well. No matter what positions are currently in, this course is probably a bit tough for beginners, better suited for more experienced players. Have seen groups skip #3a, #3b, #7 and #8 to make things easier.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Beautiful Course

5+    3/30/2013   10/21/2012
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 50  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is a lot of fun. The holes have a variety of challenges which will make you use all kinds of throws and types of disks. They range from long open bombs to tight tunnels.

All the holes are well marked. Most of the cages even have bright pink flags on them to make them easy to see through the trees and such.

The cages are moved very often, making it different all the time so you don't get bored with it.

The people are friendly for the most part, but with some of the holes throwing at others it's important to make people aware that you're throwing. It's all about common courtesy.
Cons: As I mentioned several of the holes throw right at other tee pads. I didn't really notice it too much till someone from out of state mentioned it to me and I realized just how many times it happens. This problem is exacerbated by the following con:

This is one of the best courses in the state which has one big con, (thus the 4 instead of 4.5+), it attracts a TON of people.

This isn't all bad, I've played with some great people, but it also means that you have to contend with crowds, annoying and inconsiderate people at times, and lots of people leaving garbage, (which is usually quickly cleaned up).

I've also awakened a few bums who make the pad for 3B their bed some nights.
Other Thoughts: This park is beautiful most of the time. It is almost everything you could ask for in a course, except the crowds and the other cons mentions, of course.

Don't bother coming on Wed evenings unless you enjoy tons of young men and young women throwing with frisbees.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice technical course

5+    9/29/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: AltitudeDiscGlf
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is well marked and positioned. There are a number of different pin placements (up to 4 for each hole) making it nice for variety and a change up. The pins are moved very often and I've even seen it changed 3 times in one week.

The tee pads are concrete, and the course is really easy to follow. The terrain is parklike - grass with some trees. A small creek runs through the park (not too much of a hazard for experienced players - if a disc is thrown in, it is easy to fish out).
Cons: There are two main cons to this course: First - it is compact and there is overlap on holes. This wouldn't be a problem except for the fact that (Second Con) it is extremely busy. I've even shown up at 6:00 am and had to wait. Overall it is worth the wait though and you wont be disappointed in making the trip to the course.
Other Thoughts: Play this course, from the signature hole 12 through the tunnel of trees to the pleasant park like setting, you wont be disappointed with this course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Creekside

2-4    8/5/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: Forrest
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.1 Years
Pros: Best course in the valley. The course is well laid out giving you grass/water/woods. Pretty much a constant shade for most of the course so it's not bad to play in the middle of the day. Concrete tee pads and benches at most holes.
Cons: Traffic. That's the main thing. This is a busy course since it is arguably the best in the valley. Some holes are too close, which causes some wait time between throws because it's easy to throw into another holes green. Heads up if you're allergic to cottonwood trees.
Other Thoughts: Great course and the whole valley knows it, so be prepared for a crowd.

 Awesome except crowded

1    5/26/2010   6/26/2010
Review By: Topher
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great mix of simple and technical shots
-great use of existing trees and brush
-you only have to throw over the creek once, which is good because it can get relatively deep and is quite swift
-my experience was the people were very friendly
-multiple possible pin locations
Cons: -HUGE CROWDS
-kind of hard to locate next tee/basket on some holes
Other Thoughts: I would have rated this as a 4.5 or 5 if it wasn't for the crowds and the layout. I have never had to wait 10-20 minutes to play before.. My group played twice, once early in the morning and we didn't have to wait, and then again at around noon and we had 2-3 groups we'd have to wait on before we could tee off. The layout was a tad confusing about 3/4 of the way through, but I played with a buddy who had played there recently so we didn't end up throwing out of order or to the wrong baskets.

I highly recommend this course to anyone, but I also highly recommend you go in the early morning and on weekdays as this seems to be the best way to avoid crowds.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    8/31/2009   9/1/2009
Review By: tstack10
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2010
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This maybe a little biased since this is my home course.

First off it is very well maintained by the county and many of the locals.

The tee boxes are all concrete which is great but can be slippery when dusty or wet.

Each hole has several differnt locaitons that are moved fairly often to give you a ton of different looks to the course depedning on location.

Makes for a variety of differnt shot from very long to tight mandatory holes through some wooded areas.

Signs made by local boy scouts give little map and distance not sure on accuracy.
Cons: Since it is good course can become very busy with big groups.

Newbies usually let ya play through but some of the locals are not so kind (not all of them, most are great!!)

Fairways can sometimes overlap allowing for fores being yelled though never seen anyone hit.

Need more trashcans and need to be dumped more often.

Other Thoughts: **course has set up two extra holes 3a and 3b after regular hole 3. After finishing 3 head north to dense trees for two tight holes with two different basket locations. A goes north and b comes back to 4. Hope they keep these holes in and not just for tournament this weekend 5/1**

Favorite holes #14 siganture creekside shot over the creek. Can be disc catcher when water is high and fast BE CAREFUL (almost lost my dog)

Some parts of course and boxes overlap which could be confusing but there should be plenty of people there to help ya along the way.

WATCH OUT Seen five-o out there quite often, maybe some narc in green truck at course.Heard of uc's out there never seen and 750 on the spot for drinking.


PLEASE PICK UP YOUR DOGS POOP

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

5+    5/14/2009   5/17/2009
Review By: B Stone
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.4 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of different configurations. Good pin placements. Sweet holes running beside the creek adding an additional element to the mix.
Cons: Busy all the time.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course since I moved to Park City in November. Check out Rotary Park course in Huntington, WV.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center